London ATTRACTIONS See all

Windsor Castle

Windsor Castle is the largest working castle in the world that is still occupied by monarchy. For over 900 years, since William the Conqueror built a wooden fortress here, this has been a royal home and fortress. Queen Elizabeth spends a month at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 223 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alisha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly enjoyed this tour! Windsor Castle was amazing, I could have spent an entire day there. Bath was a pleasant area as was Lacock. The pub lunch was ok, in my opinion it lacked flavor - but the atmosphere more than made up for any lack in the food. We also enjoyed Stonehenge. The tour guide was friendly and informative. He kept to the timetable so we were able to experience everything. I highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting a quick trip out of the city of London.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

Agatha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour mainly because of our guide, David, and our driver, Macolm. While traveling from site to site, David was full of history, stories and knowledge. He also answered many of our questions about London in general and the British way of life. There was a lot to see and do at each stop and we wanted a little more time at Windsor Castle and Stonehenge but all in all it was a fabulous day.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

tammy r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome tour. highly recommend this, tour company were awesome. As due to being wheelchair we got stuck upstairs in state room of windsor castle and thus missed our bus. The other drivers were doing there best to find us a way to continue or get us back to london. in end, got nearly same tour. the tour company was so great to allow us to get on a different tour and so helpful.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Luke Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was great and our guide, Tony, was fantastic. Got to Stonehenge early and beat the rush, had a nice stop in Bath where we had lunch, then spent a few hours touring Windsor Castle before being dropped back off in London.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Bath and Windsor from London

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

a must see-- excellent tour guide and we saw so much in one day!! Windsor Castle, Bath, Lacock and Stonehenge, very enjoyable. If you take one tour outside of the city of London, this should be it!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

Virginia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of our London trip highlights!! The 11 hour tour was very informative and enjoyable. The bus was comfortable, our guide Claudia was amazing, Windsor Castle, Bath and the Stonehenge was absolutely gorgeous :)

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip led by Kevin. He was a great tour guide that was hilarious and offered historical tidbits throughout the whole trip at and in between destinations. You certainly have to have a sense of humor to handle his jokes. I was very impressed by his ability to switch between English and Japanese. He goes out of his way to ensure everyone's questions are answered by going to each traveler and checking in on them one-by-one. He made sure we knew how to get home after the trip. Even with having some more difficult people on the trip, he handled everything with grace.

The tour package is a great way to get three major destinations fit into one day without having to plan for anything except showing up to get on the bus on time. With that said, you could easily dedicate whole days at Windsor Castle and Oxford. You are on a limited timeframe so I recommend doing a bit of research on what you want to see the most at Windsor Castle and prioritizing them. My friend and I started off at a slower pace and was rushing through towards the end. At Oxford, Kevin will lead you through the city so you won't have as much time to self explore except for a bit of shopping and coffee at the end. We were running a bit behind so it may have had more to do with my trip. Stonehenge is the middle destination and is pretty amazing. Once you arrive, you will have to take a short bus ride to Stonehenge from the visitor's center. We had plenty of time to see the site, wished we had a bit more time to see the exhibit at the visitor's center.

Overall, I highly recommend. It is a nice break from London and Kevin is great. I wish I could've had a beer with Kevin afterwards, he was a blast.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Lindsay R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outside the ridiculous wait to get into Windsor Castle that rushed the rest of the tour, this was a great way to spend our day seeing things outside of London. This tour would have been better outside of tour season May-July. But even with the lines, we had a relaxing journey on a comfortable bus and got to see the English countryside!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Melissa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had 5 days to explore London and so we booked this tour to soak in as much history as we could. James our tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and did a fabulous job on our tour. Abbey our drive was great, we got to spend some free time in each stop and learned so much about Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Bath. This tour is a must book tour for London travellers, well worth the money.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Sunali S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour guide - Monica. She knew so much of the history and added a humorous twist to the whole thing. Just wish we had more time in Oxford and Windsor castle. Really wouldn't have minded if we got back to London later. Overall I really think its well worth the day trip and highly recommend it to other people.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Tammy c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

After looking into doing it independently either by rail or car rental, we concluded this is the way to visit all three places in one day. We were not disappointed. We had a bit of trouble finding the Victoria coach station Victoria is a subway station as well as a railway station. Victoria coach station is a block away. But once we found the coach station, checked in at the tour counter, everything was well arranged from then on.
Our bilingual guide is very well spoken. He incorporated a bit of history and geography of London on our way out of the city. We really enjoyed how Mark sprinkles his commentary with humour.
Windsor Castle had dazzling interiors. Though the gardens are nothing like the Versailles of France, seeing the guards marching on the ground, one gets a real sense that it is a palace with a living monarch living within.
At Stonehenge and Bath, we marvel at the ingenuity of the people who built them millenniums ago.
All three places had audio guides included with admission. No need to scramble after a live guide and strain the ears to listen in a crowd. The audio guides make it easy to follow and appreciate the sight and the history at our own pace.
The trip makes a long but very satisfying day out with little stress.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Gracie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide's name was Chrissy sorry if misspelled. She was a very sweet lady and gave lots of details throughout the entire tour. I would definitely recommend this tour for any first time visitors to London. Stonehenge is remarkable to see in person, Windsor Castle is massive and the city of Bath is the most charming city I have seen in a long time. If my husband and I had more time, we would have lingered around in Bath a while longer. This tour a must, so book now!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

reliasof

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had read many reviews before I signed up for this excursion. This was a long trip but it was absolutely worth it. Yes, there is a lot of travel that takes place during the day but what you need to understand is that each of these locations are not close to center London. It would take a large amount of time to do all of these regardless of who you used. The best part of Viator is the fact they pick you up at your hotel with the very same coach you will be using all day. They are big, comfortable, and contain WIFI on board. You will have all these luxuries all day. Stonehenge was breathtaking. It is an absolute must see. It is filled with rich, mysterious history. They have built a new visitor center, don't miss the free mead tasting. Be sure to bring a jacket because the wind can really pick up over there and can get a little chilly due to the geographic location. However, it is amazing! Windsor Castle is simply amazing and the pictures don't do a justice. Make sure to spend a lot of time in the castle and the church that follows. Each room is filled with new items and everything is displayed so terrifically. Make sure you see the room where all the knights of old display their shields, very awesome. If you are lucky, you will be able to see the changing of the guards too. Last but not least, Bath was a very interesting and fun town. It should not be ignored either. The remaining bath houses still stand and worth a look. Much of the remains from the past is still in tact. Don't rush this at all! You can even taste the water from a spring. Jose our tour guide provided class, charm, history, and laughs along the way. He is the very best at what he does. This trip was amazing and worth your time if your in London and want a day trip to see the finest London has to offer.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Christine C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

While in London I booked this trip. Have to say it was worth every penny. I thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end my only wish was that there were more hours in day to have more time at all the stops. Our tour guide was very friendly and informative. This is a must tour to do. Windsor Castle was amazing. Stonehenge breathtaking and Bath very historical. A great combination and excellent tour. I was traveling alone and still managed to make friends with another female traveller which added to the day. I have used Viator many times and they have never failed me.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Carol E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour! At Windsor Castle the guide never offered the elevator to visitors. My husband has Afib and had an extremely difficult time climbing the numerous flights of stairs. Then it is a long walk to the castle. A guide can not tell by looking at guests if they have medical issues. Would recommend this trip if you have limited time in London and want to see these sights.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Chalsee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was absolutely great.
I didn't plan to go into Windsor Castle and at the last minute decided to give it a go and it was well worth it. Beautiful place. I do wish we had a little more time at Stonehenge to see the exhibit, but that was definitely one of the highlights in my trip to London! Oxford as well was short on time, however as it was past dark it is understandable! A great place Oxford. Really recommend this trip!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Eddy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great 1-day tour covering three key spots of interests - namely Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and The Roman Bath. People interested in this tour should bear in mind that this would not give you sufficient time to really explore the city of Bath.

Our tour leader - Charlotte was wonderful. She provided a lot of side information, e.g. historical, on these spots as well as those locations which the bus passed by along the way.

You would want to take note that the group will gather at Victoria Coach Station, so if you are the first timer in London, or if you are staying at hotels other than West London, you need to budget sufficient time to commute from Victoria Station to the Victoria Coach Station, which is about 10 to 15 mins walk.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Kathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a wonderful way to spend a day outside of London! Windsor and Windsor Castle were fantastic - Bath is lovely and Stonehenge is amazing. The bus was big and comfortable and the Guides were terrific. Well worth the time even just to see the English countryside.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Sue B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

So much to see in one day, but the time on the bus passed quickly with our very knowledgeable guide, David, giving a great running commentary along the way. A jam-packed itinerary, but we had a good amount of time at each venue to explore and although would have loved more time at Windsor Castle, it's close enough to London to return later in your holiday to really do it justice. Late lunch at Lacock was a nice meal and a charming little village with some interesting history.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

Chun L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a very efficient way to visit some of the best sites outside London. The tour is well designed and the guide super knowledgeable. We initially thought we would be rushed on each stop. In fact, that's not the case. The exception may be at Windsor Castle, where we wish we could spend more time there. At Stonehenge we had more than enough time. At Bath, we will have to come back anyway as a day trip clearly isn't enough. Overall, if you only have one day and 'd like to see more, this tour is the way to do it!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Sonya W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a really great day trip if you want to see a lot in a little time. It is a highlights tour, so if you want heaps of time at each place do it separately. Great if you are staying in London and you want to see the countryside in one day, as well as Stonehenge, Bath and Windsor castle.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an amazing tour! We saw so much in one day, and it never felt too long, rushed or uncomfortable. The bus was very comfortable, and the tour guide made the ride very interesting. He was filled with incredible information, and was extremely professional and articulate. I was very impressed with him. We were given free time in every place that we stopped at, and we were also given audio guides at Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and at the Roman Baths entrance fee to the Roman baths was not included in the tour price. The pub lunch was very tasty we were able to choose from about 4 or 5 lunch/meal options...and the pub we went to was amazingly historical built in 1361!. The drinks were not included, so bring extra money for those. I would book this tour again in a heartbeat, and would also recommend it to anyone traveling to London.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

ginger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I took 3 different day trips with Viator while I was in Ireland/Scotland/London. This by far was the most informative, interesting tour of them all. Our guide was David - he is a brilliant person that was so interesting and funny that I even forgot to look out at the countryside while we were driving - he was captivating. I learned more in the 12 hours that I was with him then I ever learned in any of my history books lol. David is one of the few guides who is allowed in Windsor Castle-most guides give you an audio guide to listen to while you are in there. Stonehenge is a must see - and Bath is a lovely town. The lunch in Lacock was just ok - but the pub was old and a great place. A really enjoyable, informative day.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We highly enjoyed our day trip from London. Our guide Jose' was absolutely fantastic, engaging, and most importantly knowledgeable about all things London. He took time out to come down the coach and speak to each person on the tour and engage them with questions and asking for feedback / concerns. He, along with our driver Andreas made a perfect team A for the team!

On to the tour itself. We knew off the bat that the tour would not allow us much time in each of the 3 sites, but wanted to hit as many of the highlights as we were in England and this was one of the best ways to do it. We had approximately 2.5 hours in Windsor Castle, 1.5 hours each in Stonehenge and Bath. All in all we spent almost half of our day trip traveling, which was fine, as the coach was clean, air conditioned, and had Wifi for us to utilize when we weren't being entertained or taught by Jose'.

Of the three I personally enjoyed Stonehenge the best, I heard from several folks that you can't get up close to the area any longer, which was fine, but were were literally taken right up close and probably 20-30 feet away, which to me is close enough, especially in order to keep the site safe and around for thousands of years to come. 1.5 hrs was plenty of time to meander around the site, listen to the lovely audio guide and take lots of pictures. Windsor and Bath on the other hand would both have benefitted from additional time and are now on our lists of separate day trips when we inevitably return to London. Bath was such a lovely little city and after our tour of the Roman Baths we wanted to spend hours just meandering the streets and interacting with the locals, but that will have to wait until our next visit. Windsor was absolutely massive and a lovely site to behold. The audio guide was really in depth and I would have loved to have been able to spend more time there listening and experiencing the sites. Know going in what to expect so you are not disappointed in this trip!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Ken H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had wanted to do Windsor Castle, but to book it through our bus tour company, it was going to be about 70 GB Pounds pp. This trip was considerably less through Viator. The tour company was easy to find, everything was just as advertised and it was a great trip. I highly recommend a trip to Windsor Castle if you are ever in London, and I would not hesitate to book through Viator again!

Doing what: Windsor Castle Admission with Transport from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message