Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

Ruins of the Church of St. Paul

One of the most recognizable, dramatic, and popular icons of the city of Macau are the Ruins of St Paul's Cathedral. Originally constructed in 1580 by Jesuit priests, the church was twice ravaged by fire in 1595 and 1601. Not to be deterred by the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 751 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan Larsen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an excellent and well-organized day trip. If you are looking for a gambling trip, this is not for you. It is a cultural trip. The guide was excellent. The food was plentiful although it comes a bit later so you might want to bring a snack. Macua has a most interesting history so we really enjoyed learning about this diverse country.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sung I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great guide.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Samrat M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip was very interesting and knowledgable

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Bernie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a good day, it could start about 1 hour early it a big day with lots of traffic

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This day trip was simply outstanding! If you want to escape the chaotic nature of Hong Kong for a day, then do this tour! Built by the Portuguese Empire and an hour from Hongkers by boat, Macau is a blend of Europe and Vegas, Portuguese and Cantonese, East and West, tradition and casinos, new and old. This tour highlights everything Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Liliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing day. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about Macau and it's history, as well as mainland China and it's relation to Macau. We didn't know anything about Macau, so for us it was great. If you're looking to gamble, which we were not, you won't have much time to do so. The Egg Tarts were fabulous, the façade of the cathedral breathtaking. Just enough walking and bus combined.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

george b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful day the tour was very informative the contrace between old city and new casinos was truly remarkable.observation deck was awesome watching the bungee jumper was unbelievable views where fantastic! The temple for the sailors was beautiful! The lunch was very good great variety very tasty! One of the last stops was to the church ruins pretty amazing large crowds though! Than a walk trough the old part of city wonderful history again very busy with lots tourists.back to bus to take jet boat back to Hong Kong long ride very comfortable though the tour guide we had was one of the best we have ever had on tour truly remarkable man his name was Mario if you happen to get him you will not forget the experience!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Wai L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a fantastic trip.
Mario our guide was amazing wealth of knowledge.look after us very well.
Highly recommended
A must if you want to visit Macao.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We went on a day trip to Macau 2 weeks ago and we enjoyed it so much, we are still talking about it! Cisco our guide was brilliant very informative and entertaining. The day was well planned with a fairly strict timetable to fit it all in. From the bus we saw many landmarks and started with a visit to a Casino, followed by the Macau tower, Temple of A-MA, Ruins of St Paul's Roman Church, historic walk through old Macau and finally a visit to the Jackie Chan casino which included a display of the changing of the guards. Lunch was a very good buffet in a 4 star hotel. It was a fantastic day, we particularly enjoyed the historic walk. The transport from Hong Kong was by Jetfoil which was fast and comfortable. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Caroline Y

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide, Cisco, I felt was super engaging and my group of fellow tourists were awesome. Enjoyed the tour for most part, except I would have preferred to have a little more time to shop not just 15 minutes for souvenirs at tacky 'dollar' store-like mom and pop shops but say, about an hour or 2 at a decent downtown mall? Also, I hate to complain, but I did not think the lunch was that great 4 star hotel, really?? coffee at lunch was lukewarm and so was the soup. Lol can't believe they charged me 28 HKD for a can of diet coke. However in general I thought everything else was quite good, I felt safe, got lots of gorgeous pics :

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gokul N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really happy to be part of this tour with different nationalities. Kudos to the guide Cisco :

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Andrew R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Interesting trip to Macau showing you both the old and new. Our guide Cisco was very knowledgable and made the trip interesting.
Macau tower has great views and you get to see the bungee jumpers. There was a good buffet lunch and everything ran smoothly.
Worth a visit.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sandy H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a great experience seeing Macau in a day!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Bob and Margaret Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

A pleasant day, with ferry trip and bus tour around Macau. Spoilt by guides desire to take you to his favourite souvenir and pastry shops. Would have enjoyed seeing/hearing more of the history rather than that.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Emandds

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Sorry , but nothing much to see. What is pictured on this ad is basicaly the highlight of the tour but nothing much after that. The lunch was good and satisfying. Overall it is an experience to see another part of the world.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kyle M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Went on four tours while in Hong Kong and this one was easily the worst. The day starts with being picked up at the hotel and taken to the ferry terminal. The person picking us up and dropping us off was awesome and may be the only reason we gave this 2 stars instead of 1. After going through customs you get on a ferry and take the hour trip to Macau. Once you get there everything is pretty much set in place, you go to a location and you have a set amount of time at each location. The problem is, you have way too much time at some locations ie. an hour at a small temple and cake shop and very little in others 20 minutes at a Casino. Macau history in itself isn't too plentiful and stretching out an entire day focusing on that while avoiding casinos does not make for an interesting trip. The Icing on the cake is the buffet. Having been to Las Vegas many times I was exciting because I know how good the food can be, However, the tour bus actually drives away from the nice casinos and you end up at a dumpy hotel with really bad Chinese and Portuguese food. I could not find on person on the trip that actually enjoyed the cuisine, I would have MUCH rather paid for a better meal. I didn't have time for breakfast so I was starving and still couldn't force myself to eat the food. We were really considering ditching the group and paying for a taxi and ferry ticket back to the mainland, but in the end stayed and had what felt like was a wasted day of vacation. Would not recommend.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Alice K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

This did not leave me feeling I had seen the best of Macau. I could have done without the long wait at the bakery where we were expected to buy things, and being left to fend for ourselves in the old town instead of showing us the sites was not good.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

puvanes n

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

the worst Macau trip we ever had!!!!!! waste of money!!!!!! you dont even deserve 1 star!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lukas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I was picked up on time from the departure point and taken to Macau. Customs was a breeze and they didn't even mind that I was actually going to stay in Macau and brought luggage on board. The boat trip over to Macau is beautiful with the rolling green hills! The tour guide was great and did a great job explaining the history and cultural aspects of Macau and how the Chinese and Portuguese cultures mixed and produced the unique culture of Macau. Although he gave people the option of just going to the casino for gambling, all people went with him for the history and culture he imparted to us. That shows what a great tour guide he was. Lunch was a great buffet of Macau specialties and we made a snack stop for some amazing egg tarts! He even called a taxi for me to get to my hotel after my tour! Overall, a great time in Macau!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

ADELE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour from Hong Kong over to Macau by jet boat. Incredible tour in this Portuguese founded city. A bit different than the other Chinese towns we've toured. The facade of St Paul's was really incredible, and walking thru the area was very interesting. Also enjoyed the sky tower stop and ta quick stop at a casino. Happy with the guide. Good language skills and informative. Recommend this trip highly!

Doing what: Private Tour: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

millercathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A breath of fresh air after the bustle of Hong Kong. Guide Mario was superb.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jhinkybong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What can I sayMarios fantastic and one of the best tour guide in town. We are so lucky to have him that day.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

sabin.carpiuc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great day in Macau. Our guide, Mario, was fantastic. He told us a lot of stories and gave us valuable advice. In Hong Kong somebody took us to the ferry terminal. Then Mario greeted us at Macau ferry terminal. We had the opportunity to see Venetian Macau, we saw Macau from Macau Tower and we saw the Portuguese legacy. Also, we enjoyed a very good buffet-style lunch. All in all it is a recommended tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Julian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent opportunity for a day trip from Hong Kong to Macau. The tour guide Mario was simply excellent. Just wish we had stayed overnight

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message