Los Angeles ATTRACTIONS See all

Venice Canals and Walkways

In 1905, tobacco millionaire and real estate developer Abbot Kinney sought to simulate the romantic feel of Venice, Italy in America by creating the beach resort town of Venice just south-west of Santa Monica. Kinney wrangled the area's marshland ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Venice! Barb, our tour guide, was friendly and knowledgable. It was great to bike and get some exercise, while having the option to use the motor when needed especially near canals. We all want electric bikes now!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Michelle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic way to see the city and Danny, our tour guide, was really knowledgeable and informative. We got to see so much and we really enjoyed the ride (even the hills). Would highly recommend! An added bonus was a delicious lunch (extra cost) on Venice Beach. Thank you so much Bikes and Hikes :)

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Kimberly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is my second time on the tour and won't be my last. It's a great way to see Venice and Santa Monica quickly when I have guests in town and with plenty of time to stop and look around to see what you want to do next. Molly is a great guide and have enjoyed doing both tours with her. I love family owned businesses and try to support them whenever we can.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Ronnie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful tour! Hadn't ridden a bike in 35 years and was able to work that out before going on the tour. Saw some great sights and found out information that I never knew about Santa Monica and Venice, even though I am a Los Angeles native. It was a gorgeous day and Barbara was a wonderful tour guide.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Kay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This a great addition to a trip to Santa Monica. Steven, our guide, has a historical knowledge of SM and Venice which added to the fun and exploration of the area. The bikes are easy to ride and one can always use the electric option. Overall, a very fun event with a pro!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Kim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing and really fun way to see Santa Monica and Venice Beach. The tour guide was great and the electric bikes are easy and a BLAST to ride! Don't hesitate to give it a try, I will definitely do this again if I return to the LA area. I loved it so much I am actually looking to buy my own Pedego bike. I also plan to seek out tours like this in other cities I vacation in. Fun, fun, fun!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

marla d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was awesome. The bikes were great allowing my daughter to cruise and my son to pedal. The route was amazing seeing the scenic Santa monica and the chaos that is Venice beach. We loved every second of it!!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Bernadettte B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This bike tour was the best ever and totally changed our first impression of LA! Whitney, our guide was outstanding, set a great pace and gave us a real tour. We loved it! Lunch at Venice Beach was the icing on the cake! The bikes were awesome also!

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Frank S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great trip seeing Santa Monica and Venice from the view of the electric bike. It was a lot of fun to do something different and a great way to cover a lot of ground first hand. Very happy with the service and tour. Would 'definitely' do again when in the area.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Sabine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very interesting tour along Santa Monica and Venice Beach with visit of the canals. We enjoyed it much.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic! Highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see Venice Beach and Santa Monica :)

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great tour it was very safe easy and lots of fun. Barb did a great job as host along the Santa Monica and Venice beach pointing out the stars homes and little stories. Was also fun doing the Venice canals.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Pauline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a blast!! I would recommend this for anyone who wants to see Santa Monica and Venice beach area by bike.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Cynthia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The LA in a Day tour was excellent. Yes, there were hills in the beginning but I enjoyed that, the lunch in Venice was yummy and the ride back to West Hollywood along the Ballona Creek Bike Path - pure straight away with hardly anyone else riding - was awesome!

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Larelle J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

BEST Tour I have EVER done !!!........Barb and Stephen were awesome.
We booked the 9am tour and were so very very lucky to have Barb all to ourselves. It is the ultimate way to see Venice Beach and Santa Monica Beach.
The electric bikes were brilliant. My husband hates anything physical and absolutely adored this tour.
Pedal if you want - however you don't have to if you don't want.
We went for miles and miles on these bikes - we saw more than most extremely fit people would on a normal bike - as we were not puffed out like you would be on a normal bike. You could just keep going and going.
Barb was a wealth of information and she shared her knowledge with you along the way.
A MUST DO TOUR !!!!!...............Absolutely BEST thing we did in the USA. Thanks Barb and Stephen

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

BLAST! The bikes were very fun and felt very safe. The sites and the history was like Discovery Channel meets TMZ. Jim Morrison's old apartment in Venice was a real highlight. Muscle Beach as well, where Arnold trained in the 70's. We took the 4:30 tour and caught the Sunset over Santa Monica Pier. I noticed nearly all the reviews are 5 stars if that's any indication. Do it!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Kaye S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The day started with us stuck in terrible traffic. I called to ask if they wanted to move us to a later time and Steve said that they would wait for us. We got a late start but Barbara, our guide, asked if we had time to extend the ending time since we got a late start. We were thrilled that we didn't have to miss anything. We rode through Santa Monica, along the bike path of Santa Monica Beach and then through Venice Beach and the canals. Barbara had us make several stops so that she could explain the history of sights along the way as well as some pop culture. She also took several pictures of us. The bikes were great! They were easy to handle and we loved having the option of using the electric setting to help get us up some of the steeper inclines. We had a fantastic time!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Nicola S New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The tour was an excellent and fun way to see Santa Monica and Venice. Loved the electric bikes - easy to use, heaps of fun and you really don't have to pedal if you don't want so fitness is not an issue. Barb was very knowledgeable and kept the pace so that you really could have a look around, enjoy the sights and feel the sun on your face. It was a pleasant way to spend an afternoon. The office is also conveniently located near public transport and the local shopping centre so we stayed on after the tour and checked these out too.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

ozmuzziemoo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was a fantastic tour lead by Barbara. The pace was very leisurely and was an excellent way to enjoy and see the scenery etc at Santa Monica and Venice Beaches. Barbara was very informative and had excellent local knowledge. This is a must do tour if you are staying in the Santa Monica region-:)
For those that are looking for some exercise you can pedal, for those that like to do things easy the electric motors do all the hard work for you-:)

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Really loved the trip. Barbara, you were fabulous and were so helpful and knowledgeable.Really loved cycling around Venice beach and the canals. Those bilkes were out of this world; so easy to navigate and switching between the pedal mode and the electric mode was a piece of cake! I pedalled as much as I wanted to then zoomed up an incline then pedalled along the flat. The only question I had at the end of the wonderful tour was "Where can you buy one ?" Hope to see both Barbara and Steven again one day; my daughter and I were treated like family!
Linda and Lauren Charley (Canada)

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

virginie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

We LOVED this tour! Our guide Barbara was lovely, knowledgeable and even took photos of us! We cycled from San Monica beach to Venice Beach. My favorite part was the Venice canals - amazing area where beautiful houses sit along canals like in Venice! It was relaxing, safe and easy to follow the guide. We stopped several times and Barbara talked about the area and its history. The electric bikes were brilliant and you don't have to pedal if you don't feel like it ;-) I highly recommend this tour as it was the highlight during our vacation in Los Angeles.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Blanca United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

This tour was incredible. The best way to see Santa Monica and Venice Beach! The weather was very nice, even if it was February! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and took a few really nice pictures of us. The bikes were great, I loved being able to pedal when I felt like and also being able to accelerate as if it was a scooter when it was a bit more hilly, or to gain a bit more speed. We got a chance to see everything we wanted to see, including the Venice canals, which were amazing. It was so relaxing, I would definitely do it again, and would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

David A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Having a electrical motor on a bike is very convenient and fun. Tour guide was very informative about Venice and its history. Kinda of wish we could have just gone on our own path instead of following tour guide the whole time, although tour guide did allow us to stop at a couple spots upon request.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Maria K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Lots of fun and interesting facts . It is a great way to effortless enjoy Santa moni, the strand and venice

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Genevieve P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great way to visit Santa Monica and Venice beach area. This tour was one of my best experience of LA.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message