Once just a sleepy little resort town 28 mi (45 km) northwest of Madrid, San Lorenzo de El Escorial now hosts thousands of tourists coming in throngs to see the famous royal monastery. In addition to being home to an order of monks, this attraction ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 577 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

luly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow! Totally mesmerizing! In love with all the history of my ancestors! Highly recommend this tour! The cathedral and the monastery!

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

maureene527

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent half-day tour. Carmen was wonderful and did an excellent job explaining the sites in both English and Spanish. This was my fourth visit to each location and I still learned new information.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Catherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Both El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen are beautiful. We they would extend this tour by 2-3 more hours so we could have more time to explore both locations. Our tour guide was great and informative at El Escorial. At Valley of the Fallen, they explain to you what you're going to see on the bus ride over and give you only 20 minutes to literally run in, see own your own, snap few pictures on the outside, and run back to the bus. No time to buy souvenirs in neither location. Very rushed, but still worth the trip.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Vladimir O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was very interesting experience with Stephany from Amigo tour company

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Osvaldo M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative. However, would had liked more time on the town

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

n.tate

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A well-organised tour with very knowledgeable guide. We visited fabulous El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen in the morning. Only small percentage of El Escorial is open to the public. Audio set sometimes didn't work Underneath the chapel and crypt in the narrow passageways. The tour of the Valley of the Fallen was comprehensive. We enjoyed a simple but adequate lunch in Madrid before the tour of magnificent town of Toledo in the afternoon. The group was smaller in the afternoon which allowed more personal tour. It was extremely hot -- apparently it is cooler in August and would advise doing tours on separate days rather than on the same day which is very long..

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Stefanie W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The Tour guides were almost impossible to understand . The tours were worth going on but you need to find tour guide to speak English more clearly.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Carlos R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Escorial it is a nice visit but there are other better things to do near Madrid

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Christine O

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Tour guide in a rush, and smoking. A bit unorganised with pick ups, then waiting at site for other buses. After Escorial and valley you go back to Madrid for lunch (seafood - staff very helpful as my daughter is allergic) but this wasn and #39;t mentioned. Toledo needed more time. Wanted to look at shops.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Mark A

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Great trip. But-we signed up for a tour in English. If it's going to be bi- or tri-lingual, you need to advertise it as such. You mislead us- Very frustrating and time consuming.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Samuel R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

VPT is the worst tour people,I have dealt with. This tour led by a lady who ran us thru everything!! She must have been in a hurry to get rid of us. We stopped to get pictures she was no where to be found. The bus had very little a/c. After running thru all three sites I was a little upset. Toledo is known for handicraft shops, we didn't have to catch our breathe much less shop. Then we went VPT gift shop, had all kinds of time. I have 2 more Viator tours, I hope you have better local guides. Samuel-R

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Nisha V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very kind and courteous staff. Always punctual and ensured that they did their best to ensure our comfort. The lunch was good as well ! All in all a good experience.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Manuela-Lidia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Friendly guide, excellent driver and awesome places to visit!

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Kathleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was wonderful to hear all the history associated with El Escorial. The Valley of the Fallen gave us a different aspect of Spanish history which whilst different from El Escorial proved just as interesting. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the trip a great experience. Not to be missed.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Russ O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alfonso was wonderful and we really enjoyed the walking tour of Madrid. He provided a lot of information and made it really fun. Good walking tours make you feel like you learned more than a guide book and Alfanso did that. We would highly recommend the walking tour portion of this tour. We did not enjoy the monastery portion as much.

Doing what: Madrid and El Escorial Monastery in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Grizel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour which is a must when travelling to Madrid. Tour guide was knowledgeable. The overall tour was a bit hurried, really counted each minute. There is a lot to see in a very specified period of time. Nonetheless, the tour was very good.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Bernadette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting and quite spectacular seeing the basilica at valley of the fallen. The tour through the monastery was also very interesting but unfortunately we were not able to go into the basilica due to masses we were told but there was none happening at the time. However overall a very enjoyable few hours.

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

monitor ano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesomely me places to live history.

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

stuart w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide. Excellent lunch. Only problem was part of El Escorial was closed and the headphones were not available. Exceeded expectations.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

jmac United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and great guide.

Doing what: El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half-Day Tour from Madrid

Cesar Q

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour!! Andres was the guide and he was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: El Escorial, Valley of the Fallen and Toledo Day Tour from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message