Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Clayton S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours we had. Our guide was excited to have have us a total nerd about the subject matter which was great!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Dan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best part of this tour was the Churchill War Rooms. Incredible history !!!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

John L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with much to see and learn! Our guide Amber, was a well read student of Churchill so she had extra interesting tidbits to add during our walking tour prior to going to the Churchill War Rooms. Such as pointing out German bomb shrapnel marks on Parliaments foundation. She was great!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Jean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Need to allow a lot of time to explore the war rooms.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Jay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide, very informative and entertaining

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Janet S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

WWII historians would fully appreciate this tour. My college age son was touring Germany and we met up in London. He was interested in WWII sites. Our guide's knowledge of the details of London's war history was extensive. He exuded enthusiasm and excitement for the subject. Details of how the London citizens persevered and protected their city were fascinating. Forgive me for not remembering out wonderful guide's name.

Although it was outside, you can still see evidence from a war and the Blitz from 70 years ago. Actual chips from the concrete walls from shrapnel can bee seen.

This was a tour of the exterior of the Westminster Palace, Abbey and Square. We parted with our first guide at the War Rooms. The War Rooms was a self guided tour with recorded material for each section.

The War Rooms were fascinating. There were many pieces and authentic memorabilia present as our guide explained.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Becky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend..I had my teen boys with me and they enjoyed it very much! Josh, our guide, made the tour fun and interesting for everyone. We learned a lot in a few short hours!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Theresa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amber was such a great tour guide, very informative, answering all questions happily, we learnt a lot on that tour.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was excellent and extremely knowledgable- the tour was timed out well and very thorough. Even though I have been to London several times from the USA, I would highly recommend this tour to anyone as I learned so much!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Melanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this tour and especially our guide, Josh. He was knowledgeable and funny. There was a lot of learning packed into a small section of London and he made it fun for my kids. I highly recommend this tour and Josh.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

AnnaBella G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very interesting. There was a lot of information and it would be great for anyone who enjoys history!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

wesellinghouse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour - very organized with time inside the rooms to go through at your own pace. Great guide.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Brenda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed this Tour! I was by myself since my Husband was working and met 12 others that were excited to learn more about Winston Churchill. Our guide was amazing!! He was able to talk to us for almost 2 hours non-stop about historical facts about WWII and Winston Churchill. He orated our way thru Parliament Square and shared many facts I had never heard before nor had paid any attention to until he pointed these things out. The weather was raining on/off and he took that into account and tried to keep us dry. If you go, make sure you pack an umbrella and rain coat!! The War Rooms was so cool!! You could spend all day in there reading and interacting with all the hands-on museum displays.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Brynn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. Guide very knowledgeable and shared insights we would have never known without the tour. The Museum itself is self guided with audio sets so you can explore at your own pace. Lots of history and interesting facts. Who knew Churhills statue was electrified to keep the pigeons off? Highly recommend..guide was perfect.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Wayne R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good tour. Guide was friendly and had more information than I will ever remember. Didn't spend much time at Westminster. War Rooms were amazing. Be ready for a lot of walking but it was fun.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Informative tour and you get to cut the line to get in, but you could enjoy this on your own and have more time to do other things.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Joshua was our guide. Amazing young man. He was very knowledgeable. Josh gave us real insight into this historic area. The headsets were very helpful and allowed us to hear every word. Kudos ! The Churchill War Rooms were incredible. It was like stepping through a door into World War II. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Donna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much to see. I would have liked to spend a 1/2 day there. Beautifully displayed, cool and very clean.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

David J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Michael was an excellent and witty tour guide. I learned a great deal about the Houses of Parliament and the surrounding area.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Theresa T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, very comprehensive tour with lots of local anecdotes and British humor.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

LYNN B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed the tour and the guide was pleasant and informative. An earlier start would have been nice in order to have more time in the Churchill War Rooms since we had barely enough time to go through but not being able to stop and really see everything.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Craig A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Josh was an amazing an entertaining guide. He was very knowledgeable and made the tour fantastic! The Churchill War Rooms are a must see!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Philip H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was fantastic. Phil was very knowledgable and kept us engaged and entertained the whole time. Fascinating tit-bits and lots of good humour. THANK YOU! I would highly recommend this walking tour followed by the Churchill War room self guided tour.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Mary Jane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was amazing. Augusta was SO knowledgable and amazingly helpful in orienting us to the area and to the history. She took great care in making sure the kids were also getting something out of it, and we all considered the afternoon a shining highlight of the trip. THANK YOU!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message