As one of the world’s busiest ports, with ferries serving destinations all over Europe, the southern England town of Dover is the first stop on many visitors’ itineraries. Those approaching from sea will spot the iconic White Cliffs of Dover long ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 271 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour of Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and the Battle of Britain Memorial in Dover. The tour guide was very good and knowledgeable about the history of every place we visited and she was very well educated in all the interesting historic places. Clearly she had done her homework. I highly recommend the tour and we are so glad we took it. An easy day trip out of London with someone else doing the driving! My only suggestion for improvement would be a different restaurant for lunch. It was pretty basic and institutional and there are other wonderful restaurants in Canterbury that would have been nicer. But except for that, gets a 99 out of 100 rating!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

sylvia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were hesitant to do this trip in November given the potential weather,but it turned out to be a lovely day for the most part and we really enjoyed ourselves. The trip was well organised and there was ample time to see things, it was a relaxing trip. Kevin the guide and Mark the driver did a great job to ensure we were all well looked after. Leeds Castle was lovely, I would like to go back sometime and spent a day wandering the grounds. Canterbury Cathedral was very impressive and I appreciate the time we had there in the town. Unfortunately the weather had closed in by the time we got to Dover, we did manage to glimpse the white cliffs but it was freezing and very cold. We didn't mind this too much though, we did get a glimpse of France and get some good photos and then back onto the bus for the trip back to London.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

mrskimhelsing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely gorgeous tour! Loved our tour guide Charlotte... knowledgeable, funny, and bubbly. Leeds Castle is a must see.... It's is breathtaking. Families with their children were picnicking on the lawn as black swans slowly swam by. Very charming! The city of Canterbury and it's grand cathedral were full of beauty and bloody history. We enjoyed the little farmers market in the town square. To top off this amazing trip was our glimpse of Calais as we stood looking over the English Channel in Dover! Unforgettable!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved everything about it. Adequate time was allotted for each stop. Bus was clean and comfortable. The driver was friendly and competent, and the tour guide, Monica, was delightful. Would highly recommend this Dover trip. I have been before but well before the Battle of Britain Memorial was added. That experience was amazing and humbling.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Ti M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide Debra and a nice tour. Leeds is great to see and go through, the Dover experience is greatly enhanced by being at the Battle of Britain Memorial, which is excellent. Canterbury is one of the few where picture taking is allowed, and Debra did a great job guiding us throughout!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Rita M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I wavered between this tour and the Stonehenge tour. So glad I picked this one. Loved seeing Leeds Castle. We had plenty of time to wander through the castle and take pictures of the beautiful landscape. The White Cliffs of Dover, though very simple, was a favorite stop. Thank goodness we were taken to the top and were able to stop at the historic site. This should always be included as part of the stop. The view was spectacular and memorable. Thank you to our tour guide for choosing to make this stop. Then on to Canterbury. The church was beautiful. Could have used more time in Canterbury, though would not want to have missed out on the Dover stop. We did use the hotel pick up, though think maybe would have been better off getting to Victoria Station ourselves might have been better. We were late getting to the Station and barely had time to make a bathroom stop before the bus was leaving. Felt rushed though not our fault.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Lisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely tour! Gorgeous castle and grounds and there was enough time to explore. Canterbury was amazing and wonderful. We had a nice lunch, again, with plenty of time. I cannot say enough good things about our guide. She was delightful, knowledgeable, and was all-around wonderful. Cliffs of Dover were a sight to behold and we got to spend some time on the beach and stopped for a photo opp. of the castle. The bus and driver were great. All went so smoothly. Excellent tour!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Rose E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful guide on this tour- Debra. She was the best guide we had on all of our many excursions. She was both informative and funny. Leeds Castle was a bit crowded. They make you wait in a line before entering- but that turned out to be a good thing because it staggered the crowds to make the actual viewing of the castle a better experience. We had plenty of time here. The Cliffs of Dover were also quite nice- we probably could have used a bit more time here, although it was still enough to get a picture. Our guide arranged for us to have lunch in Canterbury and our group was the only one there when we toured the cathedral. The cathedral was quite nice and we were given a lot of access to its different parts. This was a great tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Darren.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Leeds castle was pretty. Didn and #39;t have high expectations so it was fine. Canterbury Cathedral and town were awesome. The Cliffs of Dover and the WWII memorial was amazing. Monica our tour guide was excellent. The pace was great.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with a helpful guide. One disappointment was not touring DoverCastle.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Gene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our travel experience. Nice little touches like having the recording of White Cliffs of Dover. All in all, a very good day.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Geraldine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome event! Very well organized after a minor glitch. Our guide, Monica, was wonderful! Very concise, well organized, knowledgeable and friendly! We loved Leed's Castle! Enjoyed Canterbury. The Cliffs of Dover were a bit anti-climatic, as not what you see photos of at all. It was a comfortable journey, beautiful counteyside, and uncharacteristicly beautiful weather!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and Cliffs of Dover Custom Day Trip

Lisa P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Leeds Castle was absolutely beautiful as were the grounds. Well worth the tour. Due to rain the Dover Cliffs were a dud because we could hardly see anything. The Canterbury portion was also well done and the tour guide had set up a place for lunch and it was delicious. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Katheryn United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. We had a lovely guide Holly and a good driver Mick. Had time to enjoy Leeds Castle, and Canterbury. Took a few photos in Dover and that was enough. Not too long of a bus ride between stops. It was a relaxing day, nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of London. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Cathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our group enjoyed the tour, Cantebury cathedral , Leeds castle and cliffs of Dover. The town of Cantbury also was so cute, lots of shops to check out. We have great pictures from the cliffs of Dover. The wind is so strong there, the girls hair was flying. Richard our tour guide was very pleasant and he had a nice personality.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and Cliffs of Dover Custom Day Trip

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The whole trip was very well organized. Our guide was very well informed and made the day great. The white cliffs of Dover and the World War II memorial were amazing to see and the Canterbury Cathedral topped off a great day.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

robin s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Extremely knowledgeable tour guide who knew lots of information, not just about the sites we were visiting, but also about the history and culture of various regions of England. Tour guide knew the right balance of talking and allowing for questions and for quiet on the bus so people could rest if they wanted. The time allotted to each sight was perfect--again, a good balance of guided tour time and time to explore on one's own. The bus driver was also courteous and safety-conscious as he drove through the London traffic. Leeds Castle is beautiful, Canterbury Cathedral is striking, and we had just enough time in Dover to appreciate the white cliffs without wasting time. All in all, a highly positive experience that I'd recommend without hesitation!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Marie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a beautiful day for a ride in the English countryside. How wonderful to be able to see the white cliffs of Dover, and across the English Channel to France. I loved Leeds Castle,- what a peaceful lovely setting.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Deana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful, easy day trip from London back to London. Leeds was interesting and we adored seeing Canterbury. Wanted to do more in Dover - like see the ancient walled village/monastery on the hill. The beach and hills impressive. A bonus was we got to see The Battle of Britain museum and that was awesome surprise. Hope everyone gets to finish the day there.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Richard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was great! Our guide, Monica was fabulous. Her knowledge about the sites made my head swim. Canterbury Castle is a must see, but adding in Leeds Castle and Dover is just icing on the cake. The recommended restaurant was very good and convenient, but there were also street vendors and market near the cathedral. I would definitely recommend this trip!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Joanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was one of the best tours we have ever taken. We had a lovely coach ride to Leeds Castle where
we saw the beautiful grounds there and their beautiful white and black swans. The castle is lovely inside
and makes you feel really comfortable inside. After seeing Leeds we went on to see Canterbury Cathedral which has a lot of interesting history. From there we drove on to Dover and saw the white cliffs plus a new RAF museum to honor the pilots who flew during WWII and crossed over Dover on the way to battle. We had an excellent driver and tour guide. It's a tour you will always remember.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Lesley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A beautiful tour,the Cathedral was stunning, the castle and grounds beautiful and to see Dover and the cliffs bought photos to life. The bonus of the Battle of Britain memorial was great, and very emotiinal to see where the bombings happened, how many locals were involved was very educational.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Mindy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed the trip a lot. Great to get out of London and see a bit of the countryside. Leeds is a beautiful castle and we had great weather. Canterbury Cathedral was equally beautiful. A photographer's dream at both locations. The lunch location recommended by our guide was a good choice. Our guide was helpful and knowledgeable. It was nice to see Dover but it's just a quick stop for a photo so be aware there's not a lot of time. It was raining for us which was OK. The Battle of Britain Memorial is what you actually stop at for about 20 minutes. It was raining but they have a great view and we could see France in the distance which was nice. The memorial is very nice though. The bus ride was comfortable.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

All three stops were beautiful and definitely worth the trip! We got a perfect amount of time at Leed's Castle, Canterbury, and the Battle of Britian War Memorial in Dover. The stop at the beach in Dover was brief, but the war memorial site provided a good opportunity for more pictures and views. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Annilise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide and driver were excellent in providing information and avoiding the traffic stopping other groups being able to reach the Cliffs of Dover.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and Cliffs of Dover Custom Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message