One of LA's most distinguishing icons, the famous HOLLYWOOD sign proudly stands on the hillside of the Hollywood Hills, overlooking its namesake city and the movie industry it has come to symbolize. LA's most famous landmark first appeared on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Moky United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If you're looking to get great vistas of downtown LA and the Hollywood sign, as well as to stretch your legs and get in light exercise, this is the hike for you. I had a great time on this easy-level hike. Our tour guide Danny was polite and friendly, gave us a few historical tidbits along the way, stopped whenever anyone needed a breather, and gave me ample time to snap my pics.
The tour goes by the Hollywood sign for photo opps, but not THAT close. If you're looking to snap some closer-up pics, you'll want to bring along a zoom lens my photos were taken with a standard 50-80mm lens. The hike ends right at Griffith Observatory, which is free to check out minus the planetarium shows and offers a/c, toilets, drinking fountains, additional observation points for photos, etc. I would say this was a way better use of my free time than a walk in the city!
Things to note:
- Be advised that throughout most of the hike, there's spotty cellular signal depending on your carrier mine was Verizon Wireless.
- There's a free wifi hotspot right at the entrance to Griffith Observatory's parking lot you will see a sign for it.
- There's quite a lot of dust/dirt on the trail so make sure you're prepared. In other words, don't wear white. -
- Also, watch out for dog poop as dogs are allowed on the trails!
- The tour guide provides a small bottle of water for everyone, but depending on the heat and sun that day, you should probably bring a backup bottle just in case.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Jessica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My mom and I recently spent a day in LA with my kids on our way to Hawaii, and we thought this would be a fun alternative to sticking them on a tour bus all afternoon. Taylor was an excellent guide, and it really was a great way to see all of the city from above while hearing some history at the same time. My son was anxious to see the Hollywood sign, and the tour definitely offered a great view of that. The tour ended at the observatory, and Taylor took us inside to see the highlights. We had the option to stay there and spend more time, but we chose to go so we could try and squeeze in a little more sightseeing. In hindsight, we wish we had used the extra time there as my kids really liked it! This was a great way to spend an afternoon and definitely more memorable than your typical bus tour!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Kanika G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

You could get better views of the sign from the Griffith observatory and for the SF view, twin peak is the best so far for me. Wish they would have taken us near to the sign. However the guide was very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Tamar R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour of the Hollywood Hills - Griffith Park, the Hollywood sign and Griffith Observatory was phenomenal. Salo did an amazing job of providing guidance and interesting factoids all along the way in a fun way! The sites were breathtaking. Can't say enough..

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles


5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide, Jason is very approachable. He shared about the history and film location throughout the tour. A breathtaking sight as you can see Hollywood sign along this easy hike. I enjoyed my morning with this tour

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Freidoon K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

It was not at all what was promised or advertised. It was maybe 15 mins total and they didn't even fly close to the Hollywood sign for us, but they did for another group, even though we asked. It was like being in a speeding vehicle with no time to really see any Hollywood sites. The only great part was being in a helicopter for the first time.

Doing what: Best of Hollywood Helicopter Tour

Christine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the iconic sights of Los Angeles is the Hollywood sign, together with the nearby Griffith Observatory, set among the hills. I liked the idea of walking the hills and thought it would be more pleasant, as a single traveller, to do the hike with an organised group rather than on my own. It certainly paid off! - our guide, Eric, was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of interesting information about the area which I doubt I would have known about otherwise. The Batman connection is particularly beguiling! You'll have to take the trip to find out what it is!. As a visitor to LA, there was certainly a lot to take in, not just the views in themselves, but the history of the area which Eric was very well up on. I would just add that the timing of your walk could be important, depending on your level of fitness. It was slightly overcast in the morning, when I climbed the hills, which suited me: I'm not an unfit person, but I did find it more pleasant walking under these conditions rather than I would have done later in the day when it was far hotter. In case this is a concern to you, Eric does ensure that everyone can keep up and you don't feel intimidated if you get a bit behind. The emphasis is on enjoyment more than anything else .... go see!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Jenny T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

great way to see the Hollywood sign and views over the LA skyline. Moderate level of fitness required. Very knowledgeable and friendly guide.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles


5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best part of our trip! Elsa was our guide and we were fortunate to be the only two in the group (Mother/Daughter.) We felt extremely comfortable with her and relaxed and never rushed. She explained in great detail the history of Colonel Griffith, the park, the Observatory, the Hollywood Sign, and LA and the surrounding areas in general. She talked to my daughter (16 years old) like they were friends about college and life in LA. We didn't want the tour to end! The hike was a "real" hike, not a "touristy" type at all. It was exactly what we were looking for. Bikes and Hikes was awesome by staying in touch with me until we met up with Elsa, despite poor cell phone coverage. She was very helpful getting a ride after the tour and recommending local places to eat for dinner. We are so glad we met Elsa!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Oscar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was great, very interesting facts about Hollywood, a glimpse to the Hollywood sign and a great explication of the walk of fame. We enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Hollywood - Behind the Scenes Walking Tour

Saké Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

I have been on other helicopter tours but this helicopter tour of the Hollywood Strip is my absolute favourite! I could write a very long article on how wonderful this helicopter tour was for us but I will try to keep it short: The Limo Service: We chose the tour option with the limo service (we were told that it was a bit of a drive and passes through a rough neighborhood). This advice is correct! Our meeting point to get picked up was in front of the Kodak theater. The drive was about 30 minutes (a bit of traffic). There was a minibar in the 'Cruiser' which we did not use but was there if we needed anything. The Helicopter Tour: The helicopter was very small but - I do not mean this in a bad way at all - if anything , it was great! Because it was so small it felt more personalized. The windows were huge giving us the most amazing unobstructed views. We flew over celebrity homes (or should I say palaces!) including those belonging to Aaron Spelling, David Beckham, Tom Cruise, and Johnny Depp. We also flew over the beach and to make it perfect - we saw two dolphins jump out of the water! And of course, we flew so close to the Hollywood sign that we had to take the pictures in multiple shots! We passed numerous LA / Hollywood landmarks as well including the Disney Concert Hall. It was one of my favorite and memorable moments during my visit. I will be definitely recommending this to others and would not even mind doing it again (if the opportunity arises). This is a highly recommended helicopter tour to do in LA!

Doing what: Best of Hollywood Helicopter Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message