Mount Rigi is a mountain in central Switzerland, bordering Lucerne, and part of the Swiss Alps. It's also known as the "Queen of the Mountains.” Rigi offers stunning panoramic views and is famous for its beautiful sunrises. Nowadays, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 210 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

malikhemani

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

So this was a special trip for us since I asked my girlfriend to marry me. During the two weeks trip to Europe, we decided to do about 4 tours. 3 from Viator and 1 direct. This one was the worst out of all. I am not kidding. We regret paying for this tour since it was basically a transport to/from. Let's start from beginning, checking in took a while since they are also selling the same tour for walk up which meant that things were rushed. When we got on the small van, we did not have room for our small duffel bag since we were doing overnight while the rest of the 6-7 passengers were doing the day only. I had to ask the driver to see if he had storage in the back or by the passenger seat foot area he was not a happy camper to help us. Once on the road, the driver/tour guide barely spoke English. He would describe the area we drove through in french for 8-10 mins and say one line in English. On top of that, there was a family who had their own translator so that person was than translating French to another language for them. Imagine hearing two different languages for 85 mins. When we got to a stop, the driver said to hold while he went got all our tickets. Came back, gave the tickets and said read the paper instructions you got at check in for rest of schedule. It will tell you what time to take what and left. This is very bad since all of us were confused as to what we had to do. When I asked about our return and where to go, he said its in the paper. You could tell he had no interest. We finally made our own way to the top and checked in to hotel. Turns out hotel dislikes guests that are part of a tour. We were giving a room with twin beds and said that's all they can extend since we didn't book directly. I was even willing to pay out of pocket for a larger bed. Furthermore, I asked about dinner and breakfast that were included in our tour and were told contact the tour company. That didn't help. Finally found someone local who just happened to be there and who explained that the hotel/restaurant will not care for your service since you are not paying them directly. Instead he helped us out with pointers and guided us on what to do. Just shocking. No worries, we tried hard to not let this bother us. But twin bed on a romantic getaway is a nightmare. When the dinner time came, they had assigned seating. Guess what, a table in the back corner of the restaurant with two sides to the walls and no view of the window/mountain. When we asked for a different table, we got the answer, you cannot change since you booked via tour. Lovely : At this point we tried our best to make the best of it. Asking for a water refill was even a nightmare because you could tell the staff were more focused with real paying customers. We called it a night and went to bed after dinner.

Next day, we got up and were excited to check out of this nightmare of a hotel. Grab a quick bite for breakfast and made our way to the top sine it was snowed in the night before. When we got to the top, the stairs were closed since it was not safe according to the crew that worked the area. No worries. Took about 3-4 photos and got ready for the boat ride to next stop. From here we were on our own since the paper just had time slot to follow and that's it. The best part of this trip was what we did on our own. We had more flexibility and options than being locked in.

The day was over so we followed the directions for pick up and headed there. We saw the bus for the company and hopped on showed our ticket for the return to the driver. While we waited for about 15 mins the bus was not leaving. I got curious and went down to task a tour guide that was there. She said they were waiting on a couple who had an overnight stay. I said thats us and showed the ticket again. She was so upset that we did not check in. I told her that we had shown this to the driver. She said driver is not ours and you should be on the other bus since thats what the paper said. I was like paper doesn't say anything except to look for a bus with your logo and pickup location. I apologized and tried to explain we were doing what we thought was correct. No apologies from the other side instead a mean look. They told the other bus we were here and we left.

At this point, we were just happy to be done with this tour and get back to our romantic trip. Never again I would be interested in booking a tour that deals with this third party booking company.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear that your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We rely on your honest feedback to help ensure the value and quality of our travel experiences. Based on your concerns, we have contacted our local tour operator to address these concerns with them personally and will continue monitoring feedback from our travelers.

jina_k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous day and tour guide. Beautiful views coming down the Cogwheel train overlooking the lake of Lucern. A real experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The clock making was something anyone could do by walking into the store. The rest of the trip was great. Surprisingly, the chocolate adventure was very well done and informative. All in all, a great day! My advice is to print your voucher because the WiFi didn't always work.

Doing what: Authentic Swiss Experience from Lucerne: Watch Producer Visit, Boat Ride, Rigi Mountain and Chocolate Adventure

Erin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Words can not express how amazing this tour was!!! It was a must do... BEST decision ever...and the tour company was AWESOME!!! On time, great agenda, great driver, and best tour guide!! Told us exactly what we needed to do and awesome facts as we drove through Switzerland.... A MUST!!!! The view is like no other... Nothing but positive things to say this awesomeness....

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

ALEKSEI V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an amazing experience, definitely do this! Views, nature, mineral baths and city of Lucerne are 10 out of 10! Good for people of any age. You have exactly enough time for everything.
Note! In mountains is colder then in the city, I was in October, temperature was around 0 degrees celsious, so don't forget a warm cloth.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Arindam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was not a fully guided tour but I don and #39;t think this needs to be. The driver Monica was very good , did a running commentary while going to the entrance of the Rigi. She explained every part of the trip very clearly. A totally satisfied trip. Haven and #39;t felt any problem anywhere. Thanks a lot.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Jeffrey M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

it was a great trip and the driver and tour director were very good. If it was explained that we would be left on our own for a large part of the trip we missed it. maybe make that clearer but trip overall was great

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Martin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Must do trip!
Cable car up to Rigi - Mt Rigi itself is incredible. Cogwheel train down to the lake, then a boat to Lucerne. The whole day is brilliant and the views are amazing. Not much else to say expect ...go!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Mary Rose T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I loved this tour! It showcased the beauty of Switzerland. The hotel we stayed at was exceptional. We had the Swiss alps as the view from our room window. Everything about this tour was perfect. If you want a romantic getaway this is the perfect tour to take.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Thomas G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great views with an easy ride to the top by tram and cog railroad followed by a leisurely boat trip across the lake to the city of Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Umesh B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Panaroma View from Top of mountain was amazing.
Transportation was great from Bus, cog wheel trains and a ship with stops wherever we desired in beautiful weather made a wonderful day.
Great view from the top in all directions.
Worth a try and if u want you can also track the whole mountain using map and directions provided.

I would highly reccomend this tour.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Adelina

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Great tour! great sights! However missed my boat to Lucerne due to lack of communication and lost significant time there! Better communication on that front would have been much appreciated.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

tleu16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is mostly unguided. We are pretty much on our own once the bus drop us off to take the cogwheel train up to Mount Rigi. We only saw the guide again at the waiting area to take the bus back to Zurich.
We got a great view with amazing weather while the people who joined the Mount Pilatus tour got fog and clouds.
Margerit ? the guide was stressing about being on time, only for the bus to be half an hour late.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Pouyan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The departure time for the boat from Luzern to Vitznau had changed ... I was lucky to be early otherwise I had missed the boat!

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

syedashrafali7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was exceptional. There were only four to five people going to Mt.Rigi, so this group was combined with Mt.Titlis groupmakes sense. The tour guide, Fernando kept on briefing us though out the journey. We were handed over the vouchers in Weggis, and then we were free to roam as per our convenience. For the onward journey, the bus didnt go through the highway, instead took the Albis pass route which was fascinating.
While returning we were waiting for the tour bus in Lucerne and our tour bus was a bit late, the guide from other tour busI dont remember her name called our tour guide and told us that our bus is on the way, which was quite pleasing.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Lisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A terrific day! Well organized. The weather couldn't have been more spectacular. I highly recommend this tour! On our own we never would have known how to piece all the parts together, the cable car, the cog wheel train, the boat to Lucerne!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

samanthacbussell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day if you like to wander around on your own and not tied to a group. We loved having the free time to hike around Mt Rigi and explore Lucerne at our own pace. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

home2148

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great trip. Thoroughly enjoyed the day. Open complaint would be that the boat ticket was for 2nd class and did not allow us to go up-stairs. Considering cost and basically unescorted for most of the day I thought a bit penny pinching but the views etc well worth the trip.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very good trip with varied approach to experiencing the entire Lucerne area.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Saleem S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I enjoyed the trip up mount Rigi but felt our tour guide had left us for the entire day to navigate up and down the mountain, to the boats in Lucerne and tour Lucene city and highlights without a guide as she was taking another group to Mount Pilatus. We then waited at the departure point for our trip back to Zurich for over and hour as the bus driver was late and claimed to be stuck in traffic

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

cutomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

good itinerary. We had plenty of time enjoying the scenery at our own pace. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable as well.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Tianhao L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It and #39;s a wonderful tour with professional guide and good coach. I would like to take it again in the future. It and #39;s far far better than the tour in Frankfurt.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

William L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Womderful day trip, great guide, and perfectly on schedule. Enjoyed the coach, tram, and boat ride. All around great experience. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message