Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were very lucky to have Danielle to ourselves. Danielle walked the six of us through the Westminster area with detailed knowledge of all the sights. She had us stop for an amazing picture with the family, a British telephone booth and Big Ben in the background. Great tour.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Donald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a remarkable tour. We especially liked the war rooms. The guide was knowledgeable and answered questions.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

sheryl m

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A good tour with a good guide. Worth doing.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Markpchaplin

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Audio was good, guide was good, knowledge and detail was good. I was just a tiny bit disappointed that we only went inside the War Rooms, but this was a my lack of research into the tour, and b the fact that my cousin from the US had already booked her tickets so I wan't free to choose any other tour...I would recommend the tour to a visitor to the UK.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Nuria L

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I did not think it was worth the price
All you get beside the entrance to the Churchill Rooms, which are not a problem to get in, is some scattered information on Churchill's life, not very good.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Philip M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Very knowledgeable guide on how important Churchill was to Britain during World War II. I am Australian and am aware how he fought to keep our soldiers from coming home to defend Australia. So the sermon got a bit thick.

The rooms themselves are quite fascinating.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Philip M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Very knowledgeable guide on how important Churchill was to Britain during World War II. I am Australian and am aware how he fought to keep our soldiers from coming home to defend Australia. So the sermon got a bit thick.

The rooms themselves are quite fascinating.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Martin S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Too much time spent walking about Westminster prior to visiting the war rooms.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Clayton S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours we had. Our guide was excited to have have us a total nerd about the subject matter which was great!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Dan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best part of this tour was the Churchill War Rooms. Incredible history !!!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

John L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with much to see and learn! Our guide Amber, was a well read student of Churchill so she had extra interesting tidbits to add during our walking tour prior to going to the Churchill War Rooms. Such as pointing out German bomb shrapnel marks on Parliaments foundation. She was great!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Jean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Need to allow a lot of time to explore the war rooms.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Jay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide, very informative and entertaining

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Raymond M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jason our tour guide was very informative, courteous and friendly. It was our introduction to London and we are impressed. The Churchill war rooms were extremely interesting and would recommend to anyone who enjoys history.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Janet S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

WWII historians would fully appreciate this tour. My college age son was touring Germany and we met up in London. He was interested in WWII sites. Our guide's knowledge of the details of London's war history was extensive. He exuded enthusiasm and excitement for the subject. Details of how the London citizens persevered and protected their city were fascinating. Forgive me for not remembering out wonderful guide's name.

Although it was outside, you can still see evidence from a war and the Blitz from 70 years ago. Actual chips from the concrete walls from shrapnel can bee seen.

This was a tour of the exterior of the Westminster Palace, Abbey and Square. We parted with our first guide at the War Rooms. The War Rooms was a self guided tour with recorded material for each section.

The War Rooms were fascinating. There were many pieces and authentic memorabilia present as our guide explained.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Becky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend..I had my teen boys with me and they enjoyed it very much! Josh, our guide, made the tour fun and interesting for everyone. We learned a lot in a few short hours!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Theresa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amber was such a great tour guide, very informative, answering all questions happily, we learnt a lot on that tour.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was excellent and extremely knowledgable- the tour was timed out well and very thorough. Even though I have been to London several times from the USA, I would highly recommend this tour to anyone as I learned so much!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Melanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this tour and especially our guide, Josh. He was knowledgeable and funny. There was a lot of learning packed into a small section of London and he made it fun for my kids. I highly recommend this tour and Josh.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

AnnaBella G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very interesting. There was a lot of information and it would be great for anyone who enjoys history!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

wesellinghouse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour - very organized with time inside the rooms to go through at your own pace. Great guide.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Brenda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed this Tour! I was by myself since my Husband was working and met 12 others that were excited to learn more about Winston Churchill. Our guide was amazing!! He was able to talk to us for almost 2 hours non-stop about historical facts about WWII and Winston Churchill. He orated our way thru Parliament Square and shared many facts I had never heard before nor had paid any attention to until he pointed these things out. The weather was raining on/off and he took that into account and tried to keep us dry. If you go, make sure you pack an umbrella and rain coat!! The War Rooms was so cool!! You could spend all day in there reading and interacting with all the hands-on museum displays.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Brynn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. Guide very knowledgeable and shared insights we would have never known without the tour. The Museum itself is self guided with audio sets so you can explore at your own pace. Lots of history and interesting facts. Who knew Churhills statue was electrified to keep the pigeons off? Highly recommend..guide was perfect.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Wayne R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good tour. Guide was friendly and had more information than I will ever remember. Didn't spend much time at Westminster. War Rooms were amazing. Be ready for a lot of walking but it was fun.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Informative tour and you get to cut the line to get in, but you could enjoy this on your own and have more time to do other things.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message