Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

chimchimcheree50 New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you are interested in WW2 history especially from the British perspective then take this tour. The guide is fantastic and after an entertaining hour walking around Big Ben, Westminster, Whitehall etc getting a handle on the history, politics and landmarks, he graciously drops you off outside the entrance to the Bunker where Churchill conducted the war effort during WW2. You should spend at least an hour or two under there given it has a fantastic little museum dedicated to WW2 and Winston Churchill's life.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Donald E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent excursion. The guide was both personable and knowledgeable. He related many heretofore unknown facts about the area around Westminster. The Churchill War Rooms and Museum were very interesting and skipping the entry line was a bonus. Highly recommended, although the weather was not ideal!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

CATHY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed this tour--wished the walking portion could have lasted longer-the guide was wonderful. The war rooms were great too. Would definitely recommend

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Juan Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour, the guide was very profesional and with a great knowledge of GB history. Thanks Henry

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

JENNIFER C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour, great tour guide. Extremely knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Bill W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a wonderful tour and very informative. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. The tour seemed a little rushed because there was a lot to learn in a relatively short period of time. It was worth the cost.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were very lucky to have Danielle to ourselves. Danielle walked the six of us through the Westminster area with detailed knowledge of all the sights. She had us stop for an amazing picture with the family, a British telephone booth and Big Ben in the background. Great tour.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Donald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a remarkable tour. We especially liked the war rooms. The guide was knowledgeable and answered questions.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

sheryl m

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A good tour with a good guide. Worth doing.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Markpchaplin

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Audio was good, guide was good, knowledge and detail was good. I was just a tiny bit disappointed that we only went inside the War Rooms, but this was a my lack of research into the tour, and b the fact that my cousin from the US had already booked her tickets so I wan't free to choose any other tour...I would recommend the tour to a visitor to the UK.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Nuria L

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I did not think it was worth the price
All you get beside the entrance to the Churchill Rooms, which are not a problem to get in, is some scattered information on Churchill's life, not very good.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Philip M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Very knowledgeable guide on how important Churchill was to Britain during World War II. I am Australian and am aware how he fought to keep our soldiers from coming home to defend Australia. So the sermon got a bit thick.

The rooms themselves are quite fascinating.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Philip M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Very knowledgeable guide on how important Churchill was to Britain during World War II. I am Australian and am aware how he fought to keep our soldiers from coming home to defend Australia. So the sermon got a bit thick.

The rooms themselves are quite fascinating.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Martin S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Too much time spent walking about Westminster prior to visiting the war rooms.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Clayton S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours we had. Our guide was excited to have have us a total nerd about the subject matter which was great!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Dan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best part of this tour was the Churchill War Rooms. Incredible history !!!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

John L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with much to see and learn! Our guide Amber, was a well read student of Churchill so she had extra interesting tidbits to add during our walking tour prior to going to the Churchill War Rooms. Such as pointing out German bomb shrapnel marks on Parliaments foundation. She was great!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Jean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Need to allow a lot of time to explore the war rooms.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Jay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide, very informative and entertaining

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Raymond M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jason our tour guide was very informative, courteous and friendly. It was our introduction to London and we are impressed. The Churchill war rooms were extremely interesting and would recommend to anyone who enjoys history.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Janet S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

WWII historians would fully appreciate this tour. My college age son was touring Germany and we met up in London. He was interested in WWII sites. Our guide's knowledge of the details of London's war history was extensive. He exuded enthusiasm and excitement for the subject. Details of how the London citizens persevered and protected their city were fascinating. Forgive me for not remembering out wonderful guide's name.

Although it was outside, you can still see evidence from a war and the Blitz from 70 years ago. Actual chips from the concrete walls from shrapnel can bee seen.

This was a tour of the exterior of the Westminster Palace, Abbey and Square. We parted with our first guide at the War Rooms. The War Rooms was a self guided tour with recorded material for each section.

The War Rooms were fascinating. There were many pieces and authentic memorabilia present as our guide explained.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Becky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend..I had my teen boys with me and they enjoyed it very much! Josh, our guide, made the tour fun and interesting for everyone. We learned a lot in a few short hours!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Theresa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amber was such a great tour guide, very informative, answering all questions happily, we learnt a lot on that tour.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message