Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Alcalá Gate (Puerta de Alcalá)

The Puerta de Alcalá - or Alcalá Gate - stands in the center of the Plaza de la Independencia - Independence Square - and just outside of the Parque de Buen Retiro - Park of the Pleasant Retreat. This Neo-classical monument was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 875 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carolyn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great day! Walked for 6 or so hours with time off for coffee, wine and a fabulous seafood lunch. Time flew and I can't believed I walked for so long! Didn't even notice! Enrique my guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Very educational tour of all major monuments and to many spots of the beaten track that were priceless! Very happy with the professionalism of Discovery Walks. They were in constant touch with me via email. Would happily recommend a private day tour with this company.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Madrid in a Day

Katy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Since we only had 2 full days in Madrid and there wasn't a lot of things we wanted to visit were not interested in museums, more the beautiful buildings, architecture and gardens this was perfect for us. only 20 for a 2 day pass and we just sat on the bus and saw the whole city in under 2 hours! We stopped off at places along the way but it was great to see so much more without walking round! Would recommend visiting the Jardins Sabatini, Palacio Cibeles going up to the viewing tower.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Vicki C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great value especially if you pre-book.
We got a two day pass which we used to transport us from Atocha train station to our apartment in central Madrid. Great sights to see very friendly staff.
Thank you for a very enjoyable informative tour.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

P V J W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best way to see the city. Hassle free and the buses are very convenient. They pretty much cover all the main attractions. Loved it!!

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

eduardo m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Michaelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The is the best way to see the city! I recommend getting the upgraded tour which has you finding certain merchants to receive a free item.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sasa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to explore Madrid, specially as it's well covered with 2 lines

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Donatella V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience especially in 105 degreesF. Between the 2 routes, the buses reached all cultural spots and shopping.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

rumakinternet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour we were lucky enough to catch the extended tour on route 1. Both routes are great. After seeing the bull ring on the extended tour we went back the next day and toured it.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Michael E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We use the hop-on hop-off bus tours of most cities we visit as it gives us a good overview of the city and lets us know where we want to spend more time. We always recommend these to friends.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Hector R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We like it

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Terrific way to soak up the sights and sounds of this majestic city

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Stephen Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

fantastic way to see the city, excellent value

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ian s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hop-on bus excellent,used route 1 and 2 caught bus from Sol,need to use early as it gets very busy.Audio tour informative,book online and print paperwork,they then exchange for tickets.Very good would use again.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

dbsayers Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best ways to travel around Madrid. We did both day and night trips - twice. Well worth it

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Gina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Riding up on top offered great photo opportunities a great way to explore the highlights of Madrid. We got off the Royal Palace stop and the Botanical Garden stop which is near the Prado Museum grounds. The audio plugs on the tour bus did not work well but it didn't deter from the experience.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Victor j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a great experience

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Tom C Y

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

similar experience as in Barcelona

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Betty M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent value 2 day ticket. Great way to explore Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ericroberts97

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great way to get an overview of Madrid. Frequent buses. Sometimes difficult to identify what the commentary was referring to.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kathleen L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Once I found the stop for the bus, it was good. I was disappointed that many of the seats on the top of the bus didn't have working audio. I would have liked more information about where to find the stop and awareness that the Madrid City Tour sticker on the bus stop shelter would be small. However, it was well worth the money with a great view of the beautiful architecture and good information.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

bclar42

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Best way to get an overview of a city you have a short time in. Get your barrings make your list of sites and start using the hop on off feature to get to the far away ones first
The bus was full at top almost all the time as you can't see a thing from down below and it's HOT
Bus was on time and frequent so served as transportation to all major sights

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Ann S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Not enough commentary, and not enough photo opportunities at well known landmarks.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Michael G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Audio quality was terrible, and you missed some of what was being reported on. But the tour was a good way to get a overview of the city, and see the sites that you might want to come back to.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Rebecca S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

This tour was just ok. The bus routes were a little confusing and we really couldn and #39;t see much. We did the food and drink passport add on as well. It was an excellent concept but poorly executed. It was difficult to find the tour office to pick up the passport -not on the bus route . Peppers - great!

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message