When the Portuguese struck a deal with China in the early 16th century to clear the waters around Macau of pirates, they set into place an agreement which would lead to Macau ultimately being the first—and last—colonial establishment to sit on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 752 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tonee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful tour ! Had a great tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and really enjoyed discussing the history of Macau. Has been a tour guide for 34 years in Macau. Also took us to out of the way places. Had a very good lunch.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

William I B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

After hearing various negative remarks about Macau and not to waste our time, we decided to judge for ourselves! Well, what a revelation! We had the most terrific guide named Mario. A Portuguese man who has lived there for 33years. His knowledge of the history of Macau was so interesting. Yes, he took us past great big casinos and took us to The Venetian, not to gamble but to look at the amazing interior. He took us to the old part of the city and took us down interesting, uncrowded streets. The ruin of St. Paul's was explained in wonderful detail. Who knew Macau had such a rich history. Go and enjoy this highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Marco R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very nice tour. The guide was very professional and talk lot about the history I recommend this tour. Macau beside the casino's also has a very charming old center . Glad that I went.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

NSaari United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Mario was an excellent guide. He was informative and funny.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Alcibiades R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was amazing!!! Macau is very cute little town. There are a lot of places to see beside gambling!! Our guide name Cisco was very funny and engaging! 100% recomended!!! Will totally go back.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Stella Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a very good trip. Picked up from, and returned back to my hotel (checked the list first and chose hotel based on this list). The guide was knowledgable and funny. The places visited in Macau were wonderful. Great introduction to Macau as this was my first trip.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

lorrainete4 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mario, our guide was very knowledgeable and made sure we did not waste time. The pickup and return to our hotel was on time and effortless. We had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We went on a day trip to Macau 2 weeks ago and we enjoyed it so much, we are still talking about it! Cisco our guide was brilliant very informative and entertaining. The day was well planned with a fairly strict timetable to fit it all in. From the bus we saw many landmarks and started with a visit to a Casino, followed by the Macau tower, Temple of A-MA, Ruins of St Paul's Roman Church, historic walk through old Macau and finally a visit to the Jackie Chan casino which included a display of the changing of the guards. Lunch was a very good buffet in a 4 star hotel. It was a fantastic day, we particularly enjoyed the historic walk. The transport from Hong Kong was by Jetfoil which was fast and comfortable. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Wai L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a fantastic trip.
Mario our guide was amazing wealth of knowledge.look after us very well.
Highly recommended
A must if you want to visit Macao.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

george b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful day the tour was very informative the contrace between old city and new casinos was truly remarkable.observation deck was awesome watching the bungee jumper was unbelievable views where fantastic! The temple for the sailors was beautiful! The lunch was very good great variety very tasty! One of the last stops was to the church ruins pretty amazing large crowds though! Than a walk trough the old part of city wonderful history again very busy with lots tourists.back to bus to take jet boat back to Hong Kong long ride very comfortable though the tour guide we had was one of the best we have ever had on tour truly remarkable man his name was Mario if you happen to get him you will not forget the experience!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Liliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing day. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about Macau and it's history, as well as mainland China and it's relation to Macau. We didn't know anything about Macau, so for us it was great. If you're looking to gamble, which we were not, you won't have much time to do so. The Egg Tarts were fabulous, the façade of the cathedral breathtaking. Just enough walking and bus combined.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This day trip was simply outstanding! If you want to escape the chaotic nature of Hong Kong for a day, then do this tour! Built by the Portuguese Empire and an hour from Hongkers by boat, Macau is a blend of Europe and Vegas, Portuguese and Cantonese, East and West, tradition and casinos, new and old. This tour highlights everything Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Bernie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a good day, it could start about 1 hour early it a big day with lots of traffic

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Samrat M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip was very interesting and knowledgable

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sung I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great guide.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Susan Larsen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an excellent and well-organized day trip. If you are looking for a gambling trip, this is not for you. It is a cultural trip. The guide was excellent. The food was plentiful although it comes a bit later so you might want to bring a snack. Macua has a most interesting history so we really enjoyed learning about this diverse country.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jitu P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very entertaining and knowledgeable guide called Carlos. Enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jacqueline H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Mario was our guide and was full of information about Macau. Perhaps it was a little too much information and his shtick about being Portugese got a little tiring. Since we knew nothing about Macau, though, it is a trip worth doing.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Peter P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fitted just about everything in in 1 day, perfect. The guides idea of walking through the old town rather than spending time at a casino was well worth it. Would recommend.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Julian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent opportunity for a day trip from Hong Kong to Macau. The tour guide Mario was simply excellent. Just wish we had stayed overnight

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

sabin.carpiuc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great day in Macau. Our guide, Mario, was fantastic. He told us a lot of stories and gave us valuable advice. In Hong Kong somebody took us to the ferry terminal. Then Mario greeted us at Macau ferry terminal. We had the opportunity to see Venetian Macau, we saw Macau from Macau Tower and we saw the Portuguese legacy. Also, we enjoyed a very good buffet-style lunch. All in all it is a recommended tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jhinkybong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What can I sayMarios fantastic and one of the best tour guide in town. We are so lucky to have him that day.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

millercathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A breath of fresh air after the bustle of Hong Kong. Guide Mario was superb.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I was picked up on time from the departure point and taken to Macau. Customs was a breeze and they didn't even mind that I was actually going to stay in Macau and brought luggage on board. The boat trip over to Macau is beautiful with the rolling green hills! The tour guide was great and did a great job explaining the history and cultural aspects of Macau and how the Chinese and Portuguese cultures mixed and produced the unique culture of Macau. Although he gave people the option of just going to the casino for gambling, all people went with him for the history and culture he imparted to us. That shows what a great tour guide he was. Lunch was a great buffet of Macau specialties and we made a snack stop for some amazing egg tarts! He even called a taxi for me to get to my hotel after my tour! Overall, a great time in Macau!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lukas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message