Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 614 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

WOW what an amazing tour...wish it was longer...so much to see

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Tatiana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Valley of the Fallen is must: very impressive!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Barbara G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The Escorial Tour was a great tour, lots of places to see and the tour guide was polity and helpful.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Kimberlee G United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Guide was informative and spoke English clearly. A little disappointing that both locations didn't allow for photographs inside, but still a very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

Virginia B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A very nice day tour. Nuria, our guide, provided a very nice history. She timed everything nicely and allowed lots of free time too.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Sandi C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour of the monastery was good but we did not enjoy the valley of the fallen as much as we thought we would.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Agnes W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

very good tour.. tour guide gave a very detailed background history of the attractions. will join again and definitely will recommend to others.

thank you again.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Carlos B M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Marta who was friendly as well as knowledgeable. She led the tour on both Spanish and English. Both locations are majestic, you are taken aback just by the size of both monuments. El Escorial is perfectly preserved, as it is still a living monastery, you feel like you are transported to a different era. The Valley of the Fallen is only 15 minutes away from El Escorial and it is equally impressing although controversial for what it represents. The view of the valley from the monument is worth the trip. The time flies in this tour. Both locations are relatively close to Madrid.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Patricia Y

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Excellent local guide! Diana made the trip very enjoyable. I would have wished for 10 minutes to get a quick coffee or chocolate before we left the bus stop. Also, wished for 5 minutes in the gift shop.

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

Lesley B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen were excellent sites. The only reason I have given 4 stars is that the guide was less than good. It appeared to us she didn't really want to be there and only told us the basic points with repeated monotony. At the El Escorial we were hurried out with no allotted time to take photos outside. When we did, she disappeared back to the coach which had parked a few streets away and luckily my husband has a good sense of direction and we were able to find our own way back.
We changed guides for Toledo, thank goodness, it was a lovely tour and she was very good.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Robert B Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

When you are the only english speaking couple on the tour, they forget about you or it takes 10 times long to explain in Spanish.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

yms7

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The places we visited were all amazing, no complaints about the destinations! The tour itself was a very large bus tour with large groups of people that didn't all speak the same language. It wasn't terrible but it was not as enjoyable as a group where you understand the dialogue and other peoples inquires about what we were seeing. At lunch we were kind of just dumped off in Madrid and told to meet back at the bus in an hour. On the way to Toledo the bus broke down and our very large group of people were stuck on the side of the road until help came. Toledo was beautiful and the churches we visited were beautiful and the information was okay, our tour guide wasn't as passionate as some I've had. It would have been nice to have a small amount of free time to do a little shopping, we were taken to one store to shop but the prices were much more than the other stores along the way. There were two couples a little inconsiderate of the other group members as they just took off and the rest of the group spent a fair amount of time sitting at the side of a street waiting for the guide to go find the missing people. Overall I recommend the destinations, they were incredible, but I wouldn't do it with this tour.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Francesco D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very informative, tour guide guided us into el escorial and the valley of the fallen. She was utterly professional, polite, calm and explained everything in detail and in way everyone could understand. Really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

sudumbrekargovind

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was beautiful trip,not only we enjoyed a lot but also explore things which were not known to us.Guide was also very cooperative and she was explaining all the things in detail.All together beautiful trip and worth a penny...:

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Stephen

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip was well organized the guide was excellent and kept us to schedule.
But did not feel rushed at all.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Lisa Panama

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The Toledo portion was too rushed and we were not allowed any free time to enter ANY shops along the way. At the end, they took us by bus to a factory of their choice where we were allowed to shop. I felt like a stupid trapped tourist and was forced to shop there for what I wanted at inflated prices

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Chotinart.yongsoonto ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

I am not happy because the tour information is full day tour. But in fact, this is half day tour combine together for selling purpose.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Marcia S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

I am rating this tour a 2 star due to the services we had. The sites are absolutely stunning! All of them. The problem I had was with the local travel agency and how they coordinated everything. I booked this long day trip thinking that we would go from Madrid to El Escorial about 45 min - 1 hr drive and the to the Valley of the Fallen another 10 min drive from El Escorial, then we would be driven to Toledo. Instead what happened is that they drove us back to Madrid so that we wait for 2 or 3 people to then go to Toledo. The problem with this plan is two fold. 1. El Escorial is big, with lots to see. Our guide was rushing through everything. We didn't even get to see the gardens! I asked about it and she said: if you want to see it look over that all over there ! On our way back to the bus. I was able to take only 3 pictures and she was yelling at me again to rush rush rush. By the time we head out to Toledo, it was 3 pm and by the time we were done it was night time. 2. It doesn't make sense to travel back to Madrid! Please understand, for you is a business, for me is a chance in a life time. This trip took a lot and I mean A LOT OF HOURS of planning, and thousands of dollars from 5 star hotels to business class plane tickets, so my expectations were high. Being rushed by this travel agent just didn't sit well with me. My message to my dear fellow traveller is that you must visit these sites, just make sure that you chose the trips and the amount of sites to visit in one day wisely.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Adam G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great sights and great explanations of the history surrounding them. Recommended tour.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Diane Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

El Escorial was breathtaking,it felt so peaceful, very interesting history and spectacular to visit the tombs of the Royal families,lots of climbing down many floors to visit these places,so comfortable shoes and water are a must

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Lazy traveller Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Love the tour and the history behind it. Highly recommended.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Susana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We did El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen in the morning, and then Toledo in the afternoon. It was a full day, but it was great to get these two cultural experiences in one day. Well worth it do in one day.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Jan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way to visit these two locations and it was efficient and comprehensive

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message