Encircled by towering peaks and glittering lakes, if you’re looking to take in Switzerland’s famous mountain vistas, Lucerne is ideally situated, with easy access to the Top of Europe at Jungfraujoch, the glacial wonderland of Mount Titlis and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

thepitchers18

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide. The whole day was amazing. The cable car journey was incredible and we met a lovely couple from America. The view and whole experience from the top of Mount Pilatus was breathtaking. The cog train was brilliant. The driver was very friendly. The boat trip was good even though it rained. A good day all round.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Jane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A brilliant trip. Well worth the money. Don't be put off by the mountain being covered in cloud. When we broke through the clouds the views were spectacular.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Donna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our trip would not have been complete without this! Beautiful views, no clouds, snow still on the mountain, lake tour lovely, cog railway offered numerous photo ops. There were six of us and although pricey for me with us all, we all agreed that it was one of the highlights of our few days in Lake Lucerne. This is not our first rodeo with Viator and it won't be our last!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Wayne I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour of mount pilatus with views that will take your breath away, not to mention a cable car ride, a cog wheel train ride and a steam paddle boat ride. This trip should be on everyone's itinerary.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing experience. Lucerne was our favorite part of our trip and we traveled throughout France and Switzerland. The ferry ride was beautiful and relaxing. Our guide had booked us a lunch reservation at the restaurant on top of Mount Pilatus without even talking to us about it and we were so thrilled as we were all hungry by the time we got there. The food was wonderful. We had a great time on the mountain. There are several hikes you can do while up there and our guide allowed us to spend whatever time we wished while she answered questions and waited for us. She even went on the Luge with the kids. Her name is Debra and I strongly recommend her. We asked her nonstop questions all day about Switzerland and it's customs and incomes and way of life. We even got her number to book more tours with her when we return again.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Tour from Lucerne with Private Guide

Renee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow, this was an amazing well organized tour, worth every penny. Marcel was a wonder guide. The gondola ride up the mountain was breathtaking. The views from the top were amazing. We enjoyed lunch not included at the nice restaurant in the hotel at the top of the mountain.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

rjhenry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A marvelous outing - cable car ride into the clouds, a walk to the top of Mt. Pilatus followed by the cog railroad ride down through forests and meadows offering beautiful views of Lake Lucerne. Then topped off by a pleasant cruise across Lake Lucerne back to our hotel. Truly one of the highlights or our sojourn in Europe.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

nkreinik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Guide kept us well informed. Trip to the top of mountain was breathtaking as were views from the top. Cog train and boat ride revised great views.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day trip from Lucerne with fantastic views from cable car and cogwheel and plenty of time atop Mount Pilatus. Food is very expensive at the top so advice would be to pack your own lunch.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Terence R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Xenia Schwizer was excellent. Departure and return was on time. Even the weather was kind. The combination of coach, gondola ride, cable car, mountain railway and then boat is a great trip.
Met many interesting people from all over the world.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Wilma P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. The mountain was beautiful even in the rain. Especially enjoyed the cog railroad going down.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Debra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Even though the weather was rainy and the views were limited, the varied transportation was fun. We heard Alphorns on top of the mountain, and it was relaxing to watch the changing view as the clouds moved around the peak. Our guide, Rolf, was very pleasant.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful views of the area. I would think this is a must for anyone traveling to Lucerne. The mountain and the surrounding mountains are beautiful. You do have to deal with the clouds. Views can change rapidly so when you get a chance for a good picture take it. The cable car was nice and not as scary as I thought it would be. Also enjoyed the cruise on Lake Lucerne back to the town.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Shannon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great way to experience the golden triangle to Pilatus. Our guide was knowledgeable but not pushy. Lots of time at the top. We did arrive in a snowstorm, so the views weren't great, but the whole thing was magical anyway.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Mathew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. Three things in one trip! The weather wasn't great when we were on top of the mountain it snowed but we sat in the restaurant and enjoyed a beer. Tour guide was great and very knowledgable and answered all our questions about the area.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Bruce T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Despite a very overcast, snowy, and cloudy day, the excursion was most excellent. We enjoyed the variety of modes of transportation, including bus, Chairlift, Gondola, cog train, and water taxi. The facilities at Mt. Pilatus were quite a surprise. Better weather and we would have enjoyed hiking the trails around the hotels. We intend to return some day when the sun is shining.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Chris Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed Mt Pilatus very much, was a great day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Vivien T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

All went well. We were taken by bus to the gondola ride and our guide was very efficient in making sure we all knew what we had to do. Once up on the mountain we were given information about how to fill in our time and when to be back at the meeting point for the train trip down the mountain. Everything went smoothly. Our boat trip back to Lucerne was really enjoyable as well. Despite the weather not being kind to us, we had a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent, really enjoyed every aspect of the trip. It was expensive but well worth the money. Even though we went in October the weather was warm and visibility was good. The scenery from the top of the mountain was breathtaking.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Timothy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour. Monica, our guide, was very informative! Beautiful day above the clouds on Mt. Pilatus via a cog railway! Nice restaurant with German style buffet! Good food, great chance to hike with beaut
I full camera shots of snow covered Alps! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Arthur S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a fun trip. The tour guide was fantastic and a lot of fun to talk to. Unfortunately he could not do anything about the big cloud of rain that covered the mountain that day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

MARY L C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I really enjoyed this all day tour. Beautiful views from Mt. Pilatus.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was our only tour that we had booked when visiting Lucerne, we thought it would be great to see this attraction, having never been to Lucerne. We met our guide at the information center and I'm sorry to say, I cant remember her name, but she was very very good, very friendly and was full of knowledge on what we would be seeing today. On the bus we went to where we would be catching the cable car to most of the way to the top of Mt. Pilatus. We loved the cable car ride, seeing the lush green fields below and was fun hearing those cow bells which one associates with Switzerland. We arrived to where we would be getting onto the new 'Dragon car' this sounded so exciting to us, took some photos, always taking photos, this ride was amazing, loved it even though my partner was holding on to the pole with clenched hands. The view from the top of this Mt. Pilatus was something to behold, the stunning views of these high mountains this just made our day. The clouds were rolling in on one side but the other side was so clear, great for photo taking. My partner stayed behind to have a look through the shop, getting some souvenirs while i ventured out along the walkways up to the lookout area, We were there for a good 1 1/2 hours, there are pathways for the more adventureous to take, it was just great to sit back and to take in the magnificent view. We would highly recommend this tour to all who visit Lucerne. Our stay in Lucerne was something else, loved it all and yes, we would love to come back again one day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Christopher P N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was excellent, with the cable car rides to the top of Mt Pilatus, the cog train descent, and then the boat trip back to Lucerne. All good experiences, magnificent views, and a great day all round.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Jennifer E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This full day trip was spectacular and amazing. Definitely worth the money. Do this! You will not regret it. A bus ride to the gondola, up the mountain, lots of time to enjoy the views, a cog train down, and then a boat ride across the lake. I am so glad we did this and booked it ahead of time from home.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message