Meaning "Great Road", Gran Vía is a main thoroughfare in Madrid, built to connect Calle de Alcalá to Plaza de España. Lined with a mixture of high end shops, eateries, and bars that cover both ends of the spectrum, this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1190 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Since we only had 2 full days in Madrid and there wasn't a lot of things we wanted to visit were not interested in museums, more the beautiful buildings, architecture and gardens this was perfect for us. only 20 for a 2 day pass and we just sat on the bus and saw the whole city in under 2 hours! We stopped off at places along the way but it was great to see so much more without walking round! Would recommend visiting the Jardins Sabatini, Palacio Cibeles going up to the viewing tower.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Vicki C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great value especially if you pre-book.
We got a two day pass which we used to transport us from Atocha train station to our apartment in central Madrid. Great sights to see very friendly staff.
Thank you for a very enjoyable informative tour.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

P V J W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best way to see the city. Hassle free and the buses are very convenient. They pretty much cover all the main attractions. Loved it!!

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

eduardo m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Michaelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The is the best way to see the city! I recommend getting the upgraded tour which has you finding certain merchants to receive a free item.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sasa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to explore Madrid, specially as it's well covered with 2 lines

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Donatella V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience especially in 105 degreesF. Between the 2 routes, the buses reached all cultural spots and shopping.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

rumakinternet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour we were lucky enough to catch the extended tour on route 1. Both routes are great. After seeing the bull ring on the extended tour we went back the next day and toured it.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Hector R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We like it

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Stephen Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

fantastic way to see the city, excellent value

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ian s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hop-on bus excellent,used route 1 and 2 caught bus from Sol,need to use early as it gets very busy.Audio tour informative,book online and print paperwork,they then exchange for tickets.Very good would use again.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Tom C Y

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

similar experience as in Barcelona

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Betty M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent value 2 day ticket. Great way to explore Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ericroberts97

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great way to get an overview of Madrid. Frequent buses. Sometimes difficult to identify what the commentary was referring to.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kathleen L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Once I found the stop for the bus, it was good. I was disappointed that many of the seats on the top of the bus didn't have working audio. I would have liked more information about where to find the stop and awareness that the Madrid City Tour sticker on the bus stop shelter would be small. However, it was well worth the money with a great view of the beautiful architecture and good information.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Deborah K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a great introduction to Madrid and the Skip -the- Line Prado worked well for us as we got a very informed introduction to a number of the most well known art works. For art lovers you were then able to stay on and discover more on your own.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

bclar42

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Best way to get an overview of a city you have a short time in. Get your barrings make your list of sites and start using the hop on off feature to get to the far away ones first
The bus was full at top almost all the time as you can't see a thing from down below and it's HOT
Bus was on time and frequent so served as transportation to all major sights

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Salok924

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The city sightseeing was so so. The guide conducted the tour in 3 languages so she didn't have time to talk about much of what we were seeng as we drove along. She just pointed out some main monuments and sights. We have taken other bus tours and learned a lot more than on this one. Also, we stopped for 15 minutes at Hard Rock Cafe do a free aft drink, which was completely unnecessary and wasted precious time. We felt ripped off.

What saved the tour for us was the guide who took us through the Prado. She was outstanding and we loved the tour and would highly recommend this part but not the other.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Olga S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Ok way to see the city, but nothing special

Doing what: Panoramic Madrid Sightseeing Tour

Ann S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Not enough commentary, and not enough photo opportunities at well known landmarks.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Michael G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Audio quality was terrible, and you missed some of what was being reported on. But the tour was a good way to get a overview of the city, and see the sites that you might want to come back to.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Rebecca S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

This tour was just ok. The bus routes were a little confusing and we really couldn and #39;t see much. We did the food and drink passport add on as well. It was an excellent concept but poorly executed. It was difficult to find the tour office to pick up the passport -not on the bus route . Peppers - great!

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

accunningham56

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

So the logistics of this were awful. I waited at the stop closest to my hotel for more than an hour while I watched three buses go by and NOT stop. I then just decided to stop a fourth bus in the street and just hop on where I was then scolded and told that there were stickers located on the public transportation stops and the stop for the location I was at was actually at the BACK of the building and not at the front, like what I was doing because that made the most sense to me. Also, I'm not a local so I don't know where the bus stops are...There should be much clearer instructions on the logistics of how to find the stops BEFORE you try to do the tour. Like this information of the stickers on the public transportation stops should be on the main website, otherwise I would have no idea until I was told on my first bus after I waited around for more than an hour getting more and more frustrated. The stickers are also super small on the stops and not at all intuitive...I was very unhappy with this tour and the very unclear directions for it.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Rosemary B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

I was not able to use the tour that I purchased, because I was required to bring a printed voucher. I was not advised of this until after purchase. Since we were staying in AirBNBs, we had no access to a printer.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kristin L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Auto was not in sink with locations. We were either ahead or behind the description.

Doing what: Madrid Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message