Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Though it might not readily come to mind, Los Angeles has got its fair share of wilderness to explore. I know what you’re thinking: concrete jungle doesn’t count. But believe me, it’s easier than you might think to escape into California’s rolling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Moky United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If you're looking to get great vistas of downtown LA and the Hollywood sign, as well as to stretch your legs and get in light exercise, this is the hike for you. I had a great time on this easy-level hike. Our tour guide Danny was polite and friendly, gave us a few historical tidbits along the way, stopped whenever anyone needed a breather, and gave me ample time to snap my pics.
The tour goes by the Hollywood sign for photo opps, but not THAT close. If you're looking to snap some closer-up pics, you'll want to bring along a zoom lens my photos were taken with a standard 50-80mm lens. The hike ends right at Griffith Observatory, which is free to check out minus the planetarium shows and offers a/c, toilets, drinking fountains, additional observation points for photos, etc. I would say this was a way better use of my free time than a walk in the city!
Things to note:
- Be advised that throughout most of the hike, there's spotty cellular signal depending on your carrier mine was Verizon Wireless.
- There's a free wifi hotspot right at the entrance to Griffith Observatory's parking lot you will see a sign for it.
- There's quite a lot of dust/dirt on the trail so make sure you're prepared. In other words, don't wear white. -
- Also, watch out for dog poop as dogs are allowed on the trails!
- The tour guide provides a small bottle of water for everyone, but depending on the heat and sun that day, you should probably bring a backup bottle just in case.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

N C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent from all perspectives. I did actually submit a full review for this, but it appears to have disappeared.

Salient points, very good tour guide and do the sunset tour. It appears that the Friday one is usually the only sunset one available or at least that was the case on the week I was there. It was all worthwhile.

Water and snacks provided. Make sure that you can actually hike up hills. I didn't find it a struggle at all, but there are steep gradients at certain points. be aware, you have to be able to hold your own weight.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Vanya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had the most funny and knowledgable guide her name was Keyla I am sorry if I am misspelling it. She was truly amazing and the hiking was great. The views were one of a kind and we even saw a deer :

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Gillian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous tour - would definitely recommend. Our tour guide Eric was excellent and provided us with a lot of information about the city.
Enjoyable Hike and the sunset was beautiful.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

hiker937

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed this event, hiking up Mt Hollywood. Very scenic.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We went on the sunset hike hitch was great. Our guide Kayla was excellent. She knew the park and the local history and also took us on a brief tour of the observatory. She even called a cab for us as we approached the end of the hike. The hike was a good contrast to the pace of LA. It was great to spend a few hours hiking and see another side to LA. Thanks Kayla.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Dawn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, great tour guide! I was called the day before to see if we were able to reschedule which we weren't and I asked if the tour was overbooked? Believe it or not it was underbooked' that day and just the two of us. The tour group made it Very clear that they would accommodate us no matter, no worries and they did! Ok, so truth be told, I have a fear of heights, and got a bit nervous about the trail. Since it was just the two of us, Kayla sp? was Amazing and said this is YOUR hike, I want to make sure your comfortable and happy. She then rerouted our hike to make it more comfortable and was an amazing guide! She knew all the history and fun stories about the Observatory, and Griffith himself, that you would never know if you just went up there on your own! She totally brought Life to the trip and was So engaging! I would do this tour again and try harder to push beyond my boundaries!! Amazing views and amazing stories!! Thank You!!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Alexandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing, a fantastic way to start our trip in Los Angeles. The hike itself is really pleasant and our tour guide gave us so many fascinating facts about the park and about Griffith himself and the views were absolutely phenomenal with plenty of photo opportunities! We did the hike on a particularly hot day and our tour guide was well prepared for this with extra bottles of water and snacks for us to have along the way. All in all a very well thought out and enjoyable tour!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Renee D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and hike. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable on LA history. She gave people plenty of time for breaks as well. Highly recomend.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Michelle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic way to see the city and Danny, our tour guide, was really knowledgeable and informative. We got to see so much and we really enjoyed the ride (even the hills). Would highly recommend! An added bonus was a delicious lunch (extra cost) on Venice Beach. Thank you so much Bikes and Hikes :)

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Lane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was AWESOME! Salo was a great guide - personable and informative. The hike was a highlight for my daughter and I during our 2-day visit to LA. On our mid-week tour, it was just us and Salo. We enjoyed the hiking, the beautiful views, the history lessons, and the movie clips. Time and $ well spent!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

robert.l.frye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Solo was an outstanding guide - very informative, personable, and knowledgable about the area. He tailors the hiking experience to that day's group. Make sure to wear closed toed shoes with good grip due to loose gravel. Water and granola bars provided. The tour even includes guided commentary inside the Griffith Observatory. This hike was the highlight of our LA vacation!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Rosita M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Steven was a great guide, very nice person!!!!
He knows the place and ways has a story to tell. The best company for the hike. Very recommended .

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Jeanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really interesting and enjoyable hike. The guide was excellent - very friendly and knowledgeable and interesting and fun. Would definitely recommend this tour. Would suggest wearing shoes that have some grip though as some of the tracks were a little steep and slippy.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Jerry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The hike was excellent and the sunset version is a must. It was much more than expected and is not a basic walk in the park, so being in somewhat decent shape is a must. Our guide Solo was the absolute best and had no problem adjusting the pace. We definitely recommend this for others if you enjoy good scenery and a little physical activity.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Kim N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience hiking through the Hollywood Hills. Easy hike with magnificent views. Our guide, Salo, was very knowledgeable and friendly. We could not have had a better day.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

xinlinggg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide, Jason is very approachable. He shared about the history and film location throughout the tour. A breathtaking sight as you can see Hollywood sign along this easy hike. I enjoyed my morning with this tour

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

thebat12666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were meet in Griffith Park by Jason our tour guide. Who's friendly approach made us feel very comfortable. We made our way through the foothills to some very scenic locations. On the way Jason was able to share with us information about the history and film locations within the park. The pace of the hike was user friendly and informative. Jason saved the best for last as we attended the observatory for sunset. Jason was able to give us information about the best locations to see this outstanding display of mother nature. We would recommend this tour to anyone and if you are luck you may get Jason as your guide.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

V K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Such an amazing experience - I would recommend this tour to anyone in the Los Angeles area. Our guide, Steven, was such a friendly person with an obvious passion for nature. The walk itself was far easier than I thought it would be and I was surprised when told we'd reached the highest point in Los Angeles! The views are breath-taking and the trip inside the Griffith Observatory was fascinating. Doing the sunset hike was so worth it as the sunset is unlike any I've ever seen before. I would definitely do this again were I in Los Angeles.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Christine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the iconic sights of Los Angeles is the Hollywood sign, together with the nearby Griffith Observatory, set among the hills. I liked the idea of walking the hills and thought it would be more pleasant, as a single traveller, to do the hike with an organised group rather than on my own. It certainly paid off! - our guide, Eric, was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of interesting information about the area which I doubt I would have known about otherwise. The Batman connection is particularly beguiling! You'll have to take the trip to find out what it is!. As a visitor to LA, there was certainly a lot to take in, not just the views in themselves, but the history of the area which Eric was very well up on. I would just add that the timing of your walk could be important, depending on your level of fitness. It was slightly overcast in the morning, when I climbed the hills, which suited me: I'm not an unfit person, but I did find it more pleasant walking under these conditions rather than I would have done later in the day when it was far hotter. In case this is a concern to you, Eric does ensure that everyone can keep up and you don't feel intimidated if you get a bit behind. The emphasis is on enjoyment more than anything else .... go see!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Pernille A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide J.S. was very knowledgeable and made sure everyone was looked after on the tour. The hike went smoothly and the scenery was fantastic! I'd do it again and recommend it to anyone who likes an active holiday.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Julie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What an amazing hike! Eric and Steven from LA Bike were the best guides and very knowledgeable of the area and views of the LA, Hollywood and Glendale were AMAZING!!!!!!! Would do this hike again if I ever get back to LA.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Heiko M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

great pleasure to do this hike, many thanks to the guide for the informative comment about the park and some interesting talks about what's going on in the city around it

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

kahler.officepro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best part of our trip! Elsa was our guide and we were fortunate to be the only two in the group (Mother/Daughter.) We felt extremely comfortable with her and relaxed and never rushed. She explained in great detail the history of Colonel Griffith, the park, the Observatory, the Hollywood Sign, and LA and the surrounding areas in general. She talked to my daughter (16 years old) like they were friends about college and life in LA. We didn't want the tour to end! The hike was a "real" hike, not a "touristy" type at all. It was exactly what we were looking for. Bikes and Hikes was awesome by staying in touch with me until we met up with Elsa, despite poor cell phone coverage. She was very helpful getting a ride after the tour and recommending local places to eat for dinner. We are so glad we met Elsa!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Dani A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Hike and guide were both fantastic!! This was such a great way to celebrate our first night in LA. Only suggestion to improve is,"pick up and drop off" should be included, because most drivers don't know where the location is and there is almost no mobile connection to call again when complete.

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message