Britain's favorite period drama Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 384 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rrwillems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and bus driver and guide thoughtful enough to drop us off at our Westminster located hotel before heading back to Victory station. Both locations excellent

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Nick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A well conducted tour with a very clear and knowledgeable travel guide.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Lloyd M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Our guide, Frank was fabulous. We learned so much about the London area in addition to the areas visited. It was fun and informative. We would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Eugene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour of Oxford, Bampton and Highclere. Our tour guide, Frank, was extremely knowledgeable, nice and helpful. We even got bonus facts about London/surrounding areas on the way to Oxford. Loved seeing all the filming locations for Downton in addition to the city of Oxford - highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Lorraine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our driver and tour guide, Andrew made the day one to remember. Not only did we see Highclere, but several other little Cotswold villages where scenes were shot for Downton Abbey. We enjoyed lunch in a lovely little pub along the way. Andrew has a vast knowledge of the TV show and even does a twenty five question quiz at the end of the trip. Most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' Experience by Black Cab Including Downton Village, London Filming Locations or Highclere Castle

Scott M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Day trip was everything I had hoped for and more. Each stop we had amble time, which was something that I was worried about because I have been on other tours that you are kinda rushed through. Oxford was wonderful and we were shown all the major sites with lots of time to explore each of them more in depth. Bampton was a nice little stop to get you in the downton mood. But Highclere, well it was just breath taking, I could hear the characters talk to me as I wondered through the rooms, and the grounds are magnificent. LOVED IT..

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very informative guides and some time left at each location for personal exploration were pluses. The tour is a must for anyone who loved the Downton Abbey TV series.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Nancy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful guide, with lots of knowledge. Fun day seeing all the places we loved on the show.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Ashley J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved Oxford and Downton Abbey. Magical experience. Buses weren't super comfortable and wish we had more time at Oxford and less at other stops.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Sharon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a magical day! So cool to be here in person. We had goosebumps.
In the negative side, catching the bus was quite confusing....too many tours and people. I also think you need more time in Oxford. Only had time for Christ church and grabbed a sandwich? There is so much more to see.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

xmtxfw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

很棒的体验!优秀的导游!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

DONNA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Oh me oh my! Worth every penny. Our bus driver, Steve, was friendly, punctual, and a safe driver. His partner, our tour guide, was a blond headed Mary Poppins. We adored her spunky personality, depth of knowledge, and ability to keep 75 tourist happy and on time! Well worth the money. Accurately advertised. Not suprised, Viator does not disappoint.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Trip. Our guide, Lucy, was great.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience! Bus was nice and comfortable, guide was great, transported us efficiently to Oxford and Highclere. We had a problem with air conditioning on the bus which was fixed quickly. Overall, great experience.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

N. K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very exciting tour. The guide and the driver were great, they really cared we had pleasant experience during this tour. We received sufficient info and we even had a short walking tour in Oxford. The castle is fantastic. It's pity we were not allowed to take photos in the castle

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Alisha Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on this tour. The tour was well paced, with restroom stop and 1.5 to 2 hours of free time to explore each stop on our ownOxford, Bampton aka Downton, and Highclere Castle aka Downton Abbey. Julie, our tour guide, is a Downton Abbey enthusiast herself and pointed out landmarks and attractions along the way. In Oxford, she led a 25-minute tour to orient us to the city. In Bampton, she called ahead and got the local volunteer to open up the souvenir shop in the Downton Village Hospital on a Sunday. To get there, we traveled on a double-deck bus from the Premium Tour - spacious seats, with Wifi on board, and a smooth drive all the way minimal traffic on a Sunday, even in London. The driver, Martin, is very friendly and professional. At the end, we each got a signed copy of a book by the current Lady Carnarvon.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Sally R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved this tour and the guide. Excellent!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Alfred Rotella R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was one of the highlights of our trip and mostly due to the efficient way everything was handled from hotel pick up to drop off as close as possible to our hotel. The tour guide was wonderful. Very informative and kept things and people on time. Really a great tour and would highly recommend to anyone interested. Would always look into tours with Viator first in our future travels.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Edie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I had an exceptional tour of Highclere castle. Our driver was personable and very informative pointing out places of interest along the way to the castle. After our tour we want to a lovely pub, Highway Inn, in a nearby village and had a delicious lunch with a superb atmosphere. After lunch we drove to the village of Downtown Abbey and our driver had a small DVD player and played scenes from the show that detailed exactly where we were standing. It was a very enjoyable day and I highly recommend booking through Viator.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' Experience by Black Cab Including Downton Village, London Filming Locations or Highclere Castle

Sharon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fabulous tour and one we will never forget. Our tour guide, Debbie, was so knowledgeable about the castle, the village, the farm and the actors in the series. There was absolutely nothing negative about the trip from the time we were picked up to the time the trip was over.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Marina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Terrific tour and very good tour guide Debbie. My only criticism is that I was told on my booking that drop off would be back to the same pick up location. We were dropped near Victoria Station, involving getting the tube back to accommodation near the pick up spot.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Ayn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you can only take one tour this year, TAKE THIS TOUR!! If you are a true Downton Abbey fan, this tour is NOT to be missed! Visiting Bampton Village is a MUST for all Downton fans. The village appears just as it does on the show. It was such a treat to be able to visit the village. Arriving at the Castle, I could almost hear the theme song in my head! The tour of the house is spectacular! You can revisit the house as many times as you wish! Be sure to allot extra time for return to London. We inadvertently booked tickets on the Eurostar upon our return to London and made it with just 2 minutes to spare. This tour runs late, primarily due to traffic returning to London. It is difficult to ensure prompt return times.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

jane.rockley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour. Very warm weather. The small group was nice and Tony was a great, and funny, guide. Highclere is one of the most photogenic places I've ever seen. Note: you cannot take photos inside, only outside. Going to the little village was fun too. It's a long day, but well worth it if you are a Downton Abbey fan. Glorious gardens too.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Harish K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I totally recommend it. Our tour guide had an in-depth knowledge of both the castle, the history behind it and the series. Fans of Downton Abbey will definitely enjoy this trip.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message