To visit beautiful Luxor is to be part of one of the oldest traditions. People have been touring this amazing Egyptian city since the ancient Greek and Roman eras. To have that kind of longevity there must be a remarkable draw, so it’s no wonder ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 300 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Albert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day and great guide. It was our first time the west bank of the river nile in Luxor and it was one to remember.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Camilla C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a very enjoyable Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan. Tourism in Egypt has taken a major hit since the 2011 revolution, and although we felt very safe and well looked after, both the ship and the sites we visited felt very quiet. We did not sign up for the private guide option, but in the end had only one other couple in our group. The food on board the ship was excellent, and the staff made a huge effort despite there being only 18 passengers on board. The temples and tombs we visited were extraordinary - really must see. Great photos and some fantastic memories from each place. There were a few touristy places e.g. demonstrations of how alabaster is carved, or textiles or papyrus is made, followed by hard sells of those products which we could have done without, but others may find them interesting or welcome the shopping opportunities. In particular, our guide Michael was outstanding - really a great guide, highly knowledgable, fluent in three languages, and a nice guy as well.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

Simone H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The sound and light show was cool, a little hard to hear in some areas of Karnak but overall good. Through viator you get a tour guide and a driver, but I'm not necessarily sure both are needed since all the tour guide does is escort you to the entrance and receive you at the hotel. If you're comfortable getting a taxi and buying your own tickets, I'd do it that way...

Doing what: Karnak Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Simone H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The sound and light show is cool, it's hard to hear in some areas of Karnak but overall good. Through viator you get a tour guide and driver which isn't entirely necessary since all the tour guide does is escort you from the entrance and receive you at the hotel. If you're comfortable taking a taxi and buying your own tickets, I'd recommend that way.

Doing what: Karnak Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Grayzine United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We had a few problems that left us with a very stressful experience. First of all, at the time of booking we had requested the tour to be at 10:00AM. Even tough you request it, it does not seem to matter. The following are the list of problems we had:

1 Appointment time: Once Viator assigns a travel company our was assigned to Sinai travel they put considerable pressure on us to leave early like around 8AM. I had to stand my ground firmly and re iterate that we had asked for 10AM. The reasons they give is long lines, unable to finish on time etc. We finally after pushing back on them left at 10AM and there were NO long lines, NO waiting anywhere and we finished the tour well ahead of schedule. They essentially lied or were making up reasons so that they could take on the tours.

2 Drop off point: The agreement says that you will be dropped off back to the hotel or where you were picked up. Our tour guide and driver thought of making some extra money and asked for additional to be dropped back to the hotel saying that our tour ends at the Valley of the Kings. I had to pull up the contract and make an argument to being dropped off to the hotel. Again, not a pleasant experience.

3 It looks like this Sinai travel Company does not pay its guides and drivers well. There is is tremendous pressure on you to make up to your guide and driver with gratuities. Not a pleasant experience at all.

Overall, I would not recommend this tour company.
Please note that each individuals experience is highly dependent on who your local tour operator/guide is allocated. We had 2 tours with this company, One in Luxor and One in Cairo. Cairo was slightly better and Luxor was bad.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Grayzine United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

It looks like this Sinai travel Company does not pay its guides and drivers well. There is is tremendous pressure on you to make up to your guide and driver with gratuities. The quality of guide was average. Not a pleasant experience at all.
Overall, I would not recommend this tour company.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor East Bank, Karnak and Luxor Temples

Erica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My fiancé and I had a great time on this tour. Good information and guide and amazing attractions! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Teresa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Yolanda was our tour guide. She is fantastic! She made it fun and interesting. She made us feel like we were the King and Queen of Egypt. I highly recommend her and this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Teresa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic! Youla, our tour guide is the best!

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor East Bank, Karnak and Luxor Temples

Dan H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Valley of the Kings was everything I always dreamed of seeing. The artwork is simply amazing. Just being in a place that has existed for so many millennia is awe-inspiring. I was a little disappointed in Hatshepsut's Temple, probably just because of seeing Valley of the Kings first. The Colossi of Memnon I could have missed. Our tour guide, Youla, was fantastic--very knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Gerd B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a great ship. It was clean, the staff was amazing, everything was well organized, the food was good. I have no complaints. If you are fortunate enough to be able to do a Nile cruise, pick this company. Top notch.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

loshion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a fantastic time in Cairo and in Luxor. The tours were great and the service was even better. The local guides and the drivers were exceptional. Nirmala

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Andrei P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good tour and guide. We had a good time and experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Sarah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was our first tour booked with Viator and we were pleasantly surprised. Very organised which gave piece of mind to mum, super friendly guide and #39;Haythem and #39; who looked after every detail for us, and the cruise had large clean rooms, smooth sailing, the food varied a mixture of western and egyptian.

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor Including Aswan and Optional Private Guide

Todd M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The is the second time we have taken this cruise in 12 months. The staff was great and we can't say enough about how wonderful everyone treated us. Our guide was excellent and will remain friends with us for years to come.

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor Including Aswan and Optional Private Guide

Rachel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing! Loved our tour guide, very knowledgable and funny. We had him also for our Luxor east bank and it was a fantastic experience!

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Rachel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome! Tour was great, learned a lot and our for guide was hisam is very smart and knowledgable. Loved it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor East Bank, Karnak and Luxor Temples

adi_a89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip, a great start to our holiday. Fantastic guide and history lesson throughout the Karnak and Luxor temple. Transport in private comfortable car.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor East Bank, Karnak and Luxor Temples

Valeria Romina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had the time of our lives. From the pickup at Luxor airport till they said goodbye in Aswan's, all of the experience was simply surreal. We were treated as royalty but with such closeness and so much sincere kindness and humanity from all the crew, that we were moved to tears when we had to part. Our guide Rabeh was there for us and so correct, educated, knowledgeable, companion, it was so enriching to be around him. We learned a lot about the past and present of Egypt. We feel very happy and grateful we could enjoy that much. The temples and tombs, the bazars and bars, the view of the Nile from the cruise and faluca were unforgettable. The onboard service was amazing, food was goumet, generous and yummy. Don't think twice! South Sinaí Travel is first quality. Viator was very solicitous too. You'll never ever regret it.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

mjsabs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really great tour! We had a good guide and everything worked out well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Lrry

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Most of the tour as expected, with some shortcommings on the boat due to very few passangers.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

Pui Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

The ship Mirage 1 was really old. There was not much to do on board: tiny pool not very clean, one cafeteria-style restaurant with limited hours, only one English CNN TV channel, a closet sized really fitness room. The activities usually lasted half of a day. For the rest of the time, you are stuck on this little ship.

I met an Australian family while flying into Luxor and out of Aswan. The joined a land based tour with similar itinerary and had a much better time.

To illustrate the size of this ship, it can only hold less than 150 guests. That along with the age of the ship makes it undesirable for spending 4 or 5 days there.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide met us early and couldn't have been more helpful. She was so knowledgeable and made our whole experience totally unforgettable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a brilliant experience for me and my grandson aged 10. The pilot was skillful and executed a perfect takeoff and landing. Seeing the dawn rise over the Nile was a magical and unforgettable memory

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting, great guide, recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message