London ATTRACTIONS See all

Warwick Castle

One of England's historic medieval castles, Warwick Castle was originally built by William the Conqueror and has seen the likes of Henry of Anjou and the 16th Earl of Warwick, Richard Neville. Protected from any architectural changes as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 277 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dawn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was great, could have used more time in Oxford and Warwick castle. Salvatore our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Jeffery R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was so informative and our tour guide and driver were amazing. Stratford is a lovely community. In fact Shakespeare's home is nice to visit but the town itself is gorgeous and the people are so friendly. I could live there. Warwick Castle appears as it probably did 300 years ago or so. The furniture and the decor are mostly original and the layout is designed to keep you fully engaged. The grounds of the castle are well maintained and it is as if you have taken a step back in time. Oxford University was nice. They filmed some of the Harry Potter movies there and people in our group seemed very interested in that. But my family really were interested in the institution itself as the history of that University is so important to the history of England that we felt as if we were walking on hallowed ground. Beautiful buildings and lovely history. Overall, The instructions and arrangements that Viator made took all of the worry out of our hands and we had to do nothing but sit back and enjoy. Very well done.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

smdyowell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very informative and enjoyable one-day trip that highlighted the beauty of the Cotswolds plus visits to Oxford, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle. Although we could easily have spent more than a day at each location, our guide Reece made certain that we would get the most out of each stop by providing an excellent background narrative. Kudos to Reece for an outstanding tour!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Melissa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was in London for a business trip and for that reason, I only had two full days to devote to sightseeing and touring. I was also alone for reviewers that might be travelling solo. I am SO glad that I decided to devote one of those days to this tour. Reese was our guide and he was exceptional - funny, kind, helpful and so knowledgeable. Michelangelo was our driver and it was all smooth sailing. I wish we had more time at Oxford and in Stratford-Upon-Avon, but alas, I understand the need to keep things shorter so you can do more. That is the only suggestion I would make is to start the tour earlier and perhaps make it an hour later for more time at those locations. The amount of time allotted for Warwick Castle was enough - in my opinion. Such a wonderful experience. Thank you Reese and Michelangelo!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Anna O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing! It was only too short! Especially for Oxford! Stratford and Oxford would be enough! Still Warwick Castle was nice to see and our driver and guide was really nice too

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Joseph A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took this tour on May 17, 2016. Phil kept us entertained and gave us a lot of historical information. It was a good trip with a good guide. Warwick Castle is a grand structure. The other places on the tour were interesting because of their historical significance.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Trisha C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was very nice - however be warned that the day starts off stressfully at Victoria Coach Station. However, once you're on the tour bus, you can sit back and relax. The tour guide we had was very informative and told us about each stop before we got there. It is a whistle stop tour, so you don't get much time at each location. We quickly made our way through Warwick Castle and ran back to the bus before heading off to Stratford-upon-Avon. We we're excited about this stop, but it was a disappointment. The Shakespeare museum was so packed wall-to-wall people that it didn't feel safe. It would have been nice to go see some other sites off the beaten track, like Anne Hathaway's house. The star of the show was Oxford. We enjoyed this tour so much, we want to go back and spend more time. Make sure you do Christ Church Oxford, because that made the entire tour worthwhile. Several people on tour who didn't select the option wanted to add it at that time, but weren't able to. We also got to skip the line and we made it in before the masses, which was nice. If you're a fan of Harry Potter, you will love this place. Parts of the movie we're actually filmed here and it was just a beautiful place to visit.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

Nancy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I traveled to London over Spring break with 4 high school students. I chose this tour as it gave us a chance to see quite a bit of the countryside in one day. It exceeded my expectations! The walking tour through Oxford was leisurely and informative. The drive through the Cotswolds was great, and the kids thoroughly enjoyed seeing Shakespeare's home, and loved touring Warwick Castle! Great value for money!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Sharon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great tour guide who gave us good insights on the places we drove to as well as a great walking tour in Oxford. Personally, I thought Warwick Castle was interesting but a little over-commercialized. Thoroughly enjoyed Oxford and Stratford-on-Avon.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

ann O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! My daughter and I enjoyed Stratford, Cotswolds, and Oxford. If I would change one thing maybe to skip Warwick Castle and spend more time in Stratford-on-Avon.

Tour guide was terrific!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

GINO A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good tour! I think it would be better if the Warwick Castle part was removed and the tour just focused on Oxford and Stratford-Upon-Avon with the drive through the Cotswolds. Anyway, we had fun.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Jean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! You get to see all of the places and have a reasonable amount of time at each. There is no Cotswold portion per se as this is simply driving through the hills from Stratfor-on-Avon to Oxford. Great tour for an overview and then perhaps to come back and spend more time. Only thing we wish we had 30 minutes more so we could have seen the birds of prey show at Warwick Castle as it was just starting when we had to leave an looked awesome.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent tour with lots of history and beauty, but it is a lot to see in one day. We would have liked more time at all three stops Oxford, Stratford on Avon, and Warwick Castle however that would have been a multi-day or much longer one day trip. Still very good even is a little rushed.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Elena K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Loved this tour. Warwick castle was really interesting place - we haven't heard about it before so there was much to learn. Wish we had more time in Oxford...

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Mona Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I did this tour at the end of December. Beware: this time of year, these areas are rainy and cold. Bundle up and bring an umbrella! The tour itself was great. Our tour operator was very informative and even gave some history of the towns along the way. Oxford University is made up of more than 30 different colleges dispersed throughout the medieval town of Oxford. You will be passing through the Cotswolds, which is composed of several towns. Stratford-on-Avon is beautiful town. Make your way to the river where you'll find a statue of Shakespeare. Even though Warwick Castle is run by Madame Tussauds, it is very tastefully done. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Ahmad Fuad A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful tour. Warwick castle is magnificent. Most of the items exhibit in the Grand Hall are genuine. There are two trebuchets placed outside the castle make you wonder how they were used during medieval times. A trip to Oxford passing by Cotswolds town is an unforgettable journey. The picturesque landscape is very beautiful. A visit to world renowned Oxford University complete the tour. A special thank to the guide, Ms. Monica, a Brazilian with deep knowledge in English history. Very professional.

Doing what: Warwick Castle, Oxford, Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Custom Day Trip

AI S Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I made the booking just a day before the tour via Viator's app - which was a breeze! Our tour guide Monica was a gem! She spoke in English and Portuguese, with much wit and charm! She gave us a crash course on English history en route, which I find very interesting. First stop was Warwick Castle - we were given roughly 1.5 hours there. My partner and I sneaked off to its garden cafe instead, only returning to the castle proper about half an hour to meeting time. Then we went on to Stratford-on-Avon, spending another hour or so discovering Shakespeare's birthplace. Try to grab a bite at the town square, as stops were limited in frequency and duration. A drive through the Cotswolds took us to Oxford - Monica's knowledge about this university city made me wonder if she graduated from it! Lots of walking, so wear comfortable shoes! I know this tour was a sampler tour, and one mustn't expect too much from it due to time constraints. But having said that, a quick stop at the picturesque Cotswolds would've been marvelous. I had taken a trip to the Cotswolds in summer back in year 2000, so I know the area was worth at least half an hour for pics. But overall, this was a very enjoyable trip, and highly recommended for those who don't have the luxury of time and access to own transportation. Just sit back, relax and take in the scenery!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Diane K United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a lovely day touring. Our guide, Anthony was excellent. He provided commentary on the bus, ansered questioned then took us through Warwick Castle and on a walk around Oxford. Enjoyed driving through the Cotswolds.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

harithlc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had the best tour guide ever!! Rodney was extremely knowledgeable, very nice and quite funny. His droll humor kept us entertained throughout the otherwise tiring journey. The tour itself was wonderful and cost effective too. We felt like we could have used a little bit more time in Oxford but we understand the need for a tight schedule when covering all four places. Warwick castle was the highlight of our trip but the ride through Cotswolds was amazing as well. One of the best tours we've ever been on ! All the best to Rodney from Sri Lanka !! : :

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was excellent! Warwick Castle was a big surprise - much more than we expected and could have stayed all day.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

leslie a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

well-guided tour. lots of time in each stop. the drive thru the cotswolds was fast. it would have been nice to spend a few minutes in one of the villages. warwick castle was especially interesting.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Saurabh K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Trip was very good. Our tour coach was a knowledgeable person as well as very funny. Tea at Warwick castle was a cherry on top. However, timing to roam around in Oxford was very limited. Apart from it, I was also expecting to see some of the locations of Harry Potter movie scenes in this tour at Oxford but failed due to time shortage and non-inclusion of those colleges in this tour. Still, I would highly recommend this tour for 1st timer in UK.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

lizm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The unexpected highlight of this tour was Warwick Castle!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Actnj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Monica was upbeat and personal. Enjoyed her walking tour of Oxford. Wish there had been more time in Stratford Upon Avon. Warwick Castle was wonderful. Trip well worth it.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Roberto L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very nice tour, despite the rain. Oxford and Warwick castle are fantastic!

Doing what: Warwick Castle, Oxford, Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Custom Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message