Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Walls of Avila

A popular day trip from Madrid, the ancient Walls of Avila are the remnants of the medieval bastion surrounding the provincial capital of Avila. The UNESCO World Heritage-listed walls are renowned as one of Europe’s finest examples of a medieval ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1277 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maridaly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome experience! Excellent tour guide - thanks Marta!
Day well organized, with enough time for each location, Ávila is beautiful but we loved Segovia!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Hannah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I really enjoyed the tour itself and all the history of Spain. Avila and Segovia and seeing the Roman Aquaduct and the castle of King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella were awesome! However, there were a few things not related to the sites we saw which I did not like. First, I thought I had signed up for an English speaking tour. We were several miles down the road on the bus before I heard the tour guide speak one English word. When she did speak English, her accent caused slurring and she was very difficult to understand. Definitely recommend making sure your tour guide speaks good English if you do not speak any Spanish. I know some Spanish so I was able to interpret some for my husband and a few others who were having difficulty understanding what she was saying. Also, I thought is was a small tour, but it was a large tour with close to 50 people! Not very personal. The tour guide also had an attitude which I did not appreciate. I think her name was Noria but we really could not understand what she said it was. Anytime we asked any questions, she acted like we were the stupidest people on earth. We had take tours in Barcelona area and greatly loved our tour guides there. They were patient with our questions and the tour was much smaller. Anyway, there was not much detail about how things were going to work either during the tour, but the tour guide did walk slow so that was very nice. The sites we saw were absolutely amazing, so regardless of who your tour guide is, you should still go and also enjoy the traditional Segovian meal! It was amazing. I would love to go back and either go by myself or get a better tour guide.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Roseyn C F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our trip was fantastic. We really got our money's worth. Our guide was great. She had a way of handling the speed of the stroll through the cities at just the right rate for everyone's enjoyment. She was also very knowledgable and encouraged questions.

Roselyn Fernandez

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this was a very nice well rounded tour that showed you a lot in one day! Just try not to get lost or you may get left behind as they do have a schedule to keep!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Tracee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was well-organized and our guide helpful. Segovia is a MUST-see town (we have spent 5 nights in Madrid, and would have loved to trade 2 of them for Segovia). Avila a nice small town to start off the morning. The cathedral of Segovia, Alcazar, aqueducts, and Basilica of Avila are all included.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

cherylamcneil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Carmen was a fabulous guide. She had great information, and was able to answer everyone's questions about the area. Even our 15 yr old son who doesn't care for church stuff was impressed by the architecture and beauty of the buildings. Climbing up to look at the Aqueduct from the top was amazing, and seeing Avila from a distance, to see the walls was wonderful. The bus made sure to stop after we were left Avila so we could see the walls from a distance.
Note -even if you don't sign up for the meal, you will still get a drink and small snack in Segovia. There are plenty of other places to eat if you don't sign up for the meal.

The tour does take longer since the guide needs to repeat everything in multiple languages. Our tour had Spanish and English - I can't imagine the added time if she had to translate into a third language.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Huey-Wen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour departd on time, nice clean big bus. I chose English tour, Tour guide was very professional explaining the history and the day's plan in spanish and English. I chose the tourist lunch, the pork was tasty but a little salty for my taste, drink water is not included, has to pay extra for bottled water and other drinks, it does include dessert. The pace was good, no rush, plenty of time to take pictures and browse nearby shops. Julia Tour Office is not on a major street, it's in an alley which is very close to the Royal Palace, like 200 meters away. I stayed in a hotel close to the tour office, goggle maps says 1 km or 10 minutes walk fro, hotel to tour office. But I would have to pass different streets to get there, so I took a taxi and got there in about 5 minutes. Tour retuned to Madrid on time.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved it! Appreciated that free time was given for me to explore the place on my own!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

eanglada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice tour! Well worth it! Very nice tour guide. Good food too.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Teresita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was well worth the money. I would highly recommend it. Tour guide- Nuria , was very good.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Hardy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour company was located in central Madrid so you're not traveling too far out of the way at the start and end of your day. The bus was comfortable and not over-crowded, departed on time in the morning 9 AM and the tour guide had helpful information in English and Spanish throughout the day. She was clearly very knowledgeable and gave us enough time for photos and to explore Segovia on our own after lunch if we wanted. The cost, at 80 euros, is a bit on the high, considering the number or tourists and the length of the program, but I found it to be money spent well.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Frank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience and wonderful sights. A long day but you will get your money's worth for sure.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

lisahandy1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Carmen was excellent guide filled with information to enjoy and appreciate all that we saw. While large group bus tour it did not feel that way since we had option of going on our own and given plenty of free time. My teenagers enjoyed it all, especially my boys when we got to the Roman Empire structures, swords and armor. Great day!!!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Ronald E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide from Julia travel was very knowledgeable and spoke both English and Spanish equally throughout the tour so that you really learned about all aspects of the tour. She was great and would highly recommend her.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Adorjan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great tour.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

mariaarenasfors

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Its a most, the grandeur of the places is exquisite. Don't miss it

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A bit of a long bus ride but worth it. The old aqueduct is a must see too appreciate.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Keith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marta our guide and Pedro our driver were excellent. Avila my was out of an historical romance. The aqueduct was sublime!!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Kyle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Exactly as advertised. The lunch options were quite delicious as well. Tour guides were great and really informative. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Rajendra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour and guide.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Jonny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour of Avila and Segovia! Definitely worth spending a day to do this trip.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Jill H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A good tour with our guide giving excellent and informative information with just the right time allocated to each part of the tour.would recommend this tour as the viaduct in Segovia is quite amazing and well worth the visit

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Again a super guide and trip to these two towns. Well organized!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message