Managua ATTRACTIONS See all

Masaya Volcano

The Masaya Volcano - just over 12 miles from Managua - is one of the most accessible on earth. In fact, while you can plan hiking day trips on the volcano, you can even drive right up to the volcano’s crater to take a peek inside. The Masaya Volcano ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a full day but one of our favorite excursions. I wish we could have more time to shop at Crater Lake but I understand the time limitations.

Doing what: Full Day Nicaragua Tour

Tammy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nice

Doing what: Full Day Nicaragua Tour

Solana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Full day tour to Nicaragua was amazing! We saw magma bubbling inside the crater of an active volcano, shopped at the market, and toured the colorful town of Granada. They provided us two meals, lunch was delicious! The only downside of the tour was all the check stops getting into Nicaragua but that has nothing to do with the tour and didn't take away from it at all! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Full Day Nicaragua Tour

liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything was more than expected! The tour expert was so informative and had such great humor. It was a long day tour but definitely worth it!

Doing what: Full Day Nicaragua Tour

phx_sunz United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Senor Jose was outstanding. He took very good care of all of us. He was very patient and knowledgeable and took great care to answer all in details. Thanks a lot for showing your beautiful country to us.

Doing what: Day Trip to Masaya and Granada from Managua

oshumiki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Pablo is really wonderful. He is knowledgeble and explained us in detail. I appreciate it.

Doing what: Day Trip to Masaya and Granada from Managua

Joan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Volcano was amazing, and our guide Erick told us all about its history, both in English and in Spanish. The view from Catarina was stupendous, and we shared it with loads of school-kids on an outing, so much fun! We found wonderful and CHEAP souvenirs for everyone in San Juan de Oriente, enjoyed our lunch in the Masaya market (after some more shopping!) , and could not have been more pleased with our tour. Would recommend this to EVERYONE!

Doing what: Masaya and Catarina Day Trip from Managua

rcwhitejr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Jose made the trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Masaya and Catarina Day Trip from Managua

Tanya S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour, especially the guide Eddie, was amazing. While it involved a lot of time in the car it was worth it; as we got to see alot in a short time!

Doing what: Full Day Nicaragua Tour

Nancy W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Volcano was interesting. Masses market was enough for you to buy any souvenir you might want. Granada is a pretty colonial time, very much like Antigua in Guatemala.

Doing what: Day Trip to Masaya and Granada from Managua

Karl T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

While the sites and experiences are really good, the day is very long and you spend a lot of time on the bus. We left our hotel at 4 a.m and didn't return until 11 pm schedule said 8:30 return. Our last meal was at 2 so it made for a very long day. The border was an experience all in itself taking up at least an hour each way. Seeing the different volcanoes was a great experience and 1 that we had never had, Granada was good but I would have liked to spend 2 or 3 more hours there. The best part was a boat trip on Lake Nicaragua to see the monkeys. The ride was beautiful. I would recommend the trip but only if you fully understand just how long it is and how much time you will spend cooped up. Food was very good and Edwardo our tour guide was the best- easy to understand, informative and funny, I would highly recommend him. Final thought bring toilet paper and expect to pay to use the restrooms.

Doing what: Full Day Nicaragua Tour

Tina S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

It and #39;s a very long day but fun!! Downfalls... We weren and #39;t able to go to the active volcano but weren and #39;t told until we were heading to Granada.

Doing what: Full Day Nicaragua Tour

gregory h

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Not much to see. My guide made the whole day worth it.

Doing what: Masaya and Catarina Day Trip from Managua

barb.colosimo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

If you really want to go Nicaragua and this was the only way to get there, then do this tour, otherwise what they don't tell you that we got on the bus @ 4:30 am in the morning and got back to our hotel in Tamarindo at 11:30 pm. That's a really long day. They also don't tell you what a hassle and how time consuming it is to get into the country. After waiting to get into the country at the border, we had another 4 military checkpoints - this is a military rule country. We did not see the 1st site - volcanic lake until 11 am. The volcanic lake and magna from the active Masaya Volcano was cool and lunch was good. Then when we got to Granada, if you wanted a carriage ride, that was extra money. We didn't take it and it felt like we were chipped. Also, every stop felt like we were rushed. The tour I feel would have been better if we didn't try to do so much in one day. Concentrate of one area and spend time doing that instead of trying to do so much and spending a great deal of time in a bus.

Doing what: Full Day Nicaragua Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message