Malaga, though perhaps skipped over on the less comprehensive tour of Spain, is rife with history, as much as just about any city of the Old World. Founded around 770 BC by the Phoenicians, Malaga flourished throughout the Roman times, survived the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1095 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cymrujohnpo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Trouble free pick-up and on to destination- brilliant

Doing what: Malaga Airport (Costa del Sol) Private Arrival Transfer

Lupita P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour in Ronda.
The wine tasting not worth it.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

kulmomma3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing experience! What a great way to see Malaga in a two hour period with more fun than you can imagine via a segway. Our tour guide Michael He is from Holland, was truly wonderful. He showed areas full of facts, history all the while making it super fun. He took his time with us and allowed us various stops to take pictures and ask questions. This is a must do in Malaga, and a must with this company!

Doing what: Malaga Segway Tour

Maurice V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great experience and great guide. The Cathedral was great to see and you can see the tension with the Muslims, as I counted 16 armed guards with machine guns at the 4 entrances. Beautiful Cathedral.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

Jamal T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The Segway Tour is a very efficient way to covering a large part of the city quickly, and is particular good for getting up the high hillside to get great panaromic views of the city and coast.

I was able to master the Segway quite quickly and they are particularly good at getting through crowds of people as balance is maintained when stationary and they can turn almost standing.

The main guide was very friendly and gave basic introductions to main landmarks. We spent a reasonable time on the high to get great views of the city. She also gave me great recommendations for tapas.

The only negative worth noting is that not much time was spent at other landmarks and places of interest, so had to return to spend more time at those that piqued my interest.

I would recommend doing this, especially if only staying a short while in Malaga.

Doing what: Malaga Segway Tour

Jamal T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Generally, this tour is worth the money as it gets you to Granada and Alhambra from the centre of Malaga, efficiently and comfortably.

The coaches used are very comfortable and refined. The seats recline a fair amount, but beware the back seats do not!

The coach guide did his job, the only issue was that his English was a bit broken and he did have a tendency to repeat what he said. Also, I felt he spent too much time trying to sell the official lunch. That being said, his English was understandable and he did his job.

Once arrived at Alhambra, tour groups are formed by language spoken. Our guide Lucy, was excellent. The only issue is that tour of Alhambra is a bit too long at 2.5 hrs and does involve a lot of walking. So lunch in Granada was very late.

The only significant thing I would change would be to remove the walk in Granada that is done before going to Alhambra, which involved walking 15 mins to stand near the Cathedral for 10 mins and then walk 15 mins back to the bus. I would have preferred going straight to Alhambra and then having a longer time at Granada afterwards.

Doing what: Granada Walking Tour with Alhambra Gardens from Malaga

Karen N

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Overall the tour was very good, I just wish I had more time in Morocco. Unfortunately, the tour started on a very bad note when the tour company failed to inform us that our tour start time had changed from 6 am to 8 am, so we were waiting at the designated bus stop for over 2 hours. We met a couple other people who had had similar troubles with this tour company, except that their tours had been completely cancelled and they were not informed. So, if you use this tour company, make sure to call the day before to make sure it is still running and that the start time is the same. Other than that, the tour was really good. It's a three hour drive to Tariff the port and you pick people up from many stops along the way, but the drive is beautiful. This tour gives you just a taste of Morocco, which will definitely leave you wanting more. They take you to a beautiful outlook where you can see the Strait of Gibraltar and many mushroom trees. The camel ride option is probably the lowest point of the tour since they are just in a parking lot. I would have rather had more time in the bazaar and souks than stop to see a camel in a parking lot. In the bazaar, the tour guides do a really good job of keeping track of everybody and fending off some of the vendors. I would definitely recommend a Morocco day trip to someone who has limited time and wants to get a taste of Morocco, but you may want to use a different tour company not Julia Travel, since there were a couple other tour companies doing pretty much the same tour without the admin problems.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Jean A

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Although our guides one for the bus in Spain and ferry and another for Tangier were outstanding and the bus comfortable, visiting Morocco on this tour was a mixed experience. The Tangier city bus tour was informative, but was a simple drive through with one stop for a beautiful view, followed by an opportunity to ride camels stationed in a parking lot. The included lunch was held in an appropriately atmospheric restaurant, with musicians playing arabic music and an acceptable lunch of kibbeh kebab and couscous. However, we were whisked through the fascinating narrow alleys of the old city and through the enticing bazaars and food markets so quickly that we barely had time to take photos, let alone have an opportunity to browse or buy....for example, we would love to have had the chance to buy bags of the lucious dates and nuts to take home. Instead, we were quickly herded into a huge department store to a pre-planned sales pitch for carpets and hard sell employees attempting to help us purchase jewelry or crafts. The goods were beautiful and appeared to be high quality, but the sales technique was annoying and ineffective. Later we WERE given 20 minutes to browse in a few shops, but that was also pre-arranged with the brother of a guide trying to sell items in his shop. Meanwhile there were street vendors pursuing us mercilessly through the streets shoving carved wooden camels and trinkets at us. Our guides had warned us, and told us what to say to them, but nothing stopped them. Finally, we were ushered into a supposed spice market, where another sales pitch was intended to sell an expensive oil or cosmetics made from it. We were glad we took the tour, but would have preferred it to have allowed browsing time in the REAL markets and eliminated those time-consuming stops for arranged sales pitches. Compliments on having experienced, savvy, personable guides and great, safe, organization for a tourist group,.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Maurice V

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

It is something to see and experience, however too much was devoted at the Tangier end to selling merchandise to us. I paid to tour Tangier not buy cheap merchandise. I would have liked more time spent touring and visiting important sites in Tangier, we spent have the time in the tour fending off guys trying to sell things to us. The guy purposely brought us into areas that we were not able to escape and would disappear for half an hour, only to reappear and bring us to another area where we were at the mercy of the people trying to sell us 5 euro Rolexes and colourful stones. They especially targeting women. We also spent over 20 minutes having a merchant trying to sell us some carpets. I can see 15 minutes in the merchant area, not half the tour. The guide from the Spanish side was good, but very busy. They need to have better organization, I waiting for the tour at 5:30 in the morning for the 6 am tour, only to get picked up at 8 am no advance notice was given to me email or phone message. I would like to stress that the trip is worth the money, but would like less time spent with the merchants of Tangier and more time spent touring Tangier. We I an a lot of others felt like cattle being routed through a corral for the slaughter house not as people.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Lupita P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

The transportation to Morroco and the tour guide from Spain and from Morroco were excellent, the food was good.
the visits in Tanger to the handcraft's store and and the oil and spice's sotre was not so good, but the 20 minutes that they gave us, was the wost harassment experienceof the street vendors. the 20 minutes were the longest 20 minutes of my life.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Julie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was so good. We spent several hours in the Alhambra. He was very knowledgeable. He took great care to translate into English for us. We really appreciated the care taken by the company to get us from the ship in Malaga to Granada in time for the tour in the afternoon. Everyone was friendly

Doing what: Malaga Shore Excursion: Skip-the-Line Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Tour

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even though it was semi-difficult to determine where we were meeting the tour group and other members of the same tour had free hotel pickup and drop off this was a very nice tour. We spent ten days traveling through Morocco including Rabat, Casablanca, and Marrakech and got more in depth information on the culture and customs of Morocco from this trip in one day than we did in the previous ten days. I would have appreciated it if they would have made the pick-up process a bit easier but overall this tour was an excellent value for the price and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

redldebug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoy the hop on hop off as we get a feel for what we want to see. It is easy to get off and then back on.

Doing what: Malaga Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malaga Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Patricia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My daughter and I had a lovely evening. The tapas was not very adventurous but the wine was great. The buzz of malaga in the evening was amazing. The guide was exceptional and he made the evening so special. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Malaga.

Doing what: Malaga Tapas and Wine Tour

Gail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great way to start a visit to Malaga. Tapas were delicious, we had a variety to choose from and our host was fantastic. We met our host , visited 3 different restaurants and had wine and tapas in each. Fun afternoon and a great introduction to Malaga and the local foods.

Doing what: Malaga Tapas and Wine Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Viator representative was waiting for me with a large legible sign directly in front of the customs exit gate. He handled my luggage and drove me to my hotel where he took my luggage into the reception. Excellent.
D.S.

Doing what: Malaga Airport (Costa del Sol) Private Arrival Transfer

James M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Very worthwhile trip. As we were the first to be picked up, it was a very long day, endlessly stopping to pick others up. Our guide was an amazing linguist not oozing with friendship but did his job well.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Anna K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Organization was ok but Tangier was not as like i think . Medina was just dirty slums with full of beg for money people .

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Hilary B G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

It was a very generic trip with to many different languages on the same tour. By the time your language was spoken you were already beyond the point of interest. To much driving and not enough walking around and seeing the city. Very disappointed!

Doing what: Seville Day Trip from Malaga

KC W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

This was absolutely awful. This isn't a trip to tangier as much as its a forced excursion to a rug seller, and a vitamin shop. Nothing cultural about it. 13 -14 hours for a depressing parking lot camel ride, and hordes of souvenir hawkers. save your money, save your time.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

james r v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We were supposed to take the tour on January 18, but it got moved to January 19. We spoke to several people who took it and they said it was awful. The bus ride was too long and they were harassed by street beggars. Even though we had paid for it, we decided not to go.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Daniel P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Didn't really live up to the hype. Not sure I would recommend this tour to anyone. Didn't seem well organized on the Spanish side, and even much less on the Moroccan side. Problem after problem. Remember that if you are in Malaga it will take over 3 hours to get to Tarifa your exit port. Then the boat broke down so we had to wait an extra 2 hours. Once in Morocco there was a problem with the day visa that turned out to be a bigger problem on exiting Morocco. The guide in Morocco just seemed to rush us through the history and landmarks which were few, and take us to the touristy areas to get hounded by hawkers selling junk. Stay clear of this one. I have been told that is the story of Tangier. Better to go to another place to get the genuine feel of Morocco.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Gillian R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I should have asked questions before booking. From Malaga city it is almost 100 miles to the ferry port and picking up people on the way meant much of the day was taken sitting in a coach. We left Malaga at 08.00 and returned at 11pm. And in Tangier I expected street traders to be endlessly trying to sell to me but the tour was almost a complete selling job: stop for camel riding - in a car park! - only 2 euros take photos for free at the artisan co-op a sales pitch for their carpets and as soon as finished men swooped on us trying to get us to buy. You couldn't look at anything without someone appearing at your side. The herbalist with a nasty cold so his treatments don't work wanted to sell us argon oil three for two... the race through the old section market but not allowed to stop and look which would have been the interesting part of the day but we were on route for lunch lunch good though tips needed for the musicians. Every time we went inside somewhere we had to run a gauntlet of street sellers waiting for us to come out again. At least they were cheerful and didn't seem to resent our - polite - rejections. Guide Frank who got us to Tangier explaining in several languages how to get through stringent passport checks with entrance and exit forms and ensuring no-one got lost on the way, gets a special mention for patience. Hassan then took over for the Tangier tour and his mate suddenly appeared - not sure what for and what his contribution was supposed to be - but touted for tips at the end. This could have been very interesting trip if it had been more 'show and tell' and much less 'show and sell'.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message