Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Palace (Palacio Real)

The Palacio Real (or Royal Palace, also referred to as the Palacio de Oriente) is the lavish site of royal events, but is not home to the royal family (they have lived in the smaller Palacio de la Zarzuela for some time). The Palacio Real is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 366 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shireen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting venue. We toured the palace on our own. Would recommend using the Madrid Card to avoid long entry lines.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

mira.intwala1901

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

beautiful place and extra-ordinary palace. ... each and every small detail in the palace is worth admiring... the rooms are awe-inspiring and the works are nail biting....

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour

Eileen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent, skip the line entrance is the best.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Rohit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. Great insights. Dont miss the Armoury not part of the tour but included in the entrance

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

JaneandCharles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this early access tour to the Palace - it was so nice to beat the crowds and have time and space to look around. This is an amazing palace and the rooms we saw were exquisite. Khan was an outstanding guide and very knowledgeable - there was so much history about Spain to learn. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Mark A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Irene, was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of interesting historical facts about the palace, Spanish history and the royal family. Worth every penny to get early access and skip the long lines and crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

MICHAEL W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Huge palace and tour good. Go to El rastro market on sunday.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

susette.barnes

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

When I got to the palace entrance with my paper ticket I was told that I would have to travel more than 8 blocks to the tour store to pick up the card. I should have just purchased the ticket at the door. It was only about 80 cents more expensive.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Ido S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The main issue I had with this tour is the fact I purchased it online and it says e-voucher. When I arrived to the palace they have sent me to a tourists info office located 5 mins walking where I had to stand in line and have them print me a copy of the voucher and only then I could enter the palace.
What's the point of the electronic voucher ?
The tour it self was nice.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Alexander B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

There should be a way to print this out ahead of time or better yet, use your phone and have it scanned at the site. It is not convenient to wait in line at a place over a mile from the site to pick up a card that the folks at the palace just scan. There has to be a better way.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

jrthorngren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I'm glad I got this card in advance, though there was actually not a very long line when I went to the palace in the afternoon. If you only have time for a few things to see in Madrid, the palace should be on the short list. Beautiful rooms with a lot of history. If you have a taste for art history, read up on what is there before you go, because there is artwork by some very famous painters, including works by Goya and Tiepolo, a collection of Stradivarius violins and cellos, along with some beautiful Chinese vases collected by the kings in the past. I got the audio tour, and I'm glad I did--there is so much to see that it helps to have some guidance.
Do not miss the armory, which is in a separate part of the complex from the main tour. It has an awesome collection of armor and weapons, and I wish I had gone there sooner, so I could have spent more time there.
Note: you do not enter through the main palace doors, but through an entry on the left end of the palace. It took me a while to find the entrance.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Garrett T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The palace is highly worth the visit. I would not recommend the tour/walk of the city because it's very basic and you can honestly do yourself without having to be guided around by a tour guide.

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Royal Palace

josea_aro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very Good Experience overall, the Palace by itself is a beauty, full of History and very well preserved, the tour was efficient and very nice, our guide explain us in a very professional and practical way, we were out by 11 and have the rest of the day to Explore Madrid

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour make us to come back in Spanish history. The experience was unique and enriching and our guide helped us to understand the different functions of this Palace and its meaning. A very well conserved monument. Very good experience!! I reccommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Eric D M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Madrid card was easy to retrieve and prevented us from having to wait in line. Great deal.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Catherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Royal Palace skip the line was great! We picked up the cards literally next to our hotel then walked to the Royal Palace. The Neo Tourism office is literally a 5-10 minute walk from the Royal Palace depending on how slow you walk. You go through a special entrance, avoid the crowds and heat. It is also smarter to pre-buy this since you save some money and time.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Milan Shah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Disappointed with wasting time - we had to go and collect the tickets somewhere else and then go back to the Palace. This wasted 45 minutes of our time. You should be specific about all this when we book the tickets and you write all this in small print on the voucher.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Alice C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

La Madrid Card Royal Palace est un coupe-fil appréciable sous la chaleur écrasante! La visite complétée de la tablette-audioguide était très intéressante bien que j'aurai préféré un guide.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Amy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was excellent. The palace is stunning and seeing it first thing in the morning with no other tourists in the building allows you to be awed by the history and the incredible decorative arts. Having seen Versaille last summer, I liked the Royal Palace of Madrid better. The building was never destroyed or defaced. The art and furniture collection is still intact...........and it is STUNNING!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Marie-Eve L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything was perfect. The card was easy to pick up.. nearby the Royal Palace.. You have to visit the palace.. and they have air conditioning everywhere.. which is fantastic for a visit on summer time!

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

sumantlalp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We met the guide centrally and within a short walk we were at the Palace. It was good to get in before the crowds, gave us good opportunity to take photo outside. The guide looked after us, was very knowledgeable, told interesting facts in each area. Good tour recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Terry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best part of my trip! Our Tour Guide was so great! Spoke with incredible knowledge and made sure we saw all the beauty of the palace!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

john v

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

a little challenging to find, but well worth it.

Doing what: Madrid Card Royal Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message