One of Britain's most distinguishable heritage sites is the grand Leeds Castle. Sprawled out over 500 acres of land, a trip to this royal 12th-century gem is an essential stop for any visitor who wishes to truly understand Britain's venerable ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 242 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith B W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had so much fun! Leeds Castle is very well presented, the Cathedral at Canterbury is breathtaking, and to see the white cliffs of Dover in the fog was a real treat! Tour guide, Monica, was fantastic and fun! Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

K L D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved this tour, Leeds Castle was gorgeous and Canterbury is such a fun city to explore!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Juli M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Leeds is a beautiful castle. Our tour guide on the bus and the bus driver were entertaining and a great driver. I really enjoyed the tour of the castle ahead of the public and would have loved to see more of the grounds. Our tour guide was great in the castle was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. I wish we had all day to walk around the spectacular grounds and enjoy them. The lake with the birds was really lovely. Overall I thought the entire tour Leeds castle, Canterbury cathedral, White Cliffs of Dover and Greenwich ferry to Central London was too many sights in one day. Although I really enjoyed the Canterbury cathedral as well, we did not have time for lunch. The entire area around the Cathedral was packed with people and the restaurant where we tried to eat was not able serve 2 salads in over an hour. As a result, we had only the apples we brought with for the entire day. This wasn't healthy for my mom, who is diabetic. When we got to Dover the sun was setting, it was very cold and there were no food stands open. The beach was beautiful and the vision of the castle on the hill was breathtaking, but I was really hungry. When we got to Greenwich it was dark. we went back to see the sights the next day on our own. In short, this tour is a great value. However, bring plenty of snacks and water for yourself and prepare for a very long day.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Tammylee E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour give you a great view of the countryside. Our guide and driver were great - no complaints. Enjoyed checking out Leeds Castle take plenty of Pixs and Canterbury Cathedral. Wasn't too impressed with the stop at the Cliffs of Dover, you only get 15 minutes and you take photos from an alternate point by the cliffs not at the cliffs.

It was very cold and rainy on the day of visit, so my disappointment was only temporary.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and Cliffs of Dover Custom Day Trip

Robert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour of Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and the Battle of Britain Memorial in Dover. The tour guide was very good and knowledgeable about the history of every place we visited and she was very well educated in all the interesting historic places. Clearly she had done her homework. I highly recommend the tour and we are so glad we took it. An easy day trip out of London with someone else doing the driving! My only suggestion for improvement would be a different restaurant for lunch. It was pretty basic and institutional and there are other wonderful restaurants in Canterbury that would have been nicer. But except for that, gets a 99 out of 100 rating!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Alton S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very informative and nice. The bus was comfortable and our driver really friendly. It was quite an experience to hear the history of the different sites as we drove through the countryside. The private viewing of Leeds Castle was wonderful. The Cliffs of Dover were beautiful and we even got a peek of France across the channel. The Canterbury Cathedral is simply amazing! All in all an excellent choice.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

mrskimhelsing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely gorgeous tour! Loved our tour guide Charlotte... knowledgeable, funny, and bubbly. Leeds Castle is a must see.... It's is breathtaking. Families with their children were picnicking on the lawn as black swans slowly swam by. Very charming! The city of Canterbury and it's grand cathedral were full of beauty and bloody history. We enjoyed the little farmers market in the town square. To top off this amazing trip was our glimpse of Calais as we stood looking over the English Channel in Dover! Unforgettable!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Carol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful day excursion. Arriving at Leeds Castle before the public was admitted and being able to tour the castle with our guide was fantastic! Seeing the Dover Cliffs and shore was very nice and the Canterbury Cathedral was wonderful. The park in Greenwich was very nice and the river cruise to end the day was very relaxing. The perfect day!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

karens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day out! Great locations and well organized itinerary--you get a lot out of the day, with very little dead time on the bus. The guide Debra was excellent and had lots of information for us about the history of Kent and the various sites we went to. She also had good tips for where to eat at each spot and how to get the most out of each site. My only complaint is that the departure was very disorganized. Evan Evans has about 10 tours leaving at the same time from Victoria Coach station, all through about 2 or 3 cramped gates. They kept switching gates on people and there was no PA system to tell people where to go or what was boarding next. It meant we all stood in a big, cramped lump pushing forward to hear what the guide at the door was shouting and then pushing back when it wasn't our turn. Meanwhile, half of regular London is just trying to get on their regular commuter busses and tromping past confused, cramped tourists. Debra's calm demeanour and well organized itinerary saved the day but Evan Evans needs to do better with its first impression! As an aside, Leeds Castle is amazing and well set up for families. If you have a bit more time, or are thinking about doing a country day out of London, consider staying over night or spending an entire day there--lots to do and many of the visitors were Britons themselves so it's a chance to interact with locals more than you do at most tourist sites where you really only talk to other tourists.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Dorian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great trip! I have always done my own thing, but to be able to see three different attractions in one day, we decided to do a tour. Leeds Castle is technically a castle, however if you have been to others, this one may disappoint. It was really more of a manor house. It's beautiful, but I do not feel the need to go back and could have used that time in Canterbury. The tour ran with military precision an our guide was so nice and knowledgeable. We had such good weather we were able to see the Cliffs from the top and bottom and had time to stop for photos. The Cathedral was amazing and we could have used more time in the town. But there are only so many hours in the day and we used every one! This trip will not disapoint.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Rita M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I wavered between this tour and the Stonehenge tour. So glad I picked this one. Loved seeing Leeds Castle. We had plenty of time to wander through the castle and take pictures of the beautiful landscape. The White Cliffs of Dover, though very simple, was a favorite stop. Thank goodness we were taken to the top and were able to stop at the historic site. This should always be included as part of the stop. The view was spectacular and memorable. Thank you to our tour guide for choosing to make this stop. Then on to Canterbury. The church was beautiful. Could have used more time in Canterbury, though would not want to have missed out on the Dover stop. We did use the hotel pick up, though think maybe would have been better off getting to Victoria Station ourselves might have been better. We were late getting to the Station and barely had time to make a bathroom stop before the bus was leaving. Felt rushed though not our fault.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Jessica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Super tour! Great day to be out of the city and enjoy some nice nature and old buildings. The flower gardens at leeds castle and the beach at the cliffs are a must see!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Rose E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful guide on this tour- Debra. She was the best guide we had on all of our many excursions. She was both informative and funny. Leeds Castle was a bit crowded. They make you wait in a line before entering- but that turned out to be a good thing because it staggered the crowds to make the actual viewing of the castle a better experience. We had plenty of time here. The Cliffs of Dover were also quite nice- we probably could have used a bit more time here, although it was still enough to get a picture. Our guide arranged for us to have lunch in Canterbury and our group was the only one there when we toured the cathedral. The cathedral was quite nice and we were given a lot of access to its different parts. This was a great tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Darren.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Leeds castle was pretty. Didn and #39;t have high expectations so it was fine. Canterbury Cathedral and town were awesome. The Cliffs of Dover and the WWII memorial was amazing. Monica our tour guide was excellent. The pace was great.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

carolawhite3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful day trip, nice to get out of the city and see a bit of the beautiful countryside. Leeds Castle is beautiful as is the Cathedral in Canterbury. Our tour guide, Sev, was wonderful, very knowledgeable and made the experience great!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Victoria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of my favorite tours! Canterbury felt like stepping back into time, it was amazing and there were plenty of little shops around. Leeds Castle was breathtaking! I definitely recommend this tour for anyone who wants to get out of London and see some other sights. It was one of the few castles you could take pictures inside. Would have loved to have more time exploring the grounds of the castle and maybe less time in Greenwich. I think it could have been better communicated to the person giving the castle tour that just because we needed to be back on the bus by a certain time doesn't mean they use all of that time for the tour. There was hardly any time left to explore the grounds and go to the gift shop because the castle tourguide thought she had up until the time we needed to be back on the bus.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Mary Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A day out of the London bustle ....Leeds Castle is enchanting, Canterbury Cathedral imposing and beautiful. The personal communication gadget enabled my elderly aunt and me to listen to all the commentary and useful information supplied by the guide, even though we had to walk slowly and lost the group on the way to Canterbury Cathedral. We both have mobility difficulties. A great day.....high recommended tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

jewelsdi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent guide with a good amount of time at each stop. My only critique would be the subway sandwich which appeared to only have lettuce in it. Really.. it was so bad and only slightly better than nothing. We loved Leeds Castle -- it was so beautiful and we were blessed with sunny spring weather. The Thames cruise was a nice ending and the entire tour was a good value.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral, Dover and Greenwich with Thames River Cruise Tour from London

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a highlight of our 7 days in England. The guide, Leslie, was outstanding. We learned so much about English history in just one day. Leeds castle is gorgeous, just as lovely as the photo. We were incredibly lucky to see a Spitfire do a barrel roll and tip its wings to the Battle of Britain monument. The tour of Canterbury Castle was very well done. We enjoyed a lovely lunch at the Canterbury Pub. This tour was a great value!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide was pleasant and very knowledgeable. Enjoyed each stop on the tour. Would have liked a bit more time at Leeds Castle.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Lisa P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Leeds Castle was absolutely beautiful as were the grounds. Well worth the tour. Due to rain the Dover Cliffs were a dud because we could hardly see anything. The Canterbury portion was also well done and the tour guide had set up a place for lunch and it was delicious. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Katheryn United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. We had a lovely guide Holly and a good driver Mick. Had time to enjoy Leeds Castle, and Canterbury. Took a few photos in Dover and that was enough. Not too long of a bus ride between stops. It was a relaxing day, nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of London. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Cathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our group enjoyed the tour, Cantebury cathedral , Leeds castle and cliffs of Dover. The town of Cantbury also was so cute, lots of shops to check out. We have great pictures from the cliffs of Dover. The wind is so strong there, the girls hair was flying. Richard our tour guide was very pleasant and he had a nice personality.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and Cliffs of Dover Custom Day Trip

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful tour. The weather was perfect and our guide was courteous and knowledgeable. Couldn't have been a better day. Leeds Castle is definitely one of the most beautiful castles to see in person. We had more then enough time to explore all the stops. It helped that everyone was mindful of the schedule and returned to the coach on time. The cruise is actually more of ferry with scheduled stops but you get a great view of the waterline back to central London.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral, Dover and Greenwich with Thames River Cruise Tour from London

Em Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a great tour! Would have loved more time at Leeds Castle to walk the garden a bit, but otherwise a very informative and great way to see new places. Canterbury Cathedral was great and one of the employees/volunteers at the Cathedral provided some fascinating information about one of the stained glass windows that I would never have found on my own. The tour did feel a little rushed, but it is a lot to get through in one day, so really recommend researching the places to ensure you get to see what you want to see. :

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message