Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

Historic Centre of Macau

Recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage site in 2005, the Historic Centre of Macau comprises a zone of culturally significant buildings scattered in the southwestern corner of the Macau peninsula. Easily enjoyed as a half-day or full-day walking tour, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 689 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tonylokeyf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hi Viator,
i and my wife just back home Singapore . We like to thank you for the wonderful tour in Macau. We was pick up from our hotel Metropark Mongkok at 7.30am and went to pick some other tourist from the other hotel. We will given the ferry ticket and brief by the tour guide in HK. That was an hour ferry journey to Macau. Once we are there, we are met by Mario Portuguese tour guide whom had be resided in MACAU for many years. He is very careful man that ensure he got all the members of the tour present before he move off for our day tour. He is obviously well known the past history of Macau. Macau is a beautiful and modern city with a lot of casino, shopping mall. We went to the sky tower and lucky for us in time to witness a bungee jump by some brave guy. We went up the tower to had a better view round Macau and listening to all the history how Macau is developed from the past, now and future. After we went to A-MA temple which is there Macau for so many years protecting the village peoples in past whom are fisherman. We got some local goodies of Macau before we went for our lunch at METROPARK Macau hotel. All the food is nice and after then we leave for the Ruins of ST. PAUL. It a trade mark of Macau which only a part left of a church during the war time. We are lucky again as we are there during our chinese lantern festival where you can see a lot of lantern hanging around everywhere. Last stop before we embark for our ferry back to HK is the Casino own by the famous Kungfu star JACKY CHEN which you can see 88pcs of 1kg 999 solid gold with diamonds mounting on the floor of the lobby Casino. Everyone of us is very happy and we had more understanding of Macau and is all thank to MARIO OUR GUIDE I really feel Viator should give Mario a good credit for the cares and services he is provide to us. It really awesome and I sure be back looking for him as my Macau tour guide again. Also recommending Viator to all my friend whom is coming to Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fabulous guide for our Macau day trip. Cisco was very knowledgable and entertaining on our tour. He made our day superb. We visited alot of great places on this tour and really got to see the sites of Macau. It is more that casinos. There is no time to gamble at the casinos, so if that is what you want to do, this tour is not for you. We saw the historic areas of town and St Pauls as well as the Macau Tower. A great trip to see the area.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Janece G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great trip. Cisco our guide was a funny guy and very knowledgable. The visit to the Venetian was an added extra and well worth the visit. Everything ran on time from the minute we were picked up at our hotel to the return. A lovely day and I would highly recommend this.
Janece from the Gold Coast, Australia.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Paul B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We were pleased to have invested the time for this day trip on our short 4 days visit to Hong Kong. Our guide in Macau was very proud of his Portuguese heritage so times too much we thought, and gave us a good look at both the historical and culturally interesting old Macau, as well as the modern, Casino-driven modern areas. Our one criticism was the logistics involved in the pickup and drop-off. we were collected at 07:30 from our Hotel in HK and after being dropped at a hotel to wait for another coach, being driven around Kowloon to various hotels, we arrived at the ferry terminal for the 09:30 crossing which was very comfortable. Whilst we appreciate that the tour company cannot do anything to avoid or by-pass the immigration queues, we felt that 4 hours was a long time to get going we finally got underway in Macau at 11:30, and that perhaps you should consider an option to meet at the Ferry terminal at a given time. That said, the criticism is intended to be constructive as we really enjoyed seeing and learning about Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Chandra C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

excellent information given at the tour sights

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

ELLIS P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mario was an exceptional and well learned guide. He gave us insights that we would never have had doing this tour by ourselves. He was patient and guided us in a most professional manner. He worked the tour to the exigencies of the passengers. When he asked if anyone was interested in going into the casino and received negative replies he took that for a ne and instead showed other more interesting sights. The tour was smooth and everything when as planned. Even when the tkour was cut short by a typhoon alert in Hong Kong he managed to get all of us on an earlier boat with any additional cost. I recommend Mario and the tour to all those going to Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Myonee Conchita M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The guide in Macau Cisco was perfect and smart. He was multilinguist which was very impressive. He gave us great details and was very prompt with what we needed. The guie in HK too was attentive.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Livia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aranda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sisco was great and made the day very enjoyable. Plenty of time to see all Macau has to offer and the relevance of the architecture and culture.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aranda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sisco was great and made the day very enjoyable. Plenty of time to see all Macau has to offer and the relevance of the architecture and culture.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Carlos A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Macau tour was the perfect day trip from Hong Kong. I was looking forward to seeing the Portuguese 400 years of influence in this part of the world and maybe speak some Portuguese as well. To my surprise, we were greeted by Mario, a Portuguese guide living in Macau for a long time spoke in perfect English and Portuguese. He made the tour very interesting and entertaining as he had a great sense of humor and was obviously well known throughout Macau. We hit all the highlights of Macau and the day went by in a flash. From watching people bungee jump off a 300 meter tower to the ruins of St Paul, it made for a memorable trip. Being able to capture a brief glimpse of what Macau was in its heyday when it was the only connection of China with Europe was exactly what I wanted to see. It is changing so much that in a few more years, the old Macau will probably be history and it will be nothing but a bigger version of Las Vegas. Muito Obrigado Mario!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Ranjit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you are interested in knowing about Macau as a town and its evolution, alongwith seeing some of the key locations, then this is the right tour for you. I enjoyed it, as the trip was quite well planned, things happened on time, and we had a great guide, Cisco, who kept us entertained and informed throughout the trip. Most people who go to Macau end up walking into the casinos and not much else, but with this tour, you can get acquainted with the history and culture of Macau, and also understand its existence in context of China.

Definitely worth spending a day on this tour, and you can always stay back for all the other stuff on your own.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sky Tan Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

its a very nice interesting trip and we are able to get some nice snacks without squeezing in the hot outlet with lots of people. Well some we like the egg tarts a lot and since the is limited so we only buy a bit and let the others have the chance to buy and try it.
Over all its good and safe trip will recommend to those who are finding tour trip. keep up the good job :

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Angeline K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

Cathy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was outstanding. We got to see and do everything on the tour. Learned a lot of history. Cant wait to come back again.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

j24sant

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent guide Mario who has a wealth of knowledge of the history of Macau and a definite love for the Macau Peninsular.....

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Stephen Y

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Out tour in Macau was excellent, our tour guide was very informative and know the city very well.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

There's nothing wrong with the tour, there's just not much to do or see in Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Saad B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was well worth it. We visited the Venetian, Macau Tower, A-ma Temple, had lunch and visited the old city, St. Paul's ruins, shopping outlet and Great Emperor Hotel.
Tour guide Cisco was very good. Lunch was average and could have been better served in a traditional local restaurant than the hotel

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Oded D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Organize well and the guide was great

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Micky

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

TOUR CONTENT COULD HAVE BEEN GREAT BUT OUR TOUR GUIDE WAS TOTALLY UNINTERESTED IN OUR SCHEDULE - SPENT TOO LONG IN THE CASINO DOING NOTHING - TOO LONG IN GIFT SHOP RUN BY FREIND - TOO LONG IN YET ANOTHER CASINO AND TOO LONG IN CAKE SHOP, WOULD HAVE BEEN GREAT TO SEE THE SIGHTS OF MACAU SPENT LESS THAN 1/3RD OF OUR TIME LOOKING AT THE MONUMENTS - SHOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO GO UP THE TOWER BUT NO TIME SPENT ONLY 5 MINUTES AT THE TEMPLE 25 MINUTES IN THE CAKE SHOP VERY VERY DISSAPOINTED

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Nori

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Honestly, our tour guide, Cisco, did a lot of talking, sometimes nonsense, he brags about this about that. He keeps on talking on history, culture,etc...unfortunately these were not covered by the tour. Our first stop was to show off the Venetian..then brought us to this place near the Macau Tower and starts pinpointing the house of Stanley Ho, and the church etc... then proceeded to Macau Tower. Proceeded to lunch which is lousy, which he was bragging its a 4 star hotel and the food was good we ate better authentic Portuguese and Macanese food in our previous trip to Macau. Then the start of the historical walking tour which I was even telling my companions that this is the highlight of the tour, its terrible! After doing a short introduction of the St Paul Ruins, he brought us to the Cathedral but only stayed for 5 mins in the Holy ground he claims, he didnt even give us a chance to peep into the Cathedral, rush rush rush to go into the Senado Square, it was only the St. Domingo Church that he showed the edifice and again not the inside coz he was rushing us to reach the Grand Emperor Hotel of Jackie ChanI dont see anything so great about this gold bars displayed on the floor, etc....the changing of guards...Oh yes, the Ama Temple, he brought us there, why? to buy the products of Koi Kei Bakery...what I noticed with this tour is that he pushes spots that you buy souvenirs, the casino and the export over runs...I t was a disgusting Macau Day Trip...I will not recommend this to friends

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

MARIA F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nuestro guía Cisco fue muy bueno. Excelente guía y excelente tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jesus S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, our guide MARIO was fantastic. He knew so much about Macao and its history. The ruins of Saint Paul are excellent, place for pictures.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message