Britain's favorite period drama Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 384 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kristen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful! Our guide Frank was such a delight! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Diana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My daughter and I took the Private Douwnton Abbey tour three weeks ago. It was magical. From the beginning, when Andrew Wilcox picked us up at our hotel, The Bentley, until our return in the evening,
every minute was amazing. Andrew was wonderful, and made the whole experience fun, easy, and informative. I would encourage anyone who would like to visit the areas outside London and through the Cottswolds, to take this tour. It is not just about Downton Abbey, it is about the history of the many sites we visited. In other words, my husband would also have enjoyed it! Diana Deferville

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' Experience by Black Cab Including Downton Village, London Filming Locations or Highclere Castle

cad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Unbelievable! Everything I could have hoped for and more.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

Francie F T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the highlight of our vacation. Our guide was wonderful, the day was well planned, and Highclere Castle and Bampton enhanced our love of all things Downton Abbey and not to be missed. Oxford was a special bonus to this day.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Joi W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide did a great job. She was funny and informative, she gave us a great walking tour of Oxford and an overview of what would would see at Highclere Castle so we had great context when we arrived. The tour was a good price for the 11 hours we spent with them. The bus driver also did a fabulous job, he managed to back the bus around a corner, avoiding a car parked in the road. Mad skills.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is the trip to take if you are a Downton Abbey fan. First stop was Cogge's Farm where all of the farm shots were taken. Then Bampton, which was the village of Downton. And then the castle. Great trip that lasted about 11 hours. Guide, Andy, was great and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

bgteep

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed everthing VIP TREATMENT.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

Francene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was fabulous! Our tour guide proudly told us that she wrote this tour for Viator. It was excellent. We had 3 stops and plenty of time at each one. The castle was last, we had 2 1/2 hours. It was a wonderful fun day!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Joanne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommend this trip to any Downton fan! Our tour guide Debbie was wonderful, very friendly and full of lots of Downton trivia. Even my non-Downton fan husband enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Filomena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic and very informative tour guide, absolutely loved it.
Amazing tour.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was very interesting, even for those who did not watch the series. I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Jim P New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful trip. Had time in Oxford on way to Oxfordshire. There was plenty of time to visit Highclere Castle and to take photos in the gardens.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Margaret R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide had excellent local knowledge.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

For Downton Abbey fans, this is a must. I expected that Highclere Castle would be the highlight of this tour - and it is indeed beautiful - but the other aspects are great too... the Downton grounds, Yew TreeFarm, and the town. The trip left on time and even though there are 3 locales, there is plenty of time to see things in as much detail as die-hard fans like me could want. Debbie, who originated the tour, was our guide and she is very animated and attentive to people's needs. Lots of inside gossip, too. Oh, and you'll be able to eat well as there are cafes and tea rooms - makes it a complete day!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Kari M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

OMG - wish I could give this tour more stars!! I am a big Downton Abbey fan so was SO excited to take this tour. Many of the other tours to here were filled on the days I'd be in town so I was thrilled when I found this one. It's a bit pricey, though. It does come with a book written by the current Countess, which I read with interest. I would have preferred the first book she wrote on the first Countess the second one had a little too much about the war and politics at the time for my taste but still an interesting read. Unfortunately, I was traveling with only a backpack and the book is large and heavy enough that it caused an issue for me. I ended up shipping it back home so I didn't have to carry it. The house was designed by the same architect who did the Houses of Parliment so the style is similar and I think magnificent. It sits on a huge piece of land with lots of trees, gardens, and open spaces - really lovely! Photos are not allowed inside the house, which is a shame. I just downloaded ones from the internet so I had some. We also toured Oxford - great architecture! We had time to explore on our own. We also stopped in Bampton, the small village where Downton Abbey filmed. The church there is where Lady Mary got married and other events took place. You also see what was the infirmary entrance actually their library, Lady Crawley's house, Granthan Arms, and Mrs. Podmore's B and B. It's a tiny village and easy to see the whole thing in a short time. All in all, a great tour!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Indy Sharon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I LOVED this tour! We had a very experienced, funny and knowledgeable guide. What's not to like going into Highclere Castle where all our favorite Downton actors walked? Frank was fabulous with his commentary and inside knowledge. We walked the grounds, toured the castle, had tea very reasonable and when we returned to the bus, a signed copy of Lady Catherine and the Real Downton Abbey was waiting for us! It was magical being there seeing this special place that all Downton Abbey fans grew to love.
We also stopped in Bampton to see the church that was used for weddings in DA and the streets 'in town' as well as the 'pubs' location and many extra tid bits Frank would give us.
A tour of Oxford was very cool just to see the architecture and hear the history as well. Getting away from London to see the countryside was a bonus. It was spectacular!!!!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Sarit United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best! we had a great time traveling to Highclere Castle, our guide was knowledgeable and interesting and she spoke very clearly. We had time to explore, take photos and enjoy the castle and the gardens. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

rrwillems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and bus driver and guide thoughtful enough to drop us off at our Westminster located hotel before heading back to Victory station. Both locations excellent

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Nick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A well conducted tour with a very clear and knowledgeable travel guide.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Lloyd M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Our guide, Frank was fabulous. We learned so much about the London area in addition to the areas visited. It was fun and informative. We would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Eugene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour of Oxford, Bampton and Highclere. Our tour guide, Frank, was extremely knowledgeable, nice and helpful. We even got bonus facts about London/surrounding areas on the way to Oxford. Loved seeing all the filming locations for Downton in addition to the city of Oxford - highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Lorraine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our driver and tour guide, Andrew made the day one to remember. Not only did we see Highclere, but several other little Cotswold villages where scenes were shot for Downton Abbey. We enjoyed lunch in a lovely little pub along the way. Andrew has a vast knowledge of the TV show and even does a twenty five question quiz at the end of the trip. Most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' Experience by Black Cab Including Downton Village, London Filming Locations or Highclere Castle

Scott M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Day trip was everything I had hoped for and more. Each stop we had amble time, which was something that I was worried about because I have been on other tours that you are kinda rushed through. Oxford was wonderful and we were shown all the major sites with lots of time to explore each of them more in depth. Bampton was a nice little stop to get you in the downton mood. But Highclere, well it was just breath taking, I could hear the characters talk to me as I wondered through the rooms, and the grounds are magnificent. LOVED IT..

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message