Lucerne ATTRACTIONS See all

Engelberg Monastery

This Benedictine Monastery lies in the heart of Engelberg. It is dedicated to Our Lady of the Angels and, to this day, there are still roughly 30 monks living and working in the Engelberg monastery. Engelberg's culture dates back to the 12th ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 78 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dceleridad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great time visiting Lucerne and Engleberg. My husband and I were very pleased with the tour and since it was my husband's birthday, I was so happy that he thoroughly enjoyed the trip which he calls a feast to his senses. The views that were shown were amazingly beautiful. Our tourist guide Peter was very prompt, highly on time and no minute was wasted on any kind of issues. Do take this trip, very much worth your money and very informative too. This is one trip that you will surely have no regret especially with Peter and Felipe our driver who navigated the roads with ease.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Tat Hoi H S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

On its booking web page, it listed Swissotel as one of the 3 pickup points which I thought was ideal as we were staying there. As that pickup option was selectable i.e. not greyed out, I booked and paid on that basis. It was only shown later on the voucher that such arrangement was not available after October. By that time, it was impossible to cancel. This should be shown on the booking page instead of afterwards. Worse thing is, I didn't expect that critical info was changed on the voucher. As I did not print that put, I was waiting at Swisshotel for half an hour and nearly missed the tour. After calling them, I then rushed by taxi to the changed pick up point which costed us 30 Swiss Francs.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Beth N

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

We took this tour on a Sunday. There are hardly any stores opened, and there is nothing much to do. We happened to be in Lucerne during a marathon. Our visit to Lucerne was very rushed. Engelberg is a beautiful alpine town with little to do for three hours. There were some shops opened but devoted to ski only. In comparison to other tours, this would rank the lowest for recommendations for this region.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

May M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience with a fabulous guide!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Wes P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Not enough time spent in Lucerne, especially considering the 3 hours spent in Engelberg where there isn't as much to do. If I'd known the structure of the trip with people going to Mt Titlus also visiting Lucerne, I would've preferred the other tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Tara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lucerne was beautiful although we had rain whilst we were there which limited out walk about. Engelberg was stunning, we could have spent a few days there :) fantastic

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Marwa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pleasant tour guide.
Sensational views of 3 beautiful cities.
So well organized .

Doing what: Engelberg - The Great Mountain Village

Maria M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

very good tour guide and program

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Ayida S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I went to Titlis instead of Engelberg. Mount Titlis was a very interesting tour. Stay at Luzern was 45 mins - it is not enough. Should be at least two hours - to have time for a cup of coffee, to walk the city, visit a museum.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

parvez_khalid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Very small town. No place to enjoy except you opt to spend some money and go to brunii or other nearby places with play parks and other sporting clubs

Doing what: Engelberg - The Great Mountain Village

Kathi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this trip. The staff was welcoming and the motor coach was top of the line. Due to a snow storm we weren't able to go to Engelberg and where given choices for an alternative and a partial refund. I had read prior reviews and most stated they wished they could have spent more time in Lucerne, and that is what we chose to do and were not disappointed.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

barbrasilva25

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide, Evelyn, was wonderful! Her energy was infectious. Evelyn was knowledgable and both she and the driver, Eliseo, were great. The tour was well worth it. Lucerne and Engelberg are stunning. I went on a Sunday so bear in mind that the majority of stores are closed.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Jonathan L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The trip did not accurately advertise this 'tour.' We were in Lucerne for about an hour only. The bus dropped us off in Engelberg for 3 hours because they combine this tour with a Mt. Titlus tour and it is convenient for them to leave us in Engelberg while everyone else in the tour goes up to the top of the mountain. Save your money and take a train or a bus to Lucerne if that is the part of this tour that interests you. Had we known we would only have an hour in Lucerne we would have never booked this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Kristina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

excellent experience and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

rahulada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a great tour and our guide Antje was very good.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Israel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day tour, Engelberg was fantastic. Wish we had more time in lucerne, but it was not bad.
We did not go up The mountain, good choice, or else we would not have seen Elgelberg.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Dominic Y Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We were a small group, only 5 people, so Walter the tour guide was able to give us personal attention.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Rima D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Lucerne is nice. We had a couple of hours to walk around the city, see the bridge and do some shopping. However the Engelberg part was a total loss of time. We knew that it was supposed to be free time but the tour description mentioned that we could visit the monastery and cheese factory or have lunch. The bus was supposed to pick us up at 4:30 p.m.
It appeared that the monastery tour starts at 4:00 so it was risky to take it if we didnt want to miss the bus.
The cheese factory was just one man manipulating 2 buckets of milk, nothing to really see.
And all the restaurants were closed because it was already 2 p.m so kitchens were closed. We ended up in the tourist office, asked there where we could eat. They told us that the kitchen in the restaurant of hotel Banklialp would be open. We walked until there to discover that the kitchen was also closed too, but they accepted to serve us soup and salad.
So overall, Engelberg was a loss of time, nothing to do there. Either take a full day in Lucerne or take the tour to Mount titlis

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

MARIA EUNESE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

we really enjoyed our trip and it was a nice and memorable experience. We really had a good time! Thank you

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

David V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Nice to see Lucerne and Engelberg is a nice little town. 3 hours in Engelberg is a bit much unless, as we did, you do some hiking. More Lucerne would be a good change to the itinerary.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Desiree G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Our tour guide was very sweet, however, this tour is also a Mount Titlus tour. So you get an hour in Lucerne way too short and 3 hours in Engleberg way too long while everyone else goes up to Mt. Titlus. There is no direction in Engleberg, and although it's a very cute town there is not much to see or much to do. We walked around the entire village twice and ate. It was pretty expensive to take a train to Lucerne, almost the cost of this trip - so on that note it was a good choice to take this tour because you get two cities for the price of one. However, if you'd like to see Lucerne then perhaps try either another tour or bite the bullet and buy a train ticket from Zurich. If you're not going to do Mt. Titlus, this tour is a miss. Engleberg, in my opinion, isn't a must see village. Very cute but not cute enough to spend 3 hours there.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

usha_chaudhary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We ended up upgrading this to include the Titlis mountain tour. Highly recommended. Had the best time ever!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lucerne is a beautiful town, very picturesque. The covered bridges were unlike any I'd seen before. Wish I could have spent more time there, but I added on the trip to Mt Titles at the last minute, and very happy with that excursion!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Donia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had so much fun up there. If there's snow don't ever miss it out

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message