London ATTRACTIONS See all

Tower of London

From medieval torture to grim executions and infamous royal prisoners, the Tower of London has long found itself at the center of the city's dark history. Built by William the Conqueror in 1066, the historic castle has served as a Royal menagerie, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 839 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leslie Dawn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The London full day tour was exceptional in my mind. We got a great feel for the city, with a lot of information about history, tradition and culture. The Tower of London was fascinating and I enjoyed the history and seeing the Crown Jewels. Our Yeomen Warder, Moira, was also excellent. She gave us some great stories and history of the tower. I also really enjoyed being on the clipper that brought us back near the parliament buildings--we got a different view of some of the things we had seen from the bus. I really enjoyed St. Paul's cathedral as well. Such an important part of English history and culture. It was beautiful and I learned so much from our guide about it and it's significance during WWII. This was very meaningful for me as my grandfather served in England during the war, and my grandmother was a war bride.

Again--both our driver and our guide were excellent. My hats off to our driver who could navigate those crazy streets with all the crazy traffic, and our guide who never ran our of interesting information. It was nice to get commentary about the actual city of London as well as parliament square, Whitehall, Trafalgar Square, covent gardens, and many others as we passed by them on the bus. It was a busy, full day where we saw and experienced a lot, but we didn't feel like we had spent all day on the bus

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Kate M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Perfect! Skipped the line. Arrived just in time for the beefeater guided tour about one hour in length leaves like every 30 minutes. After the tour, we spent time on our own in the areas of the tower we were most interested in. A experience!!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well, everyone visiting London has to do this tour at least once. This was my second time first for the wife. The jewels still look a bit tacky to me as they did in 1991, but to each his/her own. Great tour with the Beefeater lots of history, of course. Great weather helped. Quite a bit of walking, so dress appropriately. Between the Tower and the city proper is a GREAT fish and chips take away!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Tricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We Went to see the Crown jewels and the tower of London. So many other people decided to visit them too. It was well worth the visit. The crown jewels are pretty spectacular. There is also a lot of history relating to this place. So much to see do. If you go to London you have to visit. We did our own tour and it was fantastic.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Dennis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

fantastic tour guide and driver Julie and Jose - hit major stop like Tower of London first group in ahead of the crowds - HUGE, St Paul's Cathedral. Grab the add on of London Eye, amazing views of the city especially Big Ben/Houses of Parliament and River Thames

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Barbara F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Tower of London which included the Beefeater Tour was great! Our guide was quite knowledgeable. It was hard to hear him at times due to the number of people in our group. He was also quite testy in the chapel when one man was taking photos. Granted he had told us a couple of times not to do so, but he yelled at the man. I do believe he could have been a bit more polite and still be firm about the issue. Though I am sure he has to tell people this a million times a day and gets tired of it. Now the best part of the purchase of this ticket was that it included Hampton Court Palace and Kensington Palace, but there was a kink. The kink was that when we got to Hampton Court Palace the young lady at the ticket area was going to make us buy tickets, but then she thoroughly read all page of information I had with me from Viator and saw Hampton Court was included and gave us the tickets. She told me to mention to Viator that they need to be more specific in the write up of their information. Also maybe inform the vendors who might be the to give out tickets give tickets to the other venues like the London by Vintage Bus tour guide did for us to Westminster Abbey. Anyway, Hampton Court was fabulous! It is so well maintained. The castle is small compared to others I've seen, but so beautiful. We stayed more to Henry VIII's apartments and the courtyard as we had other things to do that day. The grounds are perfection. I highly recommend this tour! Barbara Fee

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

James Bell United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Who knew that City of London and London are not the same. Loved the crown jewels and Tower Bridge . Excellent day.

Doing what: London City Sightseeing Tour Including Tower of London and City of London

camtaywil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was amazing. She was like a walking encyclopedia of London history. She was very mindful of how busy the city can be and she made it a point to wait for every person in our tour. We were able to visit every site listed on the itinerary and there wasn't a wait. Skipping the line at the Tower of London was a great additional feature of this tour because the line was quite long when we arrived. We didn't get to see the changing of the guard because it wasn't a day that event is scheduled, so if that's really important to you -- find out in advance.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Esther M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Full day of sight seeing. I saw all the main attractions of London I especially loved Tower of London and the boat cruise. All the sights were great, only thin is Westminster Abby was cut short and we did not have time to go in the church. Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Tower is awesome all by itself, but the Beefeater tour really made the day. Our guide, Dave, was excellent! He provided tons of interesting and detailed information throughout the Tower grounds, and his wit added that little something extra. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Kristel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend this tour - we were able to see the Opening Key Ceremony which was quite unique and avoid the crowds at the Tower of London. Then, on to the Thames Cruise with our tour guide Phil providing great insights to the sights around us. Then, as we disembarked the cruise, and began walking through London, he provide wonderful insights and managed to share with us many elements of the Changing of the Guard, not just a single station. It was wonderful! I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Royal London Walking Tour Including Early Access to the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

Christina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was nice to get to go to the Tower of London on a different day from the cruise. The audio tour on the Thames cruise was difficult to hear at times, but it was nice to get to have as much time as desired in Greenwich.

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

julie w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour with a knowledgeable Beefeater guide. Tour lasted approx 50 mins then we spent 3hrs going round the Tower and see the Crown Jewels.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

lyndatavares

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lots to see need more that 3 hours but we did not have time. We really went mainly to see the Crown Jewels which only took 10 minutes a little disappointing. A lot of the same stuff just at different time zones. We walked from the Tower of London to the London Eye took us about 1 and half hour but we saw and enjoyed them view Septermber 2016. Wonderful weather in London

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Guide Norma was great. Informative, easy going and helpful. Getting into tower early and seeing Key Ceremony were the way to go. As we were leaving, the crowds had already beset the place. Crown Jewels at your own pace is worth the ticket alone. The walk through the City was pleasant and, thanks to Norma, educational and interesting. It is a bit of a hike though, and while Norma couldn't have been more patient, some of our less mobile tour mates struggled some. St. Pauls was unbelievable. If you can make it, the climb to the top is well worth the considerable effort. The views were the best. Norma, as always, was there to give the crypt tour and American Chapel extra depth.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Access to Tower of London and St Paul's Cathedral

susan b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were extremely pleased with the ease of this trip. No problems at river trio or Tower of London . The whole process went smoothly and would definitely recommend your tours. Thankyou

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

DESERE J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were treated VERY well - as senior citizens - was treated well and the tour was fabulous!!! Very good tour at Tower of London as well.

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

Frederick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was so nice. It really covered the interest areas. Actually the river cruise was so entertaining by virtue of the funny guide. And you gotta see the Tower.
Great job with the ticketing and everything. It was professionally done.

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

Philip L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The bus picked us up at our hotel which was very convenient. Our driver was obviously well versed in navigating the streets of London and avoiding heavy traffic.

The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. He shared a number of interesting facts and stories while we drove and walked around London.

There were many highlights on this sightseeing tour including front of the line access at the Tower of London followed by a tour from a Beefeater who regaled us with tales of the Tower's past. We also visited Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, and St. Paul's Cathedral.

I would not advise people to book this tour on a Sunday. We did, and we were consequently unable to go inside of Westminster Abbey nor could we see very much inside of St. Paul's because of Sunday services. Other than that I would highly recommend this tour, especially to someone visiting London for the first time and wanting to see some of the major sites.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Mary Lou W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Tower of London is fantastic. Being able to show our voucher at the group ticket window was a great timesaver. Be sure to go at 9 AM when it opens, and go straight to the Crown Jewels and then the White Tower, as those areas get more crowded with lines to get in later in the day. We spent four or five hours there.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Vanessa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the second time inside the Tower, and still loved it!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Monika M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cheaper than booking on the Tower website.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

MaryEllen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Second time on this tour, and loved it again! Best way to beat the lines and get some background of the tower.
Highly recommend!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Francene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Tower was a great attraction. The advanced tickets allowed us to go right in. We did the crown jewels first, and then every high else. We spent the whole day and had a lovely time.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Frances H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Tower is a must see but make sure you do a tour with a Warder yeoman otherwise the value will be considerably less. The tour is included. You can spend hours here. The sightseeing cruise is useful too if the crew give you a commentary. You take the cruise to the Tower/Palace, do your tour and then take the cruise back to Westminster. Convenient.

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message