London ATTRACTIONS See all

Windsor Castle

Windsor Castle is the largest working castle in the world that is still occupied by monarchy. For over 900 years, since William the Conqueror built a wooden fortress here, this has been a royal home and fortress. Queen Elizabeth spends a month at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 238 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was very well organised and we had a great tour guide and driver. If you only have limited time in London and want to see a few of the amazing sites then this is the tour to do. Windsor Castle was amazing and the tour was organised so that we were the first tour bus there and no queues. Unfortunately the State Rooms were closed at the time we went however the chapel and the changing of the guard is a must. The Chapel is absolutely gorgeous and the volunteers inside the chapel are very knowledgeable and take the time to talk to you. We had nearly 2 hours there - so quite a lot of time. Then we set off to Stonehenge, the country drive was lovely. We also arrived to not many queues but a freezing wind! Stonehenge is very cool and we had an audio guide as part of the tour, so it was great being able to listen to that on the way around. Again not many people - so a big plus. We had 1 1/2 hours there and as it was so cold that was enough time. We then set off to Bath - this was a bit of a drive but also very pretty. Bath was beautiful - you could spend a few days there, but we did have a few hours and managed to do the Roman Baths which were fascinating and got to have a bit of a walk around. These tours are ultimately about seeing what you can and then going back to the places you loved. So Bath will be a definite revisit. I'd highly recommend this tour. Good value for money and very professionally run. They also made a few drop offs in London on the way back so it was easier for people to get to their hotels - a nice touch.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Nico P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour takes most of the day so I wouldn't recommend planning anything further. You would get back to London very tired but certainly quite satisfied with the long tour. It's a quite complete tour. You really seize the day. In one of my first days in London I went to the Buckingham Palace early in the morning and read that such day the changing of the guard was gonna be at 11:00 AM, and I could not wait. Thus it was a great gift for me that, during the first stop of this trip, I could see the changing of the guard in the Windsor Castle. Such thing happened at the end of the time we were given for such part of the tour so once the changing of the guard ended, I had to go back pretty quickly towards the bus in order to be ready for going to the next stop: Stongehenge. I didn't expect we would have a tour guide who spoke Spanish, but the guy in charge was Spaniard and he told us everything in English and Spanish. He had perfect English accent too. And I'm pretty sure that some non English speakers in the bus were very grateful about this. For me, it was actually fun. I must say the guide unfortunately I don't remember his name was really attentive and had great attitude for helping everybody with any doubts. As long as we where going over the tour, he was very specific and helpful about how to get back to the bus from the places we where visiting. I personally don't like taking tours. Most time when I travel I prefer to go on my own. This was one of my first experiences in booking a tour and I don't regret it. One of the best things here was the fact that, in spite you move together with a bunch of people, the lines don't take too long, and once you enter the landmarks, you are actually on your own they only specify the time you need to return to the bus. And they insist on being very punctual, otherwise they would leave you to wait for their next bus this happened with one woman and her daughter who stayed too long in Stonehenge they apparently took care of everything. This is a very complete tour, since you are able to visit the Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and the Roman Baths. But they give you the perfect amount of time for each place. You don't feel that you are on a hurry, and you don't feel you are wasting time either. The distances are not quite short and the transportation between places takes some time, but you never get bored, since the guide is most time sharing interesting things about the places you are about to visit, wich increases expectation and, even tough you already have some information, will probably find some other interesting facts. When I was about to book the tour I wasn't so excited about the stop in the Roman Baths. Actually I didn't care too much about the Windsor Castle either. My main goal was Stonehenge. But I certainly don't regret have taking the whole tour. The baths are interesting, and the place they are located in is so beautiful. I really liked Bath and I thing is a very interesting place to visit in the future. Actually, as I was walking on its streets, I realized I need to make another trip visiting Medieval European places. Such is the atmosphere you feel in Bath. With regard to Stonehenge, well is the jewel of the whole trip it is actually the second stop and you won't regret it. It is an amazing place and, tough is a little crowded, you have good time for taking your pictures and appreciate such amazing, magical, energetic place. Once you are going back to London, the guide went over the bus asking each and everyone of the visitors where they wanted to go off in London and helping them with doubts. Tough the bus gets back to Victoria station, they can handle for you to go off in some other Subway stations that are on the way back, in order to avoid time spent within London traffic. In my case, I went off in the Gloucester subway station. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Leslie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We got a late start due to a London tube industrial action. Nevertheless, no time was shaved from the sites. If you're looking for a leisurely tour of Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Bath, you could easily spend a day exploring each. However, I did not have much time in London, and this was exactly the overview I expected on a day trip to three historical sites. Our guide and driver were a great team and I would recommend the Evan Evans/Viator tour to Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, and Bath for anyone on a budget and with little time to spend on a short trip to London.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

jaibhatia86 United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you are willing to devote one day and experience the beautiful English country side, this is a great package. From the rich English royalty experience of Windsor Castle, to picturesque Stonehenge, to experience authentic English food in the village of Lacock and finally walking around the pretty town of Bath, it takes you away from the hustle-bustle of London thru an enriching experience of England.
Windsor Castle - we had 1 hour to cover the castle and in case you want to cover all the sections, you might have to manage your pace as there is a lot to see at Windsor Castle. If you're in time, you might also be able to see the changing of guards which is a sight to watch. Make sure you have the audio guide.
Stonehenge - Well organized drop-off space from where you will be handed your tickets and a shuttle bus will take you to the actual spot. Make sure you have your audio guide.
Lacock - The lunch was setup in the oldest English Pub of Lacock. We were handed over menus in the coach to choose our lunch option so that it was prepared by the time we arrive at the pub. The food was quite tasty you'd need to pay for your own drinks.
Bath - This was more of a downtime i.e. you are free to choose whatever you wish to do during the dedicated time at Bath. It is a very pretty town so you may choose from either walking around and exploring or chill at a cafe or have the famous water at Bath.

Tips:
In case you are staying in Central London, inquire with the tour agency regarding the nearest pick-up point. In case you're checking in at he Victoria Coach Station, ensure you reach 15-minutes before your departure time.
Also, carry some snacks as the travel time between one place to another is 1-hour on an average.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We loved not having to navigate the London and surrounding traffic to be able to see Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath. The guide gave good information about each place before we stopped. We were particularly pleased to have been able to see the Christmas Market in Bath, but that was just the timing, not any planning on our part. It was a long day, but not as tiring as if we were trying to do it on our own. We thought it was a good value.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Ruichen Z China

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip is an absolutely amazing experience and is definitely worth the money.
It began with a horrible morning that I barely miss the trip because I got completely lost in the station. Fortunately, our local tour guide, who is a nice, lovely and experienced lady, waited me for 15 more minutes, about which I really appreciated. She introduced every interests with a great humor, although I wish she could give the option to follow her in the Windsor Castle for guide.
The Windsor Castle looked terrific under warm winter sunshine, however, it is difficult for a non-British to understand the exhibition inside the castle. The Stonehenge is no doubt my favorite interest in this trip. I truly enjoyed taking photos of the ancient stones, scattered by golden sunlight. For the Oxford, I didn't enjoy it as what I did with Windsor Castle and Stonehenge. It mainly because the tour in Oxford is limited within one hour, which is an unfortunate for someone like me, who is always worrying about timing.
It is a wise choice to see these three interests away from London. Although I wish I could have more time to stay in each interest, the overall experience is excellent. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Iban S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Stonehenge was an amazing expierence that everyone visiting London should do as its historic! Loved Windsor castle and the ability to explore on our own with good timing. We were not able to visit Oxford as there was a major accident on the road and we were lieratly stuck for a good 4 hours. Not the Viators fault. Needless to say, Windsor Castle and Stonehenge were a beautiful experience.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Howard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour and our guide were both wonderful. It's a very full day, so try to start rested. Also, if you are staying somewhere between London and Windsor Castle, check if the tour may be able to meet you on the way or at the Castle. I can't say enough good about the tour... an incredible introduction to key sites of England and lots of great history.... And very reasonable compared to trying to do it all on one's own.

Howard

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

Daniel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our Viator tour was run by subcontractor Evan Evans Tours, with tour guide 'David' and Bus driver 'Thomas'.

David was energetic, funny, and very accommodating, providing useful info on the relatively long rides between sites. We picked the option whereby he provided entry tickets ahead of time, which made entry into Windsor Castle and Stonehenge effortless.

The only knock on the tour is that you have limited time in each site, probably 1.5 hrs at Windsor, 1 hour at Stonehenge, and 1.5 hr in Oxford, and spend the rest of the long day in the coach. The countryside is pretty however, and the coach very comfortable, with onboard WiFi etc.

It's a great opportunity to see three diverse sites away from London, all in one day, but does not provide time for indepth exploration of any one, simply due to time/travel constraints.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Alisha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly enjoyed this tour! Windsor Castle was amazing, I could have spent an entire day there. Bath was a pleasant area as was Lacock. The pub lunch was ok, in my opinion it lacked flavor - but the atmosphere more than made up for any lack in the food. We also enjoyed Stonehenge. The tour guide was friendly and informative. He kept to the timetable so we were able to experience everything. I highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting a quick trip out of the city of London.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

Agatha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour mainly because of our guide, David, and our driver, Macolm. While traveling from site to site, David was full of history, stories and knowledge. He also answered many of our questions about London in general and the British way of life. There was a lot to see and do at each stop and we wanted a little more time at Windsor Castle and Stonehenge but all in all it was a fabulous day.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

tammy r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome tour. highly recommend this, tour company were awesome. As due to being wheelchair we got stuck upstairs in state room of windsor castle and thus missed our bus. The other drivers were doing there best to find us a way to continue or get us back to london. in end, got nearly same tour. the tour company was so great to allow us to get on a different tour and so helpful.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Luke Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was great and our guide, Tony, was fantastic. Got to Stonehenge early and beat the rush, had a nice stop in Bath where we had lunch, then spent a few hours touring Windsor Castle before being dropped back off in London.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Bath and Windsor from London

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

a must see-- excellent tour guide and we saw so much in one day!! Windsor Castle, Bath, Lacock and Stonehenge, very enjoyable. If you take one tour outside of the city of London, this should be it!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

Virginia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of our London trip highlights!! The 11 hour tour was very informative and enjoyable. The bus was comfortable, our guide Claudia was amazing, Windsor Castle, Bath and the Stonehenge was absolutely gorgeous :)

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip led by Kevin. He was a great tour guide that was hilarious and offered historical tidbits throughout the whole trip at and in between destinations. You certainly have to have a sense of humor to handle his jokes. I was very impressed by his ability to switch between English and Japanese. He goes out of his way to ensure everyone's questions are answered by going to each traveler and checking in on them one-by-one. He made sure we knew how to get home after the trip. Even with having some more difficult people on the trip, he handled everything with grace.

The tour package is a great way to get three major destinations fit into one day without having to plan for anything except showing up to get on the bus on time. With that said, you could easily dedicate whole days at Windsor Castle and Oxford. You are on a limited timeframe so I recommend doing a bit of research on what you want to see the most at Windsor Castle and prioritizing them. My friend and I started off at a slower pace and was rushing through towards the end. At Oxford, Kevin will lead you through the city so you won't have as much time to self explore except for a bit of shopping and coffee at the end. We were running a bit behind so it may have had more to do with my trip. Stonehenge is the middle destination and is pretty amazing. Once you arrive, you will have to take a short bus ride to Stonehenge from the visitor's center. We had plenty of time to see the site, wished we had a bit more time to see the exhibit at the visitor's center.

Overall, I highly recommend. It is a nice break from London and Kevin is great. I wish I could've had a beer with Kevin afterwards, he was a blast.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Lindsay R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outside the ridiculous wait to get into Windsor Castle that rushed the rest of the tour, this was a great way to spend our day seeing things outside of London. This tour would have been better outside of tour season May-July. But even with the lines, we had a relaxing journey on a comfortable bus and got to see the English countryside!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Melissa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had 5 days to explore London and so we booked this tour to soak in as much history as we could. James our tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and did a fabulous job on our tour. Abbey our drive was great, we got to spend some free time in each stop and learned so much about Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Bath. This tour is a must book tour for London travellers, well worth the money.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Sunali S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour guide - Monica. She knew so much of the history and added a humorous twist to the whole thing. Just wish we had more time in Oxford and Windsor castle. Really wouldn't have minded if we got back to London later. Overall I really think its well worth the day trip and highly recommend it to other people.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Tammy c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

After looking into doing it independently either by rail or car rental, we concluded this is the way to visit all three places in one day. We were not disappointed. We had a bit of trouble finding the Victoria coach station Victoria is a subway station as well as a railway station. Victoria coach station is a block away. But once we found the coach station, checked in at the tour counter, everything was well arranged from then on.
Our bilingual guide is very well spoken. He incorporated a bit of history and geography of London on our way out of the city. We really enjoyed how Mark sprinkles his commentary with humour.
Windsor Castle had dazzling interiors. Though the gardens are nothing like the Versailles of France, seeing the guards marching on the ground, one gets a real sense that it is a palace with a living monarch living within.
At Stonehenge and Bath, we marvel at the ingenuity of the people who built them millenniums ago.
All three places had audio guides included with admission. No need to scramble after a live guide and strain the ears to listen in a crowd. The audio guides make it easy to follow and appreciate the sight and the history at our own pace.
The trip makes a long but very satisfying day out with little stress.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Gracie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide's name was Chrissy sorry if misspelled. She was a very sweet lady and gave lots of details throughout the entire tour. I would definitely recommend this tour for any first time visitors to London. Stonehenge is remarkable to see in person, Windsor Castle is massive and the city of Bath is the most charming city I have seen in a long time. If my husband and I had more time, we would have lingered around in Bath a while longer. This tour a must, so book now!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

reliasof

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had read many reviews before I signed up for this excursion. This was a long trip but it was absolutely worth it. Yes, there is a lot of travel that takes place during the day but what you need to understand is that each of these locations are not close to center London. It would take a large amount of time to do all of these regardless of who you used. The best part of Viator is the fact they pick you up at your hotel with the very same coach you will be using all day. They are big, comfortable, and contain WIFI on board. You will have all these luxuries all day. Stonehenge was breathtaking. It is an absolute must see. It is filled with rich, mysterious history. They have built a new visitor center, don't miss the free mead tasting. Be sure to bring a jacket because the wind can really pick up over there and can get a little chilly due to the geographic location. However, it is amazing! Windsor Castle is simply amazing and the pictures don't do a justice. Make sure to spend a lot of time in the castle and the church that follows. Each room is filled with new items and everything is displayed so terrifically. Make sure you see the room where all the knights of old display their shields, very awesome. If you are lucky, you will be able to see the changing of the guards too. Last but not least, Bath was a very interesting and fun town. It should not be ignored either. The remaining bath houses still stand and worth a look. Much of the remains from the past is still in tact. Don't rush this at all! You can even taste the water from a spring. Jose our tour guide provided class, charm, history, and laughs along the way. He is the very best at what he does. This trip was amazing and worth your time if your in London and want a day trip to see the finest London has to offer.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Christine C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

While in London I booked this trip. Have to say it was worth every penny. I thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end my only wish was that there were more hours in day to have more time at all the stops. Our tour guide was very friendly and informative. This is a must tour to do. Windsor Castle was amazing. Stonehenge breathtaking and Bath very historical. A great combination and excellent tour. I was traveling alone and still managed to make friends with another female traveller which added to the day. I have used Viator many times and they have never failed me.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Carol E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour! At Windsor Castle the guide never offered the elevator to visitors. My husband has Afib and had an extremely difficult time climbing the numerous flights of stairs. Then it is a long walk to the castle. A guide can not tell by looking at guests if they have medical issues. Would recommend this trip if you have limited time in London and want to see these sights.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Chalsee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was absolutely great.
I didn't plan to go into Windsor Castle and at the last minute decided to give it a go and it was well worth it. Beautiful place. I do wish we had a little more time at Stonehenge to see the exhibit, but that was definitely one of the highlights in my trip to London! Oxford as well was short on time, however as it was past dark it is understandable! A great place Oxford. Really recommend this trip!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message