When the Portuguese struck a deal with China in the early 16th century to clear the waters around Macau of pirates, they set into place an agreement which would lead to Macau ultimately being the first—and last—colonial establishment to sit on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 731 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Liliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing day. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about Macau and it's history, as well as mainland China and it's relation to Macau. We didn't know anything about Macau, so for us it was great. If you're looking to gamble, which we were not, you won't have much time to do so. The Egg Tarts were fabulous, the façade of the cathedral breathtaking. Just enough walking and bus combined.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This day trip was simply outstanding! If you want to escape the chaotic nature of Hong Kong for a day, then do this tour! Built by the Portuguese Empire and an hour from Hongkers by boat, Macau is a blend of Europe and Vegas, Portuguese and Cantonese, East and West, tradition and casinos, new and old. This tour highlights everything Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Bernie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a good day, it could start about 1 hour early it a big day with lots of traffic

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Samrat M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip was very interesting and knowledgable

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sung I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great guide.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Susan Larsen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an excellent and well-organized day trip. If you are looking for a gambling trip, this is not for you. It is a cultural trip. The guide was excellent. The food was plentiful although it comes a bit later so you might want to bring a snack. Macua has a most interesting history so we really enjoyed learning about this diverse country.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jitu P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very entertaining and knowledgeable guide called Carlos. Enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jacqueline H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Mario was our guide and was full of information about Macau. Perhaps it was a little too much information and his shtick about being Portugese got a little tiring. Since we knew nothing about Macau, though, it is a trip worth doing.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Peter P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fitted just about everything in in 1 day, perfect. The guides idea of walking through the old town rather than spending time at a casino was well worth it. Would recommend.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Julian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent opportunity for a day trip from Hong Kong to Macau. The tour guide Mario was simply excellent. Just wish we had stayed overnight

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

sabin.carpiuc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great day in Macau. Our guide, Mario, was fantastic. He told us a lot of stories and gave us valuable advice. In Hong Kong somebody took us to the ferry terminal. Then Mario greeted us at Macau ferry terminal. We had the opportunity to see Venetian Macau, we saw Macau from Macau Tower and we saw the Portuguese legacy. Also, we enjoyed a very good buffet-style lunch. All in all it is a recommended tour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jhinkybong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What can I sayMarios fantastic and one of the best tour guide in town. We are so lucky to have him that day.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

millercathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A breath of fresh air after the bustle of Hong Kong. Guide Mario was superb.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I was picked up on time from the departure point and taken to Macau. Customs was a breeze and they didn't even mind that I was actually going to stay in Macau and brought luggage on board. The boat trip over to Macau is beautiful with the rolling green hills! The tour guide was great and did a great job explaining the history and cultural aspects of Macau and how the Chinese and Portuguese cultures mixed and produced the unique culture of Macau. Although he gave people the option of just going to the casino for gambling, all people went with him for the history and culture he imparted to us. That shows what a great tour guide he was. Lunch was a great buffet of Macau specialties and we made a snack stop for some amazing egg tarts! He even called a taxi for me to get to my hotel after my tour! Overall, a great time in Macau!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lukas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jessika R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great way to get a taste of Macau! Cisco was our tour leader and he was fantastic, very knowledgeable and interested in sharing lots of information and answering questions! I enjoyed this tour as I am interested in history and culture, but we did get a small taste of the casinos and shopping as well.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really good for amazing price, the guide was awesome, helpful and very ready to assist anyone.

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

Carlos V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Cisco!! What a great guide The trip like he said was cultural in nature, and it was nice and interesting, and very complete. The guide was very knowledgeable and well organized. Jump from the tower! I did with the aid of the guides logistics and excellent attitude.
Great Memories!!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

judy.wilson Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Stunning trip, a definite must if in Hong Kong and our tour guide Cisco was so informative and hilarious as well,

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Subrata D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Macau trip with our Tour Guide and Friend, Cisco, was really great. In a day, we felt, we know Macau for so long time as Cisco have given so much information. Lunch was awesome. He planned the trip beautifully.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

bill.leonard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fascinating city. Great tour guide, Cisco. The ferry ride over was fun and more like a plane than a boat.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kylie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing! Cisco was very informative! We managed to see so many things in such a small amount of time! The only thing which must be disclosed about this trip is that the customs going into Macau are quite strict to travelers who aren't from westernized countries. It took us an hour to get through coming off the ferry.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Angus Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great day Great tour guide Mario was fantastic

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

KAREN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fabulous day in Macau. So much included in our itinerary, our tour guide was exceptional going that extra mile to ensure we experienced the very best Macau had to offer. So many highlights!
The lunch was delicious covering all tastes, something for everyone. Highly recommended. Thankyou Cisco Our Tour Guide for your historical knowledge, a truly memorable day.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message