Encircled by towering peaks and glittering lakes, if you’re looking to take in Switzerland’s famous mountain vistas, Lucerne is ideally situated, with easy access to the Top of Europe at Jungfraujoch, the glacial wonderland of Mount Titlis and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Davis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It is spectacular. Great views, fun transportation: first a typical tour bus, then a small ski lift, to a large gondola to the top of the mountain, then cog wheel train, then finally a paddle boat. Lots of paths and different areas to explore on top of Pilatus. One day may come back and walk up.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

hollyeme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great experience all Around! It was three distinct experiences in One! The train ride up, exploring the mountaintop, and then the 2 types of gondolas on the way down. While clouds covered the lakes below, the view of the alps in the distance was magnificent all the same. Suggest that you go up early in the day before the clouds move in and block the view entirely.

Doing what: Mt. Pilatus Experience with Gondola Ride

Dan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Breathtaking! The bus, gondola, tram, cogwheel train and boat trip was the high point of our time in Lucerne. Fortunately, the overcast cleared so the views from the mountain top were great. We climbed some of the paths at the top to get better views below. We marveled at some of the people opting to climb up or down the mountain. This trip should not be missed!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nice ride up the mountain in the gondola. Great views of the surrounding mountains as the clouds clear. The cogwheel train provides nice views of the valley and the boat ride on Lake Lucerne was a relaxing way to end the tour. A must do tour when in Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

JOHN M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour that was worth the extra money for a guide. Weather was poor on the way up to Pilatus and remained so until 30 minutes before departure. But it cleared a bit and afforded us very nice scenery for the descent and for the Lake Lucerne cruise.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

jackfitz10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour, Lucerne is an absolutely gorgeous city and the entire experience of going up and down the mountain was fantastic. Make sure that you check the weather, as this can change your experience. When we went it was cloudy, so while cool, the full views were blocked off. Overall I highly recommend, just ensure you get good weather.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great experience. The gondola ride up is very nice and the first portion in a smaller gondola makes for a more intimate experience. Once on the mountain there are a variety of hikes to suit your tastes. You can do a short hike for stunning views or take a longer hike to get a broader set of views. The cogwheel train ride down was equally enjoyable and offered a lot of great views. Then you have a nice and relaxing boat ride back to Lucerne. If you are in Lucerne this is definitely an experience to enjoy.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Royce Gayland Thorn United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Anja was an outstanding tour guide. She made sure that we were at the right place at right time in order to get onboard the train and gondola. She informed us of trails, restaurants, and things to do and see on the mountain along with the local culture and food.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Tour from Lucerne with Private Guide

thepitchers18

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide. The whole day was amazing. The cable car journey was incredible and we met a lovely couple from America. The view and whole experience from the top of Mount Pilatus was breathtaking. The cog train was brilliant. The driver was very friendly. The boat trip was good even though it rained. A good day all round.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Jane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A brilliant trip. Well worth the money. Don't be put off by the mountain being covered in cloud. When we broke through the clouds the views were spectacular.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Donna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our trip would not have been complete without this! Beautiful views, no clouds, snow still on the mountain, lake tour lovely, cog railway offered numerous photo ops. There were six of us and although pricey for me with us all, we all agreed that it was one of the highlights of our few days in Lake Lucerne. This is not our first rodeo with Viator and it won't be our last!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Wayne I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour of mount pilatus with views that will take your breath away, not to mention a cable car ride, a cog wheel train ride and a steam paddle boat ride. This trip should be on everyone's itinerary.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing experience. Lucerne was our favorite part of our trip and we traveled throughout France and Switzerland. The ferry ride was beautiful and relaxing. Our guide had booked us a lunch reservation at the restaurant on top of Mount Pilatus without even talking to us about it and we were so thrilled as we were all hungry by the time we got there. The food was wonderful. We had a great time on the mountain. There are several hikes you can do while up there and our guide allowed us to spend whatever time we wished while she answered questions and waited for us. She even went on the Luge with the kids. Her name is Debra and I strongly recommend her. We asked her nonstop questions all day about Switzerland and it's customs and incomes and way of life. We even got her number to book more tours with her when we return again.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Tour from Lucerne with Private Guide

Renee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow, this was an amazing well organized tour, worth every penny. Marcel was a wonder guide. The gondola ride up the mountain was breathtaking. The views from the top were amazing. We enjoyed lunch not included at the nice restaurant in the hotel at the top of the mountain.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

rjhenry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A marvelous outing - cable car ride into the clouds, a walk to the top of Mt. Pilatus followed by the cog railroad ride down through forests and meadows offering beautiful views of Lake Lucerne. Then topped off by a pleasant cruise across Lake Lucerne back to our hotel. Truly one of the highlights or our sojourn in Europe.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

nkreinik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Guide kept us well informed. Trip to the top of mountain was breathtaking as were views from the top. Cog train and boat ride revised great views.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day trip from Lucerne with fantastic views from cable car and cogwheel and plenty of time atop Mount Pilatus. Food is very expensive at the top so advice would be to pack your own lunch.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Terence R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Xenia Schwizer was excellent. Departure and return was on time. Even the weather was kind. The combination of coach, gondola ride, cable car, mountain railway and then boat is a great trip.
Met many interesting people from all over the world.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Wilma P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. The mountain was beautiful even in the rain. Especially enjoyed the cog railroad going down.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Debra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Even though the weather was rainy and the views were limited, the varied transportation was fun. We heard Alphorns on top of the mountain, and it was relaxing to watch the changing view as the clouds moved around the peak. Our guide, Rolf, was very pleasant.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful views of the area. I would think this is a must for anyone traveling to Lucerne. The mountain and the surrounding mountains are beautiful. You do have to deal with the clouds. Views can change rapidly so when you get a chance for a good picture take it. The cable car was nice and not as scary as I thought it would be. Also enjoyed the cruise on Lake Lucerne back to the town.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Shannon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great way to experience the golden triangle to Pilatus. Our guide was knowledgeable but not pushy. Lots of time at the top. We did arrive in a snowstorm, so the views weren't great, but the whole thing was magical anyway.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Mathew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. Three things in one trip! The weather wasn't great when we were on top of the mountain it snowed but we sat in the restaurant and enjoyed a beer. Tour guide was great and very knowledgable and answered all our questions about the area.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Bruce T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Despite a very overcast, snowy, and cloudy day, the excursion was most excellent. We enjoyed the variety of modes of transportation, including bus, Chairlift, Gondola, cog train, and water taxi. The facilities at Mt. Pilatus were quite a surprise. Better weather and we would have enjoyed hiking the trails around the hotels. We intend to return some day when the sun is shining.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Chris Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed Mt Pilatus very much, was a great day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message