Immortalized in prose in Geoffrey Chaucer’s 14th century tome, The Canterbury Tales, the southeast England city of Canterbury was once one of the most important pilgrimage sites in medieval Europe. Today, the city remains an important center of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 142 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marge K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very good and the tour guide knowledgeable about the areas we visited. Leeds is incredibly romantic and was excited to see the WW2 bunker as we passed the white cliffs of Dover. It was great to visit Canterbury and see its famous cathedral. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Sofia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Our tour guide, Steve, was great. He had to deal with a rude tour passenger and did so very well. He was entertaining and very knowledgeable. We loved Canterbury Cathedral the most. Leeds was also very nice. I would take a tour with this company again!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

carolawhite3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful day trip, nice to get out of the city and see a bit of the beautiful countryside. Leeds Castle is beautiful as is the Cathedral in Canterbury. Our tour guide, Sev, was wonderful, very knowledgeable and made the experience great!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

rmatuska

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with an even better tour guide. The weather wasn't the best, so John helped make the day better by modifying, with everyone's approval, the tour timings. Canterbury and the White Cliffs of Dover are definitely not to be missed!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day trip on small bus tour, our guide was Ian who knew his history very well and brought a lot of fun to our little band of travelers. I especially recommend this tour to Canterbury and Dover Castle.

Doing what: Day-Trip to Canterbury and Dover from London

Victoria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of my favorite tours! Canterbury felt like stepping back into time, it was amazing and there were plenty of little shops around. Leeds Castle was breathtaking! I definitely recommend this tour for anyone who wants to get out of London and see some other sights. It was one of the few castles you could take pictures inside. Would have loved to have more time exploring the grounds of the castle and maybe less time in Greenwich. I think it could have been better communicated to the person giving the castle tour that just because we needed to be back on the bus by a certain time doesn't mean they use all of that time for the tour. There was hardly any time left to explore the grounds and go to the gift shop because the castle tourguide thought she had up until the time we needed to be back on the bus.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Valerie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I enjoyed the friendly tour guide Catea and our driver Brandon who gave us all kinds of additional information about what we saw on route and about the sights we visited. Dover Castle, the Cliffs and Canterbury Cathedral were exceptional. I also loved the inside and outside activities which were part of the tour. Well done!

Doing what: Day-Trip to Canterbury and Dover from London

Doris F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were picked up from our hotel and taken to Victoria station where we were directed to our tour. The day was rainy and stormy but this did not ruin anything thanks to Frank our tour leader and Paola our coach driver from Premier Tours. Frank was very informative about anything we were seeing during the tour. Leeds Castle was lovely and then Dover and Canterbury Abbey and then the boat trip. Yes I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

pevens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fantastic way to spend my birthday.The tour of Leeds Castle before opening was incredible to do a tour without the crowds was amazing. The trip along the English Chanel offered some breath taking views. Canterbury was awesome the Cathedral was spectacular with its history and design.The guide was extremely friendly and knowledgeable.She kept the tour moving that we were able to take in a lot of sights but at a leisurely pace.It was so sweet of her to buy me a ice cream for my birthday.I would recommend this tour highly and would do it again myself.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Lester C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Karen was our guide on this tour. Leeds Castle - Stunningly beautiful and surrounding gardens too.
Canterbury Cathedral and township - just lovely.
Greenwich- had time to look at the buildings, not the tower.
Thames river cruise- free and dropped off at Embankment Pier, not Victoria Station.
Highly Recommend this tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Sarah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Totally worth the money. I was planning to go to Leeds and hopefully squeeze in Canterbury on my own - a train from London to Leeds round trip ALONE would have cost me about 50 GBP. I got to see far more than I intended by booking this tour. The private tour of Leeds was exceptional and got us in ahead of a crazy crowd on a holiday weekend : Our guide was a local gent with 20 years experience- funny, laid back and wonderful expert on local history. Very enjoyable - The info re Greenwich was a surprise and great close to the trip. Would have loved to spend more time in Canterbury or Dover so will need to plan another trip to this region. DEFINITELY book this.

One thing which was challenging was the meeting point at Victoria Coach station. Many tours meet at the same place and guides are not really recognized until they call out for their group about 10 minutes before departure. Make sure you arrive early and look for someone in a yellow vest station clerk for questions if you have them. Highly recommend and will definitely book with Viator again .Thank you!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Susan A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was professional, friendly and extremely knowledgeable about all our stops. She also made sure everyone was accounted for and headed in the right direction when the tour ended after the sunset cruise. Leeds Castle was beautiful and very interesting, Canterbury Cathedral is lovely and it was nice to have some time on our own there for lunch and a bit of shopping. Wish we could have had more time in Greenwich to actually go in to one of the museums before they closed.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Judy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour packed quite a lot in one day and was very enjoyable. Leeds Castle is lovely with a fascinating history, there was a bonus visit to the Battle of Britain memorial near Dover and we had plenty of time to experience the splendor of Canterbury Cathedral. The walking tour of Greenwich was a quick introduction to this interesting part of London, but really seeing the area would require another day trip. The Thames River cruiser back was a nice ending, despite a rather cold wait for it to arrive. A most enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Andrea L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good tour, we had an excellent guide, Canterbury Cathedral was amazing, Leeds Catle is very worth to be seen, would definetely recommend the tour

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Philander C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Leeds Castle has an unique beauty all its own. Visiting it was one of the highlights of our visit to England. Our guided tour of the rooms was excellent, and we had some time to stroll the grounds and absorb some of the beauty of the castle's wonderful setting. Our visit to Dover beach and to the new Battle of Britain memorial on top of the cliffs was memorable. Canterbury Cathedral almost defies description. The Canterbury Choral Society was rehearsing Beethoven's Missa Solemnis while were there, and the music filled the vastness of the building. You could almost see the ghosts of the past 1400 years from Chaucer to Becket to Elizabeth I to Elizabeth II. Greenwich was an entirely different sort of experience but equally memorable in its own way. Huge crowds of Londoners were out on this Sunday afternoon enjoying and celebrating the glorious June weather. The cruise back up the Thames was a nice way to finish the day. It would, however, have been nicer to have had an open deck vessel rather then the closed deck ferry.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Francine Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I enjoyed the day out of London. Despite the weather it was an interesting tour and I enjoyed seeing the famous White Cliffs of Dover. I wish I had been able to go to Dover Castle - perhaps another tour another time. However, Canterbury Cathedral was lovely (I preferred it to Leeds Castle) and I highly recommend paying for an audio guide rather than just wandering around on your own.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Daniel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great way to get to Hotel in London. Coach was right on time. Enjoyed our guide very much. Plenty of time in Canterbury. Leeds Castle was very interesting and we enjoyed the grounds, Falconry and maize.
Would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Dover Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Tour to London via Canterbury and Leeds Castle

Kathleen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Brilliant day out! Knowledgeable guide, Highly recommend seeing Leeds Castle if you get the chance. Plenty of time to wander around after the guided tour. Canterbury Cathedral and Canterbury were also very interesting. Had time for a wander in Canterbury as well. And then on to Greenwich, which was mostly closed, but our guide took us for a walk around the town and then gave us a guided tour on the boat up the Thames. I didn't realise that most places would be closed on the final leg of these day trips, but it was a great day out and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Harvey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide was full of facts that brought English history to life. Since we were a small group she went beyond the normal expectations. We had plenty of time to view and roam in Canterbury and Leeds Castle. Also the bus ride back to our Heathrow hotel was smooth.

Doing what: Dover Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Tour to London via Canterbury and Leeds Castle

Wendy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We are very pleased with the tour. From being picked up at the cruise port to being delivered to our hotel, both the guide and bus driver were helpful and courteous. Having the guide show us around in Canterbury and Leeds then give us time to explore on our own was perfect. We would highly recommend the tour and will book with Viator In the future.

Doing what: Dover Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Tour to London via Canterbury and Leeds Castle

Kathryn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I highly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was great. It would have been nice to have more time at each destination but it was understandable knowing that we were trying to fit in so much on the intinerary. If you dont't have much time in England it's nice to have tours like this available to get a sampling of many places condensed in one day. Canterbury is absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Marcia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I had been to Canterbury two times before but having the guide start us out gave me something new. Loved Leeds castle especially the gardens and black swans. What a nice way to come back to the hotel after the cruise!

Doing what: Dover Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Tour to London via Canterbury and Leeds Castle

Martha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was wonderful! A highlight of our whole England trip. Leeds Castle private tour was most interesting and Canterbury was unexpectedly my favorite. Would like to return. Tour guide was most knowledegable and personable. Thanks!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Barry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We booked this tour from Dover when our cruise ship arrived in port. Coach was there to collect us as we came thru customs. Had a wonderful experience. Just loved Canterbury and if we go back to England would like to stay in this charming town. At Leeds Castle there was a jolsting event on and lots of families having a great time. The castle was set on beautiful parkland and very interesting. A great way to fill in your day before checking into our London accommodation in the arvo

Doing what: Dover Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Tour to London via Canterbury and Leeds Castle

Adeline P Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Leeds Castle was very lovely, went to see the White Cliffs of Canterbury and really nice lunch at Marina Dover, we enjoyed our day very much. Our tourguide Paul was simply the best!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message