Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Palace (Palacio Real)

The Palacio Real (or Royal Palace, also referred to as the Palacio de Oriente) is the lavish site of royal events, but is not home to the royal family (they have lived in the smaller Palacio de la Zarzuela for some time). The Palacio Real is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 379 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeffrey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was personable and knowledgeable. Certainly enhanced our visit to Madrid.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Dicky

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Madrid city tour on the bus was not great. Went around the same sites a few times
Tour of the palace ground was very good. Guide was well informed

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Skip the Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

jeesoolee70

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

It was really bad arrangement from the beginning. Julia Travel just informed me in the morning of the tour day that Royal Palace is closed that day so we'll only do the city tour. I was upset because they should have known about the opening schedule of the Palace in advance so it should have been updated upon booking the tour.

Fine, never mind that. My tour guide Sylvia? for the City Sightseeing was the worst guide i have ever met. She was really lazy and never followed the group out of the bus. The only thing she did was sitting in the bus and talking through the microphone with low and soft voice we could hardly hear. She was only directing the tour group to get out of the bus to take pictures. I had another guide tour in Barcelona with Julia Travel but the guide there was much more passionate and informative.

If anyone interested in joining this particular tour please do check the schedule and guide's name again.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Skip the Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

MaryAnne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A bit confusing getting started but very informative. Best part was the Royal Palace, presentation was interesting and entertaining

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Skip the Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

shay k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

amazing palace
a very good guide with lots of information
excellent timing for visiting the royal palace before it getts crowded

i suggest next time to change the meeting point to the front of the palace

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Bob Salas

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Guide was a 45 minutes late due to traffic, she said the tour company tried to call but I didn't get any messages. She made up for it during the tour as she was thorough and informative. I recommend the tour, just be prepared for unforeseen circumstances.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Khaled A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Noria our guide was very lovely. we had a lot of fun with her during the city walk. As for the Royal Palace it was wonderful !!

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

Jane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Madrid City Sights tour was wonderful and we had an excellent guide, Isabella. The city is vibrant and interesting, there is so much to see, and our guide kept us on track despite traffic chaos due to a horse-drawn procession through the streets. The Palace was closed for the day, and while the tour operator did not offer me to visit the Prado instead, Isabella managed to arrange it with her office. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Skip the Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

Lydia USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! We were whisked away through neighborhoods, visited local shops, galleries, churches and one excellent sweet shop. After that we were guided to the Palace to learn and view the wonders inside. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

Jeanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour. Carmen was fount of information which really enhanced the tour.

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

dechan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A good tour overall and the Palace was interesting.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Skip the Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

Megan A

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour was conducted in English and Spanish and was a bit long, however it really was early access and we felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Gale M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Had a terrible tour, our guide was not vested in us having a great tour. She went back and forth from Spanish to English and it was so fast it was confusing. We never got to go to the park because of a Marathon going on! It's her job to know this was on. We never stopped for our free complimentary drink at the Hard rock cafe. Another disappointment. There was a big soccer game going on so we sat in traffic forever her job to know that told us to go to this place to use the restroom and get a coffee, so our friend got coffee and was told she wasn't allowed on th ed bus and hurry up and drink it hot so we could go. Didn't get off with us to show us things. I feel we did not get our money 's worth!

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Skip the Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

Alíz T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great guide and really worth getting up early so that you may avoid all the other tourists.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

ere

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was EXCELLENT. Missing the queue was fantastic and worth every cent. The guide was very knowledgable and detailed. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

francine b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I loved this tour and attribution goes to Khan, our tour guide, who made the tour so enjoyable. His knowledge of the history of the Royal Family was extensive sharing tidbits of stories culled from the past. He was an excellent tour guide. I would highly recommend this tour especially the early access advantage

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour as well as the tour guide.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Skip the Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

derekt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and we covered a lot of interesting sites, especially the palace. I would be happy to recommend it.

Doing what: Madrid Panoramic Tour with Royal Palace Entrance Ticket

Merri G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a real treat and so glad we did it. Plus there was an art exhibit that was absolutely breathtaking as an added feature in the palace at the time. One note - the ticket shows conflicting information regarding where to meet. On some it says under directions Opera subway stop and others it clearly indicates that is where you meet the tour guide. Those that didn't get clarity met us at the palace and missed some great history provided by our tour guide on the walk to the palace. Overall it was a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

ERNESTO R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good tour. Unfortunately inside the palace you can not take pictures. It is an amazing place to see. The decorations and paintings and other objects used in the palace. It is worth to pay extra to get in early otherwise you have to stay in line for about 1hr or more depending the time of the day,

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Me_plano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

First part of the tour was a comfortable bus that drove around the city with ample time to stop at various locations around the city. The second part involved a walking tour of the palace with a different tour guide. Both guides were very knowledgeable and spoke excellent english. Highly recommend especially if time is short in the city.

Doing what: Madrid City Sightseeing and Skip the Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great. Tour had only 9 people on it. We were in the palace by ourselves for the entire tour. Saw the rooms with exceptional dialogue from the guide. Very worth it. Beat the line!!! Too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Matt H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great quick tour of Madrid. Sylvia was a nice and informative guide with great English!

Doing what: Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Royal Palace Guided Tour

armando

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

No hay manera de imaginar lo que la humanidad hizo en un pasado remoto, sin tecnologia pero con mucha imaginacion, el Palacio fue mucho mas que ir a un parque fantasioso, es querer ser mas humano y apreciar lo que hemos logrado en esta existencia.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Royal Palace of Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message