Just 50 mi (80 km) north of Madrid, Segovia transports you back to a distant time in history. From its ancient Roman aqueduct to its 13th century castle, this city is full of symbols representing its inhabitants of the past.  Originally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1596 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Luis B Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour, perfect guides, beautiful places, great day!

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed our whirlwind tour of the 2 cities, each of them incredible. There's no time really to catch your breath, have a cup of coffee, draw or write a little, but our time in Madrid was limited so this escape to these 2 fantastic heritage sites is much treasured. Our guide Elena was terrific, full of fascinating information both on and off script.

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Beverly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I found this tour to be very interesting. Our tour guide was very informative, the sights were impressive and the history of the area fascinating.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia:Guided Day Tour from Madrid with lunch

Terese T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This tour was as good as it could have been, considering the time constraints. Would perhaps have opted to not include lunch and grab a quick bite on my own in Segovia, to save money and allow for more time to explore.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

JANNINE R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The tour itself was fun although there are a few things I would change.

I loved the fact that we got to go to two different cities and I give these people their due credit for being so organized and timely. We choose to stick with our guided tourguides rather than explore all the cities solo - although in all fairness we did have a little time to ourselves to explore also. Although we did get free time, it wasn't really enough, only like less than an hour for each place, so you might feel a little rushed.

The only thing I would change really is the fact that when you're in a big group and we went at the end of November when it's already low tourist season and this was a full tour - so assume it's always going to be a big group it's difficult to hear what the tour guide is saying while you're walking or if in a church and she's whispering.
I think having some sort of microphone and headset would be really helpful.

But otherwise it was a lot of fun!
The places themselves were amazing but fair warning, it was freezing cold when we went in November, as in less than 30 degrees and when the wind hits your face it physically hurts you, and you want to walk around huddled right next to your friends like penguins to try and stop the cold - COLD.

But again, I totally recommend visiting in low tourist season because there's less people which means pictures look great, as if you get the place all to yourselves, and I think it helped with our time because we weren't fighting hordes of crowds for anything.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Ralph O

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Both Avila and Segovia are worth visiting but in both towns there was a lot of walking to visit a few sites. More importantly, the guide did not use any audio equipment, no ear pieces, not even an amplifying microphone. Also, the guide alternated every other sentence in Spanish then English with a Spanish accent. It was very hard to follow.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Claudia C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

As a solo traveler, I go on these day trips occasionally to not only see the sights, but to be social. I was very disappointed to find that this and the tour I took the next day were with 40 people on one of the large charter type busses, which did not make for a very cosy tour. The tour was also conducted in both English and Spanish and the guide would always speak first in Spanish then allow the group of Spanish speaking tourists to get up and roam around the monument/building while she spoke to the rest of us in English. This made it difficult to hear her and we were given less time to take pictures and look around than the Spanish speaking tourists. I feel that we were rushed and opportunities were missed, such as a clearly marked turn out on the road to get a panoramic photo of Avila's famous city walls. All in all, not one of the better tours I've taken through Viator.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Julio A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

I would have gave it 5 stars but because of the arrogant tour guide (Isabel I think was her name) I rate it 2 stars. Everything was rushed and she scolded a lot (she was crazy to get home).Regardiing places visited I do recommend them, not to stay overnight though. Rich in history and really pretty.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Huan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Its good if you only have a day to see both places.

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Patricia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Elena was fantastic and the driver too. She was so informative and was able to organize and answer all questions. She is a great tour guide!

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Caren D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a long day with about 4 hours of driving. The bus seats are a bit close to each other for my legs. Those were the negatives, but the positives totally outweighed them. The two tour guides were so warm and friendly. Our English guide Stephi has a background in Archeology and was very knowledgeable about both Toledo and Segovia and their history. Her commentary was great, she answered all questions and was very upbeat throughout the tour. I commend her for keeping us on time in a very nice way. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour gave a great overview of both Cities and was a wonderful way to spend a day outside Madrid.

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Bronwyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Never enough time to see it all but defiantly glad we did it, Big round of applause to our tour guide Steph

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Benguet Gypsy Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Although not really considered a short drive from Madrid, both Toledo to the south and Segovia northwest of Madrid are must see/visit places when in Spain.This tour is fast and quick given you only have a day to spend in both places.
Thanks to Alfonso our ever-so-patient and energetic guide, and Victor, our driver of Amigo Tours, we all had a wonderful time immersing ourselves in the views of Roman aqueduct, Jewish quarters, the Cathedrals and El Alcazar in Segovia, and walking through the cobblestone streets of the ancient city of Toledo.

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a sensational tour. Avila is a fascinating old town lots of walking.... have to be physically fit for the endurance of a lot of easy walking, but miles can be challenging and Segovia was spectacular. Standing and walking at the base of the aqueduct is something I will never forget. Because we broke off from our tour group for the lunch portion selected our own place with a time for rejoining our tour guide was very specific and helpful we could spend more time exploring on our own. The whole tour was beautifully planned out with rest stops from walking and for refreshments and toilet facilities. Very very impressive tour any way you look at it. Oh, and the bus was brand new big Mercedes A/C comfortable for sitting and viewing along the way. We liked that the tour guide did not talk too much constant during the trip... just enough to indicate what we were seeing but not constant chatter! Highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Ann K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Both towns are fascinating - like stepping into the middle ages! Having some time to explore on our own was really great. Tour guide was experienced, knowledgeable, and easy going. Got some great photos!

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Cameron N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved the experience! I would recommend doing it in the Spring or Fall. It was very cold but just as beautiful!

Doing what: Hot-Air Balloon Ride over Toledo or Segovia with Optional Transport from Madrid

James Blake W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent tour. We had a great guide, we were on time the whole day, and the Alcázar of Segovia was the highlight.

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

FRANCES A F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Both cities were wonderful and our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Inalda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was really wonderful. Our first stop was at Toledo and both guides were very good at their jobs. Explained everything about not only the destination cities, but also about interesting things along the way.
Toledo was our first stop and then we moved on to Segovia. Both places are Worth visiting, but in my opinion, Segovia was even more beautiful than I expected.

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Luis Ramon L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Buen precio por el tour. Elena, nuestra guía, fue excelente. Nos orientó de los lugares y nos contestó today las preguntas que tuvimos. Ambos lugares son precious y se utilizó el tiempo muy bien.

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Terrianne L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great day! Enjoyed both cities especially Segovia!

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Reina E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

we enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Toledo and Segovia Guided Day Tour from Madrid

Tatiana K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Nice tour, and the guide was very knowledgeable. The groupe was rather big, so it would have been a bit better if there were two guides Spanish and English - instead of one guide repeating explanations in both languages.
Also, it makes sense to offer separate full day tours for these two towns - that would allow more free time, and these towns are definitely worth it.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message