The Spanish capital, Madrid, is a sensational city for nightlife lovers, gourmets, art lovers, and football fans alike. Take a Madrid tour, or jump on the hop-on hop-off bus to get a feel for the city.   Day 1: Art & Culture Spain’s most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4525 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Terese T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic! Would recommend to anyone looking for cultural tips and local flavor

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Oliver O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a really nice trip with our Tour Guide and some great travellers from all over the world. We spended 20 more money on this trip for 4 places to visit, so we have paid about 60.
There was a lot of vine in this tour you get a little bit drunken if you try every vine :D and you get a lot of different tapas on every place. The Tapas have been typical for some special parts of spain. It was really nice trying so many different foods.
Definitely worth the money!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Frank B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great 5 HR. trip/tour. would not change anything.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Hugh V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

On a trip to Madrid I decided to take the VIP Prado and Reina Sofia tour. I was the only guest to sign up for this tour on a Sunday morning in March and had the tour guide, Irene, to myself. Irene was a university art history graduate with a great knowledge of the art works in both museums.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Terese T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This tour was as good as it could have been, considering the time constraints. Would perhaps have opted to not include lunch and grab a quick bite on my own in Segovia, to save money and allow for more time to explore.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

JANNINE R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The tour itself was fun although there are a few things I would change.

I loved the fact that we got to go to two different cities and I give these people their due credit for being so organized and timely. We choose to stick with our guided tourguides rather than explore all the cities solo - although in all fairness we did have a little time to ourselves to explore also. Although we did get free time, it wasn't really enough, only like less than an hour for each place, so you might feel a little rushed.

The only thing I would change really is the fact that when you're in a big group and we went at the end of November when it's already low tourist season and this was a full tour - so assume it's always going to be a big group it's difficult to hear what the tour guide is saying while you're walking or if in a church and she's whispering.
I think having some sort of microphone and headset would be really helpful.

But otherwise it was a lot of fun!
The places themselves were amazing but fair warning, it was freezing cold when we went in November, as in less than 30 degrees and when the wind hits your face it physically hurts you, and you want to walk around huddled right next to your friends like penguins to try and stop the cold - COLD.

But again, I totally recommend visiting in low tourist season because there's less people which means pictures look great, as if you get the place all to yourselves, and I think it helped with our time because we weren't fighting hordes of crowds for anything.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Claudia C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The Toledo tour was very similar to the tour I went on to Avila and Segovia in style. The large charter bus, the dual language issues, the rushed feel. I did like the opportunity to buy the handmade jewelry from master craftsmen though.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Yulita C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

I think it's a bit pricy for the tour.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Ralph O

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Both Avila and Segovia are worth visiting but in both towns there was a lot of walking to visit a few sites. More importantly, the guide did not use any audio equipment, no ear pieces, not even an amplifying microphone. Also, the guide alternated every other sentence in Spanish then English with a Spanish accent. It was very hard to follow.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Claudia C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

As a solo traveler, I go on these day trips occasionally to not only see the sights, but to be social. I was very disappointed to find that this and the tour I took the next day were with 40 people on one of the large charter type busses, which did not make for a very cosy tour. The tour was also conducted in both English and Spanish and the guide would always speak first in Spanish then allow the group of Spanish speaking tourists to get up and roam around the monument/building while she spoke to the rest of us in English. This made it difficult to hear her and we were given less time to take pictures and look around than the Spanish speaking tourists. I feel that we were rushed and opportunities were missed, such as a clearly marked turn out on the road to get a panoramic photo of Avila's famous city walls. All in all, not one of the better tours I've taken through Viator.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Sharon R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

The tour was no more than OK. It was both in Spanish and in English and the switches betwen languages were made in an unclear and in a disappointing manner. Also, the content lacked the extra for which one chooses to pay for a guided tour instead of simply renting the museum's earphones.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Julio A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

I would have gave it 5 stars but because of the arrogant tour guide (Isabel I think was her name) I rate it 2 stars. Everything was rushed and she scolded a lot (she was crazy to get home).Regardiing places visited I do recommend them, not to stay overnight though. Rich in history and really pretty.

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

WOW what an amazing tour...wish it was longer...so much to see

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Nicholas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful tour of 2 important but overwhelming museums. Our tour guide, Irene, did a wonderful job moving our group of 11 people through the busy Museo del Prado while explaining the significance of important works in both Spanish and English. The pace was quick, but her information was very interesting and she was always able to provide additional information when asked. After the tour we had about a half hour of free time in the Prado to explore on our own or to relax in the cafe with a cup of tea. From there we moved on to the Reina Sofia - a much smaller and quieter museum, and as a result, this part of the tour felt more personal. Once again Irene was extremely knowledgeable and very willing to share information and answer questions. The highlight of the day was seeing Picasso's larger than life painting, Guernica! One of the things that struck me about Irene was her enthusiasm for the art. Her discussion of the artists and the paintings felt fresh and was delivered with interest. My husband and I completely enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Kim C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I was glad I got the early access there are crowds and lines all day long and I wanted to take my time. I got the audio tour which was great and I when I left the Reina Sofia I realized I'd spent 6 hours viewing some of the most amazing art of our world! Bosch's In the Garden of Earthly Delights was the perfect thing to see the day before I went out to Salvador Dali's house. And viewing Valesquez's La Meninas is a must before viewing both Picasso's and Dali's work - such fun seeing the rifts on these treasures.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Museo del Prado with Reina Sofia

Greg M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the highlight of our trip. Fantastic tour guide, great tour group, awesome food, drinks and venues. Also gave us knowledge to order meals for the remainder of our time in Spain.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Robert B G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

David was terrific. He was energetic, responsive to our questions and very knowledgeable. It was great that we were able to see the Royal Palace, the Prado Museum and many other sites during the day. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire day with him. The tour was pricy -- the only negative.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Madrid in a Day

RMT Tracking United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was so relaxing especially to start the day off with this treat.

Doing what: Arabian Baths Experience at Madrid's Hammam Al Ándalus

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed this tour to Toledo. The guide was very friendly and we got to see a great deal of the countryside on the way.

Doing what: Toledo Half-Day or Full-Day Trip from Madrid

Courtney F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour. we really liked having the guide who knew what pictures to focus on. We had skip the line entrance which is definitely worth it since these lines can be super long. You receive a headset to hear the guide on and they take you through the most important art in each century. The greatest part was seeing the 2nd Mona Lisa up close! This was only found a couple years ago and it was done the exact same time as the real one! Great tour guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Prado Museum Tour in Madrid

Jamie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was awesome and funny and did a good job getting the two different groups on the tour to interact. The food we ate was top notch. I recommend eating everything even if it seems like something you might not ordinarily be into.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Tatiana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Valley of the Fallen is must: very impressive!

Doing what: El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a sensational tour. Avila is a fascinating old town lots of walking.... have to be physically fit for the endurance of a lot of easy walking, but miles can be challenging and Segovia was spectacular. Standing and walking at the base of the aqueduct is something I will never forget. Because we broke off from our tour group for the lunch portion selected our own place with a time for rejoining our tour guide was very specific and helpful we could spend more time exploring on our own. The whole tour was beautifully planned out with rest stops from walking and for refreshments and toilet facilities. Very very impressive tour any way you look at it. Oh, and the bus was brand new big Mercedes A/C comfortable for sitting and viewing along the way. We liked that the tour guide did not talk too much constant during the trip... just enough to indicate what we were seeing but not constant chatter! Highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid

Geoffrey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Miriam provided an excellent and personal insight into Spanish food and also Spanish life in general. She took us to the choicest spots in town which, given how crowded, bustling and comprehensively local they were, it would have required maximum chutz-pah to navigate as a foreign tourist. I feel after having done this tour that I now know how Spanish tapas works - and jamon iberico rocks!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message