Lake Lucerne is the 4th largest lake in the country and has complicated shape that curves into the mountains and the city of Lucerne. The lake’s has a total area of 114 square kilometers (44 sqare miles). The lake and shoreline have many stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 595 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dennis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Breathtaking. If you are in Lucerne this tour is a must, we were there in Sept 2016. Would love to go back in the winter season. Make sure you take your phone or camera. You won't see scenery like it again.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Kate B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

While the driver Armando was extremely helpful and the guide Kid was nice, I was extremely disappointed in my overall experience.
Apparently I was the only one on my tour of over 60 people who didn't pay the extra 150 to go up to the top of the mountain, something that was only brought to my attention on our way to Interlaken. I was told that I would be left in Interlaken about an hour longer than the rest of the tour, while they were being driven to the top of the mountain. I was given no guidance on what to see there, and it was freezing so no outdoor activities would have been possible. Once the driver picked me up, he drove me to Grindelwald. We got there around 12:30. I asked what time I would be meeting with the rest of the group, and he said they wouldn't be there until 4:45pm! I was left for over 4 hours again on my own, with no guidance on what to see or where to go. Again, it was freezing, had just snowed and most of the shops and restaurants were closed. There are only so many cups of coffee you can have... If I had known prior to taking the tour that I was the ONLY one who would be left behind, I would have stayed in Lucerne for the day. I don't mind traveling alone, but I specifically booked a tour so I could experience my one full day in Switzerland as part of a group. Instead I spent a majority of the day on my own with no idea of where I should have spent my time!

Doing what: Interlaken and Grindelwald Day Trip from Lucerne

Maritza R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Although it was very cold, the views were wonderful. There were blankets provided and you could obtain audio so you could hear the history of the area. Loved it.

Doing what: Lake Lucerne Panoramic Sightseeing Cruise

Greg M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. The your company gave us back 20 francs each due to a misunderstanding about the lunch voucher. It was my fault but they still gave the refund.
Great tour guide.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Stephanie J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Boat was nice and modern, however despite being in the low tourist season there were some large tour groups onboard which made the trip rather lacking in peacefulness and rather rowdy. We saw a different view of Pilatus which was nice and the audioguide was informative but the boat didn't go very far just circled the bay which I guess is all that you can do in an hour. In hindsight I really wish that had picked a longer cruise that went further past the bigger mountains as that scenery is more spectacular, it was over so quick and the view we saw wasn't much different from the view of our accommodation on the lake. I also urge the people running the cruise to hire an additional person in the cafeteria on board as the lady was completely overwhelmed and consequently showed no interest to serve me a drink more interested in cleaning for the next tour and packing the dishwasher despite the fact I was looking at her and waiting for service for quite a while.

Doing what: Lake Lucerne Panoramic Sightseeing Cruise

malikhemani

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

So this was a special trip for us since I asked my girlfriend to marry me. During the two weeks trip to Europe, we decided to do about 4 tours. 3 from Viator and 1 direct. This one was the worst out of all. I am not kidding. We regret paying for this tour since it was basically a transport to/from. Let's start from beginning, checking in took a while since they are also selling the same tour for walk up which meant that things were rushed. When we got on the small van, we did not have room for our small duffel bag since we were doing overnight while the rest of the 6-7 passengers were doing the day only. I had to ask the driver to see if he had storage in the back or by the passenger seat foot area he was not a happy camper to help us. Once on the road, the driver/tour guide barely spoke English. He would describe the area we drove through in french for 8-10 mins and say one line in English. On top of that, there was a family who had their own translator so that person was than translating French to another language for them. Imagine hearing two different languages for 85 mins. When we got to a stop, the driver said to hold while he went got all our tickets. Came back, gave the tickets and said read the paper instructions you got at check in for rest of schedule. It will tell you what time to take what and left. This is very bad since all of us were confused as to what we had to do. When I asked about our return and where to go, he said its in the paper. You could tell he had no interest. We finally made our own way to the top and checked in to hotel. Turns out hotel dislikes guests that are part of a tour. We were giving a room with twin beds and said that's all they can extend since we didn't book directly. I was even willing to pay out of pocket for a larger bed. Furthermore, I asked about dinner and breakfast that were included in our tour and were told contact the tour company. That didn't help. Finally found someone local who just happened to be there and who explained that the hotel/restaurant will not care for your service since you are not paying them directly. Instead he helped us out with pointers and guided us on what to do. Just shocking. No worries, we tried hard to not let this bother us. But twin bed on a romantic getaway is a nightmare. When the dinner time came, they had assigned seating. Guess what, a table in the back corner of the restaurant with two sides to the walls and no view of the window/mountain. When we asked for a different table, we got the answer, you cannot change since you booked via tour. Lovely : At this point we tried our best to make the best of it. Asking for a water refill was even a nightmare because you could tell the staff were more focused with real paying customers. We called it a night and went to bed after dinner.

Next day, we got up and were excited to check out of this nightmare of a hotel. Grab a quick bite for breakfast and made our way to the top sine it was snowed in the night before. When we got to the top, the stairs were closed since it was not safe according to the crew that worked the area. No worries. Took about 3-4 photos and got ready for the boat ride to next stop. From here we were on our own since the paper just had time slot to follow and that's it. The best part of this trip was what we did on our own. We had more flexibility and options than being locked in.

The day was over so we followed the directions for pick up and headed there. We saw the bus for the company and hopped on showed our ticket for the return to the driver. While we waited for about 15 mins the bus was not leaving. I got curious and went down to task a tour guide that was there. She said they were waiting on a couple who had an overnight stay. I said thats us and showed the ticket again. She was so upset that we did not check in. I told her that we had shown this to the driver. She said driver is not ours and you should be on the other bus since thats what the paper said. I was like paper doesn't say anything except to look for a bus with your logo and pickup location. I apologized and tried to explain we were doing what we thought was correct. No apologies from the other side instead a mean look. They told the other bus we were here and we left.

At this point, we were just happy to be done with this tour and get back to our romantic trip. Never again I would be interested in booking a tour that deals with this third party booking company.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear that your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We rely on your honest feedback to help ensure the value and quality of our travel experiences. Based on your concerns, we have contacted our local tour operator to address these concerns with them personally and will continue monitoring feedback from our travelers.

thomas r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a not to be missed experience on a perfect sunny day with blue skies.

Doing what: Lake Lucerne Panoramic Sightseeing Cruise

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nice ride up the mountain in the gondola. Great views of the surrounding mountains as the clouds clear. The cogwheel train provides nice views of the valley and the boat ride on Lake Lucerne was a relaxing way to end the tour. A must do tour when in Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Dan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Breathtaking! The bus, gondola, tram, cogwheel train and boat trip was the high point of our time in Lucerne. Fortunately, the overcast cleared so the views from the mountain top were great. We climbed some of the paths at the top to get better views below. We marveled at some of the people opting to climb up or down the mountain. This trip should not be missed!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

mmnakayama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a wonderful trip. We stopped at Lauterbruanen, Wengen, and Klein Schidegg. In the little town of Lauterbruanen, we saw beautiful Staubbach Falls. in Wengen, we asked a local where to see an awesome view. He told us to go to a church nearby. We saw an entire valley and snow capped mountain ranges. In Klein Scheudegg, we had a cup of coffee and admire Eiger and Jungfrau. We were not dropped from bus at the same place we started, so were lost going back to our hotel in Lucerne. We should have been notified in advance, then we could have prepared. Otherwise, it was a beautiful weather and we had a traffic day.

Doing what: Eiger and Jungfrau Panorama Day Trip from Lucerne

Davis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It is spectacular. Great views, fun transportation: first a typical tour bus, then a small ski lift, to a large gondola to the top of the mountain, then cog wheel train, then finally a paddle boat. Lots of paths and different areas to explore on top of Pilatus. One day may come back and walk up.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

ALEKSEI V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an amazing experience, definitely do this! Views, nature, mineral baths and city of Lucerne are 10 out of 10! Good for people of any age. You have exactly enough time for everything.
Note! In mountains is colder then in the city, I was in October, temperature was around 0 degrees celsious, so don't forget a warm cloth.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Julia Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

i took the Lucerne day tour which gave me about 6 hours free time there to roam around. I roamed around the Old Town area, and found this town, with its cobblestoned streets, heritage buildings and bridges to be delightful and enchanting. There were lots of great cafes too. I highly recommend visiting Lucerne as part of the Swiss experience.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

Kristine

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed the trip up Mt. Pilatus. Unfortunately, it was misty and foggy, so we didn't have a view at the top. Nevertheless, we took a couple of hikes and found the trails well kept and terrain interesting. The views from the trams and the boat ride were beautiful.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Macadair

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Trip to Lucerne and walk about were great. Was worthwhile.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

Roysten D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It was ok, Its better to take the Mt. Titlis and the Jungfrau tour instead. We were sold the boat ride in the package, but it was closed as it was out of season.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Roysten D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We were told there would be a boat ride, but it was out of season. Mt, titlis is a better location.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Janet L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

It was not a guided tour. He gave us very little information. I just directed us to the trams.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Robbo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

a really excellent half day tour, and our guide Emily was very informativet. good value, the scenery is amazing and the steam paddlewheel boat ride back to Luzerne was great

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Susmitha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had an amazing tour guide who made the whole day very enjoyable! Great value for money.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Beverley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Xenia, was knowledgeable and friendly. All the people operating the cog train and the gondola were nice and made sure we felt secure. At the top, the restaurant was OK and the service was very slow and the servers did not seem to care if/when we got our order and if it was right.

The views were, of course, absolutely fantastic.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Lourdes A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Precioso! Visita obligatoria. Merece la pena cada euro gastado. Recomiendo la excursión completa, que incluye: góndola, tren cremallera y barco.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great experience. The gondola ride up is very nice and the first portion in a smaller gondola makes for a more intimate experience. Once on the mountain there are a variety of hikes to suit your tastes. You can do a short hike for stunning views or take a longer hike to get a broader set of views. The cogwheel train ride down was equally enjoyable and offered a lot of great views. Then you have a nice and relaxing boat ride back to Lucerne. If you are in Lucerne this is definitely an experience to enjoy.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Although this tour seemed quite expensive it was well worth the money as it involves two cable car lifts, steepest cogwheel railway ride down and a boat trip back. You have two hours on the top and the view is spectacular. We loved every minute of this and liked to have it organised for us. Guide was helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message