Los Angeles ATTRACTIONS See all

Santa Monica Beach & Pier

You'll instantly recognize it from film and TV: the neon-lit arch of the Santa Monica Pier. Feel the ocean breeze as you stroll past snack shacks, a game arcade, lively entertainers, and anglers to the far tip where the entire arc of the Santa ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 271 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

karl Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Kenneth our tour Guide was great very informative three hours in downtown LA two Hours in santa monica would
highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Kirsty S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was brilliant! The bus picked us up right on time and took us to Hollywood first providing entertaining commentary on the way. Upon arriving in Hollywood we had approximately 3 hours to spare. This was plenty of time to see what we wanted to see, and was a great introduction to what Hollywood has to offer. After our time in Hollywood we were taken to Santa Monica beach Venice beach was offered as an alternative via Beverly Hills and the Sunset Strip with more commentary. We were given 1 1/2 hours to spend on Santa Monica. I would have liked more time though to be honest as I felt a bit rushed. Me and a friend both wanted to go on 2 rides on the pier, however due to time constraints we had to settle for 1 or we wouldn't have seen anything else of Santa Monica. To give you an idea of prices on the pier to ride a big ride including the ferris wheel costs 8 each or a smaller ride costs 5. I thought this was a lot, although unlimited ride wristbands were available if you have more time to spend but were not suitable when on this tour. We were then taken back to Anaheim and dropped off at our pick up point at about 6pm.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Sandy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fabulous tour. Mina was our tour guide. She was great. We had a group of ten, including two preteens. There was a great difference in abilities. Given our group size and makeup, our tour took 7 hours. Mina recognized the need for more time and mentioned it right away. She also offered to have a truck to pick up anyone who felt that they had enough. Our entire group made the whole trip.
Mina did an excellent job of keeping the group together, while safely navigating traffic and ensuring that everyone was enjoying themselves. She is a very high energy person with a terrific sense of humor and a lot of great info throughout the tour.
The bikes were good. The route was varied and interesting. The supply of water and granola bars were much appreciated.
Overall, I would recommend this longer tour for anyone who is active. It might be a bit too much for anyone under 10.

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Raelene W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

COLETTE R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Our driver and tour guide was lovely, unfortunately the tour is boring. There is not much to see or do in Hollywood and we were no where near the Hollywood sign. So glad we op to going to the food market and then back to Hollywood for an hour.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

David G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Well, you keep asking me to review my Anaheim tour of Los Angeles so I will.

This tour is, in my opinion, the worst of all possible tours.

The problem started with the booking. Now, I realize I probably should have made our reservations before we left home instead of trying to do it the day of the tour. . .BUT . . .I bought a reservation for the same day and immediately since there was nothing on the booking site which indicated a time called to ask what time the tour was to take place only to be told the tour had left 15 minutes prior. Why would you sell someone a tour that was already in progress?

So the tour operator said we could take the tour the following day, no problem. She explained where to catch the bus, and what time to be at the bust stop LUXBUS 9:15. At about 9:05 we went to the bus stop and waited, as we didn't want to miss this tour. At about 9:10 an ART bus pulled in and left, and we also saw a black passenger van sitting in front of our hotel-not at the bus stop, but in front of the hotel. A few minutes later an extremely rude and crabby man got out of the van and approached us. He asked if we were waiting for the LUXBUS tour and we told him we were. There was no identifying information anywhere on this van, so how we were expected to now who he was I have no idea. I suppose had he come to the bus stop area we might have asked, but he didn't. He was most annoyed that he had sat there for at least two minutes.

He drove us to the underground parking garage where the tour office has their office. More trouble. They can't find our reservation in the system, even though I had my email confirmation/booking number. It took two people to find it. And then Your tour was yesterday! Ummm, yeah, but you told me to come today. .I was then told I needed to contact Viator to let them know about the change because If you don't it will make a mess in bookkeeping. I did let Viator now, but they didn't seem the least bit concerned.
Now, I had read reviews about this wonderful tour, hits the highlights, hilarious driver, so much fun, etc. NOT! The only person on the bus who thought the driver's jokes were funny was the driver, who broke out in a giggle every time he told one. He seemed to have an unhealthy obsession with wealth and privilege, because his favorite sights to point out were exclusive high end hotels, and, believe it or not, the body shops where the rich and pretentious take their exclusive high end cars after they've wrecked then in the Hollywood Hills or wherever. He squealed like a schoolgirl every time he spotted an expensive sports car.

Our first stop was the Farmer's Market, which was just another name for a flea market. Whole lot of terrible souvenir stands under one roof-highly recommended by our tour driver. The second was Hollywood Blvd. Equally impressive-a dirty, nasty street with more shops. The only nice spot on the tour was the stop at the Santa Monica Pier. We never even got close enough to the Hollywood sign to take a picture lol.

Altogether, we wasted a fairly small amount of money and a whole day of precious vacation time on this tour. I know good tours are out there-we had an amazing one in San Francisco, through a different company.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

depm12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great tour very informative . the driver is really friendly and funny. plenty of time to roam around hollywood blvd. and santa monica pier. the bus is also great.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a great tour. I loved walking to see things and biking.

Doing what: Total Los Angeles Tour: Bike Rental, Cupcake Tasting and Museum Admission

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing! The tour guide was very informative and made the trip fun. We got to see so many sites. I would take this trip again, and I would recommend this tour to a friend! Everything was great!

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Jennifer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

As it turned out, my daughter and I were the only people on the tour that day, maybe because it was unseasonably hot. Our guide was very good. He took us around Hollywood and then to the farmers market and Beverley Hills. We had already done the bike riding along the beach, but that is really a highlight. It was a very reasonably priced tour for us to get a taste of Los Angeles. And we also got a delicious cupcake!

Doing what: Total Los Angeles Tour: Bike Rental, Cupcake Tasting and Museum Admission

Ron Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was everything I was expecting. Kenneth our driver was a safe, informative and humorous driver. My add-on tour of the stars homes was also great. Mikey, our driver was also humorous and informative. I would highly recommend these tours.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Howard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic way to see LA. Guide was excellent did 33 miles so need to be reasonably fit

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

IJNZE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

easy traveling they pick you up and drop you of at the hotels
the driver we had give plenty information what to see and drove us easy to all the nice spots

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Arian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great experience. It is a must-do if you are in Anaheim and want to see LA as well.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Isabelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was an excellent tour where Alex was such an informative and interesting guide..... He knows his region for sure! Make sure to have your whole day free, as with traffic, you might come back late! It was a great way to view and learn about LA, Hollywood and the orange country. Once in La, we also took a car visit of the rich and famous that live in the hills, it's worth it!!!!

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Stephen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Outstanding tour of LA. Our tour guide, Kelly, was informative and as nice a guy as you will ever meet. A great way to spend a day.

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Jane T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a good overview of LA, Hollywood and Santa Monica in one day. If you want to avoid driving to LA and has very little time in LA, I would recommend to take this tour from Anaheim.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

juliejordan93

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A super way to experience Santa Monica and Venice Beach. Would do this again.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Sinéad D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommend this trip! Interesting tour with a lot of facts about celebrities and movies etc. :

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Dan Slater United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent. The highlight of a fabulous couple of days in LA

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Brian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour with Kenneth of Lux Bus America. Very informative and witty. Only downside was overall the tour seems geared towards shopping however in all areas this can be substituted with non-shopping activities. Be prepared for a long day.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Karen H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The overall day was very good, the driver and tour guide were excellent. We weren't so interested in the Queen Mary tour and would have preferred to have it optional or a shortened version as would rather have had longer at the other places.

Doing what: California Beach Cities Day Trip: Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Venice Beach and Santa Monica from LA

Pankaj D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Tour was pretty good .. Very informative .. Only concern was driver was driving the bus as well as holding mike which was quite risky for driving .. He took almost all famous places in LA.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

DeAnne R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Absolutely Terrible!!! Disorganized!! We did not see the tourist spots that were on the list. The bus driver was not very good either!! Our first stop was Hollywood, so my friend and I got off at that spot. The bus driver didn't tell us where to meet him and how long we had to tour. He just yelled to us Get off the Bus Now!!!

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message