Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 251 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

PABLO LUIS G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Tour, thanks to the guide we have learned a lot about the Prado and Reina Sofia museum. Our teenager kids were amazed with the explanations and knowledge of our guide. This is highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

sarah h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Irene was a wonderfully knowledgable guide and gave us a really good introduction to the Prado and Reina Sofia

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

stellagibbs United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful guide who was knowledgeable about all aspects of both the Prado and the Reina Sofia museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

David Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth the tour to skip the lines at the Prado and have an experienced guide take us to the highlights in a way that helped us appreciate the evolution of art styles during that time period. After some free time in the Prado, we took a short walk to the Reina Sofia and saw the cubist and surrealist movements in modern art. Highlight was Guernica, and the guide's explanation of what was happening at the time during the Civil War and the bombing in Guernica made it all the better. Her explanation of the theories of what Picasso was painting were fascinating.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide was excellent, and really a good thing to do with so much to see at the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Sasa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour especially thanks to our guide Luis David. Apart from his great knowledge in history, he also provided very interesting stories and legends about Retiro. No rush, pleasant pace. Being this week El Bosco exposition in Prado, skip the line was great advantage.

Doing what: Madrid Buen Retiro Park Small-Group Tour and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Ticket

kristin.distelhorst

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I really enjoyed this tour led by a former art history student and she was able to score some tickets to the special Bosch exhibit which was unexpected and great and fit perfoectly between the Prado ytour and the Reina Sophia tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Deborah K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a great introduction to Madrid and the Skip -the- Line Prado worked well for us as we got a very informed introduction to a number of the most well known art works. For art lovers you were then able to stay on and discover more on your own.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Patricia L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Glad we booked this tour in advance as people we knew said they had to queue for an hour and it was a very warm day. You need to balance the cost though as it was much cheaper to queue, but having the English-speaking guided tour was a big advantage in getting inside the Prado was prompt and we were shown all the major masterpieces without having to work your way around the different rooms. We stayed on after the tour to see more of the Prado.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Ginny L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Easy access isn't accurate. I had envisioned getting inside the Prado a full 15 minutes before the crowds beat down the doors, but that's not what happened. Instead, the group taking this tour met with the guide about 15 minutes before the museum opened, and then she stood in a line for official guides, I believe to get our tickets and that took a bit because it was quite crowded that day. There were lots of other guides there who also were giving early access tours to small groups.

By the time we got inside the museum is was about 25 minutes after the doors had opened to the public. I didn't see any other groups going in before the opening time, but maybe I just didn't see them.

That being said, our guide took us straight to all the highlights, and provided terrific information about the pieces and the artists. The Prado is a big place and I discovered it's easy to get lost in there, even with a map, so having someone take you around is nice. She gave us some free time to explore the Prado on our own before we walked over to the Reina Sofia, which is how I found out how easy it is to get lost in the Prado.

All in all, I recommend this tour to those who don't have the time or desire to spend all day wandering through the museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Salok924

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The city sightseeing was so so. The guide conducted the tour in 3 languages so she didn't have time to talk about much of what we were seeng as we drove along. She just pointed out some main monuments and sights. We have taken other bus tours and learned a lot more than on this one. Also, we stopped for 15 minutes at Hard Rock Cafe do a free aft drink, which was completely unnecessary and wasted precious time. We felt ripped off.

What saved the tour for us was the guide who took us through the Prado. She was outstanding and we loved the tour and would highly recommend this part but not the other.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Malcolm S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The Prado is definitely worth a visit and skipping the lines is a must. Not so sure the guided tour was really worth the money though the guide was very pleasant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Carl K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I booked this because of the early access to the Prado and we still waited in line 25 minutes. Also tour was conducted in both English and Spanish and both groups had to wait around while the other group listened to what had just been said in the other language. Lots of wasted time! Guide was very good and it was impressive as she switched back and forth but added lots of standing time. She made arrangements for any of us to see the Bosco exhibit which was great. I went back and looked at the description of the tour and would not have booked it if the English/Spanish bit had been mentioned. All our other tours booked did not do this. There might have been folks who needed Spanish but another guide was provided and groups split, not one as was here. Reina Sofia was impressive but again lots of waiting for the second group to hear explanation when we could have moved on. Guide great, tour organization poor

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Marilyn D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Tour was ok, would prefer to have had the museum tour separated by English and Spanish, this makes this go on way too long and you loose interest.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Mary Pat Alcus A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

This was booked as a tour in English and was fused with a tour in Spanish because of a low peak day to the Museum. We were so disappointed and wish that we had spent less and gotten the audioguide which would have cost less and taught us more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Barbara P United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

This is a mixed review. The bus tour in the beginning was OK, but it was sometimes hard to hear the guide at the front of the bus. We had a few short stops for photo ops. It was a huge group of more than 30, so when we had a stop with some walking, it was very difficult to understand what was being said. We stopped by the Hard Rock Cafe for a soft drink, but didn't have time to finish it if one used the stop as a potty break. It was a large group because the participants had booked one of three tours, depending on the second half after the bus tour. We booked the Prado part, which I couldn't recommend any higher. We had the same guide as for the bus tour and she was terrific! We went right into the museum with no waiting and the guide took us right to the most important examples in the collection. She was extremely knowledgeable about the works. I would recommend, however, checking on special exhibits before arriving and booking tickets. By the time we were finished with the regular tour, the special exhibit on Bosch the day we went was sold out. Once in the museum, you can stay and see more of the collection at your leisure.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Philip R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to get an overview of two enormous museums and the important works they contain. Bosch exhibit is not be missed. Our guide Irene was fantastic. Engaged all of the tour members completely!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Daniel W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Irene is a very knowledgable guide who brought insight to the most significant pieces in these two great museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Eleen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful way to see the two most famous museums in Madrid. Irene had a wealth of knowledge about Spanish history and the major artworks in each museum. She effortlessly went between English and Spanish to share her vast knowledge with all of the guests.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

pgorodetskaya

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Prado Museum was beautiful but our guide seemed to stick to unnecessary details.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Mark A C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Great to skip the line, but could use some improvement. The museum supplied audio equipment was very poor. We also spent too much time on certain paintings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Peter C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Meeting spot for group was not specific so I ended up walking around for awhile
Guide seemed to be rushing through some descriptions and never gave us a clear history of the museum itself

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

jonnah

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

I would not recommend this tour from Julia travel/grayline. The tourist guide di not even pronounce her name properly, pretended that she did not hear questions asked by the tourists. One has to tap her shoulder to get her attention. She was just like a recorder. Perhaps it would have been better to take the hop on-hop off bus. Not enough time for pictures off the bus. We just got off the bus twice. The only thing nice was the air conditioned bus.
The tour at Prado museum with a different guide was better.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Tour

Jan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The contact office was easy to find and the guide was personable, knowledgeable and entertaining. It made the trip through the Prado an exciting learning experience. She focused on 3 Spanish artists: Goya, El Greco, and Velasquez.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Robin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was amazing. I still can't believe that I saw Greco and Goya's work. I loved going to both the Prado and Reina Sofia! Well organized.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message