Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Palace (Palacio Real)

The Palacio Real (or Royal Palace, also referred to as the Palacio de Oriente) is the lavish site of royal events, but is not home to the royal family (they have lived in the smaller Palacio de la Zarzuela for some time). The Palacio Real is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 352 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jrthorngren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I'm glad I got this card in advance, though there was actually not a very long line when I went to the palace in the afternoon. If you only have time for a few things to see in Madrid, the palace should be on the short list. Beautiful rooms with a lot of history. If you have a taste for art history, read up on what is there before you go, because there is artwork by some very famous painters, including works by Goya and Tiepolo, a collection of Stradivarius violins and cellos, along with some beautiful Chinese vases collected by the kings in the past. I got the audio tour, and I'm glad I did--there is so much to see that it helps to have some guidance.
Do not miss the armory, which is in a separate part of the complex from the main tour. It has an awesome collection of armor and weapons, and I wish I had gone there sooner, so I could have spent more time there.
Note: you do not enter through the main palace doors, but through an entry on the left end of the palace. It took me a while to find the entrance.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Garrett T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The palace is highly worth the visit. I would not recommend the tour/walk of the city because it's very basic and you can honestly do yourself without having to be guided around by a tour guide.

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

josea_aro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very Good Experience overall, the Palace by itself is a beauty, full of History and very well preserved, the tour was efficient and very nice, our guide explain us in a very professional and practical way, we were out by 11 and have the rest of the day to Explore Madrid

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour make us to come back in Spanish history. The experience was unique and enriching and our guide helped us to understand the different functions of this Palace and its meaning. A very well conserved monument. Very good experience!! I reccommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Eric D M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Madrid card was easy to retrieve and prevented us from having to wait in line. Great deal.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Catherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Royal Palace skip the line was great! We picked up the cards literally next to our hotel then walked to the Royal Palace. The Neo Tourism office is literally a 5-10 minute walk from the Royal Palace depending on how slow you walk. You go through a special entrance, avoid the crowds and heat. It is also smarter to pre-buy this since you save some money and time.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Milan Shah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Disappointed with wasting time - we had to go and collect the tickets somewhere else and then go back to the Palace. This wasted 45 minutes of our time. You should be specific about all this when we book the tickets and you write all this in small print on the voucher.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Alice C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

La Madrid Card Royal Palace est un coupe-fil appréciable sous la chaleur écrasante! La visite complétée de la tablette-audioguide était très intéressante bien que j'aurai préféré un guide.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Amy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was excellent. The palace is stunning and seeing it first thing in the morning with no other tourists in the building allows you to be awed by the history and the incredible decorative arts. Having seen Versaille last summer, I liked the Royal Palace of Madrid better. The building was never destroyed or defaced. The art and furniture collection is still intact...........and it is STUNNING!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Marie-Eve L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything was perfect. The card was easy to pick up.. nearby the Royal Palace.. You have to visit the palace.. and they have air conditioning everywhere.. which is fantastic for a visit on summer time!

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

john v

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

a little challenging to find, but well worth it.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Diane V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and interesting tour guide

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Alison M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Palace was good and well worth the visit. However very hard to find the ticket outlet - it would have been quicker just to wait in the normal queue!

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Jeri S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Line was short when we went and it wasn't a necessary expense. Live and learn.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Jorge C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The idea to buy the tickets from viator worked out great and got us in through the group entrance, which was quicker. The palace itself is like all the other palaces that I have seen, nothing that stood out. It was a good time though.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Sonia Paim

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Week sightseeing, but very god guided visit to the Royal Palace.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Mary C B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

It did not start off well, as the exclusive tour was to start at8:30but apparently we were to meet at8:30at Opera and walk down where all groups can get in to the palace at9 am. We called the viator number to find out where the guide was at8:45, 8 of us were waiting, she said she would call us back but she did not though clearly she had spoke to the guide as he was expecting to meet us. The tour guide was very nice but his English was only adequate, not good.There was a lot of repetitive history on the tour, not much about the rooms themselves, though occasionally we did get something about the ceilings. We also only went through the regular tour, available to all visitors to the palace, there were no special portions of the palace that regular visitors don't have access to. I have been on Viator trips in Tokyo and Singapore and they were much better than this tour. It is great to get in early as the palace does get busy but for the price, it should have been better., I can't recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

MR S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A historical and cultural gem. Avoid the queues with the card. Visit the mercado San Miguel after for fantastic tapas, wines and gateaux.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

NancyFalanga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice short tour of Madrid. Guide knowledgable and pleasant.

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

Robert P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guides was great for the old town and see then passed us off to another guide who was also very good that toured the palace. First rate!

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

Lisa T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Palace was very picturesque on the outside and every room had its own expression of opulence and grandeur. We chose to visit in the evening to avoid the throng of tourists and two hours proved to be plenty of time to see everything on offer. It also gave us space to look at things of interest and to get some great photos of the forecourt and facade without too many people being in the shots. It is worth buying a book ahead ticket even though we had to walk some distance to the office on a nearby street to pick them up. Well worth a visit.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Jess0725

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a good way to get a quick overview of the city and to help acclimate to where things are located in case you want to go back. Enjoyed doing the Royal Palace tour as part of this tour as the line to get in the Royal Palace on your own can be quite long.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great place to see. Only concern was that it took some time to find an office to collect our tickets , then to be told we could only collect from another Viator office which was still some distance from the Palace. It would have been easier to queue and buy on the day at the Palace!

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message