Afternoon tea is considered to be a tradition in England and one that both locals and visitors take great pleasure in taking – although it is now seen as more of a treat to be taken in a hotel or tea shop than part of everyday life. Afternoon tea ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 438 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tyler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Shakespeare's Globe is a must visit while in London! On arrival we made our way through to the start of the tour. Our guide Lauren Holden was great! So insightful, knowledgeable and funny - truly bringing our tour to life! While Lauren was telling us all about the Globe, some of the actors came out on stage to start warming up for their afternoon show- such a nice surprise!:) Once the tour was finished I made my way around the exhibition with an audio guide, there were fencing and clothing demonstrations to watch too! We upgraded to experience the Midsummer Nights Dream themed afternoon tea at The Swan- lovely way to end off the visit! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Ghada G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very pleasant trip and excellent staff. Live piano music was a plus! Highly recommended and also enjoyable for kids.

Doing what: London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise with Optional Reserved Window Table and Champagne

emmaknock United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I took this tour on my birthday and it was a lovely way to spend the day. I arrived at the Globe about 15 minutes before my tour start time and had no trouble collecting the tickets and joining up with the group and guide in the exhibition area. The tour began outside the Globe, where we learned about the reconstruction of the theatre, and then we went inside and sat down in the ‘two penny’ seats. Our guide Lauren was awesome. She told us all about the Globe, Shakespeare and Elizabethan London, and had the whole group laughing and engaged throughout. After the tour, I made my way through the exhibition with an audio guide. There’s loads to see and read about, as well as some clothing and stage-fighting demonstrations, so give yourself plenty of time. I upgraded to finish with afternoon tea at the Swan and I’m so glad I did. The menus, tea set and food are all in the theme of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. If you take this tour, I highly recommend opting for the afternoon tea.

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

DONNA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of our favorites. Easy to catch the coach at Victoria Station. Well organized. And the afternoon tea on the Thames was a lovely treat! Highly recommend any London tour with Viator. Every reservation was accurate. Every question answered by professional and friendly staff!

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

skybisons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide and very interesting history. Loved the costumes and the overall experience.

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

TIMMY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

All tourists have to do this in London. It is a tradition that should not be broken. The Grosvenor House was very pretty and served the cutest sandwiches and petite sweets. A must do!

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

philippa.tammen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was amazing!! The tour guild was great, he told us everything we needed to know and was really enthusiastic. He had an amazing sense of humour and you could ask him anything. The organisation was flawless too. And the scones were to die for!

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

K.S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and tea at St. Ermines. Unfortunately i cannot remember my guide's name but he was excellent. Very informative and great sense of humour. This is a great way to learn about London and experience a lovely afternoon tea.

Doing what: Highlights of London Walking Tour Including Afternoon Tea

Rina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was most informative. Our tour guide was hilarious and made the tour interesting! I was even able to take great pics! Thanks for a great time!

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

jonnypantansky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a lovely afternoon activity! Quintessentially English, this was quite the high tea. The location was so close to Buckingham Palace so it was a great way to end my visit there. We added on a bottle of bubbles as we waited on our teas (there was quite the selection) so that was a great way to finish a day of sightseeing. The tea & the food came and everything was delicious. The sandwiches were quite nice, and the scones & jams were delightful. Finally finished off with a bunch of cakes and sweets. This was not my first time in London (I've been many times) but this was a great way to do something different. Highly recommend for new or repeat visitors!

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in London

Nick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an absolute royal treat! The decor was classy, the service attentive, and the food delicious. This is the perfect way to spend a relaxing afternoon after a day of sightseeing in London. It is also easy to get to, right by Buckingham Palace!

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in London

Tyler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Rubens offer an afternoon tea that brings to life all things British and Royal. The staff are friendly, they are ready to assist in making the experience the best it can be. The venue are able to cater for food intolerances and offer champagne as an optional extra. The selection of treats are great, from finger sandwiches, scones and delicious cakes. The location is special as it is just behind Buckingham Palace! I highly recommend visiting the The Rubens for afternoon tea as a tourist or for any special occasion!

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in London

Brittany K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great experience the tour guide was really knowledgeable

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Icy A C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the tour and learned a lot. I liked the combination of touring the exhibit on your own time and having a portion of the visit with the tour guide. Wetted my appetite for seeing a play in the venue, but unfortunately our vacation ended too soon!

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

LORRAINE C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

loved this although there was much confusion on my ticket and times I was told to be there for 11.45 which I was a tour had already started so I was rushed through to join this ... the tour was ok. the afternoon tea was then booked for 2.30 but I was free from tour by 12.30 the Swan staff were excellent and took me in earlier the Afternoon Tea is beautiful crockery even based around Shakespeare was a lovely way to finish off the tour would have liked to have actual stayed and watched the play which was Macbeth my favourite would like to see this as on option too

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

Mohawkriverdj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Globe tour was great - - and the tea at the restaurant next door was fantastic!!! I can't say enough about it. It was an incredible meal and the staff was great.

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea

serena

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I enjoyed this tour a lot! Nice walk, prepared and nice guide (the audio was great with the headphones), lovely afternoon tea in an amazing location. In two words: highly recommended!

Doing what: Highlights of London Walking Tour Including Afternoon Tea

Griselda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Just Perfect! Beautiful setting, great customer service and excellent piano background music! Will be back...

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

shedrivesherown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An absolutely delightful experience of the English Afternoon Tea! We had such a wonderful time sipping on our favorite tea and champagne while enjoying an abundance of freshly prepared tea sandwiches, pastries, little cakes, fruit crèmes and tiny tarts, sumptuous scones and more. All while enjoying light piano playing in a soothing away from it all atmosphere and decor. The Park Room simply rocks!

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

Constantine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

Sandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Liked this very much. I was chocolated out by the end. Lots of history included tib bits included.

Doing what: London's Chocolate Walking Tour

Mark M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour got off on the wrong foot. Our tour guide, Jessie showed up about 30 mins late, seeming a
little stressed. She recovered beautifully, doing a great job on the tour bus. She was informative, interesting and fun to be with. The river cruise portion was also good, Jessie doing another good job
of narration. The Afternoon Tea portion seems a little out of sync, as the cruise was over too soon after
starting the Tea. It was a plus that we were dropped off at the Victoria Coach Station where we started.
Jessie carried the day.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message