Built by the Jesuits to repel an attack from the sea, the Monte Fort (Fortaleza de Monte) is the oldest military fortification in the peninsula of Macau. With construction beginning in 1617 the Monte Fort was also seen as a measure of defense for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katherine S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed our visit to Macau but struck a holiday weekend and the place was crowded. the old areas were interesting and we looked at the ENTRANCE FOYER OF ONE OF THE CASINOS. A different view of China and its attraction for Gamblers..

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Iain H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed the tour. Hotel pickup made life easy - sometimes better to let someone else sweat the details. Patrick, the tour guide, was excellent and made the tour entertaining. If you have a day to spare and would like to see Macau this is a good way to do it.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

fine k

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

it was nice one day trip

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Robert F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

There was a lot packed into the time. Everything was really well coordinated and kept to schedule. Pick up and drop off times were right on, and the action was non-stop - lots of fun and educational.

I'd highly recommend this tour.

However, be prepared, you will be dropped off for 20 minutes in a souvenir shop, and not allowed to leave even to go to a shop next door. This was irritating I hate shopping, but I know other folks enjoy it, but the rest of the tour more than made up for it. All of the important sites were visited, and the tour guide was very entertaining and knowledgeable. There was an hour and a half allocated to a casino at the end of the tour, but it was essentially free time, and other options were presented such as going downtown, or to factory outlets, or visiting other interesting sites within walking distance on your own if you didn't want to hit the casino.

Be sure you have access to email during your visit because you will be instructed as to what time the bus will meet you that way. They also sent a fax to the hotel the night before with that info, and also called the room. Lots of communication.

Great tour overall.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Judith Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Probably the only way to see Macau in a day but didn't get a buzz out of the day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Ruel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an excellent way to see Macau for first timers. Met by a tour rep at an agreed upon hotel lobby would have preferred to be picked up at the hotel where we were staying but I understand that it was far from the central business district. Rep made sure we got on the ferry in Hong Kong and we were met by the rest of the group at the Macau ferry station. Our guide Patrick spoke very good English as well as a few other languages. He made the tour very interesting and informative and was quite funny. I was very content with the places that we saw in addition to the 1.5 hours of free time given to us to explore downtown Macau in the afternoon. The lunch buffet was excellent. Patrick made sure that we got back to the ferry station in time to catch our one hour ride back to Hong Kong. Since we were already familiar with central Hong Kong, we opted not to be met by a tour represented. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Joan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was enthusiastic and ensured that we all enjoyed our tour of Macau.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

JAMMY1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was absolutely awesome, highly recommend this trip to others

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

N J C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very enjoyable tour with an engaging guide who was excellent throughout.

Would recommend this tour for anyone who wants a one day visit to Macau

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

James B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great day which gave me an insight in a country that I didn't know much about
Very very busy place

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Jodie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was very organised and informative! Highly recommended if you are in Hong Kong and want to visit Macau just for the day. Patrick was hilarious and was the highlight of our trip to Macau. He made sure everyone stayed together and ensured we knew what time and places to meet up.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

buenasdiasfromchilan ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was excellent providing extensive knowledge of history of area.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Rosemin P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

it was a smooth but rushed trip
thanks to the guides Frederick and Patrick, the family enjoyed the day trip
already planning to visit again longer this time

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Deborah A Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The boat ride was great though some family members on our tour were seated well apart. The tour itself was ok. We spent more time being taken to I and #39;d say relatives souvenir and biscuit shops plus a waste of time factory outlet. Do the trip yourselfis my opinion, it and #39;d be easy and save you money.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

adi United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mr. Patrick was excellent. Planning was efficient as expected from viator. The turbojet trip and immigration from Hong Kong was well planned. The bus in Macau and the stops were just right.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

AKEZHAN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Micke

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A little country with many casinos. Lack of souvenirs and shopping, except cookies and snack, lunch food was average, nothing special. The bus tour and the guide were good enough. Thanks

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Micke

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A little country with many casinos. Lack of souvenirs and shopping, except cookies and snack, lunch food was average, nothing special. The bus tour and the guide were good enough. Thanks

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Micke

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A little country with many casinos. Lack of souvenirs and shopping, except cookies and snack, lunch food was average, nothing special. The bus tour and the guide were good enough. Thanks

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Micke

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A little country with many casinos. Lack of souvenirs and shopping, except cookies and snack, lunch food was average, nothing special. The bus tour and the guide were good enough. Thanks

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Justine R O

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We were picked-up early, that was great. Our tour guide in Macau was awesome and very helpful. We were told we would be back by 6. We did make it back to the dock by 6 but on Hong Kong Island not Kowloon where we left from. So we had to wind through traffic to make it to our hotel. We didn't finish until between 7 and 7:30 - not what I was expecting especially with a 4 year old, who had I had to pay full price for.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

ysivapat

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Guide company changed initial location the night before the tour. I got to Macau and was not greeted by anyone and ended up waiting at a counter with someone who did not speak english and passed me on to someone else who also did not speak english--finally got to the english-speaking guide who was nice enough, but has clearly done this tour many times because she kept repeating herself when educating us about macau. the lunch was disappointing and the tour overall was lacklustre.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Edward H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour commentary should of focussed more on the history of Macau, a brief itinerary explaining the points of interest of where we stopped would of been beneficial to us. we were not keen to go to the casino however we went to the Venetian Casino, which was amazing. Needed more time to wander.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Alycia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing tour. Guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable. Able to keep everyone entertained. Lunch exceeded my expectations.

Doing what: Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message