Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

Historic Centre of Macau

Recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage site in 2005, the Historic Centre of Macau comprises a zone of culturally significant buildings scattered in the southwestern corner of the Macau peninsula. Easily enjoyed as a half-day or full-day walking tour, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 763 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alcibiades R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was amazing!!! Macau is very cute little town. There are a lot of places to see beside gambling!! Our guide name Cisco was very funny and engaging! 100% recomended!!! Will totally go back.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

NSaari United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Mario was an excellent guide. He was informative and funny.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Marco R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very nice tour. The guide was very professional and talk lot about the history I recommend this tour. Macau beside the casino's also has a very charming old center . Glad that I went.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

William I B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

After hearing various negative remarks about Macau and not to waste our time, we decided to judge for ourselves! Well, what a revelation! We had the most terrific guide named Mario. A Portuguese man who has lived there for 33years. His knowledge of the history of Macau was so interesting. Yes, he took us past great big casinos and took us to The Venetian, not to gamble but to look at the amazing interior. He took us to the old part of the city and took us down interesting, uncrowded streets. The ruin of St. Paul's was explained in wonderful detail. Who knew Macau had such a rich history. Go and enjoy this highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Tonee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful tour ! Had a great tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and really enjoyed discussing the history of Macau. Has been a tour guide for 34 years in Macau. Also took us to out of the way places. Had a very good lunch.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A well worthwhile tour combining history with a look into a casino. The tour guide was really good giving interesting details about Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Marjorie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We really enjoyed this day trip to Macau. Hong Kong and Macau have different histories---so nice contrasts between the two cities. Good tour guide who had lived in Macau for nearly 40 years and was originally from Portugal. All details were well worked out!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jimmy Y

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

no comments

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

mr.hozo

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

A good day trip, the guide was funny and informative, walking around the old town was excellent, only draw back is not stopping for photo ops for some of the famous casinos.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Pinatkinson

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We both had a wonderful time. The ferry got in early so we're able to see the hotel that had Venice in it which was great although we didn't have a long time there were told this wasn't really on the itinerary but well worth seeing. The tower was good to go up and going around was good seeing the hotels and the shops but unable to spend time in them. A lot of photo shoots and the guide was very informative. I was disappointed in the lunch not as good as expected not too appertising for mine or my great nieces palate. Hotel with gold ingots a real eye opener and the casinos worth seeing. Well worth going on but an over night stay would be good to take more in!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Emelie J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

A good day trip if you want to see some sights in Macau but are not that interested in the casinos. The guide was really friendly and had a lot of interesting facts about everything we saw. The dinner was pretty bad so I would recommend bringing snacks, or buying some at an early stop.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Judy R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This was a really good day with Cisco. He was organised and great company. He was informative and helpful with photography which was a surprising extra and made sure people were on time which I really appreciated. So often a tour can be spoilt repeatedly by one or two who consistently are late at each stop. Cisco knows his stuff! I was not in a pickup hotel which was very difficult and a bad start to my day. I was asked to be early and then the bus was late so I really wasn't thinking the day would go well. After I got ton the bus it was another hour of pickups so it would have been much more efficient for me to have gone straight to the Macau ferry and had another hour or twos sleep. But the day proved interesting and I really enjoyed the best custard tarts!!!!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jamie T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Macau is a beautiful and interesting place full of history. I enjoyed traveling around and seeing different parts of the city. Overall, the tour was pretty pleasant but we had a number of issues as well. First of all, the listing had said to meet at the Taipa Temporary Ferry Terminal the morning of our tour. After waiting for a half an hour, we called Viator and were told the location of the meeting point had been changed to the Macau Ferry Terminal. Neither of us had been given any indication that this would be happening. If we had not called to check, we would have missed the tour. Once we got to the terminal and on the tour bus it was more enjoyable. But there were some problems with the audio in the tour bus and it was difficult to hear our tour guide Mario. Mario had some good stories and knew a lot of the history of Macau.I enjoyed hearing the perspective 6f a Portuguese person who had lived there for thirty three years. Mario had a good level of energy and was comical at times, but overall he was my biggest problem with the tour. I found the majority of his behavior to be offensive at times. He was very rude to other travelers or tourists and repeatedly made his negative opinions of Chinese people heard. This made me extremely uncomfortable and angry during the tour. I spoke with other group members who shared the same sentiment about Mario and his behavior. Overall this tour visited some nice places, lunch was good, and the city is beautiful. If it weren't for the inappropriate actions of our tour guide, it would have been a much more enjoyable experience. My friend and I visited some of the same places later on in our trip on our own and had a very pleasant time.

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

Anthony G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Our guide was so obsessed with the casino's and the life and times of Mr Ho that the cultural aspects took a back seat. We were very disappointed.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Donald W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The tour was rather fast paced...not a lot of time to explore anything on our own. Had to pay extra for observatory but didn't get our money's worth as guide rushed us through. Our Portugese guide was biased and negative towards Chinese...it really tainted the tour and feel of Macau for us

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Susan Larsen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an excellent and well-organized day trip. If you are looking for a gambling trip, this is not for you. It is a cultural trip. The guide was excellent. The food was plentiful although it comes a bit later so you might want to bring a snack. Macua has a most interesting history so we really enjoyed learning about this diverse country.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sung I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great guide.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Samrat M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip was very interesting and knowledgable

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Bernie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a good day, it could start about 1 hour early it a big day with lots of traffic

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This day trip was simply outstanding! If you want to escape the chaotic nature of Hong Kong for a day, then do this tour! Built by the Portuguese Empire and an hour from Hongkers by boat, Macau is a blend of Europe and Vegas, Portuguese and Cantonese, East and West, tradition and casinos, new and old. This tour highlights everything Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Liliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing day. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about Macau and it's history, as well as mainland China and it's relation to Macau. We didn't know anything about Macau, so for us it was great. If you're looking to gamble, which we were not, you won't have much time to do so. The Egg Tarts were fabulous, the façade of the cathedral breathtaking. Just enough walking and bus combined.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

george b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful day the tour was very informative the contrace between old city and new casinos was truly remarkable.observation deck was awesome watching the bungee jumper was unbelievable views where fantastic! The temple for the sailors was beautiful! The lunch was very good great variety very tasty! One of the last stops was to the church ruins pretty amazing large crowds though! Than a walk trough the old part of city wonderful history again very busy with lots tourists.back to bus to take jet boat back to Hong Kong long ride very comfortable though the tour guide we had was one of the best we have ever had on tour truly remarkable man his name was Mario if you happen to get him you will not forget the experience!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Wai L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a fantastic trip.
Mario our guide was amazing wealth of knowledge.look after us very well.
Highly recommended
A must if you want to visit Macao.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We went on a day trip to Macau 2 weeks ago and we enjoyed it so much, we are still talking about it! Cisco our guide was brilliant very informative and entertaining. The day was well planned with a fairly strict timetable to fit it all in. From the bus we saw many landmarks and started with a visit to a Casino, followed by the Macau tower, Temple of A-MA, Ruins of St Paul's Roman Church, historic walk through old Macau and finally a visit to the Jackie Chan casino which included a display of the changing of the guards. Lunch was a very good buffet in a 4 star hotel. It was a fantastic day, we particularly enjoyed the historic walk. The transport from Hong Kong was by Jetfoil which was fast and comfortable. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

lorrainete4 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mario, our guide was very knowledgeable and made sure we did not waste time. The pickup and return to our hotel was on time and effortless. We had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message