Malta’s role in hit HBO series Game of Thrones might have been cut short, but despite only being used as a filming location in Season 1, the Mediterranean island still managed to make a lasting impression. Doubling up as the fictional King's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Avrum P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Malcom was great - my wife is into the show - I've seen only 2 shows..I'm into photography and the site. Malcom engages everyone with in front / background and director information on GOT and other movies. You go to various locations for the full day - including his choice of restaurant in MDINA which was very good and not rushed. Malcom was extremely personal and did a very good job of looking after everyone and keeping it very interesting, a good pace, tons of history and some amazing locations. Malcom involved the 3 children including my daughter in a fun dramatic way that kept their interest. A very special day with a very interesting insight by a local - an actor - background director and insurance broker!!! kept it very human Thank you for an amazing day Malcom....My personal highlight was in Rabbat at the church and it brought back a vivid memory of the Madonna crying blood from the 1990's. Our group enjoyed our time with you and HIGHLY suggest to others - take this tour - its off the beaten tourist path and allows you to see some really special sites with a person that has a ton of passion about his work, family and homeland of Malta.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

roger a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Malcolm was an excellent guide. I am not a GOT fan but the other three people on the tour were. He made the tour very interesting for me, I never felt left out because I was not always aware of the references to the show. I was able to see parts of Malta that I never would have explored on my own. His behind the scenes information was fascinating. The historical information that he gave on the tour was invaluable. This is a great, great tour.

Doing what: Private Game of Thrones Tour of Malta

Elaine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved this tour! Malcom was a wonderful tour guide and had a lot of inside information about the film industry and some funny stories about GOT! The places we visited on the tour were fabulous! One member of our tour isn't a GOT fan and he still really enjoyed it!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Outstanding tour. Malcolm's genuine understanding and enthusiasm for the film industry makes this a most memorable experience.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Denis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, Malcolm was very entertaining and energetic. Fun locations and stories from the set. Very nice lunch at Medina where you pay but inexpensive and worth it. It is a long day so be prepared to be out from 9am-6pm and bring along plenty of water.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Bryan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour presented by a very enthusiastic guide, my sons and I really enjoyed it :

Doing what: Private Game of Thrones Tour of Malta

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour consisted of 1 enthusiastic guy who's a part-time actor, plus 4 others which was all that would fit into his car. He knew the area, had many funny interesting tales to tell, and tied the highlights of Malta into the various TV shows and movies that were filmed there, including Game of Thrones, the Da Vinci Code, Gladiator, Troy, and many more. It was a fun tour with lots of interaction with the guide who carried a picture book showing us how the places looked in the films and some candid behind the scene shots of the actors and crew. It was a great way to see the island, and what a wonderful island to see! It's no wonder it's used in so many films, such a beautiful picturesque place. And our guide kept careful track of the pacing so we could see the most, but still get back to our ship on time.

Doing what: Private Game of Thrones Tour of Malta

Jessica S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely loved every minute! Malcolm was an amazing host and everything went perfectly, the behind the scenes stories and the connections you feel to the locations really do make an amazing day for an excursion! Highly recommend to everyone going to Malta who loves Game of Thrones !!!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great for fans of GOT!

Very interesting and passing some of the scenarios of S1 and S3.

Doing what: Private Game of Thrones Tour of Malta

Alex M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was highly knowledgeable about the subject, and presented the tour in an enjoyable way. I highly recommend this tour to others who are not only fans of GoT, but the film industry itself.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

SAK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing tour. Mal Ellul was an excellent guide. His knowledge of GoT is amazing and his on set stories are fascinating. His knowledge of other movies filmed in Malta is extensive. This tour is also a great way to see Malta outside of Valletta. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Game of Thrones Tour of Malta

Bryan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was a highlight of my trip and you don and #39;t have to like games of thrones to enjoythis tour the sights are breathtaking

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

lynn p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

great tour, malcolm was so knowledgeable made it very funny. the only thing if i had known that after dinner we would be going round the mountains seeing as i am a devout coward i would have opted to go back to the hotel, but 100 worth while trip, only problem is i have now got to start the series all over again so i can put all that we see in prospective, so make sure you save the box set before you go

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Sean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide! Anyone interested in Game of Thrones or films in general would enjoy this tour.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

linda f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

From start to finish this tour was amazing.Our guide Malcolm was terrific and very informative. Took us to lots of various sites and made it very interesting. we had a great time. linda and Bobby

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very enthusiastic, knowledgeable and open guide. Excellent organistation and itinery. Not ripped off for lunch!. Spent rest of holiday recommending to everyone we met.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Claire E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

absolutely excellent and great guide

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Phillip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely fantastic .The guide, a brilliant man called Malcolm. Was very entertaining. It involves a bit of walking so if you're using a cain take note. It wasn't just Game of Thrones it was nearly every movie filmed on the island. Lots to see,Well worth the money.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Diane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing and was made even more amazing with Malcolm the tour guide. As he was previously an actor he has a love and insight into the world of movies and went above and beyond what any other guide would do. He answered every question with so much knowledge and showed us many sites. Absolutely recommend this tour with Malcolm.

Doing what: Private Game of Thrones Tour of Malta

Kristal USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had such a wonderful time on this tour! We picked this tour because we wanted to see more than just the Game of Thrones filming locations, especially since once we started looking into it, so many interesting movies have been filmed there that we didnt know about. Our tour guide, Malcolm was fantastic. He was entertaining, very personable and funny. We loved that he not only knew the locations, but hes been personally involved in the Maltese film industry for many years, whether its been as an extra, part of the crew, a local POC, or insurance. It made the tour so interesting to hear first hand accounts of film experiences, film industry insights, and celebrity interactions. We would definitely recommend this tour to others, but be prepared to walk a good amount. You will have the opportunity to walk all over the main island, including some rocky terrain, so bring sturdy shoes/ shoes that youre comfortable walking in for a long period of time. Also bring a bottle of water and either a hat or sunscreen. Youll be able to purchase water along the way, but if youre going in the summer, you may want to have some on hand initially.

Doing what: Private Game of Thrones Tour of Malta

Emmett.Bamba

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a pretty good tour as we got to see some highlights from G of T season 1. However, I felt the tour guide didn't really engage the group. The bus rides between the stops were silent. I wanted him to do some of G of T trivia or even show some G of T videos since there was a TV on board the minibus. Also, he had a lot of pictures in his little binder. I suggest he upgrades to an iPAD as I couldn't see half the pictures he was showing.
On a positive note, he was very knowledgeable about G of T and Malta in general.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

dontfear.thereaper

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A great tour with plenty to see and lots of information. The tour doesn't just cover Game of Tghrones sites but also other popular movie sites. It is a fantastic tour and well worth doing, you will even have a chance to see some of the other major towns of Malta such as Mdina. One thing to consider is that the tour stops at a restaurant for lunch but lunch is not included in the tour price. This can make it a little uncomfortable if you do not want to eat there or are on a budget and dont want to eat in a restaurant. Also, the seating in the restaurant is strange in that they seat you with whoever you booked with, so if you are a solo traveller, you will sit and eat lunch onm your own which is a biut strange for a tour. That was the only negative thing though, Malcolm is amazing and has a wealth of information to share. You really should do this tour, I dont think you will be disappointed.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Claire F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

An enjoyable tour, which should probably be named Malta's Movie Locations. While our Tour Guide was lovely and informative, 50 of his oral content was regarding other movies i.e. World War Z etc. Felt a little long at times but gave us a great overview of the island.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message