Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

Ruins of the Church of St. Paul

One of the most recognizable, dramatic, and popular icons of the city of Macau are the Ruins of St Paul's Cathedral. Originally constructed in 1580 by Jesuit priests, the church was twice ravaged by fire in 1595 and 1601. Not to be deterred by the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 690 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Chandra C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

excellent information given at the tour sights

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

ELLIS P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mario was an exceptional and well learned guide. He gave us insights that we would never have had doing this tour by ourselves. He was patient and guided us in a most professional manner. He worked the tour to the exigencies of the passengers. When he asked if anyone was interested in going into the casino and received negative replies he took that for a ne and instead showed other more interesting sights. The tour was smooth and everything when as planned. Even when the tkour was cut short by a typhoon alert in Hong Kong he managed to get all of us on an earlier boat with any additional cost. I recommend Mario and the tour to all those going to Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Myonee Conchita M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The guide in Macau Cisco was perfect and smart. He was multilinguist which was very impressive. He gave us great details and was very prompt with what we needed. The guie in HK too was attentive.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Livia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aranda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sisco was great and made the day very enjoyable. Plenty of time to see all Macau has to offer and the relevance of the architecture and culture.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Aranda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sisco was great and made the day very enjoyable. Plenty of time to see all Macau has to offer and the relevance of the architecture and culture.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Carlos A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Macau tour was the perfect day trip from Hong Kong. I was looking forward to seeing the Portuguese 400 years of influence in this part of the world and maybe speak some Portuguese as well. To my surprise, we were greeted by Mario, a Portuguese guide living in Macau for a long time spoke in perfect English and Portuguese. He made the tour very interesting and entertaining as he had a great sense of humor and was obviously well known throughout Macau. We hit all the highlights of Macau and the day went by in a flash. From watching people bungee jump off a 300 meter tower to the ruins of St Paul, it made for a memorable trip. Being able to capture a brief glimpse of what Macau was in its heyday when it was the only connection of China with Europe was exactly what I wanted to see. It is changing so much that in a few more years, the old Macau will probably be history and it will be nothing but a bigger version of Las Vegas. Muito Obrigado Mario!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Ranjit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you are interested in knowing about Macau as a town and its evolution, alongwith seeing some of the key locations, then this is the right tour for you. I enjoyed it, as the trip was quite well planned, things happened on time, and we had a great guide, Cisco, who kept us entertained and informed throughout the trip. Most people who go to Macau end up walking into the casinos and not much else, but with this tour, you can get acquainted with the history and culture of Macau, and also understand its existence in context of China.

Definitely worth spending a day on this tour, and you can always stay back for all the other stuff on your own.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sky Tan Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

its a very nice interesting trip and we are able to get some nice snacks without squeezing in the hot outlet with lots of people. Well some we like the egg tarts a lot and since the is limited so we only buy a bit and let the others have the chance to buy and try it.
Over all its good and safe trip will recommend to those who are finding tour trip. keep up the good job :

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Angeline K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

Cathy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was outstanding. We got to see and do everything on the tour. Learned a lot of history. Cant wait to come back again.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

j24sant

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent guide Mario who has a wealth of knowledge of the history of Macau and a definite love for the Macau Peninsular.....

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Stephen Y

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Out tour in Macau was excellent, our tour guide was very informative and know the city very well.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

There's nothing wrong with the tour, there's just not much to do or see in Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Saad B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was well worth it. We visited the Venetian, Macau Tower, A-ma Temple, had lunch and visited the old city, St. Paul's ruins, shopping outlet and Great Emperor Hotel.
Tour guide Cisco was very good. Lunch was average and could have been better served in a traditional local restaurant than the hotel

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Oded D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Organize well and the guide was great

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Micky

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

TOUR CONTENT COULD HAVE BEEN GREAT BUT OUR TOUR GUIDE WAS TOTALLY UNINTERESTED IN OUR SCHEDULE - SPENT TOO LONG IN THE CASINO DOING NOTHING - TOO LONG IN GIFT SHOP RUN BY FREIND - TOO LONG IN YET ANOTHER CASINO AND TOO LONG IN CAKE SHOP, WOULD HAVE BEEN GREAT TO SEE THE SIGHTS OF MACAU SPENT LESS THAN 1/3RD OF OUR TIME LOOKING AT THE MONUMENTS - SHOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO GO UP THE TOWER BUT NO TIME SPENT ONLY 5 MINUTES AT THE TEMPLE 25 MINUTES IN THE CAKE SHOP VERY VERY DISSAPOINTED

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Nori

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Honestly, our tour guide, Cisco, did a lot of talking, sometimes nonsense, he brags about this about that. He keeps on talking on history, culture,etc...unfortunately these were not covered by the tour. Our first stop was to show off the Venetian..then brought us to this place near the Macau Tower and starts pinpointing the house of Stanley Ho, and the church etc... then proceeded to Macau Tower. Proceeded to lunch which is lousy, which he was bragging its a 4 star hotel and the food was good we ate better authentic Portuguese and Macanese food in our previous trip to Macau. Then the start of the historical walking tour which I was even telling my companions that this is the highlight of the tour, its terrible! After doing a short introduction of the St Paul Ruins, he brought us to the Cathedral but only stayed for 5 mins in the Holy ground he claims, he didnt even give us a chance to peep into the Cathedral, rush rush rush to go into the Senado Square, it was only the St. Domingo Church that he showed the edifice and again not the inside coz he was rushing us to reach the Grand Emperor Hotel of Jackie ChanI dont see anything so great about this gold bars displayed on the floor, etc....the changing of guards...Oh yes, the Ama Temple, he brought us there, why? to buy the products of Koi Kei Bakery...what I noticed with this tour is that he pushes spots that you buy souvenirs, the casino and the export over runs...I t was a disgusting Macau Day Trip...I will not recommend this to friends

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

MARIA F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nuestro guía Cisco fue muy bueno. Excelente guía y excelente tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jesus S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, our guide MARIO was fantastic. He knew so much about Macao and its history. The ruins of Saint Paul are excellent, place for pictures.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michelle L C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The whole day was great! The guide, Mario, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. He was so good he even organised for us to be viewing the Macau Tower when someone bungee jumped off it! Haha! The visit to the Venetian Casino and the Grand Canals of Shoppes was something to remember. It was a great day out from start to finish.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! our guide Cisco was so engaging and charismatic. we really got to see the amazing sites of Macau with him. He kept the tour moving and the fact that he can speak all these languages made it super entertaining. The tour was great but I would recommend that instead of a lunch at a hotel, that a more authentic experience can be had. I would have liked to have lunch a little more locally then a buffet lunch at a hotel. that would be my one change.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Mychal United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The long day is worth it on this day tour from HK to Macau. Miguel our tour guide was excellent, funny and kept the tour moving along all day. Would have like to spend more time in the old town portion of Macau vs seeing the casino, but all in all I highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a quick overview of the area. I'm looking forward to returning and exploring more of this interesting city on my own.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Carolyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great Saw much more than expected. Well organised and the guide was terrific

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message