Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Palace (Palacio Real)

The Palacio Real (or Royal Palace, also referred to as the Palacio de Oriente) is the lavish site of royal events, but is not home to the royal family (they have lived in the smaller Palacio de la Zarzuela for some time). The Palacio Real is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 387 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eunbyul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The palace was beautiful and Khan was an extremely knowledgeable guide. We asked him about everything from politics, to history, to culture. It's worth the price to be the first group in the palace and it makes for beautiful pictures! When we left the palace, the entrance line was pretty long. Since the tour ended in the morning, it's also a great was to start the day. You'll have plenty of time to walk through Plaza Mayor, then through Puerta del Sol, then Museo Nacional del Prado, and finally spend the evening at Parque de El Retiro.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Marian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Interesting panoramic tour.
We did not only receive royal palace entrance ticket, but also excellent guided visit

Doing what: Madrid Panoramic Tour with Royal Palace Entrance Ticket

Vidhi G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour by Alfonso! Extremely knowledgeable and the private early access was totally worth it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

JMantaring

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This allowed us to skip the line -- I would put out a bit more money for an audio tour.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Sharon W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was everything that was promised. We had early entry before the massive crowds, and our guide was incredible. He took the time to answer all our questions and was so interesting to listen to. I would have loved to have him be my guide for all of Madrid. This was another well done tour from Amigo Tours.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Carl K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour-overview by bus and then Royal Palace. If you only have a bit of time , this one is good

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Ted

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This small group tour is possibly the best way to see the Royal Palace, which is one of the largest and most interesting we've visited outside of London. Our tour guide Kahn was superb shared detailed knowledge of the Palace, previous and current royalty, and the art and decorations on display. Entertaining and informative, and very much a bargain particularly if you prefer to plan your own mix of tours and sightseeing. He skillfully guided us through at a much more leisurely pace than the larger groups we encountered. Plus this is a great way to start a day in Madrid after we finished the Palace tour we walked over to the Plaza Mayor to sip coffee and people watch, then strolled to the Renia Sofia to see its wonderful collection including Picasso's Guernica. I highly recommend the tour, the tour company and the guide!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Debra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The palace is gorgeous, and the armory is really interesting. So happy we went on this tour.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Malcolm S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed this visit and we were surprised how much of the Palace was open to the public. Good value for money.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Philip W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This palace is amazing for its beauty and craftsmanship. However, even though we had bought tickets online before the trip, and I had the barcode as proof, the admission required also the 'Madrid Card. You cannot get that at the Palace, but must obtain it before getting in line at the Palace. The card was not required at any other museums. Our time budget did not allow us the time needed to walk to find the Madrid Card, so we got in line and bought another ticket. Infuriating.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

rumakinternet

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very informative. Great to have early access with few others in the building. Our guide wss excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

warren

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Guide did a very good job on walking tour and palace tour. I purchased tour based on small walking tour and was not pleased when we got to the castle and a much larger group joined us. In fact two of the original group of 8 on the walking tour left the group once inside castle. Guide had to spend time explaining in Spanish and English due to Spanish guide not showing up for the walking tour.

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

Ann M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very informative guide and great to see the palace without a crowd. Only three groups allowed in early. Only thing that was a negative was knowing exactly where to meet the group.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Olga S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It's an interesting tour, but not very exciting

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

raj.mehta100

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour guide was great but the city doesn't really have much that is novel for me...balconies and windy streets as our guide said.....maybe Ive been spoilt recently with visits to Verona and Versailles. The Palace was interesting but small and busy with people. We were done in around 3 hours and that includes leaving late one of the party was late and a break for a coffee...so if I were you Id take a bus tour for this city or a chill out in El Retiro Park.

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

Gregory C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour was broken into two parts - the first being a walking tour of the main centre part of Madrid - it was very good and Rosalina sp? our guide did a good job working in both English and Spanish.

The second portion where we toured the Palace was quite different. The tour guide was very curt and did not even introduce herself or advise what the tour process would be...half our group did not even know she had arrived to take us into the Palace and generally she seemed to be just going through her motions a lightning speed. That said the Palace itself was amazing and well worth the visit.

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

chandan_mallik

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

1 The Royal Palace was opened at 3pm and only for partial view. It was not notified to me by email or text to my cell phone earlier so that I could visit earlier day.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

tanyaloveu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The tour was really boring and tour guide had to repeat everything in 3 languages.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Shireen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting venue. We toured the palace on our own. Would recommend using the Madrid Card to avoid long entry lines.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

mira.intwala1901

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

beautiful place and extra-ordinary palace. ... each and every small detail in the palace is worth admiring... the rooms are awe-inspiring and the works are nail biting....

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Eileen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent, skip the line entrance is the best.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Rohit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. Great insights. Dont miss the Armoury not part of the tour but included in the entrance

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

JaneandCharles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this early access tour to the Palace - it was so nice to beat the crowds and have time and space to look around. This is an amazing palace and the rooms we saw were exquisite. Khan was an outstanding guide and very knowledgeable - there was so much history about Spain to learn. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Mark A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Irene, was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of interesting historical facts about the palace, Spanish history and the royal family. Worth every penny to get early access and skip the long lines and crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message