Lake Lucerne is the 4th largest lake in the country and has complicated shape that curves into the mountains and the city of Lucerne. The lake’s has a total area of 114 square kilometers (44 sqare miles). The lake and shoreline have many stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 577 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robbo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

a really excellent half day tour, and our guide Emily was very informativet. good value, the scenery is amazing and the steam paddlewheel boat ride back to Luzerne was great

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Susmitha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had an amazing tour guide who made the whole day very enjoyable! Great value for money.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Beverley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Xenia, was knowledgeable and friendly. All the people operating the cog train and the gondola were nice and made sure we felt secure. At the top, the restaurant was OK and the service was very slow and the servers did not seem to care if/when we got our order and if it was right.

The views were, of course, absolutely fantastic.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Lourdes A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Precioso! Visita obligatoria. Merece la pena cada euro gastado. Recomiendo la excursión completa, que incluye: góndola, tren cremallera y barco.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great experience. The gondola ride up is very nice and the first portion in a smaller gondola makes for a more intimate experience. Once on the mountain there are a variety of hikes to suit your tastes. You can do a short hike for stunning views or take a longer hike to get a broader set of views. The cogwheel train ride down was equally enjoyable and offered a lot of great views. Then you have a nice and relaxing boat ride back to Lucerne. If you are in Lucerne this is definitely an experience to enjoy.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Although this tour seemed quite expensive it was well worth the money as it involves two cable car lifts, steepest cogwheel railway ride down and a boat trip back. You have two hours on the top and the view is spectacular. We loved every minute of this and liked to have it organised for us. Guide was helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip covering gondola and train journey. We ended up in wrong boat because of lack of clear communication.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

jackfitz10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour, Lucerne is an absolutely gorgeous city and the entire experience of going up and down the mountain was fantastic. Make sure that you check the weather, as this can change your experience. When we went it was cloudy, so while cool, the full views were blocked off. Overall I highly recommend, just ensure you get good weather.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Ming-Yang H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

13mahk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip is amazing

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Mary Rose T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I loved this tour! It showcased the beauty of Switzerland. The hotel we stayed at was exceptional. We had the Swiss alps as the view from our room window. Everything about this tour was perfect. If you want a romantic getaway this is the perfect tour to take.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Rod G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organised with a very enthusiastic, knowledgeable guide. We selected the option not to go to the top but rather enjoy the views of the mountains rather than from them. So we were left on own for the next 4-5 hours which were blissful. Probably the best 4-5 hours ever on holiday. Breathtaking doesn't cover it. We hiked up to the base of the Eiger's north face and were nearly able to touch it. Utterly, utterly marvellous!

Doing what: Eiger and Jungfrau Panorama Day Trip from Lucerne

Janne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was an amazing trip wiht breath taking views.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Jeff L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well done.....on time and interesting

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Judith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice boat and wonderful cruise on a beautiful lake

Doing what: Lake Lucerne Panoramic Sightseeing Cruise

Ross

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A perfect day. All aspects were more than we expected. Punctual, centrally located and efficient organisation Wonderful!!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

JOHN M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour that was worth the extra money for a guide. Weather was poor on the way up to Pilatus and remained so until 30 minutes before departure. But it cleared a bit and afforded us very nice scenery for the descent and for the Lake Lucerne cruise.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Theodore C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A good way to see the mountain and experience the cable car, cog train and boat ride on the lake. The highlight was the cable car and time on top of the mountain. Train and boat ride have limited views.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Rod G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good trip, well organised but probably an hour too long at the top. We were lucky with the weather and got some great pics of the fabulous views.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Robert M A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Destination was spectacular. Bus was filled to capacity and we had to wait at some points picking up other groups and the driver would shut off the engine and thereby the air conditioning. It created a very uncomfortable situation. Guide was nice and her English was excellent. I looked for her at the end of the trip to give her a tip but she was nowhere to be found.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

A N A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The boat is beautiful as is the scenery!

Doing what: Lake Lucerne Panoramic Sightseeing Cruise

Ron P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

great trip - would recommend adding an option for 1st class for the boat portion.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

David M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

the trip identification needs to be clarified. the trip is focused on a trip to and in the jungfrau mountain. this is not clear. the trip guide told us this when we got on the bus. gave us a chance to upgrade which we turned down. the bus stops for 45 minutes in interlaken and goes to grindelwald only to take people to the jungfrau. the guide dropped us in interlaken to the others to the jungfrau, had the bus come back after 2 hours and pick us up and drop us off in grindelwald to wander around until the group went to the jungfrau and back about 5 hours we had a good time, but the trip needs to be clarified on your site. it is not a trip to interlaken and grindelwald exclusively

Doing what: Interlaken and Grindelwald Day Trip from Lucerne

manxseasider Isle of Man

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Nice day out but poor timekeeping.
This trip may have made 4 stars but for the very lengthy wait almost 1.5 hours for the coach to collect us for the return from Lucerne. I appreciate that the company Best of Switzerland cannot be held responsible for heavy traffic conditions, but nonetheless annoying, especially when we had been instructed to be at the pick-up point early as they would not wait.
Having said all that, we had a lovely day to ourselves in Lucerne, having been dropped off to our own devices whilst the tour bus and guide went on up to the mountains with the majority of the coach passengers.
Lucerne is a beautiful city and we had no problem filling our time for a leisurely and relaxing afternoon, including the pleasant cruise on the lake.
The guide, Miriam, was informative about Swiss history and culture on the drive to Lucerne, and in fairness to her was very apologetic about the delay when we were eventually collected I don't think our experience was a one-off as I notice another reviewer reports an issue with the delay in collection.

Doing what: Lucerne Day Trip from Zurich Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message