One of the largest urban green spaces in the country, Griffith Park is a wonderful playground for all ages and interests. The park embraces an outdoor theater, the city zoo, and observatory, two museums, golf courses, tennis courts, playgrounds, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Damo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour for first-timers to get an overview of a very large city - covered all major areas of greater LA - including Hollywood Sign/Griffith Park Downtown LA LAX Venice and Santa Monica beaches Beverley Hills, Rodeo Drive and Hollywood etc. George was great Tour leader.

Doing what: 6-Hour Los Angeles City Tour

Rachelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nick and David were both excellent - very knowledgable and entertaining. The tour gives you a great overview of LA with lots of information. You are in small groups in a minibus and are treated to some hidden gems time permitting that big buses may not be able to visit such as the canals, some of the stars houses, backstreets of Venice and fishermans village. Everything ran to time and pick up from my hotel all worked well. Great views from Griffith Observatory. A very enjoyable tour! And much better to have someone else do the driving in LA!!!

Doing what: 6-Hour Los Angeles City Tour

Dawn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, great tour guide! I was called the day before to see if we were able to reschedule which we weren't and I asked if the tour was overbooked? Believe it or not it was underbooked' that day and just the two of us. The tour group made it Very clear that they would accommodate us no matter, no worries and they did! Ok, so truth be told, I have a fear of heights, and got a bit nervous about the trail. Since it was just the two of us, Kayla sp? was Amazing and said this is YOUR hike, I want to make sure your comfortable and happy. She then rerouted our hike to make it more comfortable and was an amazing guide! She knew all the history and fun stories about the Observatory, and Griffith himself, that you would never know if you just went up there on your own! She totally brought Life to the trip and was So engaging! I would do this tour again and try harder to push beyond my boundaries!! Amazing views and amazing stories!! Thank You!!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Alexandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing, a fantastic way to start our trip in Los Angeles. The hike itself is really pleasant and our tour guide gave us so many fascinating facts about the park and about Griffith himself and the views were absolutely phenomenal with plenty of photo opportunities! We did the hike on a particularly hot day and our tour guide was well prepared for this with extra bottles of water and snacks for us to have along the way. All in all a very well thought out and enjoyable tour!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Jeremy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience, gained insight of Los Angeles and Griffith Park history.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

robert.l.frye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Solo was an outstanding guide - very informative, personable, and knowledgable about the area. He tailors the hiking experience to that day's group. Make sure to wear closed toed shoes with good grip due to loose gravel. Water and granola bars provided. The tour even includes guided commentary inside the Griffith Observatory. This hike was the highlight of our LA vacation!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Tamar R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour of the Hollywood Hills - Griffith Park, the Hollywood sign and Griffith Observatory was phenomenal. Salo did an amazing job of providing guidance and interesting factoids all along the way in a fun way! The sites were breathtaking. Can't say enough..

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

thebat12666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were meet in Griffith Park by Jason our tour guide. Who's friendly approach made us feel very comfortable. We made our way through the foothills to some very scenic locations. On the way Jason was able to share with us information about the history and film locations within the park. The pace of the hike was user friendly and informative. Jason saved the best for last as we attended the observatory for sunset. Jason was able to give us information about the best locations to see this outstanding display of mother nature. We would recommend this tour to anyone and if you are luck you may get Jason as your guide.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

V K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Such an amazing experience - I would recommend this tour to anyone in the Los Angeles area. Our guide, Steven, was such a friendly person with an obvious passion for nature. The walk itself was far easier than I thought it would be and I was surprised when told we'd reached the highest point in Los Angeles! The views are breath-taking and the trip inside the Griffith Observatory was fascinating. Doing the sunset hike was so worth it as the sunset is unlike any I've ever seen before. I would definitely do this again were I in Los Angeles.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Saloma76 Schweiz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Would recommend this tour to anyone: Great views, tour guide JS was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Also the quick side trip about 15, 20 min inside the Griffith Observatory was very informative for this short time.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Christine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the iconic sights of Los Angeles is the Hollywood sign, together with the nearby Griffith Observatory, set among the hills. I liked the idea of walking the hills and thought it would be more pleasant, as a single traveller, to do the hike with an organised group rather than on my own. It certainly paid off! - our guide, Eric, was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of interesting information about the area which I doubt I would have known about otherwise. The Batman connection is particularly beguiling! You'll have to take the trip to find out what it is!. As a visitor to LA, there was certainly a lot to take in, not just the views in themselves, but the history of the area which Eric was very well up on. I would just add that the timing of your walk could be important, depending on your level of fitness. It was slightly overcast in the morning, when I climbed the hills, which suited me: I'm not an unfit person, but I did find it more pleasant walking under these conditions rather than I would have done later in the day when it was far hotter. In case this is a concern to you, Eric does ensure that everyone can keep up and you don't feel intimidated if you get a bit behind. The emphasis is on enjoyment more than anything else .... go see!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Rita Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was really good. Highly recommend it. Eric our guide was very knowledgeable about Griffith Park and enthusiastic which made the tour interesting. The walk was good exercise too.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Elsa was right on time. She was very informative of the history of Griffith Park and got us to the top of the Hollywood Hills with great vantage points for photos. The company rep was very helpful on directing us to the right meeting location. Great exercise. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

ANNE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Eric was awesome! Great views and interesting locations. The walk was well narrated the the Griffith Park truly holds some amazing history. Perfect for a quick stop in LA.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

kahler.officepro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best part of our trip! Elsa was our guide and we were fortunate to be the only two in the group (Mother/Daughter.) We felt extremely comfortable with her and relaxed and never rushed. She explained in great detail the history of Colonel Griffith, the park, the Observatory, the Hollywood Sign, and LA and the surrounding areas in general. She talked to my daughter (16 years old) like they were friends about college and life in LA. We didn't want the tour to end! The hike was a "real" hike, not a "touristy" type at all. It was exactly what we were looking for. Bikes and Hikes was awesome by staying in touch with me until we met up with Elsa, despite poor cell phone coverage. She was very helpful getting a ride after the tour and recommending local places to eat for dinner. We are so glad we met Elsa!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our hike around Griffith Park and the Observatory was a unique experience and very enjoyable. Our tour guide was punctual and very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The only downside was that it would have been better to have shoes more suitable for hiking. Otherwise, the hike was suited to our abilities, and the views both before an after sunset were spectacular! We would highly recommend this hike as a unique and fantastic LA experience away from the congestion and traffic.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Beverly E P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Not your fault, however not being able to see Griffith Park and Hollywood sign was a bummer. Closed to make a movie and, again, I know not your fault--but still disappointing. George did his best to allow us to see the sign anyway. He was a great guy and a good guide, but his microphone was awful. He said it was his back-up one -- I would suggest dumping it because it wasn't even good as a back-up. Scratchy, cut in and out, irritating when it goes on like that all day. Despite my comments, the tour itself is a good one and I would not only go again, but recommend it.

Doing what: 6-Hour Los Angeles City Tour

Kanika G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

You could get better views of the sign from the Griffith observatory and for the SF view, twin peak is the best so far for me. Wish they would have taken us near to the sign. However the guide was very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Robert G Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Tour was good overview of Los Angeles and the Griffith Observatory was very interesting. Really enjoyed both Santa Monica and Venice Beach however the tour did spend too much time looking at Celebrity homes well actually celebrity fences and gates cause you couldn't see anything of the homes and it would have been nice to spend more time in Rodeo Drive rather then looking at fences.

Doing what: 6-Hour Los Angeles City Tour

Mick C United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

due to traffic the tour lasted 10 1/2 hours including transfers. The stop at Venice beach was too short to be of any use especially with a lunch stop at Santa Monica immediately after. There was a 50 minute stop at Rodeo Drive at the end of the tour which could have been covered by a drive past. Griffith University was an excellent stop, as was Santa Monica

Doing what: 6-Hour Los Angeles City Tour

PUDJA U

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Well we were picked up half an hour late due to traffic problem according to George, our guide. We were not so impressed as we had only like 10 minutes at the Griffith Observatory? and like the Hollywood sign was so tiny it wasn't worth trying to take pictures. We also had only an hour at Farmers Market. Personally I think Hop On Hop Off is way much better to see LA.

Doing what: 6-Hour Los Angeles City Tour

Servane M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

No visit to Griffiths Park.
No downtown LA.

Doing what: Privately Customized Tour of Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message