See more of California on these day trips from Los Angeles. Leave the city for a day to discover coastal towns and attractions like Venice Beach, Hearst Castle, San Diego and more! California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 215 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hi, my name is Tim. I and #39;ve just done the 3-day-tour to San Francisco. These past 3 days were absolutely amazing! Our tour guide Giovanni and our driver Jeff were super friendly and very well organized. Giovanni gave us so much inside information about California and brought us to the most stunning views all over the Westcoast. He took very good care of us and you can really feel his passion and excitement for guiding this tour. He said: and #34;If you are happy, I am happy and #34;. And so it was, I enjoyed every second of our tour and thus highly recommend to experience it on your own. At last, I just want to thank Giovanni and Jeff for everything they have done for us. It was a pleasure!

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

hargis_79

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour! Staff was knowledgeable and had great stops along the way to really see the coast! Spindrift Inn in Monterey was fantastic!

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

bugs4046

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing! Dorit was an outstanding guide, she made everyone feel valued. Her shared her knowledge of each area that we visited. Be prepared to be exhausted and amazed!

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

Daniel O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great, and our guide Richard was full of information and a good sense of humor.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Colleen R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We found this a geat way to take the scenic route from San Francisco to LA. We could relax and enjoy the view and the ride with our great guide, Mark. He was friendly, had great local knowladge and looked after his passengers expertly. The accomodation was also very comfortable and more that we expected.
Aug 2015

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Perch

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Loved this trip. Our tour guide Richard was fantastic and the drive itself with his local knowledge made the trip. Wished we had longer in Santa Barbara as it was so beautiful. Hearst Castle was a little rushed and we saw very little, took ages to take us through just a few rooms so that was a little disappointing. However would recommend doing this trip, its a very long day but so worth it. A little tip, make sure you eat lunch in Solvang NOT Hearst Castle, the food at the Castle is appalling.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Karen H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The overall day was very good, the driver and tour guide were excellent. We weren't so interested in the Queen Mary tour and would have preferred to have it optional or a shortened version as would rather have had longer at the other places.

Doing what: California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Venice Beach and Santa Monica

Bipin L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour. Driver and tour guide were very good, very helpful showing us many sights in the 3 days. Highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see the sights between LA and San Francisco.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

LY T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was Giovanni. It was a very informative tour. I highly recommend it for anyone wanting a quick glimpse of what California has to offer. The drive was long but scenic. I wish we had had more time at each of the location. But overall it was a worthwhile trip.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

gabriela p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

San Diego was a beautiful place to visit, really great. The guide was so much fun. I actually went alone and got ended up on a private tour. Loved San Diego!

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Ronald S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

In general, the trip was very enjoyable and the guide was very knowledgable, but the time allowed at each site was disappointing. I think perhaps spending more time at 2 of the sites and not trying to put so much into one day would have made a better trip for us. We did not get to spend much time really exploring any on the three sites.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Sandra F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

An excellent tour- lots to see and do. Accomodations were great. Mark was knowledgeable and professional. The only disappointment was not seeing Big Sur due to the coastal fires.
I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Adam was a well organised and informative tour guide. The tour gave great views and insights to the coast. The vehicle was spacious and comfortable. The accommodation was comfortable and met our needs. Adam's tips for eating and drinking were spot on, we had a great time.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Ramanpreet W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Booked the trip for my parents, they loved it. Tour bus was comfortable and clean, the driver was a fun and a knowledgeable narrator, the stop-over/sites had nice site seeing. Overall, it was a memorable and a well-planned tour.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

GEOFF C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

THE 2ND NIGHT ACCOM WAS NOT AS GOOD AS THE FIRST. ALSO THE OTHER 3 PEOPLE ON THE TOUR HAD OCEAN VIEW ROOMS ON BOTH NIGHTS.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Gloria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was well planned. The hotels were very nice, especially the one in Monteray. Our guide was also very knowledgable and friendly. All in all it was a wonderful trip. Thank you.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Kate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this trip and with Explore California having had a great 3 days driving down the Pacific Coastal Highway. I signed up as a solo-traveller opting for the Comfort accommodation option which was more than adequate. I formed part of a group of 5 plus Mark our guide. The trip makes some great stops and Mark stopped at a few other points of interest, really nice Jam farm in Swanton and the Elephant Seals in San Simeon to name but a few. The best day was the second day visiting Carmel-by-the-sea, Big Sur and Hearst Castle with some spectacular views. Mark was a great guide, super friendly and knowledgeable of the region. This is a great way to take in the coastline with the right balance of sightseeing, relaxation and pace. Thanks also to Kelly for your correspondence beforehand, this was very helpful.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Raham M al H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

it was the best tour I did during my visit
Mark our tour guide was an excellent person

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Yuan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Value for money and overall a well-paced, informative day out! I especially enjoyed Hearst castle and would have love to spend more time exploring the site.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Robert G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great guide and a wonderful experience, seeing wild Zebra in California and tour guide made the trip o memorable - tour group were like old friends by the end of the day

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Dan L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Great guide. Smooth trip. Very glad we went. Thank you!

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Eva Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It is a perfect relaxing day trip along the California coast. My tour guide Armin was very friendly and knowledgable in making a very memorable trip. He made quick stops at San Simeon to see the Northern elephant seals and Mission Santa Barbara. I would recommend to my friends because I had the best small group travel experience.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Lil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It turned out to be just the two of us on this tour so it was like have a private tour to San Diego. Our drive Armin was awesome and showed us lots of different things from the drive from LA to SD.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message