Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Reina Sofia Museum (Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia)

The Centro de Arte Reina Sofia - or Reina Sofia Museum - is Madrid's premier modern art gallery featuring mostly works by Spanish artists. Amongst them is Guernica , a political statement on the Spanish Civil War by Picasso, as well as a room ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

PABLO LUIS G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Tour, thanks to the guide we have learned a lot about the Prado and Reina Sofia museum. Our teenager kids were amazed with the explanations and knowledge of our guide. This is highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

sarah h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Irene was a wonderfully knowledgable guide and gave us a really good introduction to the Prado and Reina Sofia

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

stellagibbs United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful guide who was knowledgeable about all aspects of both the Prado and the Reina Sofia museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

David Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth the tour to skip the lines at the Prado and have an experienced guide take us to the highlights in a way that helped us appreciate the evolution of art styles during that time period. After some free time in the Prado, we took a short walk to the Reina Sofia and saw the cubist and surrealist movements in modern art. Highlight was Guernica, and the guide's explanation of what was happening at the time during the Civil War and the bombing in Guernica made it all the better. Her explanation of the theories of what Picasso was painting were fascinating.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Karen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent and informative guide. Time was well managed.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

derekt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very comprehensive covered most of the places that the hop on hop off buses do. Guide was very good and as there were onky 4 of us at the palace, we virtually had a private tour. Would recommend it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

warren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was most impressive. Very educated in the arts, well spoke, professional, polite and had to translate both in English and Spanish to group. She did an excellent job. I think her name was Elaine.
The young lady never quit explaining about art from the start to the finish of tour. I wanted to give her a bottle of water for I know her throat had to be quite dry. By far the best of all the tours we took. She also renewed our faith in tours after our disastrous experience we had in Granada with the same tour company that Viator subbed out to. This is one tour guide that you should definitely make sure you keep around!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Susan R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour of the city! informative and just the right amount of time to get a sense of the city.

Doing what: Madrid Panoramic Tour with Museo Reina Sofia Entrance Ticket

Carl K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I booked this because of the early access to the Prado and we still waited in line 25 minutes. Also tour was conducted in both English and Spanish and both groups had to wait around while the other group listened to what had just been said in the other language. Lots of wasted time! Guide was very good and it was impressive as she switched back and forth but added lots of standing time. She made arrangements for any of us to see the Bosco exhibit which was great. I went back and looked at the description of the tour and would not have booked it if the English/Spanish bit had been mentioned. All our other tours booked did not do this. There might have been folks who needed Spanish but another guide was provided and groups split, not one as was here. Reina Sofia was impressive but again lots of waiting for the second group to hear explanation when we could have moved on. Guide great, tour organization poor

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

PHILIP G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Much too fast. Ear whispers were poor quality.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

JEFFERY R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Disappointing. We expected to see more 'masters', but was shown more Spanish history type pictures,

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Philip R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to get an overview of two enormous museums and the important works they contain. Bosch exhibit is not be missed. Our guide Irene was fantastic. Engaged all of the tour members completely!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

George D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent tour with an informative guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

michael c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

this was an excellent tour. introduced me to Goya as an artist

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Daniel W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Irene is a very knowledgable guide who brought insight to the most significant pieces in these two great museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

cpsheran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent experience. The guide was professional and well prepared for our tour. She did a great job of explaining everything in both Spanish and English. Knowledgeable about the works of art and very interesting to listen to. Would highly recommend her.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Betsy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was excellent!
Thanks!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Eleen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful way to see the two most famous museums in Madrid. Irene had a wealth of knowledge about Spanish history and the major artworks in each museum. She effortlessly went between English and Spanish to share her vast knowledge with all of the guests.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was terrific. We got in early and walked down a main hall filled with masterpieces before another single guest was upstairs. This tour was small, just 12 people, with 9 English speakers and 3 Spanish. The time was cut in half because of the translation. It would make much more sense for such a small tour to be either in English or Spanish. Instead, speakers of both languages got to hear about half the artwork we might have in a single language tour. This was most evident in the Reina Sophia, where modern Spanish works required quite a bit of background and there were few other works in a room. That said, our guide was very responsive and answered all the questions we had. Although the tour is a good amount of time, keep in mind that half of it will be waiting for the guide to explain the same work in another language.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Vladimir M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Tour guide doesn't speak English.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Lawrence F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour (it was run through Amigo Tours). Our guide Irene was well informed and very accommodating. She was full of stories about the historical significance of the pieces we saw. And she was with us for a long time. Well done.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Diane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Irene was so informative. She explained the history as well as the specific artist and #39;s technique. I would certainly book again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Robin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was amazing. I still can't believe that I saw Greco and Goya's work. I loved going to both the Prado and Reina Sofia! Well organized.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Barcelona trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the museum....Irene was knowledgeable and delightful! Highly recommend n

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were very happy with the guide. She gave great information and made the tour very enjoyable. Only thing I would say is would prefer tour in one language only.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message