Perhaps one of the best advantages of Madrid is its location smack dab in the center of the Spain: this means that if you head in just about any direction, you'll come upon a worthwhile day-trip destination. With so many options to choose from, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 218 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Betty M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Full day trip to this beautiful city...

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful tour with an excellent guide for our day trip. Could have appreciated a map of the tour area, otherwise it was wonderful.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

James N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent private guide and comfortable/spacious van transport for a party of 7. A very worthwhile day trip from Madrid.

Doing what: Private Tour: Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our driver John and our guide Isabella picked us up at our hotel right on time. We could not have a better guide for our Segovia trip. Isabella was very knowledgable and easy to understand. I can not begin to tell you how wonderful this trip is. Definitely worth taking a day trip from Madrid. This is a must do.

Doing what: Private Tour: Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Robert J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The day trip to Avila and Segovia was excellent. We had a very knowledgeable guide and enjoyed all of the stops along the way. I'd highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to get out of the big cities and see more of rural Spain.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Tamara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We went on a half-day trip and the tour was very well organized. During those 3 hours it is a 5-hour trip but you spend around 3 hours in Toledo, 1 hour to get to Toledo and 1 hour to go back to Madrid, we saw all the most important sites in Toledo and our guide was very informative, friendly and funny. We had a great time.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was really good! She knew her stuff and was funny in the process. Loved it and would do another day trip tour through Viator again!!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Colleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed our full day trip from Madrid to Toledo, Spain. Up early at 6:30AM, Breakfast and headed to the tour operator. Nuria was our tour guide and Carlos our driver. It took 1 hour to get to Toledo. Toledo used to the capital of Spain. Founded in1081. Nuria warned us that she would take no prisoners...and boy, she wasn't kidding! Toledo is a very steep city with lots of steps and cobblestones I'd been warned! and she kept on at a good clip. Be sure to wear running shoes, not sandals!!! We got to see lots: the Cathedral, Church of St. Tome, Synagogue, El Greco paintings, St. Martin's Bridge, a glimpse of the Alcazar fort, and had an upgraded typical Spanish lunch of tapas at Figerales Restaurant, roast lamb, truffle cake with ice cream and wine! Think we still lost weight tho!
Holy Toledo it was 30 degrees! We slept well this night! Good job Nuria and Carlos!

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Kellen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very nice day trip from Madrid. Tour guide was friendly and full of knowledge. We had a great day exploring these two great cities. If you love history and/or architecture, you will thoroughly enjoy this tour. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Fiona D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great day trip and I learned so much. I would recommend this tour to anyone :

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Elisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time in this tour. The two sites are very beautiful and have interesting histories, they're must-sees when you're in Spain. Also, our tour guide was excellent! Not only is he very knowledgeable about the places we visited but he also tells stories and jokes well, it's not as though he's just reading from a book. This day trip was one of the highlights of our trip in Spain!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Thomas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Toledo itself is beautiful. The bus was comfortable and the tour guide I think her name was Norita was very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The afternoon part of the tour was supposed to include the cathedral. Unfortunately, the cathedral was closed for the feast of Corpus Christi. But the tour guide took us to a 10th century mosque and provided a panoramic tour of Toledo instead. I highly recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Diana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My family of five had a wonderful time on our day trip to Toledo. Driver was on time, friendly and helpful. Our tour guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable about the area! Thank you for a terrific tour of the city of Toledo! We wouldn't have missed it and would happily recommend this tour to other travelers!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

SILVIA ANDREA F Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

beautiful day trip

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Cynthia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an excellent day trip from Madrid. The time spent in each location was adequate. Both locations are quite impressive. The guide was knowledgeable and understandable. The tourist lunch was fairly good. The time to Avila and between locations allowed time for a quick power nap if you are still dealing with jet lag. Overall, excellent say trip and we would recommend.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely worth taking a day trip! Jorge, our guide, is very patient and knowledgable and explained so much about the sites we visited. The bus ride was a bit long, but I think worth taking time away from Madrid.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Glorianilsen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We did the full-day trip from Madrid and loved it. The guide handled the tour in English and Spanish -- and was very knowledgeable. We saw lots of sites and enjoyed the typical lunch which was amazing. This is a tour that should not be missed!

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Ian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful day trip and comprehensive tour of Toledo. Our group was split into English and Spanish speaking members and our guide's English was excellent. She took the time to explain what we were seeing, the history and other details you wouldn't get if visiting the city on your own. I opted for the traditional lunch which was a bit heavy for a midday meal. It would recommend doing the tour without the lunch included. Definitely worth taking if visiting Toledo for the first time.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

MINNBOY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful day trip from Madrid. Avila's fortress walls were impressive and I learned about St. Teresa and the martyrs Vicente , Sabina, and Cristeta. The walk through the town was nice.
Segovia was fantastic! We walked upto the Roman aqueduct to marvel at the scale and skill of the builders. Then, we had the lunch featuring the famous bean soup and roast suckling pig. It was topped with a nice Rioja wine. Then, it was onto the beautiful Segovia Cathedral just off the Plaza Mayor. As the last Gothic style cathedral in Spain, it had a great blend of styles inside.
Lastly, we went to the Alcazar - said to have inspired Disney and his princess castles. As you walk through the garden, the views of the surrounding areas are awesome. Finally, the castle appears and you are impressed with its beauty and its stature. I can see why this was a favorite castle for the kings of Castile and Leon.
All in all - a great visit for history and architecture buffs.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Joyce W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Avila and Segovia are beautiful cities so this is a day trip not to be missed. I recommend opting out of the lunch option as you will have some free time to explore on your own. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in Segovia where you can have delicious cochinillo (roasted suckling pig).

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

MissB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My husband and I took this tour just last Sunday. We both recommend this day trip from Madrid to visit the medieval walled city of Avila and the 2,000 year old aqueduct in Segovia. The wall around Avila looks like it was built in this century because it is so pristine. You will be amazed by the 100-foot high aqueduct that is still standing even though no mortar was used to hold the stones together. Because it was a Sunday and services were in progress, we were only able to step inside for a peek at several beautiful churches in these two cities.
We opted for the gastronomic lunch in Segovia but we do not recommend that visitors do that. The food was okay and the server was a bit rude, but stopping for this meal left us no time to enjoy the festivities in the plaza, shop for souvenirs, or visit the cathedral because we had to rush to be on time to the meeting point at the Alcazar (a fortress/castle that looks like it was plucked from Disneyland and set down in Spain). We suggest that you bring along some hearty snacks and treat yourself to a nice dinner or yummy tapas and sangria at the Mercado de San Miguel when you return to Madrid.
The people at the tour operator were well organized and handled our transaction very smoothly. When they gave us our tickets, they told us to wait right there in the waiting room, which was already getting crowded and stuffy. We asked if we could wait outside and were given the okay. Maybe that should be part of their instructions as I believe a lot of people stayed inside for fear of missing the call for their bus.
Our guide, Nuria, deserves 6 stars. She was friendly and informative. She shared interesting information in English and Spanish along the way and at the many stops as we walked through the towns. She went above and beyond to help us find a store to buy a replacement media card for our camera by having the bus driver drop us off across from El Corte Ingles that was near our apartment. (Thank you again, Nuria! :o)

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Kazie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip was excellent. Although I was the sole English-only speaking person in the group, the tour guide explained everything in both languages so I enjoyed the trip. I will highly recommend to take full day trip to Toledo as going there without a visit to the cathedral is such a shame.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Arthur J. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour to Toledo. Our guide was very knowledgeable. We needed the full day to see Toledo. Learn more on a tour than you can on your own, plus more relaxing. Toledo is a must see, only an hour from Madrid and full of history. We did lunch on our own which gave us more time to explore. This is the best one day trip from Madrid.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Tam N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A day trip from Madrid is a must for me. Avila and Segovia are absolutely excellent choice.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Joyce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was informative and well-designed. Unfortunately, we had rain but it was still terrific. If anyone has a handicapped friend, note that there is LOTS of walking on cobblestone streets with very little support for the infirm. We did the all day trip which is not necessary as the last stop after lunch is not much. However, the highlight of the day was our lunch on our own and we discovered a bakery that was superb!! Had we done the 1/2 day, we would not have had the FUN of being on our own in Toledo!!

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message