Afternoon tea is considered to be a tradition in England and one that both locals and visitors take great pleasure in taking – although it is now seen as more of a treat to be taken in a hotel or tea shop than part of everyday life. Afternoon tea ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 434 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A genteel experience with high end service. If you want to have Londoner's tea, look no further. Also, located to a number of other great sightseeing areas.

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in London

kathleen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I would highly recommend this afternoon tea. I am Gluten Free and Allergic to eggs and I had a three tiered cake stand filled with everything to cater for my dietary needs. My husband had his own selection and everything was delicious. The piano player gave it a nice relaxing feeling.

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

Atlanta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you enjoy the theatre , this is a must see! You really get to see what it was like to see a play during this time. The guide gives a perfect description and tells several stories. Informative!
Although we did not see a play here, you can. That would be really cool!
Wear your warm clothes! It is an outdoor theater and you can get cold!

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Anthony N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was our first time having afternoon tea, and it was super cool. Both adults, our teenage boy and 7 year old boy really enjoyed the experience. Everyone got their own pot of tea hot chocolate for our 7 year old and the tower of food was delicious and filling. The staff was excellent. They took care of every detail and did a great job with all of us but I was especially impressed with the interaction with our 7 year old. It really made a strong impression on me that a place that was so obviously elegant could be a fun, comfortable place for all of us. Many of the other tables looked like locals or at least people who could come in and immediately order what they wanted - so while I would definitely recommend this as a great place for first timers, it seems to be popular with seasoned veterans as well.

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in London

Lord Sebastian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I will come back to this wonderful place every time I am in London. I love doing High teas, the importance of variety, multiple but uncomplicated choices and being able to just relax and be spoilt in very comfortable surroundings is the reason I rate the High tea at Grosvenor House as one of the very best.
The service here is exceptional, all the staff are brilliant under the fine leadership of the very charming Emmanuel, they all took care of our High Tea needs and there was a vast and varied selection. The teas where Superb, the champagne flowed and was sublime, and we were able to talk, chat, catch up, laugh and have fun whilst being taken care of by efficient non intrusive guest service staff, which meant wehad a superb time, relaxing and very comfortable.

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

Virginia S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Very interesting structure to observe and a good guide with interesting trivia but a somewhat short tour. We had a feeling of abandonment when it finished. A brief performance of a soliloquy would have demonstrated the acoustics to us, for example. We had the balcony pointed out to us and how it would have been used in Romeo and Juliet - why not perform that famous scene for us? A look at the types of costumes worn would have been useful. It needed something to make it seem real and to come alive as an actual theatre. Perhaps employ a guide who is a Shakespearian scholar to give more factual details about performances?

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Ashley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We did this on the afternoon we arrived and it was the perfect intro to our London trip! We were exhausted from travel so it was so nice to just have some tasty treats and amazing Tea. I would do this again when I return to London!! High class during High Tea!

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

Becky L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was FANTASTIC! I wasn't sure what to expect but this definitely exceeded my expectations. We booked over 10 excursions via Viator and flawless transactions.

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Jumana R Lebanon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

luxury afternoon.... we had marvelous time.

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

mmdailey3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was really enjoyable despite being stuck in London traffic. The tea was excellent!

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Catherine B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Loved the Tour guide, he made it a very special experience.

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Regina C J USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour was very informative. The guide was extremely knowledgeable! The bus tour was everything I expected and the tea was very nice but by booking through Viator I thought the tea was to be at Harrod's. The tea was actually at a hotel on the executive floor. People who had booked through Premium tours knew this. I was looking forward to tea at Harrod's.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

kachandler0

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful place for tea - especially first timers! I was originally reserved for a table in the far back corner of the tea room, but the hostess was nice enough to move to a table in front of the window for a better view. Staff was very helpful, and the experience! Worth having a visit!

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

aragona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A lovely afternoon with plenty of great tales about London and its history. The guide was incredibly knowledgeable and funny and it was a pleasure to listen to him. A nice walk through the heart of the city (not too long, neither too short) ending in a beautiful place where we had the chance to experience the real English afternoon tea ceremony. Great value and strongly recommend!

Doing what: Highlights of London Walking Tour Including Afternoon Tea

Delores F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was so surprised. It was beautiful. They gave you so much to eat and drink. It was a lovely place . Everyone was so nice to us. It was for my granddaughters birthday. Excellent! The place was beautiful in red and white. The staff was outstanding.

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in London

voriax

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fun tour, the tourguide was well-informed and entertaining. Managed to make it to all the major sights and the river cruise was wonderful.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Eniko K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

First class experience! Elegant surroundings, relaxing service, great variety with sandwiches, scones and sweets. Add the champagne, you will not regret it!

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

Nancy J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was truly the London High Tea experience. The setting was lovely. The tea and food scrumptious. I couldn't have asked for anything more. They didn't even make me feel like a tourist when I asked for a 'take away' box for the leftovers. Absolutely perfect.

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in London

fabraham1989

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nice and warm. Enjoyed very much. Much recommended!

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in London

deb.stevelucas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

So much food one couldn't possibly eat it all. Everything was so fresh. Lovely little sandwiches...you gotta love the clotted cream with jam on scones...and the desserts were beautiful. Although I didn't taste every thing I enjoyed everything I ate. The tea was excellent and the Rubens is an authentic elegant venue. The only thing that diminished my experience is that I was there alone and they seated me at a table that was quite isolated from everyone else so it was not possible to engage in conversations with others which I had previously enjoyed throughout my trip through Europe. I asked for a different table but the woman in charge said it wasn't possible. I don't recommend this activity if you are alone.

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in London

JENNIFER C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful experience!! Guide was well versed. Afternoon tea at The Swan was delectable!!

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Anita B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable and funny.
A great way to see London.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Afsana Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very comfortable and relaxing. Friendly and knowledgable guides.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Francene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I loved this museum and guided tour. The exhibits are wonderful! I wished we had purchased tickets for a play but we had not. Our high tea was fabulous!! There was so much food that it was our lunch and dinner. Definitely worth treating yourself to this! You will remember it!

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message