Capital cities can be hit or miss as far as tourist attractions go - sometimes they represent the best of what a country has to offer, and other times they are best seen at a glance from the car as you speed out of town. Nicaragua’s capital of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Josue A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Leon, along with its sister city and former rival Granada, is one of the most beautiful colonial cities of Nicaragua. As a child, I used to go to Leon often with my dad, who sometimes worked there on the weekends. However, as an adult I had not returned to Leon, in favor of Granada, which is more accessible from Managua. Since I hadn't been to Leon since 1992, I was determined to return to Leon. Overall, Leon is less appealing to the eye than Granada, but in a way that makes the experience in Leon seem a bit more authentic. Most of the colonial houses in Leon still function as houses, instead of retails space. The authenticity of Leon is best appreciated by visiting its cathedral, one of the oldest and biggest in Latin America. Compared to the much newer cathedral in Granada, you can feel the ancient history of the Cathedral of Leon. In all the many times I visited Leon, I had never been inside the cathedral. For the first time, I was able to visit the tomb of the famous Nicaraguan poet Ruben Dario. But the best part of the Cathedral, it's the rooftop, which in itself is a work of art, all in white and with its beautiful domes, that almost feels like you are walking on top of some surreal sculpture. This tour also takes you to an excellent art gallery in Leon, that includes a vast collection of Nicaraguan art, Central and South American art, and even some European pieces. It was a pleasant and unexpected surprise to our visit in Leon. One of my favorite parts of this tour was our visit to Leon Viejo, the ruins of the original city of Leon as it was founded by the Spanish. The city was abandoned due to the constant earthquakes caused by the volcanic eruptions of the nearby Momotombo Volcano. But you can still see the foundations and walks of many of the ancient colonial buildings. As a native Nicaraguan, I had never been to Leon Viejo. And walking down those ancient streets along those ancient buildings, it felt like I was walking through a history book, and discovering something new and beautiful about my own country. This was the first of three tours that we took with our guide Moises Ferreti. He was always professional, knowledgeable, and personable. I highly recommend visiting Leon and this tour.

Doing what: Leon Day Trip from Managua

Josue A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My husband and I booked this tour because we wanted to see what Managua has to offer, but didn't want to have the burden of renting a car and driving around in the snarling traffic of Managua. This was our third tour with Moises Ferreti, who was amazing as he had been in the previous two tours we had with him. I was born in Managua and lived there until the age of 9, and have returned many times to visit my father, who still lives there. Many of the things I saw in the tour weren't necessarily new to me, but they were to my husband, who is from Colorado. Perhaps my favorite thing was going up to the Loma de Tiscapa. My dad's job and the school I attended as a child are very nearby. Tiscapa is a familiar place to me, but I had never been up on the hill and seen where the old Presidential Palace had one stood. The views of Old Managua and New Managua were breathtaking. Visiting Central Park, Plaza de la Revolucion, Palacio Nacional and the Old Cathedral are a must for anyone who wants to understand the history of Nicaragua, and the many challenges it has faced throughout the years of political unrest and natural disasters. Finally, we ended the day at the shores of Lake Managua or Lago Xolotlan as we locals also refer to it. The Lakefront has gone through many changes to the year. Puerto Salvador Allende is an amazing way to admire the natural beauty of the lake and offers you several restaurant options, from steak houses, seafood restaurants, to authentic Nica treats like quesillo and raspados. Through it all, Moises always remained friendly, professional, informative, and extremely flexible. We highly recommend this tour, and specifically Moises as a tour guide. I felt like I had re-discovered the history, beauty and magic of my home city.

Doing what: Managua City Sightseeing Tour

Mary Robin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Ziplining was awesome! The guys do a good job and it is very safe. Perfect with their English. The hike and #39;s mostly a stroll but a little uphill on the way out. Our guide Henry was very accommodating with the hike, departure times etc. If you are already renting a car you can do this on your own cheaper

Doing what: Mombacho Volcano Nature Reserve Hiking and Ziplining Tour

Christine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My daughter 13 and I did this tour on our first day in Nicaragua, and it was such a great introduction to the country. Our guide, Roberto, took amazing care of us and was happy to fill us in on everything from politics to ecology. The ziplining was very fun, extremely safe and not too high I am terrified of heights, and there were only a couple times I felt at all nervous. We got to see a big troupe of Howler Monkeys on our drive up to the top of the volcano, much to the delight of my daughter, and also an adult and baby red-eyed frog, much to the delight of myself! We ended with lunch at Mi Viejo Ranchito and were safely returned to our hotel full of stories and photos to share with our traveling companions. The tour was a bit on the pricey side, but for comfort, convenience, and a wonderful introduction to glorious Nicaragua, we thought it was worth every penny!

Doing what: Mombacho Volcano Nature Reserve Hiking and Ziplining Tour

tina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was a local Roberto!! He picked us up and we were the only 2 on the tour. He was amazing. Spoke English and Spanish. Was very experienced, very smart, and catered to anything we wanted to see.

Doing what: Leon Day Trip from Managua

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

On time, courteous, helpful.

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Hotel to Managua Airport

Adam D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding tour. Frank, our tour guide was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and polite and could answer any question you had. spoke very clear English and Spanish. The tour itself was very fun. The hike up was relatively easy, and there were great views all the way up so bring your camera. The ride down was OUTSTANDING! These boards allow you to go as fast or slow as you like so it is fun for people who like to play it safe, as well as the true thrill seekers of the world. If you are visiting Nicaragua DON'T MISS THIS TOUR!

Doing what: Cerro Negro Volcano Sandboarding Tour from Managua

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My bf and I had an AMAZING time with Edgar, our tour guide! He was really knowledgeable and patient and gave us a great tour of the volcano. Even stopped to eat traditional Nicaraguan food with us on the way back home. The ziplining was also VERY fun! We can and #39;t wait to go back and explore more!

Doing what: Mombacho Volcano Nature Reserve Hiking and Ziplining Tour

Hal J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Edgar is an outstanding guide, very knowledgeable, and accommodating. A great day!

Doing what: Managua City Sightseeing Tour

VIATOR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time. Thank you to Roy for driving and to Alex for being a great tour guide.

Doing what: Cerro Negro Volcano Sandboarding Tour from Managua

Ashely H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour is definitely worth doing. Be prepared for a strenuous hike for those that don't do it on a normal basis. It took about 45 mins to get to the top. And out guide was helpful each step of the way. Even ensured we got some awesome pictures along the way. It rained the day before our tour, which proved to make a less than desirable ride down. The sand has washed away from the rain, so it was mostly rocks. We would only go about 10 yards before the rocks would over take the board and bring you to a halt. Took us almost 10 mins to get down, and it was very frustrating. Cause there's no climbing back to the top to do it again. It's one and done. But I place fault only on mother nature and not the tour or the guide. Hopefully you will be able to plan around the rain, or just go during their dry season. But I would recommend everyone do it.

Doing what: Cerro Negro Volcano Sandboarding Tour from Managua

Harmony S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wow, what an experience! Rugged natural beauty, an excellent, informed, fun guide, and a sled ride down a volcano! Do not miss this!

Doing what: Cerro Negro Volcano Sandboarding Tour from Managua

mvanduyne92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was awesome and it was definitely a once in a lifetime opportunity. It is a steep climb though so be prepared.

Doing what: Cerro Negro Volcano Sandboarding Tour from Managua

phx_sunz United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Senor Jose was outstanding. He took very good care of all of us. He was very patient and knowledgeable and took great care to answer all in details. Thanks a lot for showing your beautiful country to us.

Doing what: Day Trip to Masaya and Granada from Managua

Jayda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The hike up the volcano was much more difficult than I expected but boarding down was definitely a unique experience.

Doing what: Cerro Negro Volcano Sandboarding Tour from Managua

david C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Managua it was not that great but once you get to Leon masaya and granada the history,art and the people friendly great

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Nicaragua Tour: Managua, León and Granada

david C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Every needs to experience the amazing site and thrill

Doing what: Cerro Negro Volcano Sandboarding Tour from Managua

oshumiki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Pablo is really wonderful. He is knowledgeble and explained us in detail. I appreciate it.

Doing what: Day Trip to Masaya and Granada from Managua

P. Kay C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The lake part was excellent and we enjoyed Granada as it has retained it's older look. Edgar was very good for both trips.

Doing what: Granada City Tour from Managua with Boat Ride on Lake Nicaragua

Mark USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Volcano boarding was a "must" on my Nicaragua itinerary and this excursion did not disappoint. I'm so glad the tour started so early in the morning because I would not have wanted to climb Cerro Negro in the afternoon heat. Our driver and guide were very friendly and knowledgeable. The climb took about an hour--it was definitely more challenging than I expected. The views along the way were incredible and the ride down was so much fun. Both my mom and myself will recommend this to anyone wanting to do something different, fun, and adventurous while on vacation!

Doing what: Cerro Negro Volcano Sandboarding Tour from Managua

Thomas N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was absolutely wonderful. Our tour guide, Erick, was not only friendly but very knowledgeable about the history of the city. This was very impressive. Being history buffs, we found this quite interesting. The city itself is beautiful and again, Erick, put us at ease in our new surroundings. The boat ride was of course peaceful and gorgeous. Erick, again amazed us by courting the monkeys and by surprising wifey with a flower that grew inside a banana shaped plant hanging from a tree. Amazing!!

Doing what: Granada City Tour from Managua with Boat Ride on Lake Nicaragua

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver Milton from Servitours Nicaragua was awesome! Milton met us right outside of baggage with a sign with our names on it. It put our minds at ease. Everything went so smoothly! The ride to Montelimar beach is breathtaking!

Doing what: Shared Arrival Transfer: Managua Airport to Hotels

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A few days before we left for our trip, Viator recommended we contact Servi-tours Nicaragua (the local transfer/tour company) to confirm the times of our transfers. Servi-tours responded right away and honored our request to be pick up at a certain time at the hotel and dropped us off at our next hotel. Milton was our driver and was right on time. Such a great guy! We will definitely be using Servi-tours again on our next trip to Nicaragua!

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Hotel to Managua Airport

euclides m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

amazing servitours local operator was amazing the tour guide was very good, knew every detail about the tour, and was very professional, I have done tours in many countries with different operators and I am amaze to say in this little corner of central America I found the best tour operators ever. thank you for a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Granada City Tour from Managua with Boat Ride on Lake Nicaragua

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message