Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Reina Sofia Museum (Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia)

The Centro de Arte Reina Sofia - or Reina Sofia Museum - is Madrid's premier modern art gallery featuring mostly works by Spanish artists. Amongst them is Guernica , a political statement on the Spanish Civil War by Picasso, as well as a room ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Megan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Irene was a great tour guide and very knowledgeable. We really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

David N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Irene was a fantastic guide. Learned a lot about Spain through the history of some of its greatest artists.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

dechan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It felt a bit rushed to cover both museums in one tour but they are both very good museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Wataru U

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our guide Irene was great. She explained very well the history of paintings and stories behind them. She connected the medieval painting of the paradise and hell to Dali in 1920s. She is very educated on the art history and she speaks perfect English, too.

WU

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

gbullis

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a good tour. The guide, Irene, who studied art history in college, gave more insight into the works of art than I would have gotten without her. The tour was a little long because she was explaining the art work in both English and Spanish. If it was only one language at a time, we could have either seen more art of have been finished earlier. Overall, though, I recommend it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

David M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Tour would have been much better if it were only in one language per tour.
Our tour guide had to spend half of her time speaking in Spanish and the other half in English. Also you had to listen intently even when it was not your language, because we didn and #39;t know when she would switch back to English

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Graham R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Very disappointing after always praising Viator.
Guide was 1/2 hr late so any possibility of jumping then lineup went out the window.
Guide very bogged down with detail.
Unless you are an academic purist I recommend you do this activity on your own.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

William D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

There was no early access at the Prado. The tour guide showed up only after I called the tour operator. She handed out our tickets and we went to wait in line like everybody else. The tour was in both English and Spanish so there was a lot of downtime while she gave her talk in the other language. I felt that she missed a number of important works which we did on our own. After that we went to Reina Sofia on our own. I wouldn't recommend this one.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Lesley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nearly missed our time slot as we were waiting at one entrance , but not by the right statue. Where there are a lot of entrances and statues perhaps a map sent out at time of booking would be an advantage. We phoned our guide who gave us directions and waited for us. She was a first class guide. I think her name was Irene. She explained not only the paintings but how the art work was achieved . I have never understood cubism, but she opened our eyes to some of the paintings. She spent a long time with us and also allowed us to have our own free time. Thorougly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful experience with a very personable and knowledgeable young female guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Douglas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour of the best museums in Madrid! Our guild was extreamly knowledgeable, knew her art history very well, and answered all questions. I recommend!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Pedro B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My wife and I toured the Prado Museum calssical art and the Queen Sofia museum modern art with a small group. Our tour guide spoke in both English and Spanish and answered each and every question we had. We had a particular interest in Fra Angelico and Murillo which were not part of the official tour but our guide was kind enough to direct us to the paintings we wanted to see. Seeing famous works of art by Velazquez, Bosch, Goya and El Greco were a wonderful treat. We could have stayed there for the whole day. We did go on to visit the Queen Sofia and see Picasso's Guernica, but that is really the only interest we had in going there.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

lorraine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions great tour because you see the most important and skip lines

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Eleonora Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Irene is an amazing guide. We have enjoyed both museum. She explained us all the details of the paintings she was showing us and she gave us many pieces of advice very interesting.

I suggest this tour to everybody. Also Irene is very passionate and you can see she loves her job.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Camilia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was fabulous. Our tour guide, Irene, was very knowledgeable highlighting essential pieces from both museums. I would highly recommend working this tour in during your trip to Madrid.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Jeff P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Avoiding the lineups is essential and this pre booking facilitated that. Guide was knowledgeable and flexible obtained tickets for us for the visiting exhibit at no extra charge.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Paul Z

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Need better headsets
Have to hold the earphone like a telephone and it gets tiring..
Otherwise pretty good overview of a very large museum.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

loretta13

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The guide Irene was great. The only thing is it is not early access to the museum. It opens at 10 and we met at 9:45, Irene went and got the tickets and then we waited on line until the museum opened at 10 am for everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Kathleen E

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The tour guide was not assertive enough and many groups moved in front of us and cut the line to Museo del Prado. Even the general line entered more quickly than we did. She was very knowledgeable once inside so we were glad to have someone lead us around, but again, she wasn't able to get the best positions in many of the rooms because other groups would butt in and talk over her. We walked a long way to the Reina Sofia and by this point we were tired, and our feet hurt! The Picasso Guernica was all we wanted to see in the Reina Sofia, and we were glad we went, but it was a bit too much to do in one morning.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Ann S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Don't waste your time. This is not the experience advertised. Large group with late entry.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

PABLO LUIS G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Tour, thanks to the guide we have learned a lot about the Prado and Reina Sofia museum. Our teenager kids were amazed with the explanations and knowledge of our guide. This is highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

sarah h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Irene was a wonderfully knowledgable guide and gave us a really good introduction to the Prado and Reina Sofia

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

stellagibbs United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful guide who was knowledgeable about all aspects of both the Prado and the Reina Sofia museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

David Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth the tour to skip the lines at the Prado and have an experienced guide take us to the highlights in a way that helped us appreciate the evolution of art styles during that time period. After some free time in the Prado, we took a short walk to the Reina Sofia and saw the cubist and surrealist movements in modern art. Highlight was Guernica, and the guide's explanation of what was happening at the time during the Civil War and the bombing in Guernica made it all the better. Her explanation of the theories of what Picasso was painting were fascinating.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Karen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent and informative guide. Time was well managed.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message