Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 612 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert B Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

When you are the only english speaking couple on the tour, they forget about you or it takes 10 times long to explain in Spanish.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Francesco D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very informative, tour guide guided us into el escorial and the valley of the fallen. She was utterly professional, polite, calm and explained everything in detail and in way everyone could understand. Really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

sudumbrekargovind

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was beautiful trip,not only we enjoyed a lot but also explore things which were not known to us.Guide was also very cooperative and she was explaining all the things in detail.All together beautiful trip and worth a penny...:

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Stephen

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip was well organized the guide was excellent and kept us to schedule.
But did not feel rushed at all.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Lisa Panama

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The Toledo portion was too rushed and we were not allowed any free time to enter ANY shops along the way. At the end, they took us by bus to a factory of their choice where we were allowed to shop. I felt like a stupid trapped tourist and was forced to shop there for what I wanted at inflated prices

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Chotinart.yongsoonto ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

I am not happy because the tour information is full day tour. But in fact, this is half day tour combine together for selling purpose.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Marcia S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

I am rating this tour a 2 star due to the services we had. The sites are absolutely stunning! All of them. The problem I had was with the local travel agency and how they coordinated everything. I booked this long day trip thinking that we would go from Madrid to El Escorial about 45 min - 1 hr drive and the to the Valley of the Fallen another 10 min drive from El Escorial, then we would be driven to Toledo. Instead what happened is that they drove us back to Madrid so that we wait for 2 or 3 people to then go to Toledo. The problem with this plan is two fold. 1. El Escorial is big, with lots to see. Our guide was rushing through everything. We didn't even get to see the gardens! I asked about it and she said: if you want to see it look over that all over there ! On our way back to the bus. I was able to take only 3 pictures and she was yelling at me again to rush rush rush. By the time we head out to Toledo, it was 3 pm and by the time we were done it was night time. 2. It doesn't make sense to travel back to Madrid! Please understand, for you is a business, for me is a chance in a life time. This trip took a lot and I mean A LOT OF HOURS of planning, and thousands of dollars from 5 star hotels to business class plane tickets, so my expectations were high. Being rushed by this travel agent just didn't sit well with me. My message to my dear fellow traveller is that you must visit these sites, just make sure that you chose the trips and the amount of sites to visit in one day wisely.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Adam G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great sights and great explanations of the history surrounding them. Recommended tour.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Diane Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

El Escorial was breathtaking,it felt so peaceful, very interesting history and spectacular to visit the tombs of the Royal families,lots of climbing down many floors to visit these places,so comfortable shoes and water are a must

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Lazy traveller Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Love the tour and the history behind it. Highly recommended.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Susana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We did El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen in the morning, and then Toledo in the afternoon. It was a full day, but it was great to get these two cultural experiences in one day. Well worth it do in one day.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Jan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way to visit these two locations and it was efficient and comprehensive

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

loretta13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tours with Alonso. The monastery was very interesting and beautiful to see. Alonso was very knowledgeable and great company.

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Nick B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This is a tight tour in terms of timing, but it is well worth doing - this is something quite different from anything we had seen in Spain, particularly the valley of the Fallen for a dip into the recent past of Franco. I would suggest that there be a little more time to look at the gift shop in the El Escorial because, I found, that they are not the same at the Valley of the Fallen, particularly in the jewellery section. Also, that you bring a sandwich if you just want a snack because you will miss exploring the Valley of the Fallen if you pause for lunch on this tour.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

John A

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The views on the coach ride to and from and at the monastery itself are spectacular. Our visit was not enhanced by a guide who provided us with little or no information about the history or significance of the site. Nor did he explain the layout or what was was to be seen from the various vantage points. We were told to meet at the coach stop but not that there were more spectacular views from near that stop. A more involved guide would have made what turned out to be an OK visit into am absolutely superb one.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

David

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The group is huge and the guides very impersonal. It's through Julia Travel in Madrid. Would not recommend it. Better to go with a guide book.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

ROBERTO ACOSTA A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Julia tour guides are very bad. with very few exceptions

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Aranjuez Royal Palace Day Trip from Madrid

Andreas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had two incredible guides we were a large group so they split us into one Spanish speaking group and one English speaking group and then we re-joined before heading to the Valley of the Fallen. They were very knowledgable and shared lots of great information with us. We felt that although fast-paced the tour was a good length. The guides also give you information while you are on the bus so you get to learn a bit about Madrid as well. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Scott K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The trip to El Escorial was top notch. Great guide. Coach very comfortable. Had never heard of the Valley of the Fallen before this trip. But was well worth the visit. Highly recommend.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Laura D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour with knowledgeable guide. Confirmation notice advises there will be a hotel pick-up. There is no vehicle pick up. The representative comes to the hotel and walks participants several blocks to a bus, then you transfer to another bus where the tour actually starts. The tour and tour guide were excellent, but people who are considering this tour need to know there's a lot of walking.

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

Marcelo Sechieri C. ...  Brazil

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Nice tour. Delivered what has been promissed.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Sharon W USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I'm glad I got to see both El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen. Valley of the Fallen is an awesome sight. Our tour guide acted like she'd given one too many tours. I could just as easily listened to a recording. There really aren't any crowds here so if you have transportation, you can drive right to Valley of the Fallen.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

JT

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour company changed the day on us, supposedly because the chosen day had been turned into a dance festival day so the attraction was closed. They offered us the day before tour which we accepted but were the only English speaking couple on the tour. It was nothing brilliant...

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message