Greenwich is a quaint village area of London just downriver from central London. It is most famous for its maritime history and as home to the Royal Observatory. Located at zero degrees of longitude, all the world's time zones begin here with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip, got us to some sights easily. Our guide was very good. Only disappointment was not having enough time at Greenwich to see the time/distance museum.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Victoria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of my favorite tours! Canterbury felt like stepping back into time, it was amazing and there were plenty of little shops around. Leeds Castle was breathtaking! I definitely recommend this tour for anyone who wants to get out of London and see some other sights. It was one of the few castles you could take pictures inside. Would have loved to have more time exploring the grounds of the castle and maybe less time in Greenwich. I think it could have been better communicated to the person giving the castle tour that just because we needed to be back on the bus by a certain time doesn't mean they use all of that time for the tour. There was hardly any time left to explore the grounds and go to the gift shop because the castle tourguide thought she had up until the time we needed to be back on the bus.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Leah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great afternoon. Greenwich had so many interesting aspects. Our guide, Graham, was very well informed and shared so much interesting information. Really enjoyed it. Learned a lot about different things in Greenwich. Definetely recommend!

Doing what: Greenwich Highlights Half Day Walking Tour in London

Jon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was excellent despite the inclement weather. Our guide, Steven, was very passionate and knowledgeable and showed some flexibility in dealing with some unforeseen challenges. Greenwich is a delightful place with a wealth of history. We thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Greenwich Walking Tour in London Including Lunch

Lester C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Karen was our guide on this tour. Leeds Castle - Stunningly beautiful and surrounding gardens too.
Canterbury Cathedral and township - just lovely.
Greenwich- had time to look at the buildings, not the tower.
Thames river cruise- free and dropped off at Embankment Pier, not Victoria Station.
Highly Recommend this tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Sarah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Totally worth the money. I was planning to go to Leeds and hopefully squeeze in Canterbury on my own - a train from London to Leeds round trip ALONE would have cost me about 50 GBP. I got to see far more than I intended by booking this tour. The private tour of Leeds was exceptional and got us in ahead of a crazy crowd on a holiday weekend : Our guide was a local gent with 20 years experience- funny, laid back and wonderful expert on local history. Very enjoyable - The info re Greenwich was a surprise and great close to the trip. Would have loved to spend more time in Canterbury or Dover so will need to plan another trip to this region. DEFINITELY book this.

One thing which was challenging was the meeting point at Victoria Coach station. Many tours meet at the same place and guides are not really recognized until they call out for their group about 10 minutes before departure. Make sure you arrive early and look for someone in a yellow vest station clerk for questions if you have them. Highly recommend and will definitely book with Viator again .Thank you!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Susan A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was professional, friendly and extremely knowledgeable about all our stops. She also made sure everyone was accounted for and headed in the right direction when the tour ended after the sunset cruise. Leeds Castle was beautiful and very interesting, Canterbury Cathedral is lovely and it was nice to have some time on our own there for lunch and a bit of shopping. Wish we could have had more time in Greenwich to actually go in to one of the museums before they closed.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Judy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour packed quite a lot in one day and was very enjoyable. Leeds Castle is lovely with a fascinating history, there was a bonus visit to the Battle of Britain memorial near Dover and we had plenty of time to experience the splendor of Canterbury Cathedral. The walking tour of Greenwich was a quick introduction to this interesting part of London, but really seeing the area would require another day trip. The Thames River cruiser back was a nice ending, despite a rather cold wait for it to arrive. A most enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Philander C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Leeds Castle has an unique beauty all its own. Visiting it was one of the highlights of our visit to England. Our guided tour of the rooms was excellent, and we had some time to stroll the grounds and absorb some of the beauty of the castle's wonderful setting. Our visit to Dover beach and to the new Battle of Britain memorial on top of the cliffs was memorable. Canterbury Cathedral almost defies description. The Canterbury Choral Society was rehearsing Beethoven's Missa Solemnis while were there, and the music filled the vastness of the building. You could almost see the ghosts of the past 1400 years from Chaucer to Becket to Elizabeth I to Elizabeth II. Greenwich was an entirely different sort of experience but equally memorable in its own way. Huge crowds of Londoners were out on this Sunday afternoon enjoying and celebrating the glorious June weather. The cruise back up the Thames was a nice way to finish the day. It would, however, have been nicer to have had an open deck vessel rather then the closed deck ferry.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Dolat B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Every thing was perfect, our guide was very informative, but wish we had a longer stay in Greenwich.. would recommend this tour to everybody.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Kathleen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Brilliant day out! Knowledgeable guide, Highly recommend seeing Leeds Castle if you get the chance. Plenty of time to wander around after the guided tour. Canterbury Cathedral and Canterbury were also very interesting. Had time for a wander in Canterbury as well. And then on to Greenwich, which was mostly closed, but our guide took us for a walk around the town and then gave us a guided tour on the boat up the Thames. I didn't realise that most places would be closed on the final leg of these day trips, but it was a great day out and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Janice N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Was a great trip - guide was very good. Only criticism was that there was no time in Greenwich, its was really just a stop to get off the coach and get on the Thames Clipper, although we did walk through the grounds near the river and had the chance to take a few piccies. Everything else was spot on.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful all day tour. Leeds Castle, beautiful! Dover, Canterbury, and Greenwich. Very informed guide. Recommend it!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Freya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A great day trip. Canterbury Cathedral is spectacular and Leeds Castle in a beautiful setting. The private tour of the Castle was very informative. We had fabulous views of the white cliffs of Dover during our lunch stop and the boat cruise from Greenwich back to London was a great way to see London from the hub of the Thames. Our guide David was very informative.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The excursion itself was great. Just the right amount of time was spent at each location, and we really enjoyed the personal tours at Leeds Castle and Canterbury Cathedral. The stopoff point at the Dover cliffs rendered an incredible view and lots of photos. It's too bad, though, that the Greenwich meridian was closed off for us due to Olympic street closings, but we understood that it wasn't your fault. The only thing I would change is the place to eat lunch in Dover. The hotel food was too pricey, and the food was not that great; I had better fish and chips in a pub in London. The Thames River tour was a nice ending to the whole tour. Overall, we really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Judy & Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The castle was charming along with the black swans. Hint: take picutres of Castle as soon as you walk up because when you come out... surrounded by people! We enjoyed our ride to Dover and white cliffs. Lunch was excellent in Dover. The British War Memorial was a surprise with great views and photo ops of the Cliffs and back to Greenwich. Our guide was funny and informative.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Leeds castle was great and easy to understand why it is rated the prettiest castle in England.Lunch at Dover was included and enjoyed the "Spitfire" beer (extra cost but reasonable). Canterbury cathedral was maginificent. Everything was closed by the time we arrived in Greenwich so no value in going there other than to catch the boat back down the river to London. Mark the guide was excellent

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

skwasson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I enjoyed this trip. It was the perfect amount of time at each place. The cruise down the Thames from Greenwich to London was fun and relaxing.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Karen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Well organized, very good guide, but would have liked to see prime Meridien while we had a lot of extra time in Greenwich.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

K HIMAL N K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The entire tour was a great experience in which we loved the time at Leeds Castle the most. Not to forget the guide of the tour Steev, who really was an encyclopedia. It would have been perfect if we were able to see the greenwich museum also but couldn't help since it was closed on the day we visited. The rain at the end of the journey (during the river cruise) did made some difficulties for us (since we were with a baby with 2 1/2 yrs) but should say didn't hamper the fun and experience in any ways. Finally a special thanks to the guys of the tour coach company who helped me to catch the coach as I was late to the departing point on that day. We would have missed this great tour if not for those guys who drove me in their vehicle till we reached the touring party. All in all it was a great experience!!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This was a great trip and I highly recommend it to those who have a limited amount of time to see just as much as possible of that part of England. Leeds Castle is beautiful even in the rain!. Our lunch was very nice. Canterbury Cathedral is a must for anyone interested in British history andor literature. The short visit to Greenwich was long enough, and the sunset cruise back to London was nice however, the scones turned into blueberry muffins somehow. All in all--good trip!!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Deborah W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

David was a great tour guide. Leeds Castle was interesting as was the White Cliffs of Dover. Canterbury was wonderful and I learned so much at Greenwich. Fantastic tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Janelle C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Everything was as I expected. I would have like to go to the Observatory at Greenwich and think we would have had ample time as we had to wait around to catch the boat for the trip up the Thames.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was a very nice tour. The private tour of Leeds Castle was great! Canterbury is a lovely town, but could have used more time in Greenwich. The tour guide was friendly and also very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

William L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was an excellent tour! It was rainy the day we took the tour, but that made it feel more like jolly old England. Leeds Castle was wonderful and the private tour made it even better-no crowds to deal with. Lunch at the white cliffs of Dover was realy neat-even through the fog. Cantebury Church was unbelieveable, and the Greenwich boat ride back to the London Eye gave us a super view of the city.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message