While the Spanish capital, Madrid, isn’t short of things to do, there are fantastic day trips and longer tours to discover the rich history of this beautiful Spanish region. El Escorial is arguably Spain’s most impressive royal site, frescos in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 837 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

HAO-EN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's so great to travel with so many people from different countries, and it's really a good experience for me. The guide and all local guides in different cities tried their best to care about us and help us to know each places more. It's not very easy to go to those cities by trains or buses by yourselves as you can not control the traffic time easily and you have to take a lot of time to buy tickets in different sites, so I think that it's worthy to join the tour and just enjoy the journey.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Neil H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I am glad I booked this trip. It was a great way to tour the South of Spain and hit the high spots without making all my own travel and hotel arrangements and standing in line for entrance tickets. It was a large group at least at first, with a need for English and Spanish commentary, and I agree with other reviewers that this was annoying but necessary. After some guests broke away on day 2 there was only 1 Spanish speaking couple left, who graciously agreed to just English, and that was better. Our tour guide Grace did a great job herding people around, getting everybody into hotel rooms, and gave a wonderful tour of Toledo on the last day. The other local tour guides were also very good. It did seem a shame that the food wasn't more authentic and local, but I know that they have to consider offering choices for everybody on the trip, and the Spanish Abades highway services do make their US equivalents usually a Burger King and Starbucks look like a pile of puke. We missed hotel dinners once or twice to explore some local cuisine on our own. Our driver, Jesus, was great, and negotiated some tight corners and tiny spaces with that bus! The kids would have appreciated Wifi on the bus apparently switched off for out tour. Other than that, only 2 major criticisms: There was some weirdness over extra optional tours - Grace was a little obsessed about offering these, and also collecting the money in cash - making me think this was a scam. If they're legit, let's hear about them up front, and book them at the time of the initial reservation. I thought she put some unfair pressure on a couple of guests .... You have to pay...... Secondly, we were hijacked at a jewelry store in Toledo for over an hour, and I thought that was disgraceful - I am sure Julia travel gets some kind of a kick back from this place, and I really resented the time wasted locked in that sales room when I could have been exploring a beautiful city on my own.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Dolat B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The trip was good on the whole except for a major screwup at Granada and the Alhambra..our tour of over 80 passengers were not allowed to see the main Palace and the LionCourtyard because the local tour did not have all our tickets. It is Julia travel in Madrid who had outsourced the local tour to local people who did not care how upset we all were.. the Allhambra Courtyard was to be highlight of our Spain tour !Hope you have better relations with the local tour guides for other tours.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Vanessa S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

as I said in previous email regarding this that you sent me
You left us in Madrid for two days with no information or tour details
We wasted two days in Madrid because no one could tell us what was happening
I was disgusted with you Viator

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Spain Tour Including Madrid, Cordoba, Seville, Granada, Valencia and Barcelona

Dmitriy R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

I am unsure what the other travelers liked about this tour, but apart from the convenience of having transportation, there is really nothing great about this experience. Organizational skills of this operator are lacking to say the least. We have arrived right on time for our departure early in the morning, only to sit in the suffocating garage for nearly an hour. If that wasn't enough, every guided trip was delayed because of the group's incapability to show up on time to the bus. Janet did very little to make a point of showing up on time no matter how late people'd come, the bus would still be waiting for them. It was very unfair and frankly rude to us people who showed up on time. Be prepared to spend at least 1 - 1.5 hours a day just waiting for the group to gather and get moving.
The guided tours in the cities were just OK, the guides for the most part seemed bored and disinterested. The only exception was our guide in Toledo, who we really liked.
Hotel Los Angeles is a disgrace of a hotel and we actually complained to Julia Travel about it. This hotel should not be offered as part of this package. First of all, the staff were rude to say the least, it seemed like it was a big effort for the concierge to give you any information and the bartender was plain rude. The concierge also gave me the wrong directions on the map, which I luckily caught thanks to the Google maps. The hotel itself smelled of public washrooms in the room and in the halls. Half of the light fixtures were broken and the fridge wasn't working either. Breakfast items were cold even though we went first thing in the morning, they were probably cooked a day before. Dinner we skipped so cannot comment on the quality.
Granada's tour was a disaster: late departure, questionable ticket process, wrong tickets and being denied admission, and a bored guide not getting us into a part of Alhmabra that got many people angry. By the way, Alhambra is on the morning of the 4th day not 3rd as is listed.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Diana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very well planned the only thing is that I would have like more time in Córdoba with a walking tour in the city after the visit to the Mosk and Cathedral

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Malini L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great trip. Our tour guide, Joseph, was quite knowledgeable and highly entertaining. One thing to note: The standard hotels were very basic and the AC did not work in two of the rooms we stayed in. We were kicking ourselves for not doing the hotel upgrade.

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

Vladimir O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour with Julia Travel. Gracie was Excellent hotels accommodations and additional tours selection with exception of Jypsy caves tour that i would of skip.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Kirt Gill Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An outstanding tour. The guide was great. A great way to see Cordoba, Seville,Granada and Toledo in only 4 days.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Allen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great. It had just enough sightseeing and enough free time to enjoy. The guide, Jaime, was fabulous.

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

Tabassum A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Everything was well organized
A few issues like quality of local guide at Córdoba but in general very impressed

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Spain Tour Including Madrid, Cordoba, Seville, Granada, Valencia and Barcelona

Cantabs

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Pedraza was an interesting surprise to add to our trip to Sergovia. The aquaduct was an impressive sight. The tour was of a good length and the guide was informative. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Pedraza and Segovia Tour from Madrid

Alice Y United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The pick up at -2 floors at the Plaza Oriente wasn't as hard to find as I thought. There were two buses dispatched by Julia Travels that day. The guide I got was Miguel who is not as good as the guide on the other bus. Miguel did not give us a lot of information about the places we were going as we rode on the bus. He did not coordinate well with local guides and hotels as to our arrival time. He didnt know where he was going often times and made us walk more than necessary because of it. He doesn't care whether all his clients are checked in at the hotel before he heads to his own room.

Day 1 we drive to Cordoba, visit the Meszquita and drive to Seville for the evening. The hotel was a lot nicer than I thought and we went with the upgraded hotels.

Day 2 we drive around the world's fair pavilions and stop at Plaza Espana. Then we walk around old town Seville which ends 11:30 in front of Cathedral. Optional walking tour/bus pick-up meets at 14:30 or you can find you way back. We went to the Alcazar and Cathedral. The lines for the tickets were long so if you can get the guide to tell you an exact time for when he leaves you at the cathedral, book your tickets ahead. The optional flamenco show was great but there are plenty of options in Seville if you want to find one yourself.

Day 3 we drive to Granada and got there 11:30. The agency messed up on the Generallife and Alhambra tickets so we had nothing to do until the next morning. The hotel is not as nice as the one in Seville but good. We toured Granada ourselves for the rest of the day.

Day 4 we visit Generalife and the Alhambra, but the Nazaries Palace is not included. Then we head towards Toledo, lunch at rest stop, and arrive at damasquino factory shopping stop that seems unavoidable with tours. Then we went into Toledo where we went to Iglesias de Santo Tomé to see El Grecos Burial of Count Orgaz, a highlight of the trip! Then the white synagogue before heading back to Madrid.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Hossam H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Partner Julia travel were on time and on schedule. Places we visited and hotels were great. We stayed at the 4 hotels. More time in Cordoba and Toledo would be better. We did not have a chance to explore these wonderful cities.

Doing what: 8-Day Southern Spain Tour from Madrid: Cordoba, Seville, Costa del Sol, Granada and Toledo

ROBERTO ACOSTA A

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Aunque fue bueno. La parte de la Alhambra solo incluyo los jardines pero no vimos elPatio de los Leones ni el palacio. Es como ir al Louvre y que no te enseñen la Mona Lisa. No lo recomiendo.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Julie U

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

I was very much looking forward to this trip which my friends and I had booked last October. For me, the highlight was to be a visit to the world famous Alhambra Red Palace and Generalife Gardens so imagine my dismay when we were told by our guide that our ticket was for everywhere EXCEPT the Palace! Everyone in the group was stunned. We had only been told by our Tour Guide at the beginning of the tour that there was a change to the itinerary which meant we would visit the Alhambra on Thursday instead of Wednesday with no mention of not going inside. When we protested, he said to check with the Tour Guide as he was only the guide for the palace visit and would love to be able to show us the Palace. When asked, our Guide would only say it was very complicated dealing with Alhambra! Asked why we hadnt been told prior to the visit so we could attempt to obtain tickets ourselves, she said why upset us earlier! While we very much enjoyed what we did see of the gardens and outside buildings, we were very disappointed to be deceived in this way.
I would advise anyone else wanting to do this trip to try to ascertain that they would definitely be going inside the Palace. Anyone we have spoken to since, many of whom were travelling solo, had no difficulty and did not find it complicated dealing with Alhambra. The change in the itinerary also involved seeing two Flamenco Dance shows, the second of which was described as a Gypsy Dance Show but was merely an inferior Flamenco Dance Show and after enjoying a far superior Flamenco the night before, was a disappointing waste of time.
The rest of the Tour was wonderful and it was a shame the deception we felt on the last day overshadowed our enjoyment of it.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Eduardo Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This tour was convenient but could've been much better. Fell well below amazing and #34;. The main guide on board the coach was barely ok. Should've been a whole lot better and engaged more with the group and made more of an effort. The last day crammed the Alhambra and Toledo into one day. Felt rushed.

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

adrianeast

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Thought that Julia travel was not particularly good or professional. It was unconscionable that we go to the Alhambra but never get to go inside the palace!!! That is ridiculous! We should have been told that in advance! Moreover food horrible and English/Spanish combo tour was a bad idea!

Doing what: 4-Day Spain Tour: Cordoba, Seville and Granada from Madrid

Nimaheg23

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Okay. We were put in the wrong Tour and did not notify us of the change.

Doing what: 5-Day Spain Tour: Seville, Cordoba, Toledo, Ronda, Costa del Sol and Granada from Madrid

Nisha V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very kind and courteous staff. Always punctual and ensured that they did their best to ensure our comfort. The lunch was good as well ! All in all a good experience.

Doing what: Madrid Super Saver: El Escorial Monastery and Toledo Day Trip from Madrid

Ahlam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My friend and I had a great experience with your tour, our guides were knowledgeable and experienced, our hotels were clean and centrally located, this was my first time using your tours, from now on, I will only use your company, thanks for exceeding my expectations.

Doing what: 8-Day Spain Tour from Madrid: Cordoba, Seville, Ronda, Costa del Sol, Granada and Toledo

shfox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this small group your and would recommend it.
We ticked off a bucket list item with the breathtaking Roman Aqueduct in the town of Segovia.

Doing what: Small-Group Pedraza and Segovia Tour from Madrid

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message