Legend has it that the original tapas were used as covers to keep the sherry in Andalusian taverns safe from flies dropping into the glass. Bread, ham or chorizo were best, and led to the creation of the wide variety of Tapas, from olives, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 694 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

chrislustan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was tons of fun! David our guide was very friendly and a pleasure. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

maureen r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pedro was great, history interspersed with great eating experience. 4 great food stops. alot of fun.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Krista I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Charismatic, pleasant, funny, knowledgeable! Madrid rocks - me and my friends had tons of fun and enjoyed the tour greatly.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Caterina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was AMAZING! We can not recommend it enough, our tour guide was Pedro, and he was was just so honest and knowledgable about not only tapas and wine but the history and culture of Madrid! He reccomends so many flavor combinations and brought us to little hidden gems throughout Central Madrid. Pedro is top ten, but personally I think no other tour guide can compare! If you are contemplating taking this tour, DO IT! We want to do it again that is how much fun we had. Make sure you get Pedro!!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Our tour guide, David, was informative about the food, wine, culture, and history of Madrid. We were fortunate enough to be the only ones on the tour and loved all five of the stops. While walking to each new taste, David spoke about the history of Madrid and showed us historical buildings. It is more than worth the money and we highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

Linda A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. The history of Madrid, the different Tapas and Wines and our guide was wonderful. The other guests who were part of this tour were also friendly and informative. Our guide even gave us a great suggestion for dinner for a large group for the following evening. A must to do while visiting Madrid.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

1cchelle1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

WOW! What a tour! We only had 4 people including myself and it felt like a private tour. This was definitely a highlight during our trip to Spain! We had so much food, really hard to believe you could get this much on a tour in this price point but it was excellent! Must go! Best guide ever- Cecilia!!!!

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

Virginia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pedro was a fantasic guide - giving us history of not only some of the landmarks, but of the food as well. He was animated, charming and I was sorely disappointed when it ended all too soon. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Eraine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wow what an experience. Recommend anyone going to Madrid to take this tour. James tour guide was excellent - very informative and wonderful tapas bars off the beaten track. Thanks James for your excellent hospitality. From the Tassie Two

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

JOMAYRA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

James Fraser was an amazing guide he took us to very good bars to drink and eat tapas. I would definitely recommend this night walking tour with him. There was also good people along with us that made the night fun, it was total of 11 people and it was my friend's bday and went to the last bar and celebrated.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tapas tour exceeded my expectations! I had read good reviews online and booked the tour for our first night in Madrid. Danny was our guide and he took us to 4 bars each representing tapas from a different region in Spain. He was an excellent guide and very knowledgeable about Madrid, not only did we have great tapas, he also shared interesting historical information about the areas we were walking through. We met some fun and interesting people in our small group of 11. Danny handled the drink/tapas ordering and money exchange at each bar which allowed us to relax and focus on the tapas, drinks and visiting with the group. Book this tour, you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Chandra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

David was an excellent tour guide. Because I had trouble finding Plaza de Villa, I arrived a little late but that was not a problem for David. And since I was the only one on the tour, it felt customized. Embarking on a tapas tours was very useful, as I revisited some of the places during the remainder of my vacation. In addition to tasting different types of food, we traveled throughout different neighborhoods which is a nice bonus as it helped me to become familiar with city. Because I was the only one on the tour, David had time to answer the myriad of questions that I had which lead to thought provoking and intellectually stimulating discussions, making the overall experience unforgettable.

Thank you, David, for a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

Rachel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great night! Our guide Miriam was amazing and took us to some really nice local places, giving us lots of interesting facts and suggestions on the way. Recommend for anyone who wants to experience proper tapas! Thanks so much, Rachel and Indre

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Owen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great Trip. Pedro was amazing, with good historical knowledge and good local cultural knowledge and a great tour with some outstanding food and wine. Definelty recommend!!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Owen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great Trip. Pedro was amazing, with good historical knowledge and good local cultural knowledge and a great tour with some outstanding food and wine. Definelty recommend!!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We visited four Tapas places and had the opportunity to try a huge variety of different Tapas and wine. The guide was very knowledgable and organised us well. We enjoyed meeting the others on the tour there were 9 of us It was a really fun evening and one of the highlights of our stay in Madrid. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Liliana G C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was fun, yummy and informative. Me encanto muchisimo!

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Frances M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pedro is fabulous. We chose the afternoon tour option and were surprised to find we were the only participants, so we had a private tour. Pedro is passionate about tapas and the history of Spain and it shows. We started at the statue of Isabelle II and had a 7 minute history lesson covering 400 years! Then on to our first stop for tapas, which was a brunch tasting plate he had designed especially for the tour. He explained what each dish was before we tasted it. The tasting plate even included a glass of wine. Our next stop was a ham store. There we tasted 3 different types of olive oils and more than 3 types of Iberian ham. Included in the tasting was a bottle of wine. Our third stop was at a store that sold premium seafood in cans. It was fantastic. We had tuna cheeks, mussels, clams, and anchovies. And you guessed it, another bottle of wine. Our last tasting was at a cafe for freshly made churros and chocolate. Unbelievable. In between the tastings, we would stop at statues in parks and squares for a little bit of history. Tapas and History a fantastic tour!

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Gina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My college friend and I and our teenage daughters did this tour. It was a fantastic blend of the history of Madrid with fantastic tapas and drinks. Our group was fantastic and we really bonded. Pedro said our group was large at 10 but we thought it perfect. Pedro obviously loves Madrid, food, and wine and he did a wonderful job. Each stop was so unique.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Arlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow! You better come hungry! Cecilia was absolutely lovely. She was very knowledgeable and very personable. My son and I got a private tour since we had Cecilia all to ourselves. She took us to eat the best of the best in Madrid. The pinchos were even large portions , but supposed to be smaller than tapas! Great tour at an amazing price. The food and wine were outstanding, and Cecilia, you were the best! Thank you for starting our first evening in Madrid with a winner!

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

Malcolm E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful night. Excellent guide, great people, amazing food

Doing what: Madrid Tapas Night Walking Tour

Lachlan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the best tours I have ever been on whilst on a city break. Madrid and Spain is famous for its food and this was a brilliant way to learn about tapas and the markets of Madrid whilst trying foods that you may not normally be inclined to try. One thing worth noting is don't eat too much food during the day as you get to taste so much in the evening you will be bursting by the end of the night. Some lovely wines and beers too. Cecelia was a fantastic guide and made the whole experience memorable. I really recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in food!

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

Karol.Boratynski Poland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Worth every penny : Had a great time, met new interesting people and I rediscovered Madrid because of this trip.

Doing what: Madrid Market and Tapas Walking Tour Including Lavapiés Visit

Cecelia H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was well worth taking. We took it on our first night in Madrid and helped very much with getting us oriented. Our tour guide was a genuine local and this added to the ambience of the tour. Thank you Pedro you helped make our Madrid experience a memorable one.

Doing what: Madrid Authentic Tapas and History Lunch or Dinner Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message