Lucerne is a picturesque city in the heart of Switzerland.  Founded in 1179, it sits across Lake Lucerne from the town of Altdorf, where legend has it that William Tell shot an apple off his son’s head. A center of Swiss history and culture, Lucerne ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 295 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lucerne was beautiful although we had rain whilst we were there which limited out walk about. Engelberg was stunning, we could have spent a few days there :) fantastic

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Kelsey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day trip! Our tour guide Juan was lovely and very knowledgable. On the steamboat ride to Lucerne he checked on every group on the tour to make sure everyone was enjoying the trip. A jam packed day but glad to have seen so much.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such an amazing trip. Great way to see more of Switzerland on your own. Easy to get around once our day was explained to us!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

William L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Womderful day trip, great guide, and perfectly on schedule. Enjoyed the coach, tram, and boat ride. All around great experience. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

cutomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

good itinerary. We had plenty of time enjoying the scenery at our own pace. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable as well.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Tianhao L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It and #39;s a wonderful tour with professional guide and good coach. I would like to take it again in the future. It and #39;s far far better than the tour in Frankfurt.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

shuffy2 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing Day! Explored Lucerne and fell in love with the quaint Old Town-- the Lion Monument, Chapel Bridge and vibrant architecture is a must see. The tour consisted of two separate groups- my group went up the Stanserhorn on the CabriO socked in by clouds due to bad weather but still had breathtaking views. The tour was partially independent and was given a train ticket back to Lucerne to reconnect with the tour. Instructions were clear and the guide was helpful-- As I was traveling alone, he wanted to ensure I would be ok on my own! Overall a great day and would highly recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

Bob United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wish the weather were more cooperative at the summit of Mount Rigi, but the trip up there via gondola and cog wheel train was fun. Lake Lucerne cruise was enjoyable. Didn't know Lake Lucerne was so large. Touring Lucerne was very interesting ... the lion sculpture was amazing as was the covered bridge with its roof rafter paintings. The entire trip wa well worth the price.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Trudy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day was amazing! We got to experience the cable ride up the mountain and then the train ride down the mountain and then the boat ride across the lake. We could not have asked for a better way to spend the day. Wonderful!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

cisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour and guide great weather not good would go with this firm again

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

kathleen j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was amazing. I can highly recommend it. Perfect weather and a perfect day. The views from the top of Stanserhorn were breath taking.

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cant spoil this amazing experience for you so im going to say explore this for yourself. One thing I can say, is you wont be disapointed. I loved my tours but this tour gives you the freedom you will need whilst feeling extremly safe.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent in every way.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

MarbyDG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The meeting place was Sihlquai bus station which is quite a central area, just a few minutes walk from Zurich HB. As we were just a small group at the time, we went with the small coach which was also great because the tour felt more personalized and private. From Zurich, we travelled to Weggis, all the while, our driver and guide pointing and giving information to different views along the way. When we reached Weggis, it was where we were supposed to take the cogwheel train and cable car to reach Mount Rigi. Unfortunately, my son got ill and we didn't continue with the tour. But our guide didn't leave us just like that, he brought us to the port in Weggis where he still gave us the tickets for the Lucerne Lake Cruise which was included in the tour. So we just took the cruise of the lake which was amazing as it was and reached the city of Lucerne. This was the third tour I booked with Viator, all three in Switzerland. They were all great and I will definitely book with them again.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Kathi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this trip. The staff was welcoming and the motor coach was top of the line. Due to a snow storm we weren't able to go to Engelberg and where given choices for an alternative and a partial refund. I had read prior reviews and most stated they wished they could have spent more time in Lucerne, and that is what we chose to do and were not disappointed.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

rahulada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a great tour and our guide Antje was very good.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Kristina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

excellent experience and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

PJ S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great value for money. We got to see some amazing parts of Switzerland and the staff were fantastic. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Tiffani B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful! The weather made for a pretty foggy day. So try and pick a clear skies kinda day, and pack a light jacket, its chilly up there! I really like everything about sLOVEnia!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Israel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day tour, Engelberg was fantastic. Wish we had more time in lucerne, but it was not bad.
We did not go up The mountain, good choice, or else we would not have seen Elgelberg.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

MARIA EUNESE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

we really enjoyed our trip and it was a nice and memorable experience. We really had a good time! Thank you

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Oscar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great experience on this tour. Our guide was very energetic and managed the tour very capably.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message