Lucerne ATTRACTIONS See all

Lucerne Old Town

With its idyllic lakeside promenade lined with half-timbered buildings, old burghers' houses decorated with elaborate murals and maze of cobblestone lanes linking the main squares of Weinmarkt, Hischenplatz and Kornmarkt; the pedestrianized Lucerne ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 575 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephanie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I absolutely LOVED this tour!! It was everything I had hoped for and more. Lucerne was spectacular. Strolling through the streets we stopped to enjoy a choir singing in one of the buildings, it was heavenly! Then the cable car up to Mt Pilatus was breathtaking! I truly didn't grasp just how high we were going and was blown away by the views, especially on the second cable car. Just amazing! Once up at the top we ate first as it we super hungry by then. I highly recommend the Schnitzel! Delish. The views from the top of Mt. Pilatus were stunning! There are so many areas to explore once you are at the top. I climbed one of the vistas and then explored the Dragon Caves. All in all a wonderful Day Trip and one that I will not forget.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Arindam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was not a fully guided tour but I don and #39;t think this needs to be. The driver Monica was very good , did a running commentary while going to the entrance of the Rigi. She explained every part of the trip very clearly. A totally satisfied trip. Haven and #39;t felt any problem anywhere. Thanks a lot.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Julia Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

i took the Lucerne day tour which gave me about 6 hours free time there to roam around. I roamed around the Old Town area, and found this town, with its cobblestoned streets, heritage buildings and bridges to be delightful and enchanting. There were lots of great cafes too. I highly recommend visiting Lucerne as part of the Swiss experience.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

ALEKSEI V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an amazing experience, definitely do this! Views, nature, mineral baths and city of Lucerne are 10 out of 10! Good for people of any age. You have exactly enough time for everything.
Note! In mountains is colder then in the city, I was in October, temperature was around 0 degrees celsious, so don't forget a warm cloth.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a fantastic day our whole group enjoyed the experience.
This is a great way to spend a day in Switzerland!

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

zindha_ravi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome tour!! Highly recommend this... Will always relish this wonderful experience.
Our tour guide Minu Faber was also wonderful

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Kristine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome tour. Great way to experience the beauty of Switzerland.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Carlo Antonio M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent day tour! Passed by Meggen, Lake Lucerne for a 5-minute bio break. Then 1-hour stopover at Lucerne: enough time to visit the Lion Monument, take pictures of the Chapel Bridge, shop for souvenir items and grab a quick meal at the drop off point. I forgot the name of the cafe but their soup and sausage croissant was delicious! Two cable cars to Mt. Pilatus - the first accommodated 4, the second, 60 standing up. Fortunately, it was bright and sunny so we got to take tons of amazing pictures! Spent about 2.5 hours there total which is pretty tight if you want to go up both peaks available. The Dragon Trail is pretty steep so if you have elderly companions, might be better to skip that one. The cog ride down is about 35-40 mins. long then aboard another 45-minute trip via boat along Lake Lucerne. Excellent tour guide as well, shared plenty of interesting trivia both historical and current and knew when people needed to rest. Bring a good camera, warm jacket and scarf.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Vicky D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful day on this tour!!! Gorgeous views. I love that all the excursions leave from one place which is easy to get to.
There was some confusing information throughout the day, but we made it fine in the end.
Disappointed on the Lake Lucerne boat as we were treated like second class citizens not being allowed in the back of the boat even though the front was filled up. The back is for first class customers.
Beautiful bus ride. Gondola ride up was gorgeous. Lunch at the top and time to explore.
Cog wheel train down was exciting. Boat ride and then bus ride back. Very enjoyable. Guide was informative.
I would recommend this trip for sure!!!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Erin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Words can not express how amazing this tour was!!! It was a must do... BEST decision ever...and the tour company was AWESOME!!! On time, great agenda, great driver, and best tour guide!! Told us exactly what we needed to do and awesome facts as we drove through Switzerland.... A MUST!!!! The view is like no other... Nothing but positive things to say this awesomeness....

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Kathleen D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great day. Antje was our guide and she did a wonderful job. From Zurich we bussed to Lucerne, took a cable car up to Mt Pilatus, which was fun and very scenic. Unfortunately when we got to the top it was foggy, but you can't control the weather. At the top we explored a little bit, we heard a great band, shopped and had lunch. Then it was time for the cog-wheel train ride down. That was so cool. Once back down in Lucerne, we took a boat cruise around Lake Lucerne. Very picturesque town. Did a little shopping and back on the bus to Zurich. Overall we would do this excursion again.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

jina_k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous day and tour guide. Beautiful views coming down the Cogwheel train overlooking the lake of Lucern. A real experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Harsad C P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the best trip we have taken in a long time.
The tour guide was very helpful and knowledgable and we had a great time
I recommend this trip

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

madame

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip .Peter was a great tour guide .One of the best.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Mary Rose T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I loved this tour! It showcased the beauty of Switzerland. The hotel we stayed at was exceptional. We had the Swiss alps as the view from our room window. Everything about this tour was perfect. If you want a romantic getaway this is the perfect tour to take.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Martin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Must do trip!
Cable car up to Rigi - Mt Rigi itself is incredible. Cogwheel train down to the lake, then a boat to Lucerne. The whole day is brilliant and the views are amazing. Not much else to say expect ...go!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great adventure!! Well organized. Wonderful tour guide!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Venkateswaran M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good. The guide was excellent. At the top the weather was a bit bad with clouds.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

samanthacbussell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day if you like to wander around on your own and not tied to a group. We loved having the free time to hike around Mt Rigi and explore Lucerne at our own pace. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Jamie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was awesome! I will say that we got very lucky with the weather and had a gorgeous day....it could be a different experience if the weather was bad, but that wouldn't be the fault of the tour. It was organized very well. On the way there the tour guide provided some history and fun facts about Switzerland and the villages we were driving through, then once we got to Lucerne we had a little bit of time to explore before heading up the gondolas to the top of Mt Pilatus. The views were so breathtaking. We had a good couple of hours to roam freely to different peaks and down different hiking paths, and there was food and drink up there as well. Afterwards we took the cogwheel railway down which was unique, followed by an hour long boat ride across Lake Lucerne with a quick trip home. It was very well run, you got to see a lot and on a beautiful day this simply can't be beat.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide, beautiful landscapes, absolutely breathtaking.

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

Luis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

this tour was excellent, but for old people the bus driver should explain better where to take the train back to Lucerne, luckily we meet a young couple that help us find the train back to Lucerne, because they have GPS on their phone, if not we maybe get lost

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

Lisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A terrific day! Well organized. The weather couldn't have been more spectacular. I highly recommend this tour! On our own we never would have known how to piece all the parts together, the cable car, the cog wheel train, the boat to Lucerne!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

kken

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great adventure and the tour guide had everything very organized. She even made sure the weather was perfect - sunny and warm. The only disappointment was on the boat where they wanted to charge extra to sit up on the top deck.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message