See more of California on these day trips from Los Angeles. Leave the city for a day to discover coastal towns and attractions like Venice Beach, Hearst Castle, San Diego and more! California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Adam was a well organised and informative tour guide. The tour gave great views and insights to the coast. The vehicle was spacious and comfortable. The accommodation was comfortable and met our needs. Adam's tips for eating and drinking were spot on, we had a great time.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Ramanpreet W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Booked the trip for my parents, they loved it. Tour bus was comfortable and clean, the driver was a fun and a knowledgeable narrator, the stop-over/sites had nice site seeing. Overall, it was a memorable and a well-planned tour.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

GEOFF C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

THE 2ND NIGHT ACCOM WAS NOT AS GOOD AS THE FIRST. ALSO THE OTHER 3 PEOPLE ON THE TOUR HAD OCEAN VIEW ROOMS ON BOTH NIGHTS.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Gloria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was well planned. The hotels were very nice, especially the one in Monteray. Our guide was also very knowledgable and friendly. All in all it was a wonderful trip. Thank you.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Kate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this trip and with Explore California having had a great 3 days driving down the Pacific Coastal Highway. I signed up as a solo-traveller opting for the Comfort accommodation option which was more than adequate. I formed part of a group of 5 plus Mark our guide. The trip makes some great stops and Mark stopped at a few other points of interest, really nice Jam farm in Swanton and the Elephant Seals in San Simeon to name but a few. The best day was the second day visiting Carmel-by-the-sea, Big Sur and Hearst Castle with some spectacular views. Mark was a great guide, super friendly and knowledgeable of the region. This is a great way to take in the coastline with the right balance of sightseeing, relaxation and pace. Thanks also to Kelly for your correspondence beforehand, this was very helpful.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Raham M al H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

it was the best tour I did during my visit
Mark our tour guide was an excellent person

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Yuan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Value for money and overall a well-paced, informative day out! I especially enjoyed Hearst castle and would have love to spend more time exploring the site.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Robert G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great guide and a wonderful experience, seeing wild Zebra in California and tour guide made the trip o memorable - tour group were like old friends by the end of the day

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Dan L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Great guide. Smooth trip. Very glad we went. Thank you!

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Eva Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It is a perfect relaxing day trip along the California coast. My tour guide Armin was very friendly and knowledgable in making a very memorable trip. He made quick stops at San Simeon to see the Northern elephant seals and Mission Santa Barbara. I would recommend to my friends because I had the best small group travel experience.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Lil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It turned out to be just the two of us on this tour so it was like have a private tour to San Diego. Our drive Armin was awesome and showed us lots of different things from the drive from LA to SD.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Anupama C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The most disappointing tour I ever had . The company is extremely unreliable . I invested so much for a trip to Santa Barbara and it was just a complete good up . I wrote a grievience Mail to the company , they didn and #39;t even bother to revert back . A complete waste .

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Angela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour, we highly recommend it!! Our Italian tour guide, Giovanni, was excellent. He was knowledgeable, caring and courteous. He took us to all places stated plus extras. We saw elephant seals who were shedding their skin on a beach, a beautiful monastery and the beautiful Madonna Inn. His tour of San Francisco was great. We got to see allot as we were walking plus more on the Golden Gate Bay Cruise. Jeff, our driver, was very careful and caring. Giovanni was the translator for an Italian honey-moon couple. Zippy was the translator for 4 Hebrew people which was great. Also, there was a girl from Japan and there was a translator for her too.It is wonderful that you provide a translator for every nationality on your tours. We are from the east coast and we have never been to California, honestly, this tour was the highlight of our trip! Thank you! Bob and Angela C.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

mgulledg2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was wonderful! The bus driver and the tour guide were so friendly. The tour guide was also very knowledgeable about each of our tour sites. I am so thankful for our tour guide, Giovanni. I passed out for a sec. or two on the bus and Giovanni stayed right by my side. He reassured me the whole time that I would be ok. which I was. Would love to go a tour again especially if Giovanni is the tour guide. Thank you, Viator Tours, for an awesome tour. Sincerely, M. Gulledge

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

FRANCINE D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. Very happy with the tour.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

ojha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very nice,the tour guide Dorit whom we wud give 10/10 was excellent, she made the tour along with the driver who was also very good a memorable one. It took us approx 6 hours to reach SF, but we had about 4 wonderful breaks of 20 min. each at diff. places of sight seeing and Dorit made it absolutely wonderful by explaining the sights in details.
Nevertheless there are few things which Viator should address-
1. The seating in the Mercedes van was good for 7 persons the rest of the four had to struggle a bit, it was nice of tour guide Dorit, who recommended the rotation of seats after few hours, which was accepted by travellers with a bit of resentment. let me also state that the 11 seater coach/van was brand new.
2.It would be very nice if a place like Carmel is shown little more and a short tour of the new Museum in San-Francisco is added.
3.La Quinta hotel should be changed to either Marriott,Hilton or Holiday inn chain of hotels.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

Thomas G United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very early start but worth it. We were the only two on the tour which was great and the guide - Giovanni - was well informed, flexible and polite. Enjoyed all of it but felt that the Queen Mary was rather a let down. It appears not to have been maintained in an appropriate manner. The Ghost Tour seemed to be an attempt to entertain the tourists rather than anything special. However, glad to have seen it. Venice Beach and Santa Monica Pier were the real highlights but Huntington Beach early in the morning was refreshing. A tour worth doing.

Doing what: California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Venice Beach and Santa Monica

Connie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very fun and interesting trip Giovanni was our tour guide and he was terrific

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Tatiani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked this trip pretty much last minute and it definitely exceeded our expectations. Kelly was amazing, very knowledgeable and friendly. The mid size van was comfortable for the five of us and Kelly is an excellent driver, we felt safe and well taken care of. The accommodation included in the package is pretty basic so worth upgrading if you want something nicer. This trip is an easy and carefree way to experience the Californian coast and all it has to offer.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Tatiani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked this trip last minute and it exceeded expectations. Kelly was amazing, very knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. The midsize van was comfortable for the five of us and Kelly is an extremely safe driver, we felt well taken care of. The accommodation included in the package is pretty basic so worth upgrading if you would like something nicer. Overall, this is an easy and carefree way to experience the Californian coast and in this context, high recommended.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Lucille J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful views very friendly tour guide called Hal really informative..

Doing what: Santa Monica and Venice Beach Tour from Los Angeles

Lucille J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was Hal he was very nice and knowledgeable, very informative. It was so nice see all the beachs and learn some of their history.

Doing what: Santa Monica and Venice Beach Tour from Los Angeles

Jakob F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

My guide was aggressive and rude and clearly had anger management issues. Hi was Italian and with bad English and several of the information gave was incorrect. Also, way to mush time spend on the bus due to the distance to Heart Castle.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message