Southern California’s quintessential bohemian playground, Venice Beach is a haven for artists, New Agers, homeless people, and free spirits of all stripes. This is where Jim Morrison and the Doors lit their fire, where Arnold Schwarzenegger pumped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a really great day out. Although my friend and I found it pricey 320 for two people, we had a full 7 hours out on the road and Charlie, our guide, was great fun and got into the swing of our banal and often base British banter - ask for Charlie if you decide to go for this!!

Starting from West Hollywood we hit the climbs of Bel-Air Fresh Prince fans this is the one for you! and Beverly Hills yup, 90210. The hills were testing and you will need to have a modicum of fitness to enjoy it. We visited a huge mansion sitting on the top of a hill that I can't remember the name of but it was cool. We learnt that LA sits on large amounts of oil and much skulduggery happened with people trying to get control of it. Charlie has the lowdown and can give you all of the exciting juicy gossip.

We then descended through Brentwood towards Santa Monica, along the beach into Venice. We did our best not to inhale the copious wafts of weed fumes blowing out of Venice but you soon get a feel for the place when you stop for lunch - laid back, hippy and chilled. Fun.

We then rode off to Marina del Ray and up through teh Venice canals. Then onto some wetlands that had some significance but now escapes me. I'm sure it was interesting at the time. We then headed back to West Hollywood, stopping for a drink on the way back.

Altogether, a jolly good day out and thoroughly recommended.

My suggestion to The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour is to offer discounts for two or more booking together. The pricing I imagine would pretty much exclude many families who would love to sign up but simply couldn't afford 600 for a family of four.

Peace and Love

Steve

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Venice! Barb, our tour guide, was friendly and knowledgable. It was great to bike and get some exercise, while having the option to use the motor when needed especially near canals. We all want electric bikes now!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Michelle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic way to see the city and Danny, our tour guide, was really knowledgeable and informative. We got to see so much and we really enjoyed the ride (even the hills). Would highly recommend! An added bonus was a delicious lunch (extra cost) on Venice Beach. Thank you so much Bikes and Hikes :)

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Kimberly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is my second time on the tour and won't be my last. It's a great way to see Venice and Santa Monica quickly when I have guests in town and with plenty of time to stop and look around to see what you want to do next. Molly is a great guide and have enjoyed doing both tours with her. I love family owned businesses and try to support them whenever we can.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Ronnie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful tour! Hadn't ridden a bike in 35 years and was able to work that out before going on the tour. Saw some great sights and found out information that I never knew about Santa Monica and Venice, even though I am a Los Angeles native. It was a gorgeous day and Barbara was a wonderful tour guide.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Kay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This a great addition to a trip to Santa Monica. Steven, our guide, has a historical knowledge of SM and Venice which added to the fun and exploration of the area. The bikes are easy to ride and one can always use the electric option. Overall, a very fun event with a pro!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Saloma76 Schweiz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Apart from the very early beginning I know, that it is necessary in order to get the whole program through I loved this tour. Richard the tour guide is very knowledgeable and has a lot of funny and interesting stories to share. Jakob the driver brought us safely to all our destinations. It is a packed day with a lot of beautiful views and memories. As it is not always guided you have time to explore Huntington Beach, Queen Mary, Venice and Santa Monica on your on as well. Absolutely recommended.

Doing what: California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Venice Beach and Santa Monica

Kim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing and really fun way to see Santa Monica and Venice Beach. The tour guide was great and the electric bikes are easy and a BLAST to ride! Don't hesitate to give it a try, I will definitely do this again if I return to the LA area. I loved it so much I am actually looking to buy my own Pedego bike. I also plan to seek out tours like this in other cities I vacation in. Fun, fun, fun!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Newton C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great way to see Santa Monica and Venice Beach! Guide very helpful with Segway.

Doing what: Santa Monica and Venice Beach Segway Tour

marla d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was awesome. The bikes were great allowing my daughter to cruise and my son to pedal. The route was amazing seeing the scenic Santa monica and the chaos that is Venice beach. We loved every second of it!!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Bernadettte B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This bike tour was the best ever and totally changed our first impression of LA! Whitney, our guide was outstanding, set a great pace and gave us a real tour. We loved it! Lunch at Venice Beach was the icing on the cake! The bikes were awesome also!

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Frank S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great trip seeing Santa Monica and Venice from the view of the electric bike. It was a lot of fun to do something different and a great way to cover a lot of ground first hand. Very happy with the service and tour. Would 'definitely' do again when in the area.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Sabine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very interesting tour along Santa Monica and Venice Beach with visit of the canals. We enjoyed it much.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic! Highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see Venice Beach and Santa Monica :)

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Martin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see and experience Santa Monica and Venice Beach. Our guide was excellent, kept us entertained and the Segway is the best way to see it all!

Doing what: Santa Monica and Venice Beach Segway Tour

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great tour it was very safe easy and lots of fun. Barb did a great job as host along the Santa Monica and Venice beach pointing out the stars homes and little stories. Was also fun doing the Venice canals.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Pauline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a blast!! I would recommend this for anyone who wants to see Santa Monica and Venice beach area by bike.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Cynthia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The LA in a Day tour was excellent. Yes, there were hills in the beginning but I enjoyed that, the lunch in Venice was yummy and the ride back to West Hollywood along the Ballona Creek Bike Path - pure straight away with hardly anyone else riding - was awesome!

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Larelle J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

BEST Tour I have EVER done !!!........Barb and Stephen were awesome.
We booked the 9am tour and were so very very lucky to have Barb all to ourselves. It is the ultimate way to see Venice Beach and Santa Monica Beach.
The electric bikes were brilliant. My husband hates anything physical and absolutely adored this tour.
Pedal if you want - however you don't have to if you don't want.
We went for miles and miles on these bikes - we saw more than most extremely fit people would on a normal bike - as we were not puffed out like you would be on a normal bike. You could just keep going and going.
Barb was a wealth of information and she shared her knowledge with you along the way.
A MUST DO TOUR !!!!!...............Absolutely BEST thing we did in the USA. Thanks Barb and Stephen

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

BLAST! The bikes were very fun and felt very safe. The sites and the history was like Discovery Channel meets TMZ. Jim Morrison's old apartment in Venice was a real highlight. Muscle Beach as well, where Arnold trained in the 70's. We took the 4:30 tour and caught the Sunset over Santa Monica Pier. I noticed nearly all the reviews are 5 stars if that's any indication. Do it!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Kaye S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The day started with us stuck in terrible traffic. I called to ask if they wanted to move us to a later time and Steve said that they would wait for us. We got a late start but Barbara, our guide, asked if we had time to extend the ending time since we got a late start. We were thrilled that we didn't have to miss anything. We rode through Santa Monica, along the bike path of Santa Monica Beach and then through Venice Beach and the canals. Barbara had us make several stops so that she could explain the history of sights along the way as well as some pop culture. She also took several pictures of us. The bikes were great! They were easy to handle and we loved having the option of using the electric setting to help get us up some of the steeper inclines. We had a fantastic time!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Nicola S New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The tour was an excellent and fun way to see Santa Monica and Venice. Loved the electric bikes - easy to use, heaps of fun and you really don't have to pedal if you don't want so fitness is not an issue. Barb was very knowledgeable and kept the pace so that you really could have a look around, enjoy the sights and feel the sun on your face. It was a pleasant way to spend an afternoon. The office is also conveniently located near public transport and the local shopping centre so we stayed on after the tour and checked these out too.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

ozmuzziemoo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was a fantastic tour lead by Barbara. The pace was very leisurely and was an excellent way to enjoy and see the scenery etc at Santa Monica and Venice Beaches. Barbara was very informative and had excellent local knowledge. This is a must do tour if you are staying in the Santa Monica region-:)
For those that are looking for some exercise you can pedal, for those that like to do things easy the electric motors do all the hard work for you-:)

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Shermann D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Wonderful day out. Our guide even gave us extra time on The Queen Mary. This is the one to experience the differences in beach culture in LA. Venice beach is a real eye opener-not to be missed. Great commentary and guide would fully recommend.

Doing what: California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Venice Beach and Santa Monica

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Really loved the trip. Barbara, you were fabulous and were so helpful and knowledgeable.Really loved cycling around Venice beach and the canals. Those bilkes were out of this world; so easy to navigate and switching between the pedal mode and the electric mode was a piece of cake! I pedalled as much as I wanted to then zoomed up an incline then pedalled along the flat. The only question I had at the end of the wonderful tour was "Where can you buy one ?" Hope to see both Barbara and Steven again one day; my daughter and I were treated like family!
Linda and Lauren Charley (Canada)

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message