Luxor ATTRACTIONS See all

Valley of the Kings

The harsh, lunar landscape of the Valley of the Kings is the resting place of numerous New Kingdom pharaohs, whose remains were interred in tombs burrowed into rock. The 60-odd tombs which have been discovered (which may represent only half of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pankaj Pandey India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Hello from INDIA!!!
We had a great tour on Princess SARAH cruise.
The Team on the cruise was very polite helpful especially from the restaurant. My wife and I are pure vegetarian and this was looked by the team out there. We traveled with our 10 months old infant and even for her we were provided warn milk and water from time time. The staff on the cruise had a smile always while serving.
The activity carried out on the cruise on the new year eve was also good.
The 4 days tour was beautiful and our guise Michel was also knowledgeable. He explained all the stories encrypted on the wall in very great manner.
Will recommend it a must for anyone visiting Egypt.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Albert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day and great guide. It was our first time the west bank of the river nile in Luxor and it was one to remember.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Steven M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great trip! Excellent boat, the staff was extremely professional, our guide Hamet was very knowledgable, the food was tremendously good and tre views of the nile are unbeatable. We saw many amazing temples and the schedule is never rushed, it's up to you how you spend your days and we found we had a lot of freedom. The company is really communicative and they picked us up from our hotel, contacting us before hand - they also dropped us off at a flat we were renting after the trip was over. I'd highly recommend this trip - the only thing to note is that cruises try to upsell you on optional excursions! Skip the optional stuff and do it on your own later for much cheaper if you have time. Have a fantastic time, and certainly get a guide to learn a ton!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Elizabeth C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The guide was by far the best thing about our trip. He was amazing! So knowledgeable, friendly and cheerful. He helped us with any problems we had and also organized some extras for us that we really enjoyed. He was great with our kids and became like a part of our family for the 4 days we were togther. The boat was ok, a little tired, but the food was less than I expected. This would have been acceptable, but there was no opportunity to get extra food when required. My son fell ill, and needed something to eat and I was told repeatedly I couldn't get anything, yet I was on a boat, without any other options! Finally, one kind staff got a sandwich made for us, but we had to pay an extra fee. I was less than impressed with this.
The locations and stops along the way were great.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Grayzine United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We had a few problems that left us with a very stressful experience. First of all, at the time of booking we had requested the tour to be at 10:00AM. Even tough you request it, it does not seem to matter. The following are the list of problems we had:

1 Appointment time: Once Viator assigns a travel company our was assigned to Sinai travel they put considerable pressure on us to leave early like around 8AM. I had to stand my ground firmly and re iterate that we had asked for 10AM. The reasons they give is long lines, unable to finish on time etc. We finally after pushing back on them left at 10AM and there were NO long lines, NO waiting anywhere and we finished the tour well ahead of schedule. They essentially lied or were making up reasons so that they could take on the tours.

2 Drop off point: The agreement says that you will be dropped off back to the hotel or where you were picked up. Our tour guide and driver thought of making some extra money and asked for additional to be dropped back to the hotel saying that our tour ends at the Valley of the Kings. I had to pull up the contract and make an argument to being dropped off to the hotel. Again, not a pleasant experience.

3 It looks like this Sinai travel Company does not pay its guides and drivers well. There is is tremendous pressure on you to make up to your guide and driver with gratuities. Not a pleasant experience at all.

Overall, I would not recommend this tour company.
Please note that each individuals experience is highly dependent on who your local tour operator/guide is allocated. We had 2 tours with this company, One in Luxor and One in Cairo. Cairo was slightly better and Luxor was bad.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

rubi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

great experience with full of joy and pleasure and many historical places visit including river nile cruise.
love to stay on amarco .
foods was excellent with beautifull stylish presentation .
staff wascexcellent .
facilities un comparable and amazing.
worth of money spent there.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

kelliblackburn

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

4 day / 3 night cruise could easily have been a 2 day / 1 night. Way too much downtime stuck on the boat! The boat is older and in need of major upgrades. There is little to nothing to do on the boat. Pool is a tiny dipping pool. Bars/lounges were not stocked or staffed so just getting a drink was nearly impossible. There is one billiards table which you have to pay extra to use. The only activities on the boat are meal times which the staff takes crazy serious. They will call your cabin if you don't show up within the first five minutes of the scheduled meal time. If you don't want to eat they will basically force you. All meals are buffet style. Edible but not great. My husband got sick on the boat and while we can't say for certain I believe it was likely from something he ate. We paid extra for a private tour guide who was less than enthusiastic. It was clear that he wanted to go through his standard speech and move on as quickly as possible. In hindsight would have preferred to just go with the group.
Day 1: Picked up at 9am. Straight to tour of High Dam, Philae Temple, and unfinished obelisk. The dam and obelisk are basically a drive by, only real site in Aswan is the Philae temple. Boarded boat by noon. Boat doesn't set sail until approx. 4am which will wake you up as the boat is terribly loud while moving. You can disembark in Aswan which you will want to since there is nothing to do on the boat.
Day 2: The only day of sailing. Nice views while traveling down the Nile, otherwise not much to entertain yourself. Bring a good book. Afternoon tours of Kom Obo and Edfu. Boat is moored outside of Luxor for the night and you cannot disembark. Again, nothing to do all evening.
Day 3: Depart to Luxor at approx. 3am. Again, good luck sleeping. Bring earplugs. Early morning tours of Valley of the Kings and Temple of Hatshepsut. We had to cut the tours short because husband was so sick see above but likely would have been back to boat by 10am anyway. That is essentially the end of the cruise but you are stuck on the boat for the remainder of the day and night! Boat was a complete ghost town, other guest had arranged to leave after the morning tours not sure how they were able to do so. There were only 5 guests including my husband and I left on the boat! Boat is moored in remote area of Luxor so you cannot disembark/are not near town. Counting the hours until you can leave.
Day 4: Leave at 9am. Finally!

Overall, this cruise is basically a transportation option between Aswan and Luxor but billed as much more. We would have preferred to arrange other transport car or flight and then tour sites individually out of Aswan and Luxor.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Elyse R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Staff was super friendly and helpful. The meals were INSANE!! So so good. Always a beef, chicken, and fish option with salads, pastas, rices, veggies, and delicious desserts. Our tours were all awesome and the tour guide became a friend. Super knowledgable. Take into consideration that you need to purchase all the water you will consume because running water isn't super safe. The cruise was super clean and the upper deck has a pool. Would recommend to all!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Leith Patrick K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Where to begin? The Ship was perfect. Small enough to be intimate and large enough to sport good service. The food was very good and the service was exceptional. Our guide Fouad made himself available to describe what we were passing and of course escorted us to all the temples along the way. We got off the ship in Luxor thoroughly rested and in awe of most everything we had seen.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Erica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My fiancé and I had a great time on this tour. Good information and guide and amazing attractions! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Amy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sailed on the Amarco I which was great. The room was big and clean. Food was nice and drink prices were good. Be cautious with your guide. Private guide was sneaky in taking extra tips through lies. Caught him and company apologized and refunded the tip. Even if guide insists, only give tip at end!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

nadira s

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The best part of this trip was our guide Mohammed. He is by far, the best tour guide we ever had.
He is extremely knowledgeable on all things Egypt, and made each stop memorable. Mohammed is extremely friendly and helpful.
Even when I was ill, he did his best to accommodate me.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic Value, great people, great service, guide Absoutely fantastic.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Kareem S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The tour was good, the ship lacked entertainment but the food and staff were excellent.

I found that the team running the show didn and #39;t follow the schedule as they had provided. Therefore, I had to reschedule flights and lost time in my next destination :(

Without this it would have been 4 stars.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Kelly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great service and great guides. Ahmed was the best!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Teresa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Yolanda was our tour guide. She is fantastic! She made it fun and interesting. She made us feel like we were the King and Queen of Egypt. I highly recommend her and this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Dan H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Valley of the Kings was everything I always dreamed of seeing. The artwork is simply amazing. Just being in a place that has existed for so many millennia is awe-inspiring. I was a little disappointed in Hatshepsut's Temple, probably just because of seeing Valley of the Kings first. The Colossi of Memnon I could have missed. Our tour guide, Youla, was fantastic--very knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Gerd B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a great ship. It was clean, the staff was amazing, everything was well organized, the food was good. I have no complaints. If you are fortunate enough to be able to do a Nile cruise, pick this company. Top notch.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

loshion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a fantastic time in Cairo and in Luxor. The tours were great and the service was even better. The local guides and the drivers were exceptional. Nirmala

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Without Doubt worth Every Euro! Absolutely Fantastic, Many Thanks to All

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Andrei P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good tour and guide. We had a good time and experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Kelly R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic service, great guides. Atef made the coolest creations with towels during room service and Ahmed was an awesome guide who went above and beyond expectations!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Sarah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was our first tour booked with Viator and we were pleasantly surprised. Very organised which gave piece of mind to mum, super friendly guide and #39;Haythem and #39; who looked after every detail for us, and the cruise had large clean rooms, smooth sailing, the food varied a mixture of western and egyptian.

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor Including Aswan and Optional Private Guide

Todd M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The is the second time we have taken this cruise in 12 months. The staff was great and we can't say enough about how wonderful everyone treated us. Our guide was excellent and will remain friends with us for years to come.

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor Including Aswan and Optional Private Guide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message