London ATTRACTIONS See all

Tower of London

From medieval torture to grim executions and infamous royal prisoners, the Tower of London has long found itself at the center of the city's dark history. Built by William the Conqueror in 1066, the historic castle has served as a Royal menagerie, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 795 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lorraine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is worth every penny. The early access to the Tower of London is a wonderful experience minus the crowds. Our tour guide, Deborah, was probably one of the finest guides we have ever encountered. The tour of St. Paul's is amazing. We also had a guide from the Cathederal. She ushered us into areas not open to the general public. The library was very beautiful. This was one of our most memorable Lobdon experiences.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Access to Tower of London and St Paul's Cathedral

Beverly A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We spent the entire day visiting the Tower of London and still didn't have enough time to see and enjoy everything there. We liked not having to stand in a long queue to get into the grounds.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Diana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

When you are in a city as full of history as London, you do not want to queue in long lines to enter. We really enjoyed the Tower and all of the exhibits.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

suzannecapps61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our group of 7 had a wonderful time on this tour. Boats run frequently and are easy to board. The Tower of London was amazing and all decided that if we had more time we would have spent at least one other day here. Thank you for making this a great experience in London.

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

Gail H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. I especially enjoyed getting into the Tower of London early-no lines to view the crown jewels. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. We were able to see so very much in our short visit to London. No dallying here!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sandal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Tower of London tour was really fantastic, the guides who are authentic Beef Eaters are just brilliant, and very funny. They have the comic timing of well trained actors. All the info was terrific, it was only an hour and packed with so much information and laughter. Of course you can stay all day and see the Royal Jewels and the Chapel etc.., at your leisure The River Cruise was good, but if you are going to Westminster don't buy lunch on board, there is not enough time to eat it! Well worth the money. Sorry I can't post photos lost the camera!,

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

jerriwtx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really fun tour! We were lucky to be there the day of a change of leadership at the Tower. Extra bonus for us. In addition, I would pay for the tour of the Library at St. Paul's alone! The smell of those old books and seeing that history, as well as the model of the Cathedral, was simply amazing. One of my favorite pictures was of the library.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Access to Tower of London and St Paul's Cathedral

thepeevs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved this tour although we decided not to participate in the free Beefeater Tour as it was very busy, a large crowd which made it difficult to hear the gentleman. We did purchase the audio guide and made good use of that. It is a fascinating building with loads of history and great views of Tower Bridge as well. Give yourself a good 3-4 hours to really explore the place.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Laverne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed our Tower of London tour through Viator since this was our first visit to London.
The lines were long so having pre-purchased them expedited our entrance which was very
helpful in making the most of our time and our day. We really had a great time on the included
Beefeater tour. The guides conducting them are witty and full of entertaining stories about the
history of this place. Don't miss! Seeing the Crown Jewels was a once in a lifetime--lines to get
in, but they went fairly quickly. Lots to see and do, the earlier you get there, the better. It gets really
busy mid-day. I would book again with Viator.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Barns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour - John our host was a ripper fella and so much knowledge
We did this on Day 1 of our UK trip and that was the right call as we were then able to top up from their on other spots we missed or wanted to see again.
Tower of London, St Paul and #39;s Cathedral, The Palace, Thames trip , MI6 fab

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

John L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There is much to see and do at the Tower of London, beyond seeing the Crown Jewels...which were very well displayed along with the historical significance of each jeweled piece. The Tower of London is a must see, but you need to give at least 3 hours to the adventure. Tickets worked well!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

worthington.rl United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Definitely a must for tourists. Tower of London was especially impressive.

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tower of London is Huge! We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It just so happened to be the hottest day of the summer for London, over 90 degrees F. The Beefeater Tour Guide dressed in the normal Beefeater attire said it was far too hot to do the entire tour so we walked to the chapel and had a brief history lesson from him and then he let us go out on our own. It was unfortunate that the tour was cut short but we still went into all that the Tower has to offer. The crown jewels was definitely worth the wait and the line moves very quickly.

We booked these tickets the morning of and it was very easy to walk in. Make sure to print it out first, and you can just walk right up to the front main entrance.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The departure time on this tour in the summer is 8:15 AM so do not be late. Our group of 4 was late due to the delays on the London Underground so we missed this tour. However, the tour company City Wonders was very helpful and rescheduled us on another tour London Highlights Walking Tour with Afternoon Tea for later that day. As for the Tower of London, we bought our tickets and did the normal tour with the Beefeaters. It was a lot of fun. The replacement afternoon tour turned out to be a very pleasant surprise and our group really enjoyed the afternoon tea experience. The most important point is that the Viator/City Wonders companies turned what was initially a big disappointment into a great day. This is why we always use Viator.

Doing what: Royal London Walking Tour Including Early Access to the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

KR W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour of the tower. The beefeater was fantastic too. Make sure you get there early before the crowds. We were able to go in to see the Crown Jewels without queuing as we went as soon as it opened.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Janet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best tour guide of our trip - Clive was our guide. The guide is actually a Yeoman Warder. The Yeoman Warders have 20 years in the British military service, achieve a certain rank, and have awards for distinction and good conduct. Look at each uniform. You will see their bars for awards and rankings.

Our Yeoman, Clive, was extremely knowledgeable with a bit of humor. This was the only tour I had taken where I could hear and understand the guide, all without a microphone. Clive had a presence and a voice that you could hear in a crowd of 100.

History and stories of the Tower were fascinating and well told. The guided tour ended with a visit to the Church. Plaques honoring the British military were present. Clive ended the tour with a discussion on what are the qualifications to becoming a Yeoman. He stated it is an honor to serve and live Yeoman and their families live at the Tower with such pride.

The Crown Jewels is a self guided tour. No pictures allowed. However, you can see the scepters and crowns that the monarchy had worn in display cases as well as swords and other royal bling. Don't be deceived by the long line to the Jewels, it goes fast.

Leave time to poke around the Tower. The ravens are cool as well as the Bloody Tower with the torture devices. Any fan of Tudors or King of Thrones, this is a must see.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Lauren B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Getting into the Tower of London early was fantastic. We were literally the first ones in there. Our time there was rushed though and another 1/2 hour or so would have made it perfect. We had to zip out of there to catch a boat ride to Buckingham Palace to see the changing of the guard. Very efficient use of our time and great sites. Fast paced tour - may be difficult for slower people.

Doing what: Royal London Walking Tour Including Early Access to the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

Jane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this tour takes you to the perfect viewing spots for the ceremonial portions of the tour at precisely the correct moment. Early admisssion into the tower of London was a refreshing break from the crowded lines and streets of London. Our guide was a talented story teller and was able to fill the morning with rich history and inside scoops. This is definitely a tour that is worthwhile.

Doing what: Royal London Walking Tour Including Early Access to the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

Kirsten A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Tower of London was a highlight of our trip! This is a must see for any visitor, especially the armory! Lot of confusion about how to actually get the tickets to avoid the long lines. We were given bad information by one of the Tower employees and ended up losing about 45 minutes. Definitely go to the group tour booth to get tickets and then the group tour entrance.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

sklloyd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Fitting in both parts of this tour could be tough for some people. We started at the Tower of London, and we were able to change our voucher there at the City Cruise station even though the ticket said we would not be able to. We were able to fit it all in.

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

Lori P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour, excellent guide. We saw Westminister Abbey and Tower of London before any crowds, easlily went in to view the Crown Jewels. River cruise was fun, saw part of the changing of the gaurd, and enjoyed St. Paul's. Always had time to explore and our guide pointed out many places of interest as we rode on the bus. We never had to stand around and wait because our bus driver was always ready.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Thomas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved the tour. It was a real thrill to be let into the Tower of London early to see the opening of the tower ceremony. Danielle was fabulous -- extremely knowledgeable, cheery and funny.

Doing what: Royal London Walking Tour Including Early Access to the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great overview and a day well spent. Perhaps another 30-45 minutes at Tower of London.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Rosane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing day out, the Tower of London is such an unmissable landmark in London! I spent a whole afternoon exploring it, there's loads to see. The crown jewels were totally overwhelming, I doubt I'll get to see anything alike so I'm pretty happy with my choice! Easy and hassle free.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Gloria A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour with the beefeater is free inside the tower. Do not think you are getting something extra.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message