Afternoon tea is considered to be a tradition in England and one that both locals and visitors take great pleasure in taking – although it is now seen as more of a treat to be taken in a hotel or tea shop than part of everyday life. Afternoon tea ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 457 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Afsana Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very comfortable and relaxing. Friendly and knowledgable guides.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Francene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I loved this museum and guided tour. The exhibits are wonderful! I wished we had purchased tickets for a play but we had not. Our high tea was fabulous!! There was so much food that it was our lunch and dinner. Definitely worth treating yourself to this! You will remember it!

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

18pieface

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best trip! Being outside for the tour but without the walking. Excellent commentary. Tea and cruise very special - crew cordial and helpful. Just the right amount of time for the tour also nice stop at little mall for snack and shopping near Thames. I would rate this a 1 choice for visitors, and a nice trip for those with limited mobility.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

hollyavritt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Exquisite! We loved this experience! The food and tea were wonderful and the staff was AMAZING!! A must for traveling to London!!!

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at The Milestone Hotel in London

Suzanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely Wonderful! Great Location and staff was superbly 'afternoon tea' oriented! Expect to feel very special while not feeling like you are in a show. It isa true afternoon tea at a very - very elegant location. They also gave us a gift while leaving - another piece of cake - of our choice - for later! Will be remembered. Went to several afternoon teas while in London - this was by fay the most elegant.

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

Trevor W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent we would never have a high tea that would surpass the experience we had.

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

Jennifer United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Super easy to walk right in for a tour with our printout confirmation email. Our entire family loved this tour and the kids said it was their favorite London attraction ages 6, 9, 10, 15. Our Cockney guide was funny and informative. Plenty of time to take pictures. The museum is a not-to-miss site afterwards with activities and exhibits for all ages. We even got to see a clothing demonstration - they dressed up my 10 yo daughter in peasant apparel!

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Frances H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Well worth a visit. The exhibition too. It's a working theatre so we weren't able to watch any snippets which would have been good on a tour. I had no spare time to book an official performance.

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Joan F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tea and the cruise were lovely. Disappointed that we dressed for tea and many people did not. Were allowed on with shorts, jeans, sneakers etc. Everything we were told not to wear

Doing what: London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise with Optional Reserved Window Table and Champagne

Dalene B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Booking through Viator saved me some money but the best part was how much time it saved me. Thank you!

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

Diane B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

an interesting tour of London, but could possibly have been a bit shorter....saw the London Eye from every possible angle. the tour guide was fun and informative. The tea and champagne cruise enjoyable

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Tyler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Shakespeare's Globe is a must visit while in London! On arrival we made our way through to the start of the tour. Our guide Lauren Holden was great! So insightful, knowledgeable and funny - truly bringing our tour to life! While Lauren was telling us all about the Globe, some of the actors came out on stage to start warming up for their afternoon show- such a nice surprise!:) Once the tour was finished I made my way around the exhibition with an audio guide, there were fencing and clothing demonstrations to watch too! We upgraded to experience the Midsummer Nights Dream themed afternoon tea at The Swan- lovely way to end off the visit! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Ghada G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very pleasant trip and excellent staff. Live piano music was a plus! Highly recommended and also enjoyable for kids.

Doing what: London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise with Optional Reserved Window Table and Champagne

emmaknock United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I took this tour on my birthday and it was a lovely way to spend the day. I arrived at the Globe about 15 minutes before my tour start time and had no trouble collecting the tickets and joining up with the group and guide in the exhibition area. The tour began outside the Globe, where we learned about the reconstruction of the theatre, and then we went inside and sat down in the ‘two penny’ seats. Our guide Lauren was awesome. She told us all about the Globe, Shakespeare and Elizabethan London, and had the whole group laughing and engaged throughout. After the tour, I made my way through the exhibition with an audio guide. There’s loads to see and read about, as well as some clothing and stage-fighting demonstrations, so give yourself plenty of time. I upgraded to finish with afternoon tea at the Swan and I’m so glad I did. The menus, tea set and food are all in the theme of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. If you take this tour, I highly recommend opting for the afternoon tea.

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

DONNA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of our favorites. Easy to catch the coach at Victoria Station. Well organized. And the afternoon tea on the Thames was a lovely treat! Highly recommend any London tour with Viator. Every reservation was accurate. Every question answered by professional and friendly staff!

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

skybisons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide and very interesting history. Loved the costumes and the overall experience.

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

TIMMY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

All tourists have to do this in London. It is a tradition that should not be broken. The Grosvenor House was very pretty and served the cutest sandwiches and petite sweets. A must do!

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Extremely nice, not touristy at all. Unlike some places they did not mind that I was a solo traveler and even gave me an extra glass of champagne for free. We were fortunate to have lovely weather and I saw London from a whole different angle have been here before but never down the river. One thing to note: there is no commentary telling you what you are looking at, so you'd do well to familiarize yourself with a map or guidebook before you get on the boat. I had a local person behind me who was describing all the buildings to his relatives so I had a little extra tour guide experience. It's still enjoyable though even if you're not aware you're passing one of the oldest pubs in London, an office building that once reflected light to set a car on fire in the street, etc.

Doing what: London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise with Optional Reserved Window Table and Champagne

Joanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic start to our weekend - we especially loved the boat ride - thank you xx

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Susan D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is a lovely way to spend the afternoon and a nice way to view London. The food was quite good and the selection of teas great. The British couple next to us were wonderful to talk with. He had been given the cruise as an 80th birthday gift. We have great fun, and enjoyed meeting our new British friends!

Doing what: London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise with Optional Reserved Window Table and Champagne

Andrea T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was interesting and the tour guides are very passionate speakers :

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Colin M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a nice relaxing tour with snacks and drinks. Note that juice substitutes for tea/coffee are charged as extras on board. Note that there was no guide or audio guide. It's just a cruise down the Thames with very nice snacks. We were offered extras too. We did the upgrade with window table and champagne. Without this, you could just be on a boat cruise with snacks and not much of a view without getting up and walking around.

Doing what: London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise with Optional Reserved Window Table and Champagne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message