From his razor-sharp eye for forensic details to his enduring friendship with loyal sidekick Dr Watson, few fictional characters are as beloved as Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s madcap detective – Sherlock Holmes. Since his first appearance in print in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Incredible day on the Sherlock tour! Our tour guide was in so knowledgeable and he took us to many location that my daughter recognized from the show.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Sherlock' London Filming Locations by Black Cab

Brian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

David was great -- funny, knowledgeable, and engaging. It was a beautiful walk through several neighborhoods and along the river, and we really got to geek out about Doctor Who and its connections to other shows (Sherlock, etc). We definitely recommend it!

Doing what: 'Doctor Who' TV Locations Tour of London

Timothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour. The tour guide did a great job of presenting facts about Sherlock Holmes. He had a notebook with photos from the various films that he used to reference the locations we were viewing. He also told stories of how the Sherlock Holmes character has evolved over time.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We took the Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes tour on June 26th with Mr. Doyle, and it was great fun! Mr. Doyle was an excellent tour guide, and very well-versed on Jack the Ripper. He was very funny, high energy, and was great at interacting with the crowd. His stories were fun and fascinating, and we had a wonderful time, and learned a lot about the history of London.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

Elisabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The best tour ever! Our guide was knowledgeable, funny and enthusiastic. I learned a lot and had a blast. Now that I am back in the States, I am re-watching every episode of Sherlock and loving it even more than the first time. I will definitely do another Viator tour on my next visit to London, my most favorite city in the world!! Thank you.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

Kira S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Richard, was fantastic. It was our first day of a 10 day trip and was a fantastic way to be oriented to the city through the lens of a show my boys love. We took an early morning Saturday tour and avoided lots of traffc. In addition to Dr. Who sites, we also tacked on a few Sherlock-related stops. Highly recommended if you have teenage boys who require a high bar to be impressed.

Doing what: Doctor Who Tour of London

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A friend had recommended this tour and I'm so glad she did! It's perfect for a family, no matter the ages. Tour is completely tailored to your requests, thoughts and interests. I think our driver's name was Steve (wish I'd written it down!). He was wonderful!! We were there right at the end of July when London was absolutely crammed with people. He showed us many of the sights we would not have been able to see and he took lots of family pictures for us! It's a treat to have all three of us in the same picture. The other great thing is that he told us how to get places by a 'less crowded' route and he also gave us tips on when was best to visit some of the sights. He ended the tour by dropping us off at the Sherlock Holmes Pub for a nice 'local' lunch. A real treat!

Doing what: Private Tour: Traditional Black Cab Tour of London's Hidden Treasures

gary k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Rebecca was a terrific guide. She kept us going at a reasonable pace and was very knowledgeable about the tour. She was in fact an expert on Sherlock facts.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

Georgia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was very informative and really quite funny, with some of his very witty anecdotes. I had been promising myself this tour on each of my last three trips to London and at last managed to fit it in. I found it was everything I thought it would be and a nice cold drink,in the Sherlock Holmes Pub at the end, was the icing on the cake!!

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

angie rouede USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Always a fan of Sherlock Holmes, this was a well organized, entertaining Tour of Haunted London. Thank You, Viator!

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

Lee Porter USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our private black cab and guide picked us up at our hotel and whisked us off on an incredible tour. We stood on Abby Road, stalked Sir Paul McCartney, visited the streets Ian Fleming and Arthur Conan Doyle walked, and peeked inside Shakespeare's Globe Theater. But anyone can do that. Our guide, Jerry, took us to places we never would have found on our own. We snuck into a quirky hotel that was once a famous courthouse and jail that truly contained rock and roll royalty. We visited a ritzy hotel bar where the real Vesper martini was created, and we learned the meaning behind Lennon's repetitive Number Nine, Number Nine, Number Nine. The kids loved visiting the new Sherlock's 221b Baker Street address and Speedy's Cafe, but really freaked when we rolled up to St. Bart's Hospital, the site of the season two jump. They even left a message for Sherlock in the red phone booth. When we visit the city again, I'd pay to do the exact same tour. Our guide and the tour were that enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Tour: The London of Shakespeare, the Beatles, James Bond and Sherlock Holmes by Traditional Black Cab

Lee Porter USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

If you've just spent seven hours in a flying tube with two teens you need to keep up so you don't waste an entire day of vacation, the private Dr. Who Tour of London is your ticket. The tour company is an impressive outfit and really know how to "wow" you. The black cab had the traditional vibe of an old school UK cab but with ac, four comfortable seats, and an intercom system. Jerry, our driver and guide was exceptional. His energy and enthusiasm engaged us the entire time. He brought us a box of Jammie Dodgers to share as he gave us the scoop on the show and introduced my family to this amazing city. That afternoon my daughters Instagram accounts where chock full of pictures of our family with the only remaining police box in London, the TARDIS, and an actual Dalek. The girls even had a little time to shop during the tour. At the end, we were dropped off at a pub near our hotel for dinner. Jerry and this tour really made our first day in the UK a delight. We enjoyed it so much we booked the London of Shakespeare, Beatles, Bond, and Sherlock tour for our last day in the UK.

Doing what: Doctor Who Tour of London

Lisa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I booked this tour for my teenage daughter and her friend. They loved it! It was convenient as it began at Victoria Coach station, and finished at Trafalgar Square. Both of which are easily access by public transport. The guide was very informative and held their interest for the entire time. The Sherlock Holmes pub was a great place to finish the tour.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I traveled to London for the 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who. One of the absolute highlights of the trip was the Doctor Who Tour. Richard Liddle, who may very well be the best tour guide in the city, met us at the front door of our hotel, precisely on time, with his comfortable and spacious black taxi. Off we were then, first to a location that stands in for 10 Downing Street on many films and TV shows, including Doctor Who. A film crew was there this day, although they wouldn't disclose the name of the movie (maybe the next Bond film). Next stop was Trafalgar Square, then on to the Victoria Embankment, where Rose and the Doctor found the Nestene transmitter, aka the London Eye. We walked around Parliament Square and then drove to the last remaining police box in London at Earl's Court. I thought there would be a crowd here, since it was the actual 50th anniversary, but there were only a pair of fellow nerds from Eastern Europe. We took pictures of each other. Next stop was Kensington Gardens and the Albert Memorial, then on to the BBC. After going through security, we had an opportunity to have a photo op with the official Tardis. Since Mr. Liddle knew I was also a Sherlock Holmes fan, he took us to Wimpole Street, where Conan Doyle lived and wrote in 1891.

This was a fantastic experience, thanks to the incredible London knowledge, and good humor, of our very experienced tour guide.

Doing what: Doctor Who Tour of London

Miss I H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Celia, our tour guide, really knew her stuff. The tour was a lot of fun and I learned a lot about Sherlock and his creator. I can really recommend it!

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

Thomas H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

I always get a London Pass and Travel Pass on my trips to London. They offer the best and cheapest way to see the city. There were fewer locations that could be entered this time, though, with the London Pass. The Sherlock Holmes Museum is no longer included. Neither is Vinopolis. If you get the London Pass, be willing to push yourself to get your money's worth. Many venues don't open until 10 am and lock entrances an hour before closing. You may have only six or seven hours to get into the venues. You need to plan your card use carefully, minimize travel time between locations. and go to the most expensive locations first to maximize your investment.

Doing what: London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Note from Viator: We are so glad that you see the real benefit of the London Pass. The Pass is always being updated and at the last count included 58 different attractions. Certain attractions are removed from time to time but we strive to make the pass as exciting as possible and keep it the great value for money it has always been. Watch this space for new attractions that have been added.

Natasha S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Worth doing. Loved the taxi ride the marvel 3D and even the Sherlock experience. Wax figures are amazing. The only thing that made us angry was that we couldn't find the priority queue and after asking we discovered it was not exactly a priority line. However, even if the line was long the wait was not as long as we thought.

Doing what: Madame Tussauds London Priority Entrance Ticket Including Star Wars Exhibition

Narell Z

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I am a bit of a Jack the Ripper enthusiast and I found this tour entertaining and not gruesome at all. Our guide was very humorous and kept the mood light as we did have several younger teenagers in our group. There was very little about Sherlock Holmes except for ending up near the Sherlock Holmes Pub at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

Mary B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great! The guide was funny and super informative. 2.5 hours was a little long. 2 hours would have been great. The kitchen was closed at The Sherlock Holmes Pub when we got there. Don and #39;t plan on a late dinner after the tour!

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

Joshua B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour. We stopped at a number of locations from Doctor Who and from Sherlock as well. Jerry was a great guide. Knowledgeable and funny.

Doing what: Doctor Who Tour of London

pita

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

the tour guy held the tour together and made it worth while ... However the Sherlock home piece consisted of reference to the movies, the new TV show and a view of the location for shooting a scene from each.... Very disappointing... The preparation for alternate routing during an annealing recurring major event was not there and we wasted significant time in traffic trying to avoid the remnants of the pride day events... Prep lab please

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

Tiffany S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great fun - very informative and relaxed. Learned a lot about Sherlock Holmes, with a few other films thrown in there. Really great to see other parts of London.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

Francine Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The guide was very entertaining. He gave lots of detail and despite many places no longer being exactly as they were when the ripper was active, he still gave us an impression of what it would have been like. I'm not sure why Sherlock Holmes is mentioned because apart from finishing the tour at the hotel named after him, it is not relevant. I was however, pleased to find out about some of the other history of London.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

Sarah D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A very fun and informative walking tour, would definitely book another. The Sherlock Holmes pub was lovely and did very nice food.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

Sharon V

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was a fun way to see different parts of London, however if you are not familiar with the Sherlock Holmes movies or TV shows the sights have no meaning.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message