Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

A-Ma Temple (Ma Kok Miu)

In a testament to the A-Ma Temple, it’s believed by many historians that the peninsula of Macau is in fact named after this very spot. An exquisite Taoist complex dating to 1488, the temple is dedicated to A-Ma, a Taoist Goddess of seafaring and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 740 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan Larsen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an excellent and well-organized day trip. If you are looking for a gambling trip, this is not for you. It is a cultural trip. The guide was excellent. The food was plentiful although it comes a bit later so you might want to bring a snack. Macua has a most interesting history so we really enjoyed learning about this diverse country.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sung I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great guide.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Samrat M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip was very interesting and knowledgable

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Bernie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a good day, it could start about 1 hour early it a big day with lots of traffic

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This day trip was simply outstanding! If you want to escape the chaotic nature of Hong Kong for a day, then do this tour! Built by the Portuguese Empire and an hour from Hongkers by boat, Macau is a blend of Europe and Vegas, Portuguese and Cantonese, East and West, tradition and casinos, new and old. This tour highlights everything Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Liliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing day. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about Macau and it's history, as well as mainland China and it's relation to Macau. We didn't know anything about Macau, so for us it was great. If you're looking to gamble, which we were not, you won't have much time to do so. The Egg Tarts were fabulous, the façade of the cathedral breathtaking. Just enough walking and bus combined.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Caroline Y

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide, Cisco, I felt was super engaging and my group of fellow tourists were awesome. Enjoyed the tour for most part, except I would have preferred to have a little more time to shop not just 15 minutes for souvenirs at tacky 'dollar' store-like mom and pop shops but say, about an hour or 2 at a decent downtown mall? Also, I hate to complain, but I did not think the lunch was that great 4 star hotel, really?? coffee at lunch was lukewarm and so was the soup. Lol can't believe they charged me 28 HKD for a can of diet coke. However in general I thought everything else was quite good, I felt safe, got lots of gorgeous pics :

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gokul N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really happy to be part of this tour with different nationalities. Kudos to the guide Cisco :

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Bob and Margaret Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

A pleasant day, with ferry trip and bus tour around Macau. Spoilt by guides desire to take you to his favourite souvenir and pastry shops. Would have enjoyed seeing/hearing more of the history rather than that.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kyle M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Went on four tours while in Hong Kong and this one was easily the worst. The day starts with being picked up at the hotel and taken to the ferry terminal. The person picking us up and dropping us off was awesome and may be the only reason we gave this 2 stars instead of 1. After going through customs you get on a ferry and take the hour trip to Macau. Once you get there everything is pretty much set in place, you go to a location and you have a set amount of time at each location. The problem is, you have way too much time at some locations ie. an hour at a small temple and cake shop and very little in others 20 minutes at a Casino. Macau history in itself isn't too plentiful and stretching out an entire day focusing on that while avoiding casinos does not make for an interesting trip. The Icing on the cake is the buffet. Having been to Las Vegas many times I was exciting because I know how good the food can be, However, the tour bus actually drives away from the nice casinos and you end up at a dumpy hotel with really bad Chinese and Portuguese food. I could not find on person on the trip that actually enjoyed the cuisine, I would have MUCH rather paid for a better meal. I didn't have time for breakfast so I was starving and still couldn't force myself to eat the food. We were really considering ditching the group and paying for a taxi and ferry ticket back to the mainland, but in the end stayed and had what felt like was a wasted day of vacation. Would not recommend.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Alice K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

This did not leave me feeling I had seen the best of Macau. I could have done without the long wait at the bakery where we were expected to buy things, and being left to fend for ourselves in the old town instead of showing us the sites was not good.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

puvanes n

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

the worst Macau trip we ever had!!!!!! waste of money!!!!!! you dont even deserve 1 star!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lukas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I was picked up on time from the departure point and taken to Macau. Customs was a breeze and they didn't even mind that I was actually going to stay in Macau and brought luggage on board. The boat trip over to Macau is beautiful with the rolling green hills! The tour guide was great and did a great job explaining the history and cultural aspects of Macau and how the Chinese and Portuguese cultures mixed and produced the unique culture of Macau. Although he gave people the option of just going to the casino for gambling, all people went with him for the history and culture he imparted to us. That shows what a great tour guide he was. Lunch was a great buffet of Macau specialties and we made a snack stop for some amazing egg tarts! He even called a taxi for me to get to my hotel after my tour! Overall, a great time in Macau!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

millercathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A breath of fresh air after the bustle of Hong Kong. Guide Mario was superb.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jhinkybong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What can I sayMarios fantastic and one of the best tour guide in town. We are so lucky to have him that day.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

sabin.carpiuc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great day in Macau. Our guide, Mario, was fantastic. He told us a lot of stories and gave us valuable advice. In Hong Kong somebody took us to the ferry terminal. Then Mario greeted us at Macau ferry terminal. We had the opportunity to see Venetian Macau, we saw Macau from Macau Tower and we saw the Portuguese legacy. Also, we enjoyed a very good buffet-style lunch. All in all it is a recommended tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Julian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent opportunity for a day trip from Hong Kong to Macau. The tour guide Mario was simply excellent. Just wish we had stayed overnight

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Peter P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fitted just about everything in in 1 day, perfect. The guides idea of walking through the old town rather than spending time at a casino was well worth it. Would recommend.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jacqueline H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Mario was our guide and was full of information about Macau. Perhaps it was a little too much information and his shtick about being Portugese got a little tiring. Since we knew nothing about Macau, though, it is a trip worth doing.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jitu P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very entertaining and knowledgeable guide called Carlos. Enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Elizabeth D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a fabulous fast paced trip around the sights of Macau.Cisco the tour guide was nothing short of legendary, his humour and knowledge made the trip so much fun. I was a solo traveller but made friends by the end of the day. Absolutely loved it

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Stacey H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful time learning about Macau. Pick up from hotel could have gone smoother but it was a wonderful day spent. Tour guide was AWESOME.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

John S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

There just doesn't seem to be that much in Macau. Not sure I would recommend this tour. Not that it was bad. The guide was very funny, knowledgeable and interesting. It was just the lack of material. Lunch was also just marginal to good.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Govindah

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

the tour guide was boasting too much about his Portuguese background and made us shop to buy souvenirs at the place which was convenient to him. Not to recommend to other tourists.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message