Settled by the Phoenecians around the 7th century BC, later conquered by the Muslims and finally settling under Spanish rule, Ronda has had a long and varied history marked by war, trade, and geographic wonder.  Today, most visit the small town ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shirley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip to Ronda lovely city great guide enough free time to explore.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

nicolepkeller

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

We were not told that there would be a 2.5 hour drive to pick up passengers and then drop them off at the end of the tour. Also, the tour guide was very rude and not informative. He never introduced himself or the driver. He told one passenger when she asked when we would finally be leaving to go to Ronda that if she was not happy with the tour that was her problem. We could not wait to get to Ronda and leave the tour even though we paid for the city guide and wine tasting experience. Julia Travel was the tour company contracted by Viator and Julia travel was horrific. I have taken tours with Viator before and was very happy with the tour. However after this experience I am very reluctant to recommend or take another tour with Viator. I am very disappointed with our tour and glad I canceled the other tour to Sevilla since it was also with Julia travel even though I lost money.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Andrejs F

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

1st - we were 2hours driving around to pick up other people. Maybe for future it makes sense to make few main points - otherwise in Malaga itself we had 1 stop, but outside we were hitting every hotel for even 1 person.
4 languages are too many for one tour - we got small amount of information, but poor guide was talking all the time.
Ronda itself was beautiful and nice. But I would suggest to take a car and go there in 2-3hrs instead of whole day where several hours are picking up and dropping off people.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Latha B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour was very short to my expectation - lasted for only 8 hours instead of the 11 hoursThe White hills tour was good but the Ronda trip was not worth the money. A lot of time was spent in the bull ring and the tour guide seemed to enjoy the way Bulls were killed. Not worth the money.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Te-Ling C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Joining this tour made everything really easy, from figuring out where to meet in the morning to actually getting to Ronda. Even though we ran into many obstacles along the way with road closures due to the 101km bike tour going through, we ended up still going to all the sights we were supposed to, albeit in different order.

Once getting to Ronda, we met with a local guide who gave us a 2 hour tour of the city, including Spain's first circular bullfighting ring, the cathedral and Casa del don Bosco, now a home for the elderly but represents a mix of Arabic and Christian culture typical to all of Andalusia. After the tour, we had about 1 hour to explore the city for ourselves.

But the views! The bridge of Ronda, the view from Zahara de la Sierra the Pueblo Blanco, and the view from Casa del don Bosco, WOW WOW WOW.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Louis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the tour very much and fell in love with Ronda. Will have to go back and stay there for a couple days. The wine tasting was ok.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Dr David Carhar C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a very good tour. The unscheduled stop in Zahara was particularly agreeable and the tour guide in Ronda itself was superb.
The tour office in Seville is not impressive. I sent them 5 emails in advance of the tour and never received a response to any of them. I visited the office in person and was given conflicting information.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Tamara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out! Long tour but stopped for breakfast of churros on the way not included in price. Zahra was lovely.
Great day, with good tour around the town and visit tot he Bull ring I'm not sure about Bull Fighting but to see the museum and to learn about this huge part of the culture was a great expereince. Not sure I'll book to watch a bull fight in the future though.
Our Guide Ramon was really nice and informative and looked after the group well.
Ronda is a lovely place and the views are stunning. A busy town though, so I was glad I went with a small group to make the visit easier to navigate.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Agata S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Trip was all to plan. Really worth to see. Fairs distance by coach to Ronda. Bit of nice history, wine tasting, bull ring visit, free time in town about 1 and a half hour to have some lunch. Man showing us around very good and organised. Thank you .We did enjoyed it.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Joanne S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Ronda is well worth a visit. Just don't go with this company. The trip to Ronda would normally take about 2 hours from Malaga straight there. The problem is, this company spends the first two hours picking up people from their hotels all along the Costa del Sol. This takes 2 hours before you even leave the coast and head up into the mountains, another 2 hours with very shot stop for a cuppa, but with the whole bus waiting in line, not enough time to get a hot drink and drink it before leaving again. In all, from Malaga, the trip takes 4 hours there and another 4 hours back, for just 3.5 hrs in Ronda. On top of is, if you are staying in Malaga they don't pick up from your hotel, you have to make your way to a central pick up spot. For me this added another half hour each way, as I was staying on the other side of Malaga and the buses did not go very frequently at 6.30am to get to the pick up spot in time. The stop at Marbella on the way back was pleasant, but it involved a super quick 20 min walking tour and no time or location for a toilet break even though for me I still had another 2hours of travelling before the final stop in Malaga. Definitely see Ronda if you can, but unless you are staying close to Ronda, it is a very long trip.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Sarah K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The town of Ronda was wonderful and beautiful, however it took us over 3 hours to do all of the pick ups from the various hotels and another 1 hour to arrive in Ronda. Our tour guide Poco never said one thing to us until 3 hours into our tour. During our tour of the town, there were over 30 people in the group and we were not able to hear one word that our tour guide was saying. If there is going to be that many people, a headset with an ear piece needs to be used. We decided to take the public bus back to Malaga as this took us 1 hour and 45 mins as opposed to over 4 hours. I would not recommend this tour, you can simply take a public bus and tour on your own.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Varsha S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Ronda trip made me think of some things. It was our second trip with Viator and the fancy of travel had already worn off. I need to give this advice to Viator. Passengers from Malaga have one spot to catch the bus, but the bus picks up all the other passengers from their hotels from the near by towns like Torremolinos, Benalmadina etc. For the life of me I can't understand why those passengers are not given a spot to two as pickup spots there. An exception can be made for the differently abled passengers, but the rest can definitely walk a bit to catch the bus, we did in Malaga. Imagine this...you sit in the bus in Malaga at 7am and by the time the bus picks up everyone to get going, it is already 10:15am! And don't ask how irritating it is when people can't even make it to the lobby of their hotel at 9 in the morning. Out of our entire 12 hour Ronda trip with Marbella included, we got only a little over 4hrs of actual sight seeing and rest of the 6hrs were spent in the bus! Choose it if you want a nice sleep in the bus and not really interested in sight seeing. Even if there is not much sight seeing to do, people would rather spend their time exploring the town, shopping etc., than sit in the bus for 6 hrs. Viator has to do something about it. This also goes for the most other trips that they have!

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Frank R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a wonderful outing even though we had rain. I had read that the pick ups took a long time before heading up into Ronda, with this being said I was prepared for it and got to see beaches that we wouldn't have seen if not on the bus. The only one thing that we could really complain about was finding the tour bus. We were told that the bus picked up on n11 bus route in Malaga in front of a bank and a green newspaper stand, they are every where. Luckily another tour bus took us down the street to our ride. The tour guide was really very good and informative. Great tour and wine tasting.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Mrs A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Straight forward pick up, comfortable coach and informative guides. Ronda is lovely with a spectacular gorge and the oldest bullring in Spain. Our guide was very informative and ensured that after some free time to explore Ronda we could fiind our way back to the coach park easily. Only issue is the fact that 48hours prior to taking the trip, one has to phone during office hours to get an English speaker. With modern communications, surely an email or text with relevant details reference number and name should be sufficient to confirm that one is travelling!

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Maureen L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The pueblos blancos section of the tour was a bit disappointing in that little historical information was provided. However, I enjoyed the walk up into the township. Warning though to others - you need to be pretty fit as it is quite a steep climb. The local guide in Ronda was very knowledgable and informative, despite his rather abrupt manner. This didn't detract from the tour and I enjoyed his commentary. It would have been great to have had more time in the bullring museum as we raced through there - perhaps a re- entry ticket for the free time later in the afternoon. The view from the bridge is wonderful. Worth doing.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Jon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Please don't be mislead by the rating. The trip itself to Ronda was great, but I am very sorry to say that our tour guide was very inconsiderate and seemed to not want to be there. Attention VIATOR, please advise people on vouchers that ANOTHER bus company may be used and to not necessarily look for of the actual tour company bus 'logo' on the side of the bus. Look for a SIGN in the 'front window of the bus' as well with the tour company's name and destination. This can be very misleading as we already were waiting at 7am looking for the tour bus when another one appeared. Initially, the guide did not even get out to see if anyone was waiting and when we told him we were looking for the tour bus, he very grumpily said that they used a different bus. No good morning either. He never introduced himself by name, but some say he was Paco NOT to be confused with the other 'nice' Paco that took us to Tangier days earlier. This 'Paco' was terrible! He was rushing through the tour, jumped from one location to another without looking or taking a head count and we basically had to chase him. We lost several people on the trip and 2 missed the Plaza de Toros bullring and its museum. Keep in mind this was a prepaid trip and some lost out. In addition, when we went to wine tasting--we had to use the restroom and the group was gone. He never said they were leaving and we luckily rushed out and ran to find the group. In the end, he never said goodbye to anyone in the group and even got into a tiff with one of the patrons in the group. Aside from that--Ronda was beautiful and worth the majestic views and great wine tasting. We were told it's get VERY HOT during the summer and it's very quiet then. Best time to visit is when the weather is cooler. Again, the views are stunning and the town is very quaint. Worth the trip hopefully with a better guide.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

GLORY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was good , we were only four in a comfortable van and the drive wasn't to long, the driver was good who gave us a short tour in Pueblos Blanco, after the tour we then continue and meet by the local guide in Ronda. After the tour around the city and the Bullring we went for wine tasting. We had about an hour of free time to have lunch and spend by ourselves before going back to Seville. We took two tours with Andalsur and both enjoyed the tours and would be happy to recommend this tours company.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Brian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A really excellent trip with a very knowledgeable guide. Ronda is a lovely town to explore. Travel time from Malaga with hotel pick-ups is a bit long so take a book.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Sophia J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Ronda is simply beautiful. I would definitely recommend a visit.
I wish we had a few hours more there to perhaps have a walk into the gorge.
We didn't get to see the bullring as advertised, because there was a big bull fight happening on the day so instead we were shown a rather stunning church.
It was also the day of the fair or festival so an interesting mix of activity and excitement and very well dressed attenders lots of traditional Spanish dress .
The 'english' guide at Ronda kept swapping languages which made it difficult to follow at times, but he got us to a few cool spots like the winery which i'm sure we would have found if we'd gone on our own.
Pickup and drop off was lengthy, but i suppose there is no way around that other than running smaller tours from each town.
On the whole it was a good day out.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Loo Fern C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Ronda is a lovely old town. The only downside is that the guide was not organised and didn't care too much about the group. There were a couple of times when group members were lost and didn't know where to go as she was walking so fast. The lunch was a disappointment.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Lizette G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

THIS IS A BILINGUAL REVIEW -- ENGLISH FIRST, THEN SPANISH:
FANTASTIC!!! EXCELLENT!! We had Alicia as our guide and Juan Jose as our driver, from Andalsur and we couldn't have been more pleased with this tour. There's alot to cover but Alicia was not only knowledgeable, but had a warm personality. She actually had us singing on the bus!!! Our guide in Ronda was equally knowledgeable and was fantastic. We wish more guides were like them. The Pueblo Blanco we visited was Zahara de la Sierra and speechless is how you are left with the views!! This tour is a MUST for those who want to see Ronda...which we highly recommend as you cover some of the MAIN sites. After going on this tour and seeing what Ronda has to offer, we decided that next time around, we will spend a full day there or even make two trips...next time we are in Malaga. Our thanks to Alicia and Juan Jose for a wonderful day...you really made our trip to Ronda special.

Que podemos decir...este viaje fue magnifico!!! Alicia fue nuestra guia y Juan Jose el chofer, ambos de Andalsur, y estamos sumamente complacidas con este viaje. Mucho que cubrir en este viaje pero Alicia es toda una profesional que conoce la materia y en varios idiomas, ademas de tener un caracter placentera..pues hasta nos tenia cantando canciones en el autobus!!! Nuestra guia en Ronda era igualmente profesional y con pleno conocimiento de su pueblo, Ronda. Ya quisieramos que todos los guias fueron como ellas... El Pueblo Blanco fue Zahara de la Sierra y uno se queda sin palabras con las vistas!! Recomiendo este viaje a Ronda porque cubre mucho de los sitios que uno, como visitante, quiere ver. Para nosotros, despues de pasar un dia fantastico en Ronda y disfrutar de todo lo que Ronda tiene que ofrecer, hemos decidido hacer uno o dos viajes para ver mas de Ronda, mientras estemos en Malaga en nuestro proximo viaje. Queremos darles la gracias a Alicia y a Juan Jose por hacer este viaje a Ronda muy especial!!!

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Antti R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Both Destination and tour in Ronda were excellent, but I would have rather taken a bus or train Malaga straight to Ronda, because travelling there and back took so long. E.g. why did we had to have a 40 min break in Marbella on the way back? People were tired and just would have liked to get back to their hotels. We had driven for only about an hour. Several people complained about this and freelance guide did not know the reason to this. And why did we have to stop several times in the morning in Torrellimos and Marbella, but only once in Malaga? It took over two hours before we could even start to head towards Ronda.

Doing what: Ronda and El Tajo Gorge Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Malaga

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Carlos was super!! He was extremely knowledgeable about everything he showed us.This tour delivered so much more than was advertised . From an old castle in the middle of no where,the white villages Zahara and Graselema that I didn't expect to see .. also a small olive oil producer where we got to see how the oil was extracted.Carlos also directed us to the best place to eat in Graselema , that had the best gaspachio I've ever had !!! The tour of Ronda was great ,,as it was on my bucket list I was so happy to have such a wonderful guide to walk us through it. This tour really gives you bang for your buck.Did this tour May 7th so the weather was perfect .

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Deirdre S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Ronda is an exceptional lovely town. Wish we had more time there. Our first stop on the way was for an hour in a small village, this could be shorten by half an hour to spend more time in Ronda. The Ronda tour guide was fantastic. Our guide from Seville , Julia is a lovely caring person who we all liked. Next time have an iternary for the guests. Highly recommended. Well done Julia. Greg Stegman

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

janet.pollock1

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This trip was not worth it we spent only 40 minutes in Ronda and did not visit the bull ring or the wine tasting . Very very disappointed. Instead we visited some out of the way free entry crumbling fort that was built to guard a water supply and the guides mates olive oil shop! Really not what was booked!,,

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message