Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Reina Sofia Museum (Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia)

The Centro de Arte Reina Sofia - or Reina Sofia Museum - is Madrid's premier modern art gallery featuring mostly works by Spanish artists. Amongst them is Guernica , a political statement on the Spanish Civil War by Picasso, as well as a room ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lawrence F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour (it was run through Amigo Tours). Our guide Irene was well informed and very accommodating. She was full of stories about the historical significance of the pieces we saw. And she was with us for a long time. Well done.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Diane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Irene was so informative. She explained the history as well as the specific artist and #39;s technique. I would certainly book again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Robin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was amazing. I still can't believe that I saw Greco and Goya's work. I loved going to both the Prado and Reina Sofia! Well organized.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Barcelona trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the museum....Irene was knowledgeable and delightful! Highly recommend n

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were very happy with the guide. She gave great information and made the tour very enjoyable. Only thing I would say is would prefer tour in one language only.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful guide. She was easy to understand, full of knowledge about the artworks we saw, and took us to all the places we wanted to go. We were very satisfied and would recommend this package and especially this guide to our friends. Thank you so much

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

ROBERTO ACOSTA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Irene estuvo magnifica. Mucho conocimiento y control del grupo. Recomiendo este tour y principalmente a nuestra guia Irene. Gracias

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Irene, our tour guide, was wonderful! Her passion for the art we were seeing was evident, and she patiently and intelligently answered all questions that came her way. The tour itself was also nicely balanced between the guided portion and the free portion, so we weren't overwhelmed by information. The only negative -- the directions said to meet in front of the museum, which we assumed incorrectly to be the entrance. Happily, Irene had kept an eye out for us, so we were not left behind.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Joanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I only booked this tour days before I went to Madrid. The meeting place was easy to find. I would only recommend this tour if you enjoy art and sculptures lots of amazing painting to see for example Picasso and Salvador Dali. The Prado Museum was a lovely building. The was only 4 of us on the tour at the beginning including the guide but the 2 people on the tour apart from Me was Greek so found it difficult as was a English tour so they left on the 2nd part of the tour. So had a one to one tour the young lady was so knowledgeable about the paintings and was explaining their meanings and it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Kellie R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and organised . Well worth the booking.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

James B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Great guide, magnificent collections but last minute change in time and meeting place,no pick up ,no prior notice caused many serious problems!!!: late entry to prado made bad crowding much worse-skip-the-line a bad and expensive joke. Walk to Prado, thru Prado, to Reina Sofia,thru Reina Sofia a bit of a death march- lost two of our party who were exhausted. I would recommend a real skip the line in the earliest am entry and only one museum a day unless you are an iron man/woman who likes brief snap shots of great paintings in the company of a cast of thousands. We loved the nearby Thyssen Bournissen Museum the next day great collection much less crowded

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour, well organized, and worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Marilyn I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good - Irene was a fund of knowledge.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Alan Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and the tour guide was excellent with a wealth of knowledge that made the viewing and learning experience highly memorable. This the best feedback I have ever provided as I found the trip marvellous in every way.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Terezinha J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I was very satisfied with this tour with our brilliant guide Irene. The only think I didn't like is to have to walk from Museo del Prado to Reina Sofia 20 minutes. Our tour ended around 2:30pm.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Katherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was friendly, well informed and provided clear explanations. The length of the tour was appropriate to get a feel for the history and transition of the art styles. The two venues themselves were interesting with clever blending of old and impressive contemporary architecture.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Michele A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Our guide Irene was very knowledgeable. Her passion for the art is felt through her descriptions of the pieces and artists. This is a great wSy to experience both museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Irene was super! excellent English, friendly and thoughtful, and mainly her knowledge of art and the many artists provided new insights for usi

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Kim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Irene was an excellent tour guide. As an Art Historian, she was able to explain history and development of art through the ages. Both museums were very interesting - we had an hour between both museums to relax and have a coffee- very good for the traveling weary. Irene loves her job and it shows. thank you Irene -- I go home with an understanding and appreciation of the Spanish masters! Learning a bit about El Greco from Irene, it made out trip to Toledo that much more meaningful!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Susan E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

this was an excellent tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, and she gave heaps of good information in a really interesting way. She had a good sense of humour also and her English was excellent. We learned a lot, and I would recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Carolina M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour, the guide was particularly nice and very knowledgeable as well as had a great attitude.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Gary Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Confusing entry details, however, when we found the guide all was well! The tour was well constructed and allowed us to skim a great deal of these huge institutions . We saw a lot and learnt a lot - a great introductation.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Bernadette S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was very informative and the it gave one a taste of all the wonderful art to be seen at the Prado. The Reina Sofia was well worth the visit.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

danecrutchfield

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Touring two museums in one day was an ambitious adventure, but we enjoyed this tour and saw the highlights in both museums. I frequently sat down along the way to pace myself. I would recommend spending more time at the Prado if you are concerned about the activity level. This tour involves walking and some stairs. Recommend bringing water.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Bartolo B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Tour was in Spanish and English, we requested English. Wasted time as he only had 1.5 hrs for tour. English was passable. Would not recommend. I could sense the frustration with the other English speaking tourists.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message