Los Angeles ATTRACTIONS See all

Santa Monica Beach & Pier

You'll instantly recognize it from film and TV: the neon-lit arch of the Santa Monica Pier. Feel the ocean breeze as you stroll past snack shacks, a game arcade, lively entertainers, and anglers to the far tip where the entire arc of the Santa ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 284 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very well organised from pick up to drop off, despite the LA traffic! Really enjoyed it and the guide was very knowledgable. We chose the Venice Beach and 3hrs in Hollywood option and would highly recommend. Excellent value for money, just keep your camera handy for all the photos!

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Marilyn H

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The electric bikes are fun, but the tour was slow paced for my tastes.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Laura C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

A lot of time on a bus in traffic but that and #39;s LA for you! Being on a bus is better than driving in it. We had one hour each at Santa monica, Farmers market, and Hollywood. It wasn and #39;t enough time at either. We didn and #39;t get tostop at the Hollywood sign for which was what my teens most looked forward to...

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

lmmacek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great way to see Los Angeles - our bus driver was a fantastic guide telling us where and when to look for different points of interest. Everyone was super friendly, the bus seats were comfortable, there was even an electrical plug for my phone charger, and a tiny bathroom on board. I would recommend this trip, it takes ALL day - you see a lot of LA and you get to stop and walk around, take pictures, grab a quick bite to eat, or shop. This was one of the best parts of our trip.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Charles P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I took this tour in November 2016 during a conference I had attended in Anaheim. With some free time at hand I decided to use my Viator application and this became the best decision that I made. The Tour company called me and advised me on a pick up point where we met several of us for the Tour of Los Angeles. This is one of the best decision that I made as we got one of the best drivers who kept us entertained the whole day. From route names, Los Angeles Famous points, to Holly Wood where we had ample time for personal stuff, to Beverly Hills and Santa Monica, the tour was a major highlight of my US Trip. I would never hesitate to use Viator during my holidays and it has become an integral part of my Trip advisor. Charles Peter

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was great. This was a great way to see Los Angeles. Our bus driver Kenneth was a fantastic guide telling us where and when to look for different points of interest. Would recommend people to go to farmers market as you don't need three hours on the walk of fame.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Michael W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We went with the tour that included the Hard Rock Cafe lunch and Skyspace tour. The food wasn't that great and for what we paid, it seemed overpriced. The Skyspace tour was sold to us when we arrived the day of our tour and was marketed to us as a VIP tour to view LA on a 72nd floor of a building that would last 30 minutes for 20 per person, but upon arrival the Skyspace staff said that we had normal tickets that would allow us unlimited time there. We spent most of the time sitting in LA traffic that lasts 1.5-2 hours so expect to entertain yourself during transit. The driver mentioned we were going to get coupons for a store at the Hollywood and Highland Center and a movie while in transit, but was unable to find the coupons and there was a problem with the DVD player on the bus. Ultimately, we did not feel like we got a lot of value out of the tour and felt rushed during our stops at the beach option of Santa Monica Beach or Venice Beach and lasted only 1 hour instead of the 1.5 hours that they mentioned, the Hollywood and Highland Center 3 hours, but there's a lot of activities at this location, and Skyspace 30 minutes is not enough time.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

judithpauwels95

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

This trip went for 10 hours. It indicated that we would see Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach, Hollywood Boulevard, the Farmers Market and much more. What actually happens is that you get to choose between Santa Monica Pier or Venice Beach for one hour and then Hollywood Boulevard or the Farmers Market for 3 hours. You also get a running commentary of sights as you drive along but because you are driving fast you miss most of it. At the end of the day we spent three and a half hours in peek hour traffic with a ten minute break for a restroom stop. Very disappointed!

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

karl Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Kenneth our tour Guide was great very informative three hours in downtown LA two Hours in santa monica would
highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Kirsty S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was brilliant! The bus picked us up right on time and took us to Hollywood first providing entertaining commentary on the way. Upon arriving in Hollywood we had approximately 3 hours to spare. This was plenty of time to see what we wanted to see, and was a great introduction to what Hollywood has to offer. After our time in Hollywood we were taken to Santa Monica beach Venice beach was offered as an alternative via Beverly Hills and the Sunset Strip with more commentary. We were given 1 1/2 hours to spend on Santa Monica. I would have liked more time though to be honest as I felt a bit rushed. Me and a friend both wanted to go on 2 rides on the pier, however due to time constraints we had to settle for 1 or we wouldn't have seen anything else of Santa Monica. To give you an idea of prices on the pier to ride a big ride including the ferris wheel costs 8 each or a smaller ride costs 5. I thought this was a lot, although unlimited ride wristbands were available if you have more time to spend but were not suitable when on this tour. We were then taken back to Anaheim and dropped off at our pick up point at about 6pm.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Sandy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fabulous tour. Mina was our tour guide. She was great. We had a group of ten, including two preteens. There was a great difference in abilities. Given our group size and makeup, our tour took 7 hours. Mina recognized the need for more time and mentioned it right away. She also offered to have a truck to pick up anyone who felt that they had enough. Our entire group made the whole trip.
Mina did an excellent job of keeping the group together, while safely navigating traffic and ensuring that everyone was enjoying themselves. She is a very high energy person with a terrific sense of humor and a lot of great info throughout the tour.
The bikes were good. The route was varied and interesting. The supply of water and granola bars were much appreciated.
Overall, I would recommend this longer tour for anyone who is active. It might be a bit too much for anyone under 10.

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Raelene W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

COLETTE R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Our driver and tour guide was lovely, unfortunately the tour is boring. There is not much to see or do in Hollywood and we were no where near the Hollywood sign. So glad we op to going to the food market and then back to Hollywood for an hour.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

David G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Well, you keep asking me to review my Anaheim tour of Los Angeles so I will.

This tour is, in my opinion, the worst of all possible tours.

The problem started with the booking. Now, I realize I probably should have made our reservations before we left home instead of trying to do it the day of the tour. . .BUT . . .I bought a reservation for the same day and immediately since there was nothing on the booking site which indicated a time called to ask what time the tour was to take place only to be told the tour had left 15 minutes prior. Why would you sell someone a tour that was already in progress?

So the tour operator said we could take the tour the following day, no problem. She explained where to catch the bus, and what time to be at the bust stop LUXBUS 9:15. At about 9:05 we went to the bus stop and waited, as we didn't want to miss this tour. At about 9:10 an ART bus pulled in and left, and we also saw a black passenger van sitting in front of our hotel-not at the bus stop, but in front of the hotel. A few minutes later an extremely rude and crabby man got out of the van and approached us. He asked if we were waiting for the LUXBUS tour and we told him we were. There was no identifying information anywhere on this van, so how we were expected to now who he was I have no idea. I suppose had he come to the bus stop area we might have asked, but he didn't. He was most annoyed that he had sat there for at least two minutes.

He drove us to the underground parking garage where the tour office has their office. More trouble. They can't find our reservation in the system, even though I had my email confirmation/booking number. It took two people to find it. And then Your tour was yesterday! Ummm, yeah, but you told me to come today. .I was then told I needed to contact Viator to let them know about the change because If you don't it will make a mess in bookkeeping. I did let Viator now, but they didn't seem the least bit concerned.
Now, I had read reviews about this wonderful tour, hits the highlights, hilarious driver, so much fun, etc. NOT! The only person on the bus who thought the driver's jokes were funny was the driver, who broke out in a giggle every time he told one. He seemed to have an unhealthy obsession with wealth and privilege, because his favorite sights to point out were exclusive high end hotels, and, believe it or not, the body shops where the rich and pretentious take their exclusive high end cars after they've wrecked then in the Hollywood Hills or wherever. He squealed like a schoolgirl every time he spotted an expensive sports car.

Our first stop was the Farmer's Market, which was just another name for a flea market. Whole lot of terrible souvenir stands under one roof-highly recommended by our tour driver. The second was Hollywood Blvd. Equally impressive-a dirty, nasty street with more shops. The only nice spot on the tour was the stop at the Santa Monica Pier. We never even got close enough to the Hollywood sign to take a picture lol.

Altogether, we wasted a fairly small amount of money and a whole day of precious vacation time on this tour. I know good tours are out there-we had an amazing one in San Francisco, through a different company.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

depm12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great tour very informative . the driver is really friendly and funny. plenty of time to roam around hollywood blvd. and santa monica pier. the bus is also great.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Linda L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a very entertaining tour with a driver who was full of humour and really made you laugh. He went everywhere including places in LA that had not been previously mentioned. I had expected to be bored but surprisingly i was not at all and it finished on Santa Monica beach which was a nice way to end the trip.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a great tour. I loved walking to see things and biking.

Doing what: Total Los Angeles Tour: Bike Rental, Cupcake Tasting and Museum Admission

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing! The tour guide was very informative and made the trip fun. We got to see so many sites. I would take this trip again, and I would recommend this tour to a friend! Everything was great!

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Jennifer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

As it turned out, my daughter and I were the only people on the tour that day, maybe because it was unseasonably hot. Our guide was very good. He took us around Hollywood and then to the farmers market and Beverley Hills. We had already done the bike riding along the beach, but that is really a highlight. It was a very reasonably priced tour for us to get a taste of Los Angeles. And we also got a delicious cupcake!

Doing what: Total Los Angeles Tour: Bike Rental, Cupcake Tasting and Museum Admission

Ron Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was everything I was expecting. Kenneth our driver was a safe, informative and humorous driver. My add-on tour of the stars homes was also great. Mikey, our driver was also humorous and informative. I would highly recommend these tours.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Howard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic way to see LA. Guide was excellent did 33 miles so need to be reasonably fit

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

IJNZE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

easy traveling they pick you up and drop you of at the hotels
the driver we had give plenty information what to see and drove us easy to all the nice spots

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Arian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great experience. It is a must-do if you are in Anaheim and want to see LA as well.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message