Legend has it that the original tapas were used as covers to keep the sherry in Andalusian taverns safe from flies dropping into the glass. Bread, ham or chorizo were best, and led to the creation of the wide variety of Tapas, from olives, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 683 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JOMAYRA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

James Fraser was an amazing guide he took us to very good bars to drink and eat tapas. I would definitely recommend this night walking tour with him. There was also good people along with us that made the night fun, it was total of 11 people and it was my friend's bday and went to the last bar and celebrated.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tapas tour exceeded my expectations! I had read good reviews online and booked the tour for our first night in Madrid. Danny was our guide and he took us to 4 bars each representing tapas from a different region in Spain. He was an excellent guide and very knowledgeable about Madrid, not only did we have great tapas, he also shared interesting historical information about the areas we were walking through. We met some fun and interesting people in our small group of 11. Danny handled the drink/tapas ordering and money exchange at each bar which allowed us to relax and focus on the tapas, drinks and visiting with the group. Book this tour, you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Chandra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

David was an excellent tour guide. Because I had trouble finding Plaza de Villa, I arrived a little late but that was not a problem for David. And since I was the only one on the tour, it felt customized. Embarking on a tapas tours was very useful, as I revisited some of the places during the remainder of my vacation. In addition to tasting different types of food, we traveled throughout different neighborhoods which is a nice bonus as it helped me to become familiar with city. Because I was the only one on the tour, David had time to answer the myriad of questions that I had which lead to thought provoking and intellectually stimulating discussions, making the overall experience unforgettable.

Thank you, David, for a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

Rachel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great night! Our guide Miriam was amazing and took us to some really nice local places, giving us lots of interesting facts and suggestions on the way. Recommend for anyone who wants to experience proper tapas! Thanks so much, Rachel and Indre

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Owen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great Trip. Pedro was amazing, with good historical knowledge and good local cultural knowledge and a great tour with some outstanding food and wine. Definelty recommend!!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Owen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great Trip. Pedro was amazing, with good historical knowledge and good local cultural knowledge and a great tour with some outstanding food and wine. Definelty recommend!!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We visited four Tapas places and had the opportunity to try a huge variety of different Tapas and wine. The guide was very knowledgable and organised us well. We enjoyed meeting the others on the tour there were 9 of us It was a really fun evening and one of the highlights of our stay in Madrid. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Liliana G C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was fun, yummy and informative. Me encanto muchisimo!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Frances M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pedro is fabulous. We chose the afternoon tour option and were surprised to find we were the only participants, so we had a private tour. Pedro is passionate about tapas and the history of Spain and it shows. We started at the statue of Isabelle II and had a 7 minute history lesson covering 400 years! Then on to our first stop for tapas, which was a brunch tasting plate he had designed especially for the tour. He explained what each dish was before we tasted it. The tasting plate even included a glass of wine. Our next stop was a ham store. There we tasted 3 different types of olive oils and more than 3 types of Iberian ham. Included in the tasting was a bottle of wine. Our third stop was at a store that sold premium seafood in cans. It was fantastic. We had tuna cheeks, mussels, clams, and anchovies. And you guessed it, another bottle of wine. Our last tasting was at a cafe for freshly made churros and chocolate. Unbelievable. In between the tastings, we would stop at statues in parks and squares for a little bit of history. Tapas and History a fantastic tour!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Gina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My college friend and I and our teenage daughters did this tour. It was a fantastic blend of the history of Madrid with fantastic tapas and drinks. Our group was fantastic and we really bonded. Pedro said our group was large at 10 but we thought it perfect. Pedro obviously loves Madrid, food, and wine and he did a wonderful job. Each stop was so unique.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Arlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow! You better come hungry! Cecilia was absolutely lovely. She was very knowledgeable and very personable. My son and I got a private tour since we had Cecilia all to ourselves. She took us to eat the best of the best in Madrid. The pinchos were even large portions , but supposed to be smaller than tapas! Great tour at an amazing price. The food and wine were outstanding, and Cecilia, you were the best! Thank you for starting our first evening in Madrid with a winner!

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

Malcolm E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful night. Excellent guide, great people, amazing food

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Lachlan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the best tours I have ever been on whilst on a city break. Madrid and Spain is famous for its food and this was a brilliant way to learn about tapas and the markets of Madrid whilst trying foods that you may not normally be inclined to try. One thing worth noting is don't eat too much food during the day as you get to taste so much in the evening you will be bursting by the end of the night. Some lovely wines and beers too. Cecelia was a fantastic guide and made the whole experience memorable. I really recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in food!

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

Cecelia H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was well worth taking. We took it on our first night in Madrid and helped very much with getting us oriented. Our tour guide was a genuine local and this added to the ambience of the tour. Thank you Pedro you helped make our Madrid experience a memorable one.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A fantastic night with Pedro.
My wife and i were the only two people on this tour and Pedro i am sure could of passed this up because of our late booking, but kindly agreed to show us around and it was definitely a highlight of this trip. Due to the rain we spent more time indoors eating and drinking quality food and wine and getting a very informative Spanish lesson.
Pedro was very passionate about his work and his city and a very nice genuine guy.
Our tour started at seven and we parted around midnight. It was like going out with an old friend.
Thanks very much Pedro. The places you took us to were exceptional and we frequented them again during our stay.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Sanna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had this tour on on first day in Madrid. We were very tired but still very excited to explore the city and most importantly experience the food culture since all four of us are foodies. Pedro was our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable, passionate about the culture and history of Madrid. He showed us around four different places...all very different and fun! We went to many other tours throughout barcelona, rome and paris. Now that our trip is over, we all agree that Pedro's tour was the ultimate best. Thank you Pedro for showing us around town and the great food/drinks. I will always remember this experience and will recommend him to all my friends who are already asking.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

davidpatterson44 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful, lots of fun, great food, plenty to drink! Guides Pedro and Pablo were personable, fun, and very knowledgeable and helpful. Very unique bars and variety. Do it, you won't regret it.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

stonesq

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time in the first night in Madrid. Pedro was very knowledgeable with Madrid and Spain history. We learned a lot of Madrid history from him in a short time. Pedro took us to 3 tapas restaurants where tourists don't typically go. The first place we went was the oldest tavern in Madrid. All tapas and wine were delicious. The second place Pedro took us was a local jamon shop. We had slices of fresh top quality Iberico ham and it melted in my mouth! Wine and cheese were also very good. The third place we went was tapas restaurant where they served canned seafood but nothing like canned seafood we get in the US, the quality was so good it reminded me Anthony Bourdain's travel show where he went to tapas restaurant in Madrid and had a high quality canned seafood. The last place we went was a café where they served traditional chorizo and chocolate. Thank you for the wonderful evening, Pedro!
We had a great time. We highly recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys good food, wine and company.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

tklohr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We werent quite sure what to expect, but were very impressed with the variety of tapas and wine that they selected to share with us. Pedro was great and it was a very fun way to see and learn about the city, and experience things we would never have found on our own.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Amy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful tour! Pedro was amazing and gave us great historical information along with showing us wonderful places to eat and drink. I would book this walking tour again in an instant.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

helen.jelich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour, we learned not just about tapas but also about where to buy shoes and other Madrid cultural insider information. Enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Only my girlfriend and I booked the lunchtime trip but that was no problem and we enjoyed the full attention of Pedro our guide who was excellent. He took us around a number of great venus and each one we sampled tapas accompanied by a suitable drink. Some really different food and drink which we found informative and very enjoyable. We wished we had skipped breakfast as eventually we ran out of room to eat! A great introduction to Spanish history and Madrids role in it.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Mita B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great night!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I had the most fantastic tour with Pablo. He was so knowledgable and enthusiastic about all that Madrid can offer a visitor. We were so lucky that we were the only couple who had booked for the lunchtime tour. He told us that eight people had booked for the evening tour on the same day. One might expect that because there was only two of us, that he would have kept the tour short, but not a bit. In fact we asked so many questions and he was so informative that our tour which started at 11.30 didn't end until nearly 4pm. We sampled delicious food and discovered the best jamon we have ever tasted. We cannot praise this tour enough. It was a talking point for the rest of our trip. Ten out of ten!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Tanya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For my youngest sister's 30th we went to Madrid and for our last night we booked this tour. With paying extra on top to sample all that our guide JAMES could offer in local Tapas, it is absolutely worth it...... I would book this tour again if we return to Madrid as I am certain we will receive better Tapas this way than doing it of our own accord, unless of course you speak good Spanish and / or know the area etc well..... and we do not!.
Thoroughly great booking :

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message