Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

A-Ma Temple (Ma Kok Miu)

In a testament to the A-Ma Temple, it’s believed by many historians that the peninsula of Macau is in fact named after this very spot. An exquisite Taoist complex dating to 1488, the temple is dedicated to A-Ma, a Taoist Goddess of seafaring and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 715 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lukas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Elizabeth D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a fabulous fast paced trip around the sights of Macau.Cisco the tour guide was nothing short of legendary, his humour and knowledge made the trip so much fun. I was a solo traveller but made friends by the end of the day. Absolutely loved it

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Stunning trip, a definite must if in Hong Kong and our tour guide Cisco was so informative and hilarious as well,

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

judy.wilson Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Carlos V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Cisco!! What a great guide The trip like he said was cultural in nature, and it was nice and interesting, and very complete. The guide was very knowledgeable and well organized. Jump from the tower! I did with the aid of the guides logistics and excellent attitude.
Great Memories!!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really good for amazing price, the guide was awesome, helpful and very ready to assist anyone.

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

Jessika R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great way to get a taste of Macau! Cisco was our tour leader and he was fantastic, very knowledgeable and interested in sharing lots of information and answering questions! I enjoyed this tour as I am interested in history and culture, but we did get a small taste of the casinos and shopping as well.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Larry R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This tour was pretty much spent travelling. In all 6 hrs was spent to and from our hotel inclusive of the immigration process. The remaining time was enjoyable but it would have been nice to have free time in the town centre. The tour guide was great and the lunch was only average. oK tour

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Steven K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Our guide Cisco was very informative. Sometimes a bit too much. We went to Macao Tower only to find we could not go to the observation deck as a Chinese official was coming. Cisco blamed the people at the tower for not informing him. We felt it was his job to find that out. Defeated the purpose of being there really. Lunch was very disorganized. We were basically crammed in wherever we could fit. Food was very average. Be aware that if you want to see the Venetian or the Parisian casinos you wont as they are nowhere near this tour. Disappointing as I assumed a big part of Macao was casinos. Enjoyed St Paul's and A-Ma Temple.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gordon F

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

My reason of giving this tour 3 stars is not because of the tour, but I'm not a fan of doing big tours. This tour is good for if you want to discover Macau for a short time and don't know how to use public transport there and doing it the easy way. The tour guide was friendly, helpful and informative and we did everything that was at Macau like the Venetian casino, the old church ruins, Macau tower, and the beautiful city centre with Portuguese influence. What I didn't like about the tour was the tour was too big about 50 people in a bus, it was a bit rushed and we had lunch at this hotel buffet with other tour groups. Next time I visit Macau, I will visit there without doing a tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

BURG M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This trip was boring.
After very long time spend on custom and waiting for the ferry boat, the old bus took us to any big hotel and casino where you could only make shopping in expensive brand shops. Then back to the Macau Tower where the time allowed to go up wasn't enough, so no other solution than shopping again ! Then visiting an old Temple where you could only buy encent or making shopping again in the street along. Only interesting place was the ruines of St Paul. When direction down town through the streets full of people with shopping again.
1H30 waiting time at border again !!!
We left our hotel at 7H15 in the morning to come back at 8H15 pm for 15 min interesting visit during the day.
Too expensive and 1 full day lost in our marvelous Chinese trip.
I do not recommended this Macau trip for a family with 2 children 12 and 16 .

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Nicolas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour does worth it!!!! Really interesting!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

yilmazrc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jayadevan India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide for the tour Cisco was amazing.Will recommend it

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dorothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous way to see the Island. Well planned and informative. Macau is a very interesting place to visit with its Casinos and rich heritage. Only thing that I didn't like was the tour guide asking if we would like to leave him a tip. Not sure if that is common practice or not but it is the only tour that I have ever been on when this has happened.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

KAREN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fabulous day in Macau. So much included in our itinerary, our tour guide was exceptional going that extra mile to ensure we experienced the very best Macau had to offer. So many highlights!
The lunch was delicious covering all tastes, something for everyone. Highly recommended. Thankyou Cisco Our Tour Guide for your historical knowledge, a truly memorable day.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Angus Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great day Great tour guide Mario was fantastic

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kylie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing! Cisco was very informative! We managed to see so many things in such a small amount of time! The only thing which must be disclosed about this trip is that the customs going into Macau are quite strict to travelers who aren't from westernized countries. It took us an hour to get through coming off the ferry.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

bill.leonard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fascinating city. Great tour guide, Cisco. The ferry ride over was fun and more like a plane than a boat.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Subrata D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Macau trip with our Tour Guide and Friend, Cisco, was really great. In a day, we felt, we know Macau for so long time as Cisco have given so much information. Lunch was awesome. He planned the trip beautifully.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Vishy Bahrain

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour guide CISCO was awesome. Keep it up

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kelly M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Before I start and say how great the tour guide Cisco was, I first have to speak about the issue we had getting to the tour. I received an email which stated for me to arrive at the Kowloon Hotel for pick up at 8a. I arrived at 7:45a and waited in the lobby as directed. People came and gone and no one was there for the Macau day trip. Finally at around 8:20a, I asked the concierge at the hotel if he knew anything about this trip. He called someone and they said they would call him back. I then decided to call the contact number on the sheet but the office was closed, so I called the emergency number. I said I was waiting for the tour at this hotel and no one has come. The representative said he would call me back. I was really starting to get nervous at this point as it was almost 9a at this point and I knew we had to take a ferry to Macau. The concierge called me over and gave me a phone number of this gentleman from the company and said take a cab to this hotel and the man will reimburse you. We got in a cab to said hotel and could not find the man. I called again and was told he will meet me in the lobby. After a few minutes the gentleman came and was telling us to follow him and to hurry, the ferry leaves in a few minutes. We rushed and got to the ferry entrance and got on line while he bought the tickets from a machine. He gave us the tickets and said hurry, you only have 5 minutes, gave us stickers for our shirt and reimbursed me for the cab. We gave in the ticket and were literally running through the terminal as it was another 5 minute walk to the boat. We literally were the last people on the boat. I do not understand what the mix up was or why we were told to go to Kowloon Hotel, and could not even ask the guy, because we were running to catch the boat.

Ok so now on to the tour. We boarded a ferry to Macau which took 1 hour. It was a comfortable ferry with assigned seating. We had a window seat which was nice and the ride was pleasant. We got off the ferry, proceeded to customs and met the tour guide Cisco. Cisco was amazing from start to finish. Great personality, funny, knowledgeable, spoke at least 5 languages while we were with him. He was amazing. We went to the Venetian hotel, which was beautiful. Then off to tower, which gave 360 degree views of Macau and lucky for us it was a clear day. We went the Ama temple and to a bakery for Portuguese egg tarts, which were delicious. We got samples of everything and I bought treats for my co-workers. We saw the statue of Qian Yin and were able to stop for souvenirs before heading up to the church ruins, which were amazing. We had a nice buffet lunch at a hotel with lots of different food choices. We walked through the cobble stone streets and ended at a beautiful casino and saw the changing of the guards. Cisco was outstanding! While we were on the bus he gave us in depth knowledge about the history of Macau and amusing stories. Cisco loves his job and is great at it. He kept a close eye on all of us and always made sure our departures and arrivals from each destination were punctual so that we could get the best experience at each site. It was definitely a fun filled and enjoyable day. I only gave 4 starts based on the mix up in the morning with the hotel and getting to the ferry. Cisco gets 100 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jason C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We were in a magnificent city with so much potential to learn about how a culture was developed from this uniquely developed community. The number of problems were from our tour guides pride in how much he knew about things that had nothing to do with the tour and that he had zero control over the people on the tour group.

Cisco knew plenty about Macau. He was insightful and knew the area well. He ALSO knew several languages and has been to numerous places around the world, which he managed to work in quite well. Nobody seemed to care about those things. Cisco seemed focused on telling us about what upset people about his previous tours. It became a joke to guess how mad he was going to say the people from the previous tours got at him, once telling us that some other patrons had almost hit him. It got to the point that I couldn't wait for the tour to be over.

One thing I almost felt the need to get involved in was an incident with another guide on our tour who I guess was speaking Polish. Loudly. Cisco did, as he did constantly when stressing anything, say the same thing repeatedly, which in this instance was that this was an English speaking tour. The Polish ? interpreter was loud. Extremely loud. Cisco said nothing, even though she sat in the middle of the bus with her group in their language and talked over Cisco. When we were on a walk, one patron asked her to speak more softly so he could hear Cisco. She said something rude and then kept speaking over Cisco. Cisco said nothing. Once we got back on the bus, the Polish interpreter aggressively confronted the Australian gentleman, who was an elderly man, standing over him and being unsettlingly loud and rude to the man. The Aussie tried to get out of the conversation, but she persisted for a couple of minutes. Cisco said nothing. She continued to be loud with her group.

I'm running out of room, but I'd say if you get a guide named Cisco, RUN. He ruined something I was immensely excited about.

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

Krysta

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Not highly recommended.. our tour guide was Mario. He knows a lot and really wait for people but he and #39;s always on the rush! He wants people to listen to him... we went to the observatory tower, he talks a lot then we came down after his talks... left only 2 mins to take pictures. Egg tarts not good also

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

tonylokeyf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hi Viator,
i and my wife just back home Singapore . We like to thank you for the wonderful tour in Macau. We was pick up from our hotel Metropark Mongkok at 7.30am and went to pick some other tourist from the other hotel. We will given the ferry ticket and brief by the tour guide in HK. That was an hour ferry journey to Macau. Once we are there, we are met by Mario Portuguese tour guide whom had be resided in MACAU for many years. He is very careful man that ensure he got all the members of the tour present before he move off for our day tour. He is obviously well known the past history of Macau. Macau is a beautiful and modern city with a lot of casino, shopping mall. We went to the sky tower and lucky for us in time to witness a bungee jump by some brave guy. We went up the tower to had a better view round Macau and listening to all the history how Macau is developed from the past, now and future. After we went to A-MA temple which is there Macau for so many years protecting the village peoples in past whom are fisherman. We got some local goodies of Macau before we went for our lunch at METROPARK Macau hotel. All the food is nice and after then we leave for the Ruins of ST. PAUL. It a trade mark of Macau which only a part left of a church during the war time. We are lucky again as we are there during our chinese lantern festival where you can see a lot of lantern hanging around everywhere. Last stop before we embark for our ferry back to HK is the Casino own by the famous Kungfu star JACKY CHEN which you can see 88pcs of 1kg 999 solid gold with diamonds mounting on the floor of the lobby Casino. Everyone of us is very happy and we had more understanding of Macau and is all thank to MARIO OUR GUIDE I really feel Viator should give Mario a good credit for the cares and services he is provide to us. It really awesome and I sure be back looking for him as my Macau tour guide again. Also recommending Viator to all my friend whom is coming to Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message