Lucerne is a picturesque city in the heart of Switzerland.  Founded in 1179, it sits across Lake Lucerne from the town of Altdorf, where legend has it that William Tell shot an apple off his son’s head. A center of Swiss history and culture, Lucerne ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 328 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dceleridad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great time visiting Lucerne and Engleberg. My husband and I were very pleased with the tour and since it was my husband's birthday, I was so happy that he thoroughly enjoyed the trip which he calls a feast to his senses. The views that were shown were amazingly beautiful. Our tourist guide Peter was very prompt, highly on time and no minute was wasted on any kind of issues. Do take this trip, very much worth your money and very informative too. This is one trip that you will surely have no regret especially with Peter and Felipe our driver who navigated the roads with ease.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Arindam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was not a fully guided tour but I don and #39;t think this needs to be. The driver Monica was very good , did a running commentary while going to the entrance of the Rigi. She explained every part of the trip very clearly. A totally satisfied trip. Haven and #39;t felt any problem anywhere. Thanks a lot.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Julia Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

i took the Lucerne day tour which gave me about 6 hours free time there to roam around. I roamed around the Old Town area, and found this town, with its cobblestoned streets, heritage buildings and bridges to be delightful and enchanting. There were lots of great cafes too. I highly recommend visiting Lucerne as part of the Swiss experience.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a fantastic day our whole group enjoyed the experience.
This is a great way to spend a day in Switzerland!

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

Erin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Words can not express how amazing this tour was!!! It was a must do... BEST decision ever...and the tour company was AWESOME!!! On time, great agenda, great driver, and best tour guide!! Told us exactly what we needed to do and awesome facts as we drove through Switzerland.... A MUST!!!! The view is like no other... Nothing but positive things to say this awesomeness....

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

jina_k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous day and tour guide. Beautiful views coming down the Cogwheel train overlooking the lake of Lucern. A real experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Martin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Must do trip!
Cable car up to Rigi - Mt Rigi itself is incredible. Cogwheel train down to the lake, then a boat to Lucerne. The whole day is brilliant and the views are amazing. Not much else to say expect ...go!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

May M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience with a fabulous guide!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

samanthacbussell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day if you like to wander around on your own and not tied to a group. We loved having the free time to hike around Mt Rigi and explore Lucerne at our own pace. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide, beautiful landscapes, absolutely breathtaking.

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

Luis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

this tour was excellent, but for old people the bus driver should explain better where to take the train back to Lucerne, luckily we meet a young couple that help us find the train back to Lucerne, because they have GPS on their phone, if not we maybe get lost

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

Lisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A terrific day! Well organized. The weather couldn't have been more spectacular. I highly recommend this tour! On our own we never would have known how to piece all the parts together, the cable car, the cog wheel train, the boat to Lucerne!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

syedashrafali7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was exceptional. There were only four to five people going to Mt.Rigi, so this group was combined with Mt.Titlis groupmakes sense. The tour guide, Fernando kept on briefing us though out the journey. We were handed over the vouchers in Weggis, and then we were free to roam as per our convenience. For the onward journey, the bus didnt go through the highway, instead took the Albis pass route which was fascinating.
While returning we were waiting for the tour bus in Lucerne and our tour bus was a bit late, the guide from other tour busI dont remember her name called our tour guide and told us that our bus is on the way, which was quite pleasing.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent trip. Our guide, Andreas, was very knowledgeable and helpful. The stop in Lucerne wa a delight and the trip up the mountain and the time there was awesome. A beautiful country and a wonderful way to enjoy my last day. There is nothong like looking out from ABOVE a cable car and feeling the wind in your hair!

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

tleu16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is mostly unguided. We are pretty much on our own once the bus drop us off to take the cogwheel train up to Mount Rigi. We only saw the guide again at the waiting area to take the bus back to Zurich.
We got a great view with amazing weather while the people who joined the Mount Pilatus tour got fog and clouds.
Margerit ? the guide was stressing about being on time, only for the bus to be half an hour late.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Tara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lucerne was beautiful although we had rain whilst we were there which limited out walk about. Engelberg was stunning, we could have spent a few days there :) fantastic

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Kelsey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day trip! Our tour guide Juan was lovely and very knowledgable. On the steamboat ride to Lucerne he checked on every group on the tour to make sure everyone was enjoying the trip. A jam packed day but glad to have seen so much.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such an amazing trip. Great way to see more of Switzerland on your own. Easy to get around once our day was explained to us!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

William L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Womderful day trip, great guide, and perfectly on schedule. Enjoyed the coach, tram, and boat ride. All around great experience. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

cutomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

good itinerary. We had plenty of time enjoying the scenery at our own pace. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable as well.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Tianhao L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It and #39;s a wonderful tour with professional guide and good coach. I would like to take it again in the future. It and #39;s far far better than the tour in Frankfurt.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

shuffy2 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing Day! Explored Lucerne and fell in love with the quaint Old Town-- the Lion Monument, Chapel Bridge and vibrant architecture is a must see. The tour consisted of two separate groups- my group went up the Stanserhorn on the CabriO socked in by clouds due to bad weather but still had breathtaking views. The tour was partially independent and was given a train ticket back to Lucerne to reconnect with the tour. Instructions were clear and the guide was helpful-- As I was traveling alone, he wanted to ensure I would be ok on my own! Overall a great day and would highly recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

Bob United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wish the weather were more cooperative at the summit of Mount Rigi, but the trip up there via gondola and cog wheel train was fun. Lake Lucerne cruise was enjoyable. Didn't know Lake Lucerne was so large. Touring Lucerne was very interesting ... the lion sculpture was amazing as was the covered bridge with its roof rafter paintings. The entire trip wa well worth the price.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message