There are few places more quintessentially and unashamedly English than Oxford, a city so picturesque that even its nickname, "The City of Dreaming Spires," sounds lifted from a classic romance novel. With its medieval skyline of church ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mriyaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Emily, our tour guide, was the best. As someone who like to plan and go on my own trips, the tour was surprisingly interesting. I only had a day in London and hence decided to take the tour. Emily explained the details and history behind everything we saw. At the same time, she gave us enough time and opportunity to explore on our own. 5 stars to her.

Oxford visit was drenched in rain however, but that's the weather to blame :

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Indy Sharon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I LOVED this tour! We had a very experienced, funny and knowledgeable guide. What's not to like going into Highclere Castle where all our favorite Downton actors walked? Frank was fabulous with his commentary and inside knowledge. We walked the grounds, toured the castle, had tea very reasonable and when we returned to the bus, a signed copy of Lady Catherine and the Real Downton Abbey was waiting for us! It was magical being there seeing this special place that all Downton Abbey fans grew to love.
We also stopped in Bampton to see the church that was used for weddings in DA and the streets 'in town' as well as the 'pubs' location and many extra tid bits Frank would give us.
A tour of Oxford was very cool just to see the architecture and hear the history as well. Getting away from London to see the countryside was a bonus. It was spectacular!!!!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Eugene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour of Oxford, Bampton and Highclere. Our tour guide, Frank, was extremely knowledgeable, nice and helpful. We even got bonus facts about London/surrounding areas on the way to Oxford. Loved seeing all the filming locations for Downton in addition to the city of Oxford - highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Sara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant tour with a FANTASTIC ONE-OF-THE-KIND TOUR GUIDE RHYS!!!! Rhys, our tour guide is highly knowledgable, giving us loads and loads of tipps about each place we visited Windsor, Stonehenge, Oxford, but also about London, places to eat and about British life style in general. He comes to each guest a couple of times during the tour to check if you have any questions about anything. Not to mention how humurous he is! The tour itself is great and I highly recommend it! It is worth every penny and we enjoyed every second of it!!!!! You stay at each place for about 90-120 minutes, which is for Stonehenge enough, but Windsor and Oxford are a whole day trip for themselves. However, if you don't have a lot of time as we didn't when visiting London, this tour is absolutely fantastic! We were picked up from our hotel, the tour is superbly organized and we really felt taken care of. No way we could organize such a tour by ourself, do not even try it. 5 stars is too little, it is a 10 stars tour! Great job Rhys and Evan and Evans!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Alisha Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on this tour. The tour was well paced, with restroom stop and 1.5 to 2 hours of free time to explore each stop on our ownOxford, Bampton aka Downton, and Highclere Castle aka Downton Abbey. Julie, our tour guide, is a Downton Abbey enthusiast herself and pointed out landmarks and attractions along the way. In Oxford, she led a 25-minute tour to orient us to the city. In Bampton, she called ahead and got the local volunteer to open up the souvenir shop in the Downton Village Hospital on a Sunday. To get there, we traveled on a double-deck bus from the Premium Tour - spacious seats, with Wifi on board, and a smooth drive all the way minimal traffic on a Sunday, even in London. The driver, Martin, is very friendly and professional. At the end, we each got a signed copy of a book by the current Lady Carnarvon.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Sangmi N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Emily was a wonderful tour guide! She gave good descriptions of Cambridge, of Oxford, and of London on the way back. She also told a great story of Henry VIII!

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

Melissa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was in London for a business trip and for that reason, I only had two full days to devote to sightseeing and touring. I was also alone for reviewers that might be travelling solo. I am SO glad that I decided to devote one of those days to this tour. Reese was our guide and he was exceptional - funny, kind, helpful and so knowledgeable. Michelangelo was our driver and it was all smooth sailing. I wish we had more time at Oxford and in Stratford-Upon-Avon, but alas, I understand the need to keep things shorter so you can do more. That is the only suggestion I would make is to start the tour earlier and perhaps make it an hour later for more time at those locations. The amount of time allotted for Warwick Castle was enough - in my opinion. Such a wonderful experience. Thank you Reese and Michelangelo!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip led by Kevin. He was a great tour guide that was hilarious and offered historical tidbits throughout the whole trip at and in between destinations. You certainly have to have a sense of humor to handle his jokes. I was very impressed by his ability to switch between English and Japanese. He goes out of his way to ensure everyone's questions are answered by going to each traveler and checking in on them one-by-one. He made sure we knew how to get home after the trip. Even with having some more difficult people on the trip, he handled everything with grace.

The tour package is a great way to get three major destinations fit into one day without having to plan for anything except showing up to get on the bus on time. With that said, you could easily dedicate whole days at Windsor Castle and Oxford. You are on a limited timeframe so I recommend doing a bit of research on what you want to see the most at Windsor Castle and prioritizing them. My friend and I started off at a slower pace and was rushing through towards the end. At Oxford, Kevin will lead you through the city so you won't have as much time to self explore except for a bit of shopping and coffee at the end. We were running a bit behind so it may have had more to do with my trip. Stonehenge is the middle destination and is pretty amazing. Once you arrive, you will have to take a short bus ride to Stonehenge from the visitor's center. We had plenty of time to see the site, wished we had a bit more time to see the exhibit at the visitor's center.

Overall, I highly recommend. It is a nice break from London and Kevin is great. I wish I could've had a beer with Kevin afterwards, he was a blast.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very happy. The carpark at Highclere Castle had flooded due to bad storms and the public could not buy tickets. The viator tour was still admitted. I could have easily missed the visit I had travelled to London for. Guide was lovely. Oxford stop was longer than I expected - great place.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Nancy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I traveled to London over Spring break with 4 high school students. I chose this tour as it gave us a chance to see quite a bit of the countryside in one day. It exceeded my expectations! The walking tour through Oxford was leisurely and informative. The drive through the Cotswolds was great, and the kids thoroughly enjoyed seeing Shakespeare's home, and loved touring Warwick Castle! Great value for money!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a fabulous trip with a helpful informative tour guide. We were able to pick up an excellent lunch in Oxford and fabulous Cornish pastry and fudge in Stratford. The weather was sunny and beautiful for most of the day. Before we arrived in London our guide checked where we were staying and provided a map and dropped us off a brief tube ride from our accommodation.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Sunali S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour guide - Monica. She knew so much of the history and added a humorous twist to the whole thing. Just wish we had more time in Oxford and Windsor castle. Really wouldn't have minded if we got back to London later. Overall I really think its well worth the day trip and highly recommend it to other people.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Ellen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great tour!! Our tour guide, a former Oxford graduate, was amazing in his depth and breadth of knowledge plus his ability to convey the information. This day was the highlight of our week in London.
Thanks!!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Chalsee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was absolutely great.
I didn't plan to go into Windsor Castle and at the last minute decided to give it a go and it was well worth it. Beautiful place. I do wish we had a little more time at Stonehenge to see the exhibit, but that was definitely one of the highlights in my trip to London! Oxford as well was short on time, however as it was past dark it is understandable! A great place Oxford. Really recommend this trip!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Scott B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour through Warwick, the English countryside, Stratford and Oxford was amazing. One of the highlights of a 5 day trip in London. Emily, our tour guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Lori N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip! We thoroughly enjoyed our day trip from London to Downtown, Bampton Village, and Oxford. The trip was well coordinated and our guide was knowledgeable about our destinations as well as London/England in general and gave lots of interesting tidbits about sites we passed en route to our destinations. We loved Oxford and Bampton Village was delightful. The tour of Highclere was just the right amount of time and allowed us to walk the beautiful gardens and have tea and scones after touring the house. It was a really lovely day! Would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Lindsay E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This trip was amazing. It was the entire reason we planned our vacation to London to begin with. Highclere castle and Bampton village were everything I had hope it would be. I felt like we had plenty of time to really enjoy it. I could have done without visiting Oxford. We spent 2 hours there, and besides seeing the University, there really wasn't much to do. I would have rather had the day trip shorter just seeing Highclere castle and the village. Overall though, it was a fantastic experience.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Cynthia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent. Our tour guide was Frank. His way of speaking was so professional like someone who is a stage actor and he kept us enthralled with all the interesting tidbits about the streets of London as well as Oxford, Bampton and Highclere. Oxford was a big surprise. So interesting and he made it easy for us to understand how the schools were formed etc. We actually booked this tour as our final day in London. Fun guide, fund tour, fun day!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

James L. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Unbelievable, tour which included a tour of Oxford Univ., Highclere Castle is unreal, everyone needs to
see this!!!! If you saw the series, this is a must, don't miss it, if you are in London, it is a must!!!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Anne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Tour around Oxford! Our tour guide American John was very knowledgeable and fun!
We met at Paddington Station at the time we were supposed to and train was to leave at 9:15 but we actually didn't get on the train until 9:50 so was just a little disappointed about waiting that long but still plenty of time to tour Oxford. You are given your ticket back to London for the day of the tour. You may take any train back that day enabling you to stay as long as you like in Oxford when the tour commences which was around 2:30. Trains ran every 30 min. back to Paddington. John also gave us useful tips about other places in the UK that we may want to visit while we were on our vacation.

Doing what: Oxford Rail Tour from London

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

ALL OF LONDON WAS GREAT, BUT THIS TRIP MAY HAVE BEEN THE HIGHLIGHT. WARWICK CASTLE IS ASTOUNDING! ANCESTORS CAME FROM STRATFORE-ON-AVON, SO THIS WAS SPECIAL. WISH I COULD HAVE ATTENDED OXFORD! WHAT A PLACE!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Fran I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved this tour!! The tour guide was great, very informative and seeing the countryside was awesome!! Oxford was so beautiful! If you want a taste of getting outside of London we definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this tour very much. David was a high energy, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable tour guide, who did his very best to give us an enjoyable experience. Oxford was quite interesting, worthwhile and beautiful. On the way to Highclere Castle we stopped in the town of Bampton, where the new season of Downton Abbey was being filmed, and we were able to watch for a while. That was quite a bonus especially since we even saw Lord Grantham preparing for a scene. The final stop, which included the castle and the gardens, was a great finish to the day. Although a long day, returning to London about 7:00 p.m., it was well worth it.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

ckoeritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

All of the sites were well worth visiting, although we wish we had had more time at Windsor Castle and Oxford. Phillip was a delightful guide, who amazed us with his knowledge. He is a real pro! We felt the trip was very worthwhile, and would recommend it to anyone traveling to London!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Paul S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

WOW...what an AMAZING experience!!! This was one of those once-in-a-lifetime events. The day started at Victoria Coach Station in central London, it was confusing based on our confirmation information where the tour was supposed to meet and we almost missed it. Viator should publish the Gate numbers along with the location. Once we got started, we had another amazing tour guide, Paul, was very knowledgeable, helpful and had an upbeat personality. The tour first stopped in Oxford which was a delightful town with friendly shop keepers and local residents. We then traveled to the Castle which was breathtaking, as a fan of the PBS series Downton Abbey, this tour was a MUST for our trip to London. Highly recommend this tour but be aware it's at least an 8 hour day but well worth it. Thank you.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message