Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Reina Sofia Museum (Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia)

The Centro de Arte Reina Sofia - or Reina Sofia Museum - is Madrid's premier modern art gallery featuring mostly works by Spanish artists. Amongst them is Guernica , a political statement on the Spanish Civil War by Picasso, as well as a room ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hugh V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

On a trip to Madrid I decided to take the VIP Prado and Reina Sofia tour. I was the only guest to sign up for this tour on a Sunday morning in March and had the tour guide, Irene, to myself. Irene was a university art history graduate with a great knowledge of the art works in both museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Nicholas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful tour of 2 important but overwhelming museums. Our tour guide, Irene, did a wonderful job moving our group of 11 people through the busy Museo del Prado while explaining the significance of important works in both Spanish and English. The pace was quick, but her information was very interesting and she was always able to provide additional information when asked. After the tour we had about a half hour of free time in the Prado to explore on our own or to relax in the cafe with a cup of tea. From there we moved on to the Reina Sofia - a much smaller and quieter museum, and as a result, this part of the tour felt more personal. Once again Irene was extremely knowledgeable and very willing to share information and answer questions. The highlight of the day was seeing Picasso's larger than life painting, Guernica! One of the things that struck me about Irene was her enthusiasm for the art. Her discussion of the artists and the paintings felt fresh and was delivered with interest. My husband and I completely enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Kim C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I was glad I got the early access there are crowds and lines all day long and I wanted to take my time. I got the audio tour which was great and I when I left the Reina Sofia I realized I'd spent 6 hours viewing some of the most amazing art of our world! Bosch's In the Garden of Earthly Delights was the perfect thing to see the day before I went out to Salvador Dali's house. And viewing Valesquez's La Meninas is a must before viewing both Picasso's and Dali's work - such fun seeing the rifts on these treasures.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Incredible tour! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Madrid Panoramic Tour with Museo Reina Sofia Entrance Ticket

Cameron N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Tour Guide was wonderful! She took the time to explain everything in as much detail in English as well as Spanish!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

FRANCES A F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We did not actually get early access. We had to wait in the line and the Prado was open well before we entered. Our guide was pleasant, but there was quite a bit of fast walking between the Prado and Reina Sophia. Also, be aware that photos of Guernica are not permitted.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Edgar O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Early Access and the written description of entering the Prado early is a complete misnomer. We were told to arrive by 930am for early access -- we did, but the guide did not. We were told there was a problem with the tickets. We saw our first work of art at 1035am -- 35 minutes after the museum opened to general public. Moreover, there were too many people on a tour labeled as VIP. I think we started with 27 people, but as frustration mounted, people quit/left the tour. Only 7 people lasted the whole time. Lastly, the tour was conducted simultaneously in Spanish and in English -- that's terrible, everything takes twice as long and fatigues guests, especially children. When on vacation, time is our most precious resource -- this tour wasted it in advance and throughout.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Carlos O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Best way to appreciate the art work and history of the building at the same time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Reina Sofia Museum with Skip-the-Line Access

Flaneuretta United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Alexander Q

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

First of all the tourguide didn't wear a paper with the name Viator but with another company's name, therefore it was confusing to find her. Then we entered the museum at a few minutes after ten and not like promised 15 minutes before the tour. When I asked the tour guide about that, she said the museum wouldn't allow early access. We were the only two non Spanish speakers in the tour so the tour guide described the same things first in spanish and then in english, which used many time, we expected different tour guides for each language. Finally the tour guide herself was quite knowledgeable and did a good job.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Megan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Irene was a great tour guide and very knowledgeable. We really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

David N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Irene was a fantastic guide. Learned a lot about Spain through the history of some of its greatest artists.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

dechan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It felt a bit rushed to cover both museums in one tour but they are both very good museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Wataru U

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our guide Irene was great. She explained very well the history of paintings and stories behind them. She connected the medieval painting of the paradise and hell to Dali in 1920s. She is very educated on the art history and she speaks perfect English, too.

WU

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

gbullis

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a good tour. The guide, Irene, who studied art history in college, gave more insight into the works of art than I would have gotten without her. The tour was a little long because she was explaining the art work in both English and Spanish. If it was only one language at a time, we could have either seen more art of have been finished earlier. Overall, though, I recommend it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

David M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Tour would have been much better if it were only in one language per tour.
Our tour guide had to spend half of her time speaking in Spanish and the other half in English. Also you had to listen intently even when it was not your language, because we didn and #39;t know when she would switch back to English

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Graham R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Very disappointing after always praising Viator.
Guide was 1/2 hr late so any possibility of jumping then lineup went out the window.
Guide very bogged down with detail.
Unless you are an academic purist I recommend you do this activity on your own.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

William D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

There was no early access at the Prado. The tour guide showed up only after I called the tour operator. She handed out our tickets and we went to wait in line like everybody else. The tour was in both English and Spanish so there was a lot of downtime while she gave her talk in the other language. I felt that she missed a number of important works which we did on our own. After that we went to Reina Sofia on our own. I wouldn't recommend this one.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Lesley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nearly missed our time slot as we were waiting at one entrance , but not by the right statue. Where there are a lot of entrances and statues perhaps a map sent out at time of booking would be an advantage. We phoned our guide who gave us directions and waited for us. She was a first class guide. I think her name was Irene. She explained not only the paintings but how the art work was achieved . I have never understood cubism, but she opened our eyes to some of the paintings. She spent a long time with us and also allowed us to have our own free time. Thorougly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful experience with a very personable and knowledgeable young female guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Douglas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour of the best museums in Madrid! Our guild was extreamly knowledgeable, knew her art history very well, and answered all questions. I recommend!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Pedro B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My wife and I toured the Prado Museum calssical art and the Queen Sofia museum modern art with a small group. Our tour guide spoke in both English and Spanish and answered each and every question we had. We had a particular interest in Fra Angelico and Murillo which were not part of the official tour but our guide was kind enough to direct us to the paintings we wanted to see. Seeing famous works of art by Velazquez, Bosch, Goya and El Greco were a wonderful treat. We could have stayed there for the whole day. We did go on to visit the Queen Sofia and see Picasso's Guernica, but that is really the only interest we had in going there.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

lorraine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions great tour because you see the most important and skip lines

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Eleonora Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Irene is an amazing guide. We have enjoyed both museum. She explained us all the details of the paintings she was showing us and she gave us many pieces of advice very interesting.

I suggest this tour to everybody. Also Irene is very passionate and you can see she loves her job.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Camilia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was fabulous. Our tour guide, Irene, was very knowledgeable highlighting essential pieces from both museums. I would highly recommend working this tour in during your trip to Madrid.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message