Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Reina Sofia Museum (Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia)

The Centro de Arte Reina Sofia - or Reina Sofia Museum - is Madrid's premier modern art gallery featuring mostly works by Spanish artists. Amongst them is Guernica , a political statement on the Spanish Civil War by Picasso, as well as a room ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Philip R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to get an overview of two enormous museums and the important works they contain. Bosch exhibit is not be missed. Our guide Irene was fantastic. Engaged all of the tour members completely!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

George D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent tour with an informative guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

michael c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

this was an excellent tour. introduced me to Goya as an artist

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Daniel W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Irene is a very knowledgable guide who brought insight to the most significant pieces in these two great museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

cpsheran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent experience. The guide was professional and well prepared for our tour. She did a great job of explaining everything in both Spanish and English. Knowledgeable about the works of art and very interesting to listen to. Would highly recommend her.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Betsy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was excellent!
Thanks!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Eleen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful way to see the two most famous museums in Madrid. Irene had a wealth of knowledge about Spanish history and the major artworks in each museum. She effortlessly went between English and Spanish to share her vast knowledge with all of the guests.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was terrific. We got in early and walked down a main hall filled with masterpieces before another single guest was upstairs. This tour was small, just 12 people, with 9 English speakers and 3 Spanish. The time was cut in half because of the translation. It would make much more sense for such a small tour to be either in English or Spanish. Instead, speakers of both languages got to hear about half the artwork we might have in a single language tour. This was most evident in the Reina Sophia, where modern Spanish works required quite a bit of background and there were few other works in a room. That said, our guide was very responsive and answered all the questions we had. Although the tour is a good amount of time, keep in mind that half of it will be waiting for the guide to explain the same work in another language.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Vladimir M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Tour guide doesn't speak English.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Lawrence F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour (it was run through Amigo Tours). Our guide Irene was well informed and very accommodating. She was full of stories about the historical significance of the pieces we saw. And she was with us for a long time. Well done.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Diane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Irene was so informative. She explained the history as well as the specific artist and #39;s technique. I would certainly book again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Robin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was amazing. I still can't believe that I saw Greco and Goya's work. I loved going to both the Prado and Reina Sofia! Well organized.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Barcelona trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the museum....Irene was knowledgeable and delightful! Highly recommend n

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were very happy with the guide. She gave great information and made the tour very enjoyable. Only thing I would say is would prefer tour in one language only.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful guide. She was easy to understand, full of knowledge about the artworks we saw, and took us to all the places we wanted to go. We were very satisfied and would recommend this package and especially this guide to our friends. Thank you so much

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

ROBERTO ACOSTA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Irene estuvo magnifica. Mucho conocimiento y control del grupo. Recomiendo este tour y principalmente a nuestra guia Irene. Gracias

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Irene, our tour guide, was wonderful! Her passion for the art we were seeing was evident, and she patiently and intelligently answered all questions that came her way. The tour itself was also nicely balanced between the guided portion and the free portion, so we weren't overwhelmed by information. The only negative -- the directions said to meet in front of the museum, which we assumed incorrectly to be the entrance. Happily, Irene had kept an eye out for us, so we were not left behind.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Joanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I only booked this tour days before I went to Madrid. The meeting place was easy to find. I would only recommend this tour if you enjoy art and sculptures lots of amazing painting to see for example Picasso and Salvador Dali. The Prado Museum was a lovely building. The was only 4 of us on the tour at the beginning including the guide but the 2 people on the tour apart from Me was Greek so found it difficult as was a English tour so they left on the 2nd part of the tour. So had a one to one tour the young lady was so knowledgeable about the paintings and was explaining their meanings and it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

mviera2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome places to visit! Irene, our guide, was very well informed. One little note: This is a walking tour, which requires street walking between museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Kellie R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and organised . Well worth the booking.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

James B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Great guide, magnificent collections but last minute change in time and meeting place,no pick up ,no prior notice caused many serious problems!!!: late entry to prado made bad crowding much worse-skip-the-line a bad and expensive joke. Walk to Prado, thru Prado, to Reina Sofia,thru Reina Sofia a bit of a death march- lost two of our party who were exhausted. I would recommend a real skip the line in the earliest am entry and only one museum a day unless you are an iron man/woman who likes brief snap shots of great paintings in the company of a cast of thousands. We loved the nearby Thyssen Bournissen Museum the next day great collection much less crowded

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour, well organized, and worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Marilyn I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good - Irene was a fund of knowledge.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Alan Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and the tour guide was excellent with a wealth of knowledge that made the viewing and learning experience highly memorable. This the best feedback I have ever provided as I found the trip marvellous in every way.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Terezinha J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I was very satisfied with this tour with our brilliant guide Irene. The only think I didn't like is to have to walk from Museo del Prado to Reina Sofia 20 minutes. Our tour ended around 2:30pm.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message