Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Prado Museum (Museo del Prado)

The Museo del Prado - Prado Museum - is considered to house one of the finest art collections in the world. It displays thousands of European paintings, sculptures, and other works of art throughout its halls - and this is only a fraction of their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 273 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good way to get an overview of Madrid with a taste of the different neighborhoods. The Prado Museum was very good. Outstanding collection of El Greco and Goya.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Guided our

dechan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It felt a bit rushed to cover both museums in one tour but they are both very good museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Chuck

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

We had a hard time finding our guide and the starting location. Most of the people were spanish so everything our guide said had to be repeated twice. Got a phone that we had to hold instead of a headset - rather inconvenient. The actual museum tour was pretty good and very enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Linda C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

We signed up for a tour of the Prado Museum. It was horrible.The description of the tour was... 10-12 people and English.
We had over 25 people and the woman spoke mostly Spanish.. I asked her why she was not speaking English.. she said she was..
The first 3 words of the sentence were english but then she continued to speak spanish.. It was very poor. We never got her name and when the tour was over she left so fast no one knew who she was.. not even the staff at the Prado.
Never again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

William D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

There was no early access at the Prado. The tour guide showed up only after I called the tour operator. She handed out our tickets and we went to wait in line like everybody else. The tour was in both English and Spanish so there was a lot of downtime while she gave her talk in the other language. I felt that she missed a number of important works which we did on our own. After that we went to Reina Sofia on our own. I wouldn't recommend this one.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

jcole623

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

great tour of the museum. 3000 paintings. the guide was very knowledgeable on all the works.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Bina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had the best time on this tour. I loved the Prado museum. We also took all day Madrid city tour which was excellent! !

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Guided our

johnhtrnr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent overview of the city and the skip the line at the museum was a real benefit!

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Guided our

Douglas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour of the best museums in Madrid! Our guild was extreamly knowledgeable, knew her art history very well, and answered all questions. I recommend!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Pedro B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My wife and I toured the Prado Museum calssical art and the Queen Sofia museum modern art with a small group. Our tour guide spoke in both English and Spanish and answered each and every question we had. We had a particular interest in Fra Angelico and Murillo which were not part of the official tour but our guide was kind enough to direct us to the paintings we wanted to see. Seeing famous works of art by Velazquez, Bosch, Goya and El Greco were a wonderful treat. We could have stayed there for the whole day. We did go on to visit the Queen Sofia and see Picasso's Guernica, but that is really the only interest we had in going there.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a wonderful museum that was shown to us by a very knowledgeable guide who obviously enjoyed taking visitors around it. Her enthusiasm and pleasant manner made our visit an extremely interesting and enjoyable one.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Eleonora Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Irene is an amazing guide. We have enjoyed both museum. She explained us all the details of the paintings she was showing us and she gave us many pieces of advice very interesting.

I suggest this tour to everybody. Also Irene is very passionate and you can see she loves her job.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Camilia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was fabulous. Our tour guide, Irene, was very knowledgeable highlighting essential pieces from both museums. I would highly recommend working this tour in during your trip to Madrid.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Sandra S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Knowledgeable guide but only includes 3 artists in the tour. She could have made recommendations on what else to see after the tour and some history of the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

byoung0416

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A great way to see Madrid when you only have a short time there. The tour of the Prado was the best thing we could have done. There were long long lines waiting to get in and we just passed them by. Our tour guide was very interesting and certainly knew the Prado and its contents inside and out. Having someone discuss the more important paintings in detail certainly makes for a much better tour.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Guided our

Paul Z

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Need better headsets
Have to hold the earphone like a telephone and it gets tiring..
Otherwise pretty good overview of a very large museum.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

J H V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Carmen our guide was knowledgeable and the Guide at the zPrado Museum was also very good

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Guided our

loretta13

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The guide Irene was great. The only thing is it is not early access to the museum. It opens at 10 and we met at 9:45, Irene went and got the tickets and then we waited on line until the museum opened at 10 am for everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Mayur.Anandwala

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

This tour is good. We wish there was more time spent for the Prado Museum. Tour guide was excellent. The tour lasted early and did not go full 5 hours.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Guided our

Kathleen E

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The tour guide was not assertive enough and many groups moved in front of us and cut the line to Museo del Prado. Even the general line entered more quickly than we did. She was very knowledgeable once inside so we were glad to have someone lead us around, but again, she wasn't able to get the best positions in many of the rooms because other groups would butt in and talk over her. We walked a long way to the Reina Sofia and by this point we were tired, and our feet hurt! The Picasso Guernica was all we wanted to see in the Reina Sofia, and we were glad we went, but it was a bit too much to do in one morning.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

wmctiernan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Nice tour but 2 negatives stuck out. First, on the 3 hour tour of Madrid, we spent 30 minutes of it at a Hard Rock Cafe for pit stop and soft drinks. That seemed a bit much. On the Prado tour, we were told we'd have 90 minutes on a guided tour of the Prado and we spent less than an hour in it.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Guided our

Konstantinos C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The first part of the tour was not interesting at all. It was just a short explanation of Madrid's basic landmarks.The second part in the Prado museum lasted only 45 minutes.The museum tour could include details on more paintings.

Doing what: Madrid Combo: City Sightseeing and Skip-the-Line Prado Museum Guided our

PABLO LUIS G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Tour, thanks to the guide we have learned a lot about the Prado and Reina Sofia museum. Our teenager kids were amazed with the explanations and knowledge of our guide. This is highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

sarah h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Irene was a wonderfully knowledgable guide and gave us a really good introduction to the Prado and Reina Sofia

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

stellagibbs United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful guide who was knowledgeable about all aspects of both the Prado and the Reina Sofia museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message