One of the last ruling monarchies in the world, the British Royal Family are the ultimate celebrities: born to rule. For centuries the Kings and Queens of England have lived in splendor and in London you can visit some of their homes, past and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debbie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Buckingham Palace visit is one I would recommend to all. From the start our trip was well organised. We were fitted with individual ear sets which allowed us to hear the guides commentary easily. Our guide well very well informed, had great local knowledge and made the tour very interesting. One of the advantages of being part of this tour was that we were well placed for photographs in all major spots, being given enough time to organise ourselves for those important shots. The priority lane for access to Buckingham Palace was great and even though unescorted the self guide sets provided useful commentary for us to wander unaccompanied. We had quite a walk - which I enjoyed - to our High Tea venue. The background information around the High Tea was interesting and High Tea itself was delicious. Good walking shoes are recommended for this tour.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

frances.brandenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide I think his name was Philip took us to the changing of the guard at just the right spot to see everything and practically touch the guards. He talked all the while we were walking to tell us a lot of behind the scenes information. Buckingham Palace is beautiful but the tea was the highlight. Our guide was funny, informative and made the tour so much more that I expected.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Buckingham Palace is breathtaking, it is so beautiful and the display of the Queens clothing and hats was incredible. It was an unforgettable trip.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Tina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Augusta was a fabulous guide. She ensured we had 'front row' seats for the changing of the guards, helped us move quickly through lines and provided a lot of valuable information about the sights we were seeing and experiencing. I would highly recommend Viator and Augusta to ensure you see the best of Buckingham Palace, Changing of the Guard followed by an elegant afternoon tea!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Stephany G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved it, well worth the money just for the entry in to the Palace alone

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Jacquelyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was excellent but walks a bit too fast! and it was a great thrill to be inside Buckingham Palace itself! The tea at St. Ermins was also lovelier than expected, all in all a very informative day. However, it is a LONG walk now to Tea from the Palace exit and several of us became quite ill afterwards from the heat. I'm not sure how this could be better handled, but at least ensuring we all had water would be a huge step.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

mjoh7428

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was a fabulous experience right from the beginning and was enhanced by the knowledge of our guide Phil. The afternoon tea following the palace tour was spectacular and I would recommend to anyone considering this tour to include the afternoon tea option.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a great experience! Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly with tons of personality, and took care of us to the very end of the tour. Augusta talked to us and let us know what was happening step by step. She took us to the best spots for viewing the ceremony, horses, and for pictures. That was so nice to stop and let us take pictures. The tour of the palace was very interesting. But the tea at the fancy hotel made the whole venture worth while!! Even my teenage daughter really enjoyed it!!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Olive Oil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved the tour and Gavin was a wonderful tour guide, extremely helpful. Buckingham Palace was super crowded but Gavin got us a great location to watch changing of the guard. The palace tour was worth it. Afternoon tea was a pleasant surprise. Both the tea, little sandwiches and desserts were excellent. We felt so pampered! I would recommend this tour to anyone but realize there is a significant amount of walking.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Lauren B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Getting into the Tower of London early was fantastic. We were literally the first ones in there. Our time there was rushed though and another 1/2 hour or so would have made it perfect. We had to zip out of there to catch a boat ride to Buckingham Palace to see the changing of the guard. Very efficient use of our time and great sites. Fast paced tour - may be difficult for slower people.

Doing what: Royal London Walking Tour Including Early Access to the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

Martha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an awesome tour and our guide Augusta could not have been better! We had a small group of 6 and she was very warm and welcoming. She led us expertly throughout the parts of the tour that were guided and at the Tower itself gave us expert advice on what to see, where to stand for the best view, and where to go once in. This tour was an early entrance tour and worth every penny as we had access to the Crown Jewel exhibit before the general public, had plenty of time to stare and ogle at the magnificent display of jewels without the crowds. She then guided us to the boat where we proceeded to the palace for the changing of the guard. Her timing was perfect and she got us to a spot where we had a clear view of the new guard coming out to relieve the old. She gave us great commentary and always made sure we were able to see clearly and answered any questions we had. This was one of our best tours!

Doing what: Royal London Walking Tour Including Early Access to the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

hammondll

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We arrived for vacation in London on September 25 and the next day, September 26, was my wife's birthday. We celebrated on her birthday by taking a tour of Buckingham Palace. The tour included the Changing of the Guard, an interior tour of the Buckingham Palace State Rooms and High Tea at St. Ermin's Hotel. The whole day was a wonderful experience and we have to give a lot of the credit to our guide, Augusta Harris. She kept our group well organized, got us to excellent viewing positions for the Changing of the Guards, provided us very clear information to insure that we got the most out of our tour of the staterooms and walked us to the hotel for High Tea. It was an excellent way to celebrate a birthday!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic tour which is only available in August/September when te Queen is at her residence in Balmoral. Our guide was womderful....she was a wealth of information and timed everything perfectly to maximize our view of the spectacular horse guards and then a stunning tour of Buckingham Palace which was truly jaw dropping! Then off toma lovely high tea at a charming hotel.... A quintessentially British day indeed!!!!! Highly recommend this itinerary!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Tiffany C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Richard, the tour guide, was very informative. We loved seeing the Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace. You should definitely take this trip if you have limited time in London. You do see some of the major sights with a little history mixed in.

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Delia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was my favorite part of our trip. Augusta was excellent. We saw the opening ceremony at the Tower of London, spoke to a Yeoman Warder and saw the crown jewels before the crowds. Augusta explained the sights as we took a short ferry ride to the changing of the guard. If we had tried to see the changing of the guard without a tour guide, we would have just gone to Buckingham Palace with the crowd. The best decision we could have made was to go on this tour. Augusta expertly knew where we should stand and how to time it so we had the best unobstructed view of the changing of the guard and band away from the crowd at Buckingham Palace. Her knowledge and experience was invaluable as we would have never known to go to those areas on our own. Overall, it was a great tour and my favorite part of our trip!

Doing what: Royal London Walking Tour Including Early Access to the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

Vicki C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent experience. Great guide.the palace was amazing and afternoon tea at St Ermins was lovely.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Gregw720

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was excellent. She learned all of our names. She talked non stop with history, stories and jokes so we were all entertained and educated. We didn't really see the changing of the guard, but I didn't care. Inside the palace was the highlight for me. Afternoon tea was nice, again an entertaining education.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Regina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Experienced delightful tour guide. Buckingham Palace well worth visiting

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Maria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well worth the money and time! Augusta was our guide and she was fantastic, knowledgeable, funny and an expert at navigating the crazy crowds around Buckingham Palace. She knew exactly where to go for a view of the horse guard while avoiding the masses of people at the Palace gates. Budget more time for this tour. Felt a bit rushed leaving tea to make it to a 4pm tour of Parliament.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Augusta was a great tour guide. She helped us to get the best position for the changing of the guards. We were able to skip the line and get into the palace before the crowd. Afterwards we had tea at a nice hotel, and though I am a man, I appreciate a relaxing afternoon with lots of sugary treats :

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Gisele P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We loved our Buckingham Palace Tour with Viator. Our guide was amazing and made the experience
delightful. Looking forward to booking other tours.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Trenee J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Since Buckingham is only open for 2 months a year we scheduled our trip to do this tour. It was well worth it!! Georgia was our guide and was entertaining as well as knowledgeable. The afternoon tea at Rubens topped off the afternoon. My only advice is to request Georgia as your guide and please Viator add enough time at the end of the tour for a few minutes at the Palace gift shop.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Sherry T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was great. He was very funny and charming, which made the tour enjoyable. Also, it was great to be able to visit inside the palace due to the Queen being on holiday.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Martin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was great! We saw the Changing of the Guard up close and he took us to the beginning, middle and end of the ceremony. Loved the Palace tour and the tea and sandwiches at the end were wonderful. The hotel was very nice and historic.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Kim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a great way to spend our last day in London. We had a lovely leisurely stroll through St James Park stopping to watch the changing of the Horse Guards. Our guide was very mindful of the older people in the group and those who had trouble walking fast and kept to a comfortable pace. He certainly knew all about his city and kept us entertained while on the walk. The tour through Buckingham Palace was amazing and although the guide wasn't able to take us through you are supplied with an audio guide which has heaps of information and is easy to use. After a short stroll through the palace back garden we then went to The Ruebens, only a short walk around the corner, for a lovely High Tea.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message