Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 590 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andreas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had two incredible guides we were a large group so they split us into one Spanish speaking group and one English speaking group and then we re-joined before heading to the Valley of the Fallen. They were very knowledgable and shared lots of great information with us. We felt that although fast-paced the tour was a good length. The guides also give you information while you are on the bus so you get to learn a bit about Madrid as well. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Scott K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The trip to El Escorial was top notch. Great guide. Coach very comfortable. Had never heard of the Valley of the Fallen before this trip. But was well worth the visit. Highly recommend.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Sharon W USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I'm glad I got to see both El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen. Valley of the Fallen is an awesome sight. Our tour guide acted like she'd given one too many tours. I could just as easily listened to a recording. There really aren't any crowds here so if you have transportation, you can drive right to Valley of the Fallen.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

JT

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour company changed the day on us, supposedly because the chosen day had been turned into a dance festival day so the attraction was closed. They offered us the day before tour which we accepted but were the only English speaking couple on the tour. It was nothing brilliant...

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

Boris K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

It's am unexpected combination of two independent half-day tours into one, with different groups, buses, guides. Very inconvenient and tour senseless. But the worst thing is multi-lingual group and multi-language narrative. It's not a guide problem, but tour in three languages pronounced fast and mechanical is a big problem.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Aranjuez Royal Palace Day Trip from Madrid

DEBASIS D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. Toledo is a lot of walk but fantastic walled old city and still functioning. El Escorial is a monastery and nice but no photography is allowed inside. Mostly graves inside of famous people. Valley of the Fallen is a wonderful place and I will upload one picture.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Marika M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a definite must do. The tour was fantastic as was the tour guide. Thank you!

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

Louis H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Guide was very informative and helpful. Was a little disappointed that the guide did not show us around El Escorial, we were left on our own for that time. Would have been nice to have had enough time to be able to check the town out around the Monastery too.

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

janique.lambert

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very comprehensive tour although some free time in the town would have been good as well.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

George D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This tour was a disappointment mainly because our tour guide was poor. In fact, my husband asked her a question and she told him, I already told you that. Can you imagine?
Also, the monastery is magnificent, but since the basilica in The valley of the Fallen pays homage to the dictator Franco, I do not think Viatour should include this in their package to the monastery. Most Spaniards would never go to this site, and I don't blame them.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

maureen r

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Do not like going on a tour that requires the tour guide to present in three languages

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

diva.ronel

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

I was very disappointed..I was so looking forward to see Toledo. The bus was almost an hour late and our tour guide was very unfriendly and in a hurry to finish the tour.We ran through Toledo with no time to browse a bit. I was bitterly disappointed. Electric Escatorial was a bit better.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Cristina Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Locations were cool, but I got split from my group, and the guide didn't answer her phone when the main office called her, and seemed completely uninterested in trying to find me or helping me later I ended up hitching a bus with a different tour company to catch up. Not thrilled.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

luly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow! Totally mesmerizing! In love with all the history of my ancestors! Highly recommend this tour! The cathedral and the monastery!

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

maureene527

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent half-day tour. Carmen was wonderful and did an excellent job explaining the sites in both English and Spanish. This was my fourth visit to each location and I still learned new information.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Catherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Both El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen are beautiful. We they would extend this tour by 2-3 more hours so we could have more time to explore both locations. Our tour guide was great and informative at El Escorial. At Valley of the Fallen, they explain to you what you're going to see on the bus ride over and give you only 20 minutes to literally run in, see own your own, snap few pictures on the outside, and run back to the bus. No time to buy souvenirs in neither location. Very rushed, but still worth the trip.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Vladimir O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was very interesting experience with Stephany from Amigo tour company

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Osvaldo M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative. However, would had liked more time on the town

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

n.tate

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A well-organised tour with very knowledgeable guide. We visited fabulous El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen in the morning. Only small percentage of El Escorial is open to the public. Audio set sometimes didn't work Underneath the chapel and crypt in the narrow passageways. The tour of the Valley of the Fallen was comprehensive. We enjoyed a simple but adequate lunch in Madrid before the tour of magnificent town of Toledo in the afternoon. The group was smaller in the afternoon which allowed more personal tour. It was extremely hot -- apparently it is cooler in August and would advise doing tours on separate days rather than on the same day which is very long..

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Stefanie W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The Tour guides were almost impossible to understand . The tours were worth going on but you need to find tour guide to speak English more clearly.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Carlos R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Escorial it is a nice visit but there are other better things to do near Madrid

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Christine O

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Tour guide in a rush, and smoking. A bit unorganised with pick ups, then waiting at site for other buses. After Escorial and valley you go back to Madrid for lunch (seafood - staff very helpful as my daughter is allergic) but this wasn and #39;t mentioned. Toledo needed more time. Wanted to look at shops.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message