Madrid ATTRACTIONS See all

Walls of Avila

A popular day trip from Madrid, the ancient Walls of Avila are the remnants of the medieval bastion surrounding the provincial capital of Avila. The UNESCO World Heritage-listed walls are renowned as one of Europe’s finest examples of a medieval ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1310 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Raymond-chee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A pleasant trip out of Madrid. A fair amount of walking but at a relaxed pace. The sights and history of Avila and Segovia were interesting.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Catherine Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was truly an amazing tour! We went towards the beginning of October and wanted to get outside of Madrid. I found the amount of time in the van just fine, and the time at both Avila and Segovia a little rushed but expected. I just loved both cities and our tour guide was so great at answering questions and maneuvering us around the cities. I also liked that for people who may not be able to keep up with the group, she offered a meet up place and time.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very interesting historical towns

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Tom S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

very good tours. the food was really good too. very delicious and wine was good.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

curtischa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. The tour guide was excellent. She left enough time to do some exploring on your own. The medieval wall around Avila is incredible. The Roman aqueduct in Sevogia is a must see. We had the tourist lunch which was great.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

armando

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Monumental, lo grande de esta edificacion empequeñese nuestra capacidad de entender como lograron llevar esto a su proposito de transportar agua, inimaginable.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Irma Lopez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Carmen, our tour guide with Julia Travel was excellent. The information given by her was top notch. I wish that she would have been our guide for all of our tours. Avila and Segovia was very nice. You don't get much time if any to be on your own and do any shopping.

Julia Travel, the local tour operator is very organized. All tours leave on time.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

dina a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the best tour guides I've had. Very knowledgable on the history of both cities, courteous and helpful to those seniors who required a bit more extra time to catch up with the group. Wonderful and highly recommend. don't miss out on visiting these two beautiful cities. Well worth spending the day.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Rory D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even though the Agency office was packed when we arrived, everything went smoothly. They were very organized and the groups were split according to their selected activity. The time departure/arrival was exactly as promised and the tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Adam G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A busy day, but an excellent way to see the sights in both towns. Lunch was very good too.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Judith T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Carman the tour guide was excellent. Kept us on track the whole tour. Gave information when required and let us have some rest time on the coach. There was a lot to cover on the tour but we managed to see everything without feeling too rushed. Tour definitely worth doing as sights are awesome, tourist menu was adequate, guide fantastic.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Jacqueline T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well organised and well timed to fit in visiting 2 wonderful places in 1 day.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

ERNESTO R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip. You walk a lot but it is worth it. Wear comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Sparkellys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nunia, our guide was excellent, she was well informed and presented all the information required in a very professional manner. Our bus driver was very competent however the bus windiws were quite filmy which made taking photos from inside the bus almost impossible.
We ended up having a combined English and Spanish tour as the second bus did not turn up! Our tour left half an hour late because of it.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Jgmeinert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour was fabulous! Guide was very informative and spoke both English and Spanish. Both the cities are a must see while visiting Spain. We took multiple trips and visited many towns while in Spain and this tour was our favorite. Truly spectacular scenery, beautiful history lesson and very insightful into multiple cultures.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

ericroberts97

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I felt at the outset that it was ambitious to visit Avila and Segovia in one day because both are very beautiful and full of historical interest. Nevertheless, I felt that Juiia Travel, who operated the tour for Viator, succeeded in making maximum use of the time available and gave us a glimpse of all of the highlights. The coach travel and walking tours were very well organised and our guide quietly and skilfully moved our group along at an easy steady pace. We had the gastronomic lunch at the restaurant in Segovia. Service was quick, the food was tasty and portions generous. The aqueduct at Segovia was absolutely stunning. Our coach was almost full and the only down side were inconsiderate passengers, who reclined their seats into the laps of those sitting behind them. Overall though, a great day out!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Julia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a great day tour led by a great tour group Julia Travel. They had their own charter buses which were very comfortable and spacious. The seats reclined and there was air conditioning and plenty of seating that we were able to spread out on the bus. The tour guide told us interesting stories and provided lots of good information about the historical sites. There were plenty of places to choose from for lunch, so we did the lunch not included option. We only had exactly an hour for lunch, so not long enough to enjoy a relaxed fancy lunch. We ate at Montaditos - probably the cheapest bites near the aqueduct in Segovia. There were plenty of suckling pig restaurants, which I wish we had time to try but I'm glad we didn't choose it because we would have been too rushed. Other than that we spent just the right amount of time walking through the cathedrals and historical sites and other than lunch, we had the perfect amount of time to wander around, purchase snacks along the way, and not get bored. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Maridaly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome experience! Excellent tour guide - thanks Marta!
Day well organized, with enough time for each location, Ávila is beautiful but we loved Segovia!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Hannah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I really enjoyed the tour itself and all the history of Spain. Avila and Segovia and seeing the Roman Aquaduct and the castle of King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella were awesome! However, there were a few things not related to the sites we saw which I did not like. First, I thought I had signed up for an English speaking tour. We were several miles down the road on the bus before I heard the tour guide speak one English word. When she did speak English, her accent caused slurring and she was very difficult to understand. Definitely recommend making sure your tour guide speaks good English if you do not speak any Spanish. I know some Spanish so I was able to interpret some for my husband and a few others who were having difficulty understanding what she was saying. Also, I thought is was a small tour, but it was a large tour with close to 50 people! Not very personal. The tour guide also had an attitude which I did not appreciate. I think her name was Noria but we really could not understand what she said it was. Anytime we asked any questions, she acted like we were the stupidest people on earth. We had take tours in Barcelona area and greatly loved our tour guides there. They were patient with our questions and the tour was much smaller. Anyway, there was not much detail about how things were going to work either during the tour, but the tour guide did walk slow so that was very nice. The sites we saw were absolutely amazing, so regardless of who your tour guide is, you should still go and also enjoy the traditional Segovian meal! It was amazing. I would love to go back and either go by myself or get a better tour guide.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Roseyn C F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our trip was fantastic. We really got our money's worth. Our guide was great. She had a way of handling the speed of the stroll through the cities at just the right rate for everyone's enjoyment. She was also very knowledgable and encouraged questions.

Roselyn Fernandez

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this was a very nice well rounded tour that showed you a lot in one day! Just try not to get lost or you may get left behind as they do have a schedule to keep!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Tracee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was well-organized and our guide helpful. Segovia is a MUST-see town (we have spent 5 nights in Madrid, and would have loved to trade 2 of them for Segovia). Avila a nice small town to start off the morning. The cathedral of Segovia, Alcazar, aqueducts, and Basilica of Avila are all included.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message